You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 03-02-2006, 06:27 PM   #1
BlueRaven
Dual O2 sensors

Talking Happy Car Moments

I had a thought today about the moments that make us smile as car owners.

For my XB, which is off the road for a while, its not when I actually drove it - but when it was revved hard in the driveway and the kids across the street, who were playing in their front yard, starting coughing from all the black smoke.

That was the funniest thing :sm_headba

For our AU, the one of the best moments was when I was driving a few people and overtook a car with the foot on the floor. My mate who was in the back seat said "woah, is this v8?". I laughed... its a stock AU2 Futura.

Ahhhhhhh memories.

Old 03-02-2006, 06:30 PM   #2

When my mate's cousin jumped in the ute (has a Silvia), gave it the smallest bit of pepper, and he said "Holy s**t, slow down".

And the other times people have mistaken my ute for a V8.
Old 03-02-2006, 07:12 PM   #3
MAGPIE

When I hit a diesel spill in the rain whilst in my EL XR6, was overtaking a corolla hit this slick & went through a 360 degree spin across four lanes of rush hour traffic and ended up on the shoulder facing the right way about 5cm from a power pole....

My happiest car moment was realising I was alive & the trusty old falcon didnt have a sratch on her :yeees:
MAGPIE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2006, 07:16 PM   #4
Ryan

Actually this still happens now but whenever I give my VL a bootfull alot of people expect a psssssssssssssssschhhhhhhhhhhh but its just a N/A 5 Speed lol.

Also the countless times people have come up to me and asked if my VL was a Turbo, "Theres no intercooler mate so how can it be a Turbo?" lol.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2006, 07:29 PM   #5
Stevo

You can have a non intercooled turbo's
Old 03-02-2006, 07:35 PM   #6
Ryan

Originally Posted by Stevo
You can have a non intercooled turbo's
On boosted VLTs its a rare sight.

But one thing that makes it more funny, its usually the same guys over again who say it, like one week they say it then the next week they ask the same question again lol. _
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2006, 07:44 PM   #7
Mrs347stroker

What will make me smile about cars......that Matt won't buy any more and when then are no more cars sitting around our property!!!
Mrs347stroker is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-02-2006, 11:37 PM   #8
XAGSV8
Member 178

When I was driving my fairmont across our local bridge I floored it and my mate was in the back screaming out "slow down man slow down" (he wasn't joking). All my other mates were laughing at him and to this day he still gets payed out at work. Funniest thing is this is in a stock clevo 302. He would probably die in my brothers worked 351.

1963 Morris Mini

1999 NU Fairlane Ghia
XAGSV8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2006, 12:00 AM   #9
awsome4.0

when i was on my Ls was on a hill climb race track (had not been used in years) got a little bit to keen done a 180 slid backwards and put the back wheels over the cliff.
The guy who was in the passenger seat looked over at me and started balling he was 25
awsome4.0 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2006, 12:53 AM   #10
Deadman

3 moments:

1. After driving all kinds of Fords my father in law would bring home (Typhoons, GT's etc) and looking through Ford brochures since the day the BA was released, I finally left uni and got a job. Stepping out of my Hyundai Excel into my BA XR6 was the most satisfying car moment of my life. The first few seconds as I turned the ignition to leave the dealership were priceless. My first Ford...

2. The looks on my mates faces as I came to pick them up on the way to the pub is a close second ;)

3. Saying goodbye to my first car. A 1992 model Magna. Being the first car, will always have memories. The car was faultless mechanically, even with 300,000+ km on it never let me down...
Deadman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2006, 01:08 AM   #11
ReVd_uP

Originally Posted by Ryan
On boosted VLTs its a rare sight.

But one thing that makes it more funny, its usually the same guys over again who say it, like one week they say it then the next week they ask the same question again lol. _

When the VL turbo came out they didnt have an intercooler from factory, all VL intercoolers are aftermarket jobs
ReVd_uP is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2006, 11:24 AM   #12
RSgerry
Well hello Mr Fancypants

a long time ago i was sideways in a gravel carpark at night with the spotlights on and lit up the side of a car that was parked. a topless girl in the back seat sat up to see what the noise and lights were and gave me highbeams of her own. :-)
RSgerry is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2006, 12:09 PM   #13
vino3o2
owning V8=having no $$$

Taking My dads Xf ute to the Aspley Drive-in with my GF and matress and not watching any movies...

The Reality: 13.1 @ 106mph.... The Goal: somehow get into the 12s!!! :sm_headba

www.qldsuperkart.org
vino3o2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2006, 02:53 PM   #14
Mesa

Firing up a car you've been building for years for the first time and everythings running properly. Only thing better is driving it for the first time.
Mesa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2006, 03:32 PM   #15

Driving my just purchased XE Falcon home with a big grin - my first car I ever owned. It signifies a new level of freedom - being able to grab the keys and go when you want instead of having to beg to borrow someone else's car first
pauljh74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2006, 04:11 PM   #16
chief
FTF Club Moderator

When I bought the car. Drove it for the first time.

Being in a severe accident and only stopping les than a metre from a power pole.

Falcon Tickford FPV (FTF) Car Club of NSW

Fords in the Park 2010

I use and recommend Stingray Car Security.
http://www.stingraycar.com.au/
chief is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-02-2006, 06:36 PM   #17

When my car was just converted to manual, and my mate drove it..... He used to pick up lots of different cars and always wanted a Supra or something.

"Whoa, stuff all these rice burners and crap, I wanna big 6 or a V8!"

Old 05-02-2006, 01:57 AM   #18
RspecAU
BA GT-P Owner

When i test drove the AU and gave it a boot load of right foot turning onto south road. The unweighted left wheel let loose and a handfull of opposite lock all the way to the red line. I looked at my gf and said "i'm buying this".
ON MAXXIS MAV1's 275/45/17 13.27 @ 106mph
RspecAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 02:13 AM   #19
Gabbs
Curry in a hurry

Mine would have to be getting into my first brand new car. I didn't actually get to pick it up as I was working so the old man picked it up for us and came past work when I finished to pick me up. I get into the drivers seat and go to take off. Stall not once but twice while people from work are watching. Third time I gave it a bit of gas and was out of thier in nice and quick.
Gabbs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 02:23 AM   #20

When I bought the AU I was driving home in peak hour traffic and had to speed up to merge onto the freeway. I put my foot down at 100km/hr and the thing went sideways on me in the dry :P Glad I didnt crash my brand new car.

The look on HSV drivers when I would overtake them and let a big flutter go off by their window in my "stock" EB.

Wheelstanding my torana. Oh wait that one is yet to happen. Soon...soon :P .
Old 05-02-2006, 02:50 AM   #21
divine_afg
Extreme_Custom

just got home after not so good weekend on the way couple vl's racing ....
first set of lights behind them poor vl's reving their cars hardcore to make some noise..
reved mine all went quite..... let dem go
second set of lights couple of compliments for my car by the hot babes in thier magna and vl passenger qouting to the other one that car would rip you....
let them go again.................
third set of lights i coming from their behind again i couldnt find them in my rear view
and the number of times i get the question " is that a v8 mate "
cruising down and turning heads of the GMH Boys GF priceless

Last edited by divine_afg; 05-02-2006 at 02:56 AM.
divine_afg is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 03:18 AM   #22
gazzaEBXR6

the day i got my license jumping in the EB and taking the first corner side was. had it in first instead of second i was preparing to stop but saw the coast was clear so let my foot off the clutch gave it a bit throwing it side ways gees did i have a grin on my face:hihi:
gazzaEBXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 03:38 AM   #23
Grechie

smoking out my friends behind me with the oil i burn hehehee
Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 - 255/35/19 - 275/35/19
Shockworks Coilovers
PITLANE AUTOMOTIVE & PERFORMANCE
Grechie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 06:21 AM   #24
xurbanx

Two moments;
1. Driving the car back from the dealer's; impressed by the sound the Fiesta was producing. (Had driven dad's old EB Falcon before).

2. Looking at the Fiesta through this building, with mirror-like windows. The Fiesta from the side is awsome (:
xurbanx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 06:38 AM   #25
phat_stak_tipa

Happy moments ........ probly the best for me was in my EB xr6 manual racing an aftermarket supercharged intercooled VS commy down the highway he hit i hit in third doing 80 kays and i started pulling away.... the guy in the VS was saying "hey mate whats in that thing?' to which i replied a six with exhaust, extractors he couldnt believe it... if my mates werent there to see it i dont think they would have believed me.... also same car raced a V8 VH commy with carbys out the bonnet full flares and stuff on it.... off from the lights the EB XR stays with it with 3 people in it versus him on his own.... it musnt have been all that good coz he couldnt get away no matter how much he tried.... same car again (lots of memories) racing a mate in a VT V8 series 1 5.0L from lights on highway too obscene speeds side by side until i shift to 4th and start pulling away from the V8.... the other was cracking up coz hes a ford fan and VT was his brothers.. i will never do that sort of crazy stuff again..... but man i had fun in that car... it loved going sideways in front of all the commy drivers at a certain Sydney maccas that shall remain nameless as i said i wont carry on like that anymore too much too lose......
phat_stak_tipa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 11:54 AM   #26
Josh_XC

My best moment was when i first bought my car off a cop last year. he asked me if i wanted to see how quick it went so i draged him in his AU XR8 and i beat his ИИИИ, i was real happy
Josh_XC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 12:30 PM   #27

My best time was when I finally sold my VR Senator (what a mistake that was,buying it in the first place,piece of ИИИИ ) And getting a AU11 Fairmont (Ahhhh the bliss)
The G6ET Spot is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 12:34 PM   #28
Melz

Best moment - getting to drag race the ute

Worst moment - breaking the ute at my first drag meet :(
Melz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-02-2006, 02:40 PM   #29

Winning the DYO at Heathcote last weekend

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.