You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 30-07-2013, 02:33 PM   #1
ebv8

Default where have all the Falcons gone in Wollongong

I went on the RSPCA Illawarra charity cruise #3 on Sunday
there was 181 cars entered and i think 170 commodores, 5 magnas, 5 other and 1 falcon
there might have been more but I only remember seeing a black G6ET and a few mustangs
Seriously why are there no falcons in Wollongong? i feel kind of bad because i sold my XR8 when i moved to Wollongong and now I have 2 Commondores
I am temped to sell or swap my VH for a Falcon now. I don't like being common.

BA GT Mk1 #0009 - Narooma Blue
SY Ghia AWD
Black VZ LX8 Adventra
Holden HX 50th Anniversary
AU Saloon Car racecar
1980 GS1000ST - Wes Cooley Rep
ebv8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 03:39 PM   #2
ford71V8

Default Re: where have all the Falcons gone in Wollongong

" I don't like being common."

"....and now I have 2 Commondores"

Too late!
ford71V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 03:44 PM   #3
ebv8

well in my defence I needed a wagon and ford never made a nice looking wagon (except territory), i even bought an AU wagon and between the bulky rear end the woeful rear suspension (even after lowering, new bushes, koni shocks) and rust i had to get rid of it, and the other one just happened when trolling gumtree and there was a mint VH wagon with a V8 and manual trans for the right price (I was looking for XE's and already had a 302C and C4 waiting to drop in)
SY Ghia AWD
Black VZ LX8 Adventra
AU Saloon Car racecar
Old 30-07-2013, 03:57 PM   #4
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 

Falcons don't like hanging with Commodores - it gives them a bad rep

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

200BUX - AFF Drag Nats 2019 EF Wagon
Originally Posted by rednose View Post
Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Sorted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
8 users like this post:
Old 30-07-2013, 04:04 PM   #5
ford71V8

I love our AU Wagon (and once you change the grill out for a Fairmont one or similar, looks the part I reckon)
Old 30-07-2013, 04:11 PM   #6
ebv8

my old AU wagon and my VX Wagon

SY Ghia AWD
Black VZ LX8 Adventra
AU Saloon Car racecar
Old 30-07-2013, 04:16 PM   #7
ford71V8

I'm thinking your VH is a nicer wagon than the last one posted.

Nothing wrong with the look of the AU, but I'm a bit biased there!
Had it been a sedan........
Old 30-07-2013, 04:24 PM   #8
ebv8

my last falcon was an AU3 XR8 in blueprint with leather and so-on, sold it for a Fiesta as the XR8 did about 25l/100km and the Fiesta does 7l/100km, I will get another one day but most likely an ex hwp 2014 FH XR6t or XR8 in 2-3 years time after I have paid off the Fiesta
SY Ghia AWD
Black VZ LX8 Adventra
AU Saloon Car racecar
Old 30-07-2013, 05:44 PM   #9

I don't like hanging around Commodore drivers, they tend to be the absolute dregs of society. Some of the ones I know anyway.

May be something in that. Or they are all a bunch of sheep.
Old 30-07-2013, 05:45 PM   #10
79FordEsky

There are old school fords in the illarwarra (I am from the southern highlands) also mid school fords some do not come out often. There are some quality cars down there.

My Survivor 1 owner XC Wagon
Check it Out
79FordEsky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 07:07 PM   #11
b055m4n

Wink Re: where have all the Falcons gone in Wollongong

Originally Posted by ebv8 View Post
I went on the RSPCA Illawarra charity cruise #3 on Sunday
there was 181 cars entered and i think 170 commodores, 5 magnas, 5 other and 1 falcon
there might have been more but I only remember seeing a black G6ET and a few mustangs
Seriously why are there no falcons in Wollongong? i feel kind of bad because i sold my XR8 when i moved to Wollongong and now I have 2 Commondores
I am temped to sell or swap my VH for a Falcon now. I don't like being common.
Maybe they went to all Fords day....I know my son was there with his FG turbo Falcon so that makes two Falcon's....mate its hard work been a Ford supporter...
b055m4n is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 09:25 PM   #12
Focused

Wollongong is a bogan town! What do you expect?
Also, compare the local Ford and Holden dealer. Holden is massive and placed in the center of town while Ford is stuck off one side and is full of salespeople half-heartedly attempting to see Fords while slightly encouraging you to go next door and buy a VW/Skoda/Landie/Jag/Audi.
Focused is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 11:33 PM   #13
Alby1
you'd be popular too

Haha, only ever seen one other EF, EL V8 getting around, plenty of Vr to Vy's with no rear suspension and 20inch mags up front with stockies on the back, looks fully sic......

E303 cam, ported gt40p heads, 1.7 rockers, high flow cats, Au220 TB, 70mm Maf, tune (215rwkw) and some bigger brakes

Have now brought my car to the 2000's with electric rear windows, door lights and wood trims
Alby1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 11:54 PM   #14
ebv8

i think the older crowd have falcons down here but the young ones all have commodores.
i see plenty of commodores parked at the methodone clinic but never falcons
SY Ghia AWD
Black VZ LX8 Adventra
AU Saloon Car racecar