You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 08-08-2007, 10:07 PM   #1
XR6Dan
Why??

Default Buying a cheap car - questions?

Looking for a cheap car (4~$5k) to get to work. I've been trolling through all the car sales websites and figure a ute would be good.

I was looking at a Toyota Hilux or Ford Courier type, but what are they are around a '92 model with 210k+. What are these like with high km's? There's heaps on the road so they seem reliable?

Is there anything I should look out for, besides rust, oil leaks etc.?

XR6Dan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2007, 10:14 PM   #2
schnoods

If its a diesel, check for smoke blowing. On hilux's check for diff wear as they are a weak link if they have been flogged or pushed hard. If it has been jacked up (4wd) check if there is a one piece tailshaft put in, otherwise you will be an expert on centre mount bearings (one every 3-6 months).

Other than that they are pretty unbreakable.

95 EF XR8, Advance headers, Vortech V2 t trim blower, Ported Cobra Manifold, Capa Switch Chip Eliminator. 307 rwhp 395 ft/lb 13.2 @ 105mph

Now NA- AFR 165 heads, 1.6RR, Ported Cobra 269rwhp 14.2 ... needs stall and 4.11's

1977 CL Chrysler Panel Van, 360, 727 torqueflite auto soon to be restored.
schnoods is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2007, 09:51 AM   #3
XR6Dan
Why??

Old 09-08-2007, 10:15 AM   #4

Top Gear Hilux road test: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tom3OUKDM9I
Old 09-08-2007, 11:51 AM   #5
FORD3V
5.4L 3V V8

Cant go wrong with toyota's (well I havnt) my last hiace van had over 250 000 k's on her and never missed a beat,only sold it cos it looked like crap and wasnt a good look for the business.

I now have another hiace with around 150 000k's and I would never say a bad word about either of them.

Sold the old one for 200 hundred bucks and it kept going strong until my mate blew up the trans doing a burnout on oil.
FORD3V is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2007, 02:55 PM   #6
[Tonko]

My mates dad has an early 90's ford courier, The interior sucks and its so incredibly slow... BUT... Very, very reliable...
If you buy a light blue one with a canopy you can call it Pappa Smurf like we do with his.

EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU -

1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps-

[Tonko] is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2007, 03:29 PM   #7
X000BOSS
I12 GO FASTER

gotta 91 hilux as a runabout. truly unbreakable. makes some weird noises, but keeps going and going. blew the head gasket 6 months ago, 1 bottle of chemiweld and its still going. highly recommended. might actually spend a few dollars and tidy it up soon, i think it deserves it.
Old 09-08-2007, 04:07 PM   #8

Originally Posted by TonkoXR8
If you buy a light blue one with a canopy you can call it Pappa Smurf like we do with his.
But Pappa Smurf had a white hat

Old 09-08-2007, 04:51 PM   #9
[Tonko]

yeah, that was the vent on top of the white canopy...

EF XR8 - Koni's - Cam and Headwork -3.9s - Ex VIC TMU -

1982 Nissan Patrol - 460 ci Big Block soon - Semi Gloss Black - Dark Tint - 4x 6" Infinity Kappa Perfect Splits - 5" Kappa 2 ways - Kappa 6x9's - 2x12" Kappa perfect subs - 2x4 Channel and 2x Mono Kappa amps-

[Tonko] is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2007, 10:47 PM   #10
stupa

I used to have a 93 4x2 hilux with the 2.4L 4cl in it on gas, It toped out at 130km/h, however it had done over 600,000k's when a hose blew and kinda cooked the engine. Drove it round for another coupla weeks with no water.

Sweet cars.
stupa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2007, 11:37 PM   #11
Interceptor
HSV - I just ate one!

i'd go for the toyota too, at work we've got a 94 hiace van, 365,000km on it, overloaded like you wouldnt believe, and we simply cant kill it...... and god knows, i try
Old 10-08-2007, 08:41 AM   #12
Macca23

i had a 89 hilx 2.8diesel with 380,000ks on it when i sold it. was not missin a beat, it was basicly unstopable too. very cheap on diesel! i sold mine for 2,200 bout 2 years ago...body was bit worse for wear(cable ties do wonders)

but yeah for somthin cheap easy to look after and a ute. the old hilux is excellent!
you can also drive of many things!! :evil3:
Macca23 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2007, 09:08 AM   #13
FORD3V
5.4L 3V V8

Buy a toyota mate,you cant go wrong.

Those things are almost unbreakable.
FORD3V is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2007, 10:09 AM   #14
Jesk
certified nutter

Originally Posted by The Yeti
But Pappa Smurf had a white hat
papa smurf actually had a red hat

Jesk is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2007, 05:01 PM   #15

If you don't actually need a ute there is a lot more value in buying a car, you would get a much newer car for the price
outback_ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2007, 05:27 PM   #16
falzoony
Rockin '67

Originally Posted by sgt_doofey
Go to the 4:02 mark, funny.

'67 XR Wagon
falzoony is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-08-2007, 11:50 PM   #17

Originally Posted by outback_ute
If you don't actually need a ute there is a lot more value in buying a car, you would get a much newer car for the price
maybe so, but (in Vic) a ute is considered a Commercial Vehicle which means your rego is cheaper.
i found this out when i went to register the Panelvan. $220 instead of $450 for rego....big difference.
Old 11-08-2007, 09:53 AM   #18
red_hotxr6

Hubby,s got a 91 liteace van 405,000 and still going strong, body is a bit faded, but better the devil you know..
red_hotxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2007, 11:15 AM   #19
XR6Dan
Why??

Alright, narrowed down to:
- Toyota Hilux,
- Ford Courier,
- Mazda Bravo

Hilux seem to be the most reliable - anybody got any comments about the Courier or Bravo?? The models I'm looking at are around the 90's and have 300+ on the clock.

Old 18-08-2007, 12:34 PM   #20
primo

go for the hilux mate, we get heaps of them coming to the workshop a lot of them have over 200000km on them, we even have a mining company that brings all theres in that have at least 500000km and they still go. My old man has a 96 courier and even though it hasnt giving him much grief i'd take a hilux any day
primo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2007, 02:41 PM   #21
whiteELXR6

had a look at any rodeo's mate? i got a 99 2.8 turbo diesel ex reece plumbing done 412,000k's had it for over a year now and it hasn't missed a beat goes ok for what it is and is unbreakable
whiteELXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2007, 02:58 PM   #22
XR6Dan
Why??

Originally Posted by whiteELXR6
had a look at any rodeo's mate? i got a 99 2.8 turbo diesel ex reece plumbing done 412,000k's had it for over a year now and it hasn't missed a beat goes ok for what it is and is unbreakable
There are heaps of Rodeo's for sale, but, I'd never live down buying a Holden... I'd cop too much grief from family and friends :
Old 18-08-2007, 03:06 PM   #23

Originally Posted by red_hotxr6
Hubby,s got a 91 liteace van 405,000 and still going strong, body is a bit faded, but better the devil you know..
The van or your hubby???????

Old 18-08-2007, 03:22 PM   #24
andrewts
White Car Driver

My dad has a 2001 Mazda Bravo 2.6L 4x2, and it is fantastic. Very torquey little motor, and it goes like a cut snake with no load on (5 speed manual). It can take over a tonne, and has one of the best trays I have seen on a ute, very easy to work with, great bars below for roping up on. The reverse gear is way to tall, and it sucks the juice a bit, but otherwise it's fine. The A/C is super cold (like, REALLY cold) and there is a bit of storage behind the seats in the cabin.

I would recommend one. (I think the Courier is probably the same, I don't know.)

EDIT: Just noticed you were looking in the 90s models. Ignore my post then, heh.
andrewts is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2007, 04:48 PM   #25

Originally Posted by sgt_doofey
Thats it! I'm getting a red Hilux......
Old 18-08-2007, 06:23 PM   #26

Originally Posted by Jesk
papa smurf actually had a red hat

Thanks, I realised that after I read TonkoXR8's reply but I just count be botherd correcting my self

Old 18-08-2007, 07:35 PM   #27
deadfish2

Originally Posted by XR6Dan
There are heaps of Rodeo's for sale, but, I'd never live down buying a Holden... I'd cop too much grief from family and friends :
well than put isuzu badges on it, cos its not really holden,

also note, courier and bravo came off the same production line so its the same thing minus badges
deadfish2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2007, 08:17 PM   #28
BFXR8Silhouette
Nate

I have a 97 Rodeo with about 230,000km. I've known the ute since new and owned it since 110,000km. It needed a new clutch at around 200,000, but that could be attributed to rough treatment (it was my first car), and the gearbox is a bit leaky now. Apart from that it hasnt missed a beat. When ever the Holden card is played I just pull out the key (which has Isuzu written all over it).
BFXR8Silhouette is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-08-2007, 10:01 AM   #29

Originally Posted by Yellow_Festiva
Thats it! I'm getting a red Hilux......
I don't know if you searched on You Tube, but that link I posted is only part 1.

Here's part 2: http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=O_NdFAoEQbE

And I think this is part 3: http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ_60PpxSzI
Old 19-08-2007, 08:41 PM   #30
XR6Dan
Why??

I brought a 94 Holden Rodeo - tidy in and out, reco'd engine, high km's low price. Goes good, got it up to 100km/h on the motorway and it seemed pretty happy doing it.
I just don't know how I'm going to shoehorn two 10" subs in it...

Thanks for all the help.