In the family since 1996
Jeez cops are sneaky.
I knew about them, but saw the first one today. A black Falcon XLS ute with hard tournaeu cover being used as an unmarked patrol car. Anyone else seen one similar or other types of vehicles being used? A few years back I saw a landcruiser with skis on roof racks pulling over another car. |
Professional Mouse Jockey
Used to be AUIII XR8 utes being used as unmarked cars down my way a few years back (before the BA).
#3 | ||
I have seen a VZ SS Ute, Impulse Blue with a hard top.
Around 12months ago. |
#4 | ||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
There is a green BF XR ute (id say turbo, no bulge) going around here
#5 | ||
Lots of Camry's and Mitsubishi 380's running around now too.
#6 | ||
13.96 @ 101.65
heaps of black bf turbos around where i work..
#7 | ||
ON the M1 on the way to the gold coast i have seen Black SS ute with a "SIC" sticker on the back. Then it had Jetpilot and some other one now. They where always trying to drag people. Now that is wat i call sneeky
#8 | ||
In the family since 1996
yeah followed a red 380 on the way to work the other morning, doing 120 all the way. if its good enough for them its good enough for me.
#9 | |||
In the family since 1996
#10 | ||
in adelaide they have a white ba ute, not a xr6 just a stock looking ute....seen them pull over someone on tapleys ages ago.
#11 | ||
On high street in Preston (between ruthven and keon park train station) you regulary see a blue BA falcon stationwagon on the side of the road (train station side) just sitting behind a couple of trees. Luckily for the people who travel that way you always have 1 or 2 "helpful" motorist who give you the heads up 500m before you evan see her!
#12 | ||
yeah i always see coppers getting around in BF2 utes as well as new territorys. you'd be suprised what they use as survelliance cars.
partzkid |
#13 | ||
Theyre sneaky bastards. I guess the trick is to just do the right thing and they wont bother you.
#14 | ||
Ex EL Falcon
I'm not really sure why people are so surprised that the cops would do this sort of thing... we don't have entrapment laws (at least we don't in QLD) so if a cop encourages you to break the law, well tough, you still did it
![]() Cops aren't all stupid donut eaters...
#15 | ||
EL Monty Ghia
They have an unmarked silver VE SS that gets around a fair bit in Geelong. First time I saw it was when it put it's lights on to pull someone over outside my work :evil3:
#16 | ||
![]() Join Date: Mar 2005
I dont know why people are surprised at this.
If you've driven between Syd and the snowfields in the last 20yrs you must have seen at least one HP car with skis on the roof around the Goulburn, (NSW) area. If anything they've slowed up in the plain car dept these days. Years ago they've had such things as a Semi (Goulburn again) or an old Ford 150(?) ute with bales of hay in the back (Wangaratta area, Vic)
#17 | ||
5.4L 3V V8
I have heard storys of a undercover monaro attempting to encourage people into street racing in adelaide, apparently it had the flashing lights on the rear parcel shelf,which is wear I have seen them before,either side of the brake light or just infront of it.
#18 | ||
LOW AND SLOW
Geelong used to have a Hyundai Santa Fe parked on the side of the road. I always saw it on Plantation Rd. My wife got done by it 2 weeks after i bought her the AU. Have also seen Blue VE SS unmarked.
#19 | ||
Got done in country Vic by a unmarked White BF Falcon with the dash mounted lights. Im from SA so Im only used to seing Dunnydore Cop cars. :togo:
Current Rides Mystic FG Turbo, 19" GTP's XK sedan stock. 1989 F250 V8 Previous Rides Black G220 Dumped 93 Black ED XR6 04 Territory, 20's, Black, Bling 94 NC Barge, Dumped, 17's 93 EB S, Dumped, 17's 86 Barge, Dumped, 17's 86 Cruiser of Land! 86 XF Wagon, Bull Bar, Raised, Salt Lake cruiser! 82 XE Sedan, Dumped, 15's 74 XB Coupe, 18's 73 XB Sedan 61 XK Wagon, old school. 78 Cortina. Projects 65 Zephyr, Tubbed, 289, Simmons 65 Mustang LT Project ![]() |
#20 | |||
Bit off topic, as it's not the police anymore, but some of the speed camera cars here in SA now have number plate surrounds (ie, City Holden). That was always my trick to help determine if cars parked on the side of the road are suss or not. |
#21 | ||
Only an xr6...
So far I've seen a white ford tertory, silver bf xr6, dark gray ve, Purple 380 and a silver one too, Dark blue arstra, Silver SV6(I think this has finished service) And the mostly used one around here latley is a green toyota aurion sx6. I've been pulled over by each of these cars except for the xr6...Sucks being a P-plater.
#22 | ||
SIR DOOF DOOF =D
well in melb ive seen heaps..
around ky area keilor downs their is a vz ss slapt with signature wheels and no spoiler but it is a cop car as i ahve been pulled over by it. a silver 02 STI with a tacho and really dark windows and a masive cooler. i was driving on da calder freeway and all i heard was spooiling then i looke dna say flashing lights from da tailights rear window etc.. cops are getting very very sneeky... i remember my brother saying back in the day a cop used to have a hz ute that was blue, tubbed and wasnt loud...had a blower on it but nothing to fancy..my borther was gna race him til he lookd slosely inside the car and he saw computers and stuff hanging outside the glovebox..then when the guy drove off infront of him the plates were in red writing and thier were blue and red lights aboe the paltes and nxt to da rear window...
#23 | |||
Supposibly my mate has seen Skyline R34 GT-R pulling over someone on princess highway if thats true thats crazy lol
#24 | ||
GUNEF
im in sa, i was at my work one day and a vl did a burnout out the parkpark and and a real old ford laser (80s-90s) put on their flashing lights and pulled him over. would have never have guested. also my brothers mates go done a while back, but to chick coppers in the city in a r33 skyline with all vinly stickers and and car was fully moded. they where reving their engines at the lights wanting to go as soon as my bros mates started to slow down they done them. NOW THATS SLY!!!!!!!!
#25 | ||
Pimpin My VK
ive seen a purple xr6 turbo and got followed by a silver ve with what looked like a speed camera mounted on the bonnet and also a couple of years ago i saw something like a hz wagon full of camping gear with cops and a speed camera
#26 | ||
i got pulled over by a new gold camry sedan,it had the small lights on the dash,the cops were wearing boadshorts and billabong shirts.they pulled me over checked my licence and ran back to the car and nailed off.
#27 | ||
WTF I was following a VE Calais and it had the red and blues on the rear parcel shelf.
#28 | ||
Irregular member
We watched a dark blue B-series XR8 or GT roar up past me and zig-zag its way through peak hour traffic, and we all thought they were a real moron, until later down the road we saw they had pulled over someone with their lights flashing only then. The thing is, they didn't have their flashing lights on when they were roaring past.
Does someone know, are any cop cars meant to have their flashing lights on if exceeding the speed limit and driving like an apparent idiot like that?
2000 AU II FAIRLANE 75th ANNIVERSARY - big and shiny My hovercraft is full of eels! Movie Car Chase of the Week: Gene Hackman driving a 1971 Pontiac LeMans to chase an elevated train in The French Connection (1971). |
#29 | ||
Come on guys, you wouldn't see operational police using 80's model Lasers to pull people over, it was most probably a prank by some hoodlums.
The Berlina, Calais, Fairmont etc would either be higher ranking police members, who are given these cars to take home etc, or a CSO of the Ambulance service, who use similar vehicles with parcel shelf lights. Victoria Police have been using utes for years, in marked or unmarked state (not talking about divisional vans either). Years ago, here at Moorabbin TOG (as it was back then) - There was a white VT station wagon, V8 with 17" ROH wheels, just when the VT came out and became extremely popular. This caught out a number of customers, thus being a popular unmarked vehicle.
Regards Bobby Current Cars: 2000 AU2 Fairmont (2019-current) 2003 BA1 Falcon Divvy Van (2017-current) 2009 VW Mk6 Golf 118TSi (2020-current) Previous Cars: 2003 MCX10R Avalon VXi (2017-2020) 1995 EF1 Falcon GLi (2016-2019) 1997 XH2 Falcon Van OPT20 (2016-2019) 2006 BF Fairlane Ghia (2013-2018) 2001 AU3 Futura (2010-2013) 1996 EL Fairmont (2008-2010) 2004 BA XR6 (2005-2008) 2001 AU2 Forte (2005-2006) 1988 EA Fairmont Ghia (2003-2005) 1984 AR Telstar TX5 Ghia (2001-2005) |
#30 | |||
certified nutter
also seen a blue rodeo dual cab 4x4 with tarp and dog in the back in country vic |