You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 16-08-2013, 07:10 PM   #1
malazn mafia
Boss 335

Default Unregd Vehicle Permit

Anybody driven an unreg permit car interstate? I am worried about fuelling up as the car has no number plates. Don't want the station attendant calling up the cops every time I fill up. Should I just fit a set of plates i have lying around? Anyone had experience, should I park the car first, prepay then fill up to avoid unnecessary trouble ?

malazn mafia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-08-2013, 07:13 PM   #2

Default Re: Unregd Vehicle Permit

If you fit plates not registered to your car you will have more to worry about than servo attendants calling up the cops if you get caught.

I don't think they would turn on the pump if they were thinking that anyway. Then you just show the permit if they don't turn it on. They don't care if the car has rego or not as long as the fuel is paid for.
Old 16-08-2013, 07:21 PM   #3
pcman

just prepay for fuel most wont turn the pump on anyway
pcman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-08-2013, 07:25 PM   #4
GT2

I bought my ex demo ute from Melbourne and drove it back to Sydney with a permit. No issues what so ever. Go in and pay the attendant first if you're worried but either way, they don't monitor the cameras as cars come in.
GT2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-08-2013, 07:28 PM   #5
malazn mafia
Boss 335

Originally Posted by GT2 View Post
I bought my ex demo ute from Melbourne and drove it back to Sydney with a permit. No issues what so ever. Go in and pay the attendant first if you're worried but either way, they don't monitor the cameras as cars come in.
Ok thanks will do. Much appreciated.
Old 16-08-2013, 07:29 PM   #6

I think so long as you've got a permit from one state. I bought my permit from VIC as NSW required a road-worthy beforehand. I did have problems getting fuel anyway.
Old 16-08-2013, 07:33 PM   #7
pundit
Gazza!

If you don't know how much fuel will cost when you pre-pay and you are using your car, just give the attendant your keys/phone/wallet while you fill up so they know you are legit.

I looked into getting a permit when I got my car from NSW and it was easier to get one from SA.. ;)
11.79 @ 122mph

RIP 2006 - 2017
pundit is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-08-2013, 08:07 PM   #8

Recently drove my new T3 from Queensland to Victoria on a permit.
You are required to affix the permit to the front windscreen.
We had no issues with fuel stops but did get a lot of second glances from Police cars doing speed checks on the Highways, as well as other motorists twisting their necks as they were overtaking us.
Pinkbits is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-08-2013, 09:11 PM   #9

Drove from Adelaide to Melbourne.

It had to be during daylight hours.

was a condition of the permit.
zilo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2013, 01:39 AM   #10
Neale

Just write " unreg vehicle permit no 99999" (obviously use your number) on a bit of cardboard & stick it to the back of the car where the plate shoud be
Neale is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2013, 05:26 AM   #11
xxx000

don't put on other plates or a piece of cardboard with the permit # as you can be charged with 'number plates calculated to deceive'

it's a bit like people who put a piece of cardboard with 'TRAFFIC' on it when driving an unregoed car to get inspected..........you can only display plates issued to that car not make up your own, the TRAFFIC cardboard plate idea is a myth

display the permit and nothing else
xxx000 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2013, 09:15 AM   #12
Matty4
Banana

Yep. I bought a car unreg'd in NSW a couple of years ago.
Got a permit issued here in Vic and carried it with me on the drive home down the Hume.
Filled up in Sydney without any issues. Even drove past a cop car coming out of Goulburn Maccas and didn't get a second look.

Just make sure you do have the permit, they aren't that expensive.
Old 17-08-2013, 11:47 AM   #13
malazn mafia
Boss 335

Had a pleasant encounter. First was filling up at Yass, two cops filling up their commodore, pulled up next to them at the bowser. Both turned their heads, and to my surprise the officer was like a kid on Christmas Day admiring the car, and completely ignoring the fact the car had no plates. His first words were ,'f@$ me dead, is that your car? Floored it yet or what?' Spent about a minute admiring the paintwork, seats, etc. Best police officer I've met in my life, middle aged bloke looked to be a senior constable. Shook hands with me and wished me a safe trip. Was pulled up at another town across the border by a blonde female officer who wasted half an hour of my time trying to work out how an unreg permit works and why mine didn't have a daytime only curfew Had another brush with a rookie cop literally 4wding his divvy van through thick bush overlooking a 4 km straight going downhill further down the road and all I can say is he made his quota for the night alright, lucky I don't ever need to pass through that state again for a long long time....
Old 18-08-2013, 06:47 AM   #14
LightningStrike

Anyone know how long the NSW permits are valid for? Cheers.

Winter White AUII eGas 1 Tonner Goooone!

Winter White SY Ghia AWD 6spd Injected Gas
Mazda 3 SP25GT
==========================
LightningStrike is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2013, 09:20 AM   #15
malazn mafia
Boss 335

Originally Posted by LightningStrike View Post
Anyone know how long the NSW permits are valid for? Cheers.
Maximum 28 days but realistically a couple of days unless you have a good story about an A to B to C to D journey that goes for 28 days
Old 18-08-2013, 09:40 AM   #16

Interesting that you can drive across states on a Vic or NSW permit. In the ACT, the AC permit is only valid in the ACT - we can' even drive to Queanbeyan or Yass using it!

MM - the first cop sounds like a typical HWP officer. Most of the ones I've met over 25+ years of driving are genuinely interested in cars and if you have a nice one, they'll talk to you about it; even if it is while they're writing ticket!

Old 18-08-2013, 09:54 AM   #17
FPV+fteT3
Performance Inc.

I used a VIC permit to go from Melbourne to Newcastle NSW no plates, all legal. Passed a HWP in the median with a laser looking right at me he didn't even look twice. One thing not mentioned is you should get a cover note on the car you will be relocating from your existing insurance company before you set off just incase you have a bingle. Oh' and use the toll ways you dont get billed for the trip, it was much quicker going through Sydney on a Sunday via the toll ways than taking the Pac. Hwy

FPV Super Pursuit Build no 0080/91
Lotus Exige S/C S240

Kart Hasse Chassis 100J Power

Rental cars, the equipment of choice to get to destinations where 4WDs fear to drive......
FPV+fteT3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2013, 07:18 PM   #18

Originally Posted by malazn mafia View Post
Anybody driven an unreg permit car interstate? I am worried about fuelling up as the car has no number plates. Don't want the station attendant calling up the cops every time I fill up. Should I just fit a set of plates i have lying around? Anyone had experience, should I park the car first, prepay then fill up to avoid unnecessary trouble ?
I bought a G6E back from Sydney to central Vic a couple of years ago with no plates on a unreg permit, at Pheasants Nest I just had to go and leave my licence and credit card with the operator while I filled up, no big deal. I got passed by 4 police cars on the way and not one of them stopped and asked questions
Old 19-08-2013, 06:46 AM   #19
devilcv8

Originally Posted by JC View Post
Interesting that you can drive across states on a Vic or NSW permit. In the ACT, the AC permit is only valid in the ACT - we can' even drive to Queanbeyan or Yass using it!
tell me about it. Grabbed an AU111 falcon with 153000km from all bids, got an unreg permit from Canberra connect, got 4 tyres then a pink slip so I could get an unreg permit in queanbeyan so I could drive to Goulburn.

Not sure I'll be doing that again. Was a total pain and waste of having to get 2 permits. Cheaper than a fine though.
devilcv8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-08-2013, 01:54 PM   #20
T-Pak Addict
Jim

Done it a few times from Melbourne to Adelaide. Never had any problems at servo's. If the pump didn't start just walked in with my licence and plopped it on the counter. Remember they are protecting their butt by not serving you with no plates... A couple times they have walked out when they realised no plates on the car too...

Funniest incident was driving past a random breath testing station and some poor sod was getting his VN Commy defected and looking at my EL Falcon ex Victorian cab driving past with no plates on... The look on his face was pure gold.... Was on the way to get it ID checked of course lol......

The Old Daily.......2003 Octane BA Taxi Pak Egas Falcon Build Thread
T-Pak Addict is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2013, 12:02 AM   #21
nb_351
building the xe...

I drove my zj several times after getting permits, it's amazing how quickly cops will pull you up in western Sydney when you have no rego plates on your car hahaha
I had one guy run across 3 lanes of highway from his rbt station to pull me up
I don't know how it works now that there's no such thing as rego labels? Cause you used to get given a yellow temp label which had details from the rta on it
nb_351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post