You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 28-02-2006, 05:52 PM   #1
AshMan
Girrrrr!!!

Default Really cold water on drivers and passengers feet

As the title suggests, my passenger and I are getting very cold water pouring onto our feet when goinga round corners.

I'm guessing the aircon condensation is collecting in a tray of some sort but the outlet hole is blocked.

Where is this outlet hole underneath the car?

Ashley

Heritage green, isn't that a fence paint?
AshMan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-02-2006, 06:48 PM   #2
fairmont1998

Yep, you've got a blocked condensate drain. It exits through the firewall on the passenger side. Can be a bit hard to see with the firewall insulation around it.

2012 KK Jeep Cherokee Limited CRD - Still going strong
2019 MG ZS Essence
1988 RD Mitsubishi Colt GL - 59kW of Fury
2022 Kia Stinger GT
fairmont1998 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-02-2006, 07:42 PM   #3
AshMan
Girrrrr!!!

Is it accessable from the engine bay or will I have to get underneath?

I think my ramps are too steep for the XR6

Old 28-02-2006, 07:59 PM   #4
fairmont1998

You can get to it from the engine bay

2012 KK Jeep Cherokee Limited CRD - Still going strong
2019 MG ZS Essence
1988 RD Mitsubishi Colt GL - 59kW of Fury
2022 Kia Stinger GT
fairmont1998 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-02-2006, 08:56 PM   #5
vegabass
BASS ON BOARD!

I have had this happen on the drivers side!!!

same thing?
Old 28-02-2006, 08:59 PM   #6
fiery

Originally Posted by vegabass
I have had this happen on the drivers side!!!

same thing?

well there is a job for you now on the weekend Drew.. its happening both sides in my car : :
fiery is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-02-2006, 09:01 PM   #7

Had to check I wasn't in the X-series forum for a second there.
Old 28-02-2006, 09:36 PM   #8
AshMan
Girrrrr!!!

Originally Posted by Psycho Chicken
Had to check I wasn't in the X-series forum for a second there.
lol, :nutsycuck

it happened in my old Pinto too :P

its not a comfort thing, but the carpet on both sides is saturated and I'm worried about it rotting or stinking...

Any tips on drying it out?

After I've fixed the problem of course.

Old 28-02-2006, 09:46 PM   #9
1TUFFUTE

heres a tip..totally strip the car down to the shell...blow dry everthing then put it back...or u could leave the window down
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 28-02-2006, 09:50 PM   #10

passenger side about where the passengersright toes would be . they have a plastic condensation pipe that breaks off . and then the insulation swells and water condensation starts coming in . peel away the swollen insulation best done from under the car . lift the carpet and let dry . easy done . and happened to me as well.
Old 28-02-2006, 10:46 PM   #11
the_scotsman
MY21.5 Mustang GT

Originally Posted by gtfpv
passenger side about where the passengersright toes would be . they have a plastic condensation pipe that breaks off . and then the insulation swells and water condensation starts coming in . peel away the swollen insulation best done from under the car . lift the carpet and let dry . easy done . and happened to me as well.
Yep, this happened to mine...hose missing, and the insulation on the firewall in the engine bay side has swollen up and blocked the hole...just cleared it away a bit and all is sweet now...
Old 01-03-2006, 07:05 AM   #12
AshMan
Girrrrr!!!

Originally Posted by dev5 ute
heres a tip..totally strip the car down to the shell...blow dry everthing then put it back...or u could leave the window down
Cool, I'll do that in my smoko break at work today :

lol

Old 02-03-2006, 09:27 PM   #13
vegabass
BASS ON BOARD!

But what about the drivers side?
Old 02-03-2006, 11:15 PM   #14
Olympus
Rocket Fuel Anyone?

I have the same problem on the drivers side, it sucks when you're driving barefoot.
How do I fix it?
Olympus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-03-2006, 11:36 PM   #15

Originally Posted by Olympus
I have the same problem on the drivers side, it sucks when you're driving barefoot.
How do I fix it?
read my post. and scottsmans . do you need an interpreter.?? why ask a question when the answer is there?
Old 03-03-2006, 08:28 AM   #16
Low Na
Cruisin in my EL

I had the same thing ages ago in the EL. Seems that when the drain hole is blocked, the water collects to the point that it runs back through both floor vents, hence the reason your getting water on the drivers side.
Low Na is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-03-2006, 08:33 AM   #17
fiery

read my post. and scottsmans . do you need an interpreter.?? why ask a question when the answer is there?
You both stated passenger side........ I have the problem both sides, Vegabass has it on the drivers side (hence asking is it the same), and Olympus also wanted to know if the drivers side has the same things as the passenger side....
I actually dont think it was necessary for you to be sarcastic... the question was simple actually - Everyone that answered responded re: passenger side,
some of us were wondering if it is the same the Drivers Side!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 03-03-2006, 08:35 AM   #18
fiery

Originally Posted by Low Na
I had the same thing ages ago in the EL. Seems that when the drain hole is blocked, the water collects to the point that it runs back through both floor vents, hence the reason your getting water on the drivers side.
Thanks, that means vegabass has to unblock his (and mine, but shhhh dont tell him just yet) drain hole on the drivers side.......
Old 03-03-2006, 04:32 PM   #19
1TUFFUTE

the answer in front of u interpreted may not be my jedi friend...u got told bud
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 03-03-2006, 09:37 PM   #20
Olympus
Rocket Fuel Anyone?

Sorry mate, I was under the impression the driversside might need a different procedure. No need to get ya knickers in a twist princess. :
Olympus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-03-2006, 01:55 AM   #21
SeZZa
Sucker For Punishment

My brother's old car (VL, Calais) use to have a similar problem.
The carpet would get very damp from... something.

Don't remember what it was or how he fixed it. Lol. Sorry, I'm no help at all.
SeZZa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-03-2006, 04:16 AM   #22

VL calais ? was it turbo bruh? maybe your cuz left a wet patch on the floor.
Damo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-03-2006, 05:58 PM   #23
SeZZa
Sucker For Punishment

Hahaha! No it wasn't a turbo. My brother isn't that kind of VL calais, fully sick bro, kind of person.
SeZZa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post