You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 31-01-2006, 11:05 PM   #1
Timmeh
Fairmont Ghia

Thumbs down How to destroy a Ford GT(40)

I did a search on the forums and couldn't find this posted, so here it is:

One less of these GTs in New Zealand now. Still, could be worse, could have been an original GT40. Plenty more where this one came from.

From what I can tell, the car has come around the left hand corner, lost the rear, got some grip while sideways and drifted nose-first onto the left hand curb and hit the pole sideways with the front right of the car. Cabin looks well intact though.

Timmeh

Last edited by Timmeh; 31-01-2006 at 11:13 PM.
Timmeh is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-01-2006, 11:07 PM   #2
whippet_zetec
Supes

WASTED.......oh man....
Old 31-01-2006, 11:08 PM   #3
wulos
Forum Director

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: All the behind-the-scenes effort. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For his advice, tips/tricks in the Art and Photography section of the Forum. 

Ouch!!
wulos is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-01-2006, 11:09 PM   #4
zetec
Zoom Zoom

What the hell is it with the latest spate of kiwis destroying exotics?!?!!!! That's just painful... more painful than that famous pic of the trashed Murcielago... also in NZ.

That man should be locked up and have the key thrown away.

Would that be possible to salvage engine etc given it's in the rear? Anyone got a spare $50k and a Falcon bodyshell? Mmmmm
Old 31-01-2006, 11:10 PM   #5
Grechie

id see a thread just like this one, a few days ago i thjink it was, unfortunate!
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 - 255/35/19 - 275/35/19
Shockworks Coilovers
PITLANE AUTOMOTIVE & PERFORMANCE
Grechie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-01-2006, 11:17 PM   #6
XBCoupeGuy
XBCoupeGuy

Pretty sure it was on here as I got it off a forum yesterday and posted them on my work forum today. Maybe it was one of the other forums I visit.
You didn't find these on the defence forums did you?
XBCoupeGuy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-01-2006, 11:26 PM   #7
Timmeh
Fairmont Ghia

Ah I got them in an e-mail, if you've seen them before, cool, if not, cool, just passing on interesting stuff I get sent.

Timmeh
Old 31-01-2006, 11:37 PM   #8

Horrible, wouldn't mind the Engine though...
Old 31-01-2006, 11:41 PM   #9
Dave_au

It will buff out no worries.
Dave_au is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2006, 12:36 AM   #10
Woz
As in 'best there ever'

Originally Posted by Dave_au
It will buff out no worries.
What the hell are you talking about? You can't buff glass. Go home. : :

Anyone got a spare Capri shell lying around to slot that gear into? :

My XB Fairmont Sedan Project
Woz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2006, 01:32 AM   #11

Fiberglass and gel coat you can...
I bet its back on road soon...
Old 01-02-2006, 03:13 AM   #12
AUIII XR8 MAN
DJR TM#54

Location: on my p.c now with internet! ok i'll still use works internet too.

Opp's
Oh well these thing happen.
Old 01-02-2006, 03:36 AM   #13
BOOSTDEF
FPV GT Owner!!!

must have dodged a sheep or sumthin.....

I know, it was lame.
- XB Coupe Project
BOOSTDEF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2006, 11:25 AM   #14

Hahahahahahhahahahahahahhahahahahahahhahahh!!!!!11 1
Old 01-02-2006, 11:29 AM   #15
crustyman
In between Fords

Anyone see any airbag??? I'd certainly want at least a drivers airbag in a car like that, for the $$$ you fork out :
crustyman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2006, 12:00 PM   #16
MAGPIE

Repost

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=34916

Apparently it is a notorious road for accidents, and a woman driving
MAGPIE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2006, 06:28 PM   #17
Timmeh
Fairmont Ghia

Originally Posted by MAGPIE
Repost

Timmeh
Old 01-02-2006, 06:47 PM   #18

The interior is still in really good shape. That guy wouldnt have had to get his legs chopped off or anything. Maybe he walked away. Considering the condition of the rest of the car, wow.
Old 01-02-2006, 07:14 PM   #19
gmhdriver

Originally Posted by crustyman
Anyone see any airbag??? I'd certainly want at least a drivers airbag in a car like that, for the $$$ you fork out :
Airbags do not deploy in side impacts, they are designed to deploy in frontal collisions only.
gmhdriver is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2006, 07:26 PM   #20
HOON69

welcome to my post like days/week ago
HOON69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2006, 07:27 PM   #21

Unless they are side protection..
Old 01-02-2006, 07:28 PM   #22
vino3o2
owning V8=having no $$$

Brings a tear to the eye......

The Reality: 13.1 @ 106mph.... The Goal: somehow get into the 12s!!! :sm_headba

www.qldsuperkart.org
vino3o2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-02-2006, 07:32 PM   #23
gmhdriver

Originally Posted by ebxr8240
Unless they are side protection..
Wow mate you're a genius for working that out
gmhdriver is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-02-2006, 07:53 PM   #24
bobski

http://forums.toyspeed.org.nz/viewtopic.php?t=42215

The thread that this come from originally was a cack. About the third page turns into a cat fight of sorts. But throw in some kiwi accents, some "cuz's" and some "bros" and its better than the pics
bobski is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2006, 01:58 PM   #25
Homer1

Can you get LHD cars registered in NZ?? Don't think we can do that here. Damn your laws are lax!!!
Homer1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2006, 05:02 PM   #26
Cobra
Bear with a sore head

So sad to see. If they can't get it back on the road I hope the engine can be put to good use somewhere else.
Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post