Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
#121 | ||
My experience with GWM @ (-------) has been quite a journey. I purchased the GWM Cannon back in February 2024, and for the first five months, everything was going smoothly. However, recently, I encountered a major issue: when I tried to start the car, the push-button start wouldn't work, and various warning lights flashed on the screen like Christmas lights. It looks like the car will need to be towed back to GWM @(--------)
Here's a rundown of the work done on the car so far: I've had a tow bar, canopy, subwoofer under the seat, and a light bar installed. All of these modifications were professionally done by my mechanic. When it comes to warranty work, the service center at GWM @(-------) requires receipts for any modifications so they can submit them to GWM. Anything done by the owner gets recorded and noted, then submitted to GWM. For example, even something as minor as poking a wire through a grommet in the engine bay could be scrutinized. The service department tends to pick and choose any modifications that might have caused a problem, ultimately to avoid a warranty claim. Currently, I've had to drag the car back to my home and strip off all the modifications to bring it back to factory stock. This was the recommendation from the service people at GWM @(---------) It's clear that GWM @(--------) prioritizes profit over customer service. They seem to focus on nit-picking any potential faults to avoid honoring warranty claims. Customer service is out the window as they make every effort to dodge responsibility and put the burden on the customer. watch this space for further updates asap..... |
This user likes this post: |
#122 | ||
praek tih kl jo kr
Dont break a headlight, grille, Bumper, etc, ordered parts January this year, just recieved them Today.
2 users like this post: |
#123 | ||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
sounds like they are following Insurance companies stratergy, don't honour anything unless the customer keeps being a pest over the months till they go away.
Good luck mate, sounds like a absolute cluster F, having to strip everything off is a joke but thats the game they expect you to play. prktkljokr, yer I know your a beater from memory. Seems anything chinese branded has way longer wait lead times than some other marques. My silly neighbour has a BYD, got side scrapped many many months ago, still waiting on his beater recieving parts.
#124 | ||
praek tih kl jo kr
Yep currently have about 13 Chinese cars waiting for parts, it seems they dont stock anything, so you have to order, they give you a bull crap estimate on when you will see it, then they pencil it in when they next manufacturer the part that you need one, if you are lucky you might see it within months, but its like playing lotto, 3 - 4 months is the norm.
#125 | ||
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
Anyone had any experience with SsangYong? The Musso seems like a better deal at the moment than the Chinese if in the market for a 'budget' ute.
#126 | ||
praek tih kl jo kr
I know the older ones had problems with injectors or glow plugs seizing into the head, apart from them being ugly back then, they were reliable
#127 | ||
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/
Don't they just run a Hyundai 2.2 now? My parents have almost 500000km on their Santa Fe and it's only done a turbo in that time.
#128 | |||
Yep and amongst other quality issues - and doubt their service to customer would be anything to test. Why bother when there are other options. Want a cheap reliable and numbered servicing options and parts go Triton. Not Chinese money but at least it’s a known qty and cheapest of the main brands. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
8 users like this post: |
#129 | |||
#130 | ||
How do they stack up against Hilux Ranger model to model now ?
Surely they are not to those levels but I’ll look into it unless you can already advise. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
#131 | ||
Well there's a BYD Shark ute coming soon with superior everything and a 5.7 0 to 100 , so put that on your shopping list also.
#132 | |||
To go by MLP, a GLS is $59,090, where as an XLT Bi Turbo goes for $63,640. Last edited by Adamz Ghia; 09-06-2024 at 08:01 PM. |
#133 | |||
2008 FG XR6 Turbo ZF In Sensation - Gone, but not Forgotten.... Hers: 2024 Ford Everest Platinum in Equinox Bronze His Daily: 2020 (MY21) Kia Sorento GT-Line in Mineral Blue His Weekender: 2017 Commodore SSV Redline manual in Light My Fire Orange |
#134 | |||
#135 | ||
In recent threads on AFF, I have made no secret that I wanted a Mazda 6 wagon as my next car.
However, as my wife and I have discussed our needs, it's become clear that I should be looking at getting a ute which would be of better use to us. As a back story, we both have 2021 Corollas. Under the finance arrangement, we get a minimum value at trade-in time if we keep them under a set km, get them serviced etc etc. The wife has decided that she wants a Corolla Cross next. She's driven one, and found it quite comfortable and roomy enough for our needs. Both of our Corollas have copped a lot of rural use over their lifetimes, which is why we've decided on a ute. I'm talking bales of straw, loads of rubbish to the tip, taking chooks to poultry auctions ( and bringing new chooks back again ), all that stuff. So, I've been looking at utes. I don't want anything fancy. I just want a base-spec ute that I can use as a bit of a work horse. The only requirements are: A dual cab, so that our dogs can travel on the back seat and a "pick-up" style ( or Styleside as Ford called them on the Falcon ute ) as I'm not fussed on the aluminum trays. That's it. I'll probably put a towbar on, but only for the purpose of a box trailer to cart around as we don't have a boat or caravan, so towing capacity isnt an issue. So, doing some internet researching, looking at prices for base spec dual cab utes, prices go from an eye-watering $61,815 for an Amarok, down to $39,990 for a Mahindra. Stop right there. While I want just a work horse, those Mahindras look hideous, and no way am I getting one of those. Next cheapest, at an even $40,000 is the Ssangyong Musso. GWM Cannons start at $40,490 and LDV T60's from $40,990. So, as a question, does anyone here have real-world experience with these cheaper utes ? I haven't read much good about any of those brands aftersales service ie: parts or warranty claims as mentioned above. As a point of interest, the next cheapest is a Hi-Lux at $42,122. Obviously a little bit dearer, but the reliability is top notch, and aftersales care is, from experience at my local Toyota dealership, excellent. However, much as I just want something sparse, the idea of the extra kit in the cheaper brands appeals. So it's a dilemma. Not looking to be told what to buy, just looking for unbiased, real world experience. Any useful advice appreciated.
#136 | ||
Sounds like a working brief for a Falcon wagon. Only GWM utes I’ve driven serned harshly sprung, but they weren’t current models.
Definitely avoid LDV utes due to corrosion write-offs. |
#137 | ||
For sure. If I could get a new Falcon wagon, I'd be all over it.
The video posted earlier in this thread about LDV was enough to put me off too btw
#138 | ||
Get the Hilux.
Toyota will probably do you a better deal on the Corolla changeover than going elsewhere. You'll get the $2k back 10 fold come tradein next time too. |
#139 | ||
There's a lot of ignorance when it comes to dealing with the Chinese...
People say a lot of stupid shite, about remembering the Japanese and Koreans, as if sure, all Asian countries are the same. People also confuse the Chinese people they know, with the wider the PRC culture. My mate is a good example, albeit Vietnamese. His family ran a transport business, and they FLED the communists. They wanted a better life and were driven to make that happen. As a result, he's intelligent, hard-working, and ambitious. Yes, the stereotypical Vietnamese MIGRANT. But go to work in Viet Nam, as I have, and you'll find very few people like that. They're lazy, backwards, resistant to change, and proud of it. Their national motto should be "we don't give a s____." The PRC is NOTHING like Japan or Korea. I've worked on projects were we specifically went out and hired Korean Welders. They're hardworking, understand the importance of English, and the quality of their work is incredible. Have a look on the product review sites for the Chinese cars, and other major Chinese brands, and stories are repeated thousands of times over: The features don't work as they should, the dealers can do nothing to fix them, and the companies have zero interest in honoring their warranties. I'm a firm believer that EVERYTHING is a bargain at the right price. The problem is that there are too many stupid people out there, and so the price of the Chinese junk is never cheap enough. When I was looking for a car for the missus, she wanted an MG, because of the "features." After reading the reviews I told her "fine, but when there's a warranty issue, I'm not dealing with the dealership for you." So she bought a Nissan. She a got a demo Juke, which pricewise was not that much more expensive than the MG. It's got all the safety features, is a much better car out of the box, and we know it's going to last longer and hold its value better. I'm pretty sure my toaster and kettle are made in China. Their cars will get there, eventually, but I won't be buying em until they reconsider their whole approach to quality control and warranty.
4 users like this post: |