Old 05-11-2008, 07:53 AM   #1
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Default AU Falcon manual conversion

My mate just got a manual conversion for his VL and it closed the gap between his car and my VL more than I like :

Does anybody know places to get a good quality manual conversion on the NSW north coast and approximate cost I'm willing to travel to travel as far as Brisbane if the need be?

My mate got his done real cheap but it was really dodgy (stuff like speedo no longer works and they destroyed the wiring loom while doing it).

sleekism is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-11-2008, 08:05 AM   #2
efgiar
rofl copter

malwoodauto.com.au
call them and ask a price, get a 6 speed tho, will last alot longer

thats all
efgiar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-11-2008, 12:21 PM   #3
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Does mal wood actually do the conversion or are they just suppliers?
Old 06-11-2008, 12:23 PM   #4
Tuddy200
Reaching for 200...

Originally Posted by sleekism
Does mal wood actually do the conversion or are they just suppliers?
Drive In & Drive Out mate.

04' BA XR6 - Blueprint - 6 Speed with Rip Shift - HD Clutch
2.5"/BFGT Exhaust System with Quad Tips - 4490's Extractors
19" ROH Flares - 20% Underdrives - Interior Colour Coded - Sunroof - BOSS Bonnet
Stage 2 Crow Cam's - Crow Cam's Valve Springs - BPR Airbox
M86 LSD Diff with 4.1s - Upgraded Brakes with Slotted DBA 4000's
Leather Interior - Rear Power Windows

Projects Underway: Sound System
Tuddy200 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-11-2008, 05:19 PM   #5
ZA-289

How about you don't copy what he did, but get some better diff gears and a cam/Exhaust? (if you haven't already) you'll flog him then.
ZA-289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2008, 12:02 AM   #6
XC Ute

Probably cheaper to buy a new (manual) AU than to get it converted?
XC Ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2008, 03:54 AM   #7
kenvv

Default Au km's???

on a slightly relevant topic to the thread....
does anyone know the average k's for au Xr6 and Xr8 manuals and autos...
looking to get an au xr8 series III soon if i can find one in adelaide and not terribly sure on mileage vs power....
cant seem to get some honest feedback anywhere.
cheers
kenvv is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-11-2008, 07:25 AM   #8

Originally Posted by XC Ute
Probably cheaper to buy a new (manual) AU than to get it converted?
It only cost me $600 to convert my EA, and hell what a difference it made! My 3.9 litre is far quicker than most auto 4.0 litres up to BA

Old 07-11-2008, 08:07 AM   #9
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Originally Posted by ZA-289
How about you don't copy what he did, but get some better diff gears and a cam/Exhaust? (if you haven't already) you'll flog him then.
But I like single spinners

I've already got comp extractors and exhaust. His VL is ex-chaser with extractors, exhaust and new diff.

I lined up against him and we were neck to neck up to 120 before I started to pull away. It shocked me as I can usually toy with VS's and VT's.
Old 07-11-2008, 05:23 PM   #10
ZA-289

Careful what you say on these forums, Hot Cam and diff gears are the way to go, shift kit as well!

(you can even keep your single spinner!)

An AU manual conversion will be a bit more costly than a EA one I suspect
Old 07-11-2008, 05:25 PM   #11
ZA-289

Originally Posted by kenvv
on a slightly relevant topic to the thread....
does anyone know the average k's for au Xr6 and Xr8 manuals and autos...
looking to get an au xr8 series III soon if i can find one in adelaide and not terribly sure on mileage vs power....
cant seem to get some honest feedback anywhere.
cheers
Anything close to or under 100,000km Is what I'd be looking for in a nice AU III XR8
Old 07-11-2008, 10:42 PM   #12

Very true but they still bolt up the same. The parts would be the most expensive factor. If you can fit it yourself, you're laughing.

Old 08-11-2008, 01:14 AM   #13
GK
Walking with God

Careful what you say on these forums, Hot Cam and diff gears are the way to go, shift kit as well!
Go some 3:7 or 3:9 diff gears. It's cheaper than the conversion and if you're not happy with the performance advantage, then you could go the conversion. You'd want some lower diff gearing anyways, so it makes sense do this step first.

For sure!

GK

2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl

2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red

Now gone!
1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy
On LPG

Want a Full Life? John 10:10
GK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-11-2008, 11:09 AM   #14
sikford
THE Fairmont Ghia 75th

anyone done the 6sp man conversion to their AU and what was it worth to do and how much work is involved? be very keen to have a crack at this.also with the 3.9 diff gears whats it like around town driving, alot of stop start and also on hwy driving?
Current Mods-HD Built Gearbox+(Mirror Polished, Modified Valve Body), 2500rpm Hi-Stall Convertor(TCE Custom Built), BIG Trans Cooler, Braided Lines/Speedflow Fittings, 2.5" Exhaust, Custom CAI, Detailed UnderCarriage, Custom SQ Stereo Install.
My Ride
My Build Thread
sikford is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 11-11-2008, 02:43 PM   #15
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Has anybody here done a 5-speed manual conversion for an AU Ghia or would be my car be unique?
Old 12-11-2008, 12:17 PM   #16
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Got a quote from Mal Wood and it's looking pretty pricey.

Has anybody here fitted a shorter ratio diff and LSD and what was the seat of the pants changes?? A spin the wheels in 1st when planting it and leaving dirty black marks is what I'm after.

How have people gone with fuel economy with a shorter diff and do you need ECU and Speedo changes?
Old 12-11-2008, 02:28 PM   #17
MADED-6
MADED.6

mate get some 3.9's and a good lsd itll spin both wheels pretty easily with them and it'll feel so much better.
and nah man fuel economy might even get better round town coz the car doesnt have as much strain to get it going and on the highway id say u'll barely notice mine with the auto sat at 2200rpm and manual it sits at about 2400rpm with the 3.9's.
and go on ebay and look out for a manual conversion and nah man i converted my au ghia to manual but mine is a v8 so u might be a unique 6 but im unsure.
cheers josh.
MADED-6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-11-2008, 03:01 PM   #18

Another vote for diff gears, shift kit, cam, and retaining the auto. Add a small stally (up to 2500rpm) for skids & top launches.
Old 13-11-2008, 10:38 AM   #19
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Originally Posted by MADED-6
mate get some 3.9's and a good lsd itll spin both wheels pretty easily with them and it'll feel so much better.
and nah man fuel economy might even get better round town coz the car doesnt have as much strain to get it going and on the highway id say u'll barely notice mine with the auto sat at 2200rpm and manual it sits at about 2400rpm with the 3.9's.
and go on ebay and look out for a manual conversion and nah man i converted my au ghia to manual but mine is a v8 so u might be a unique 6 but im unsure.
cheers josh.
So did u buy the kit and get your mechanic to install it?? About how much?
Old 13-11-2008, 09:38 PM   #20
BLACKAUXR8
Young !@#$ Head

My fuel economy went out the window when my manual went in... My car spends alot of time with the boot into but... lol My manual all up installed with Billet fly wheel and King Kobra clutch from the states cost about $3500

AU3 220 XR8
CUSTOM PEARL PAINT
LOWERED THEN LOWERED EVEN MORE
ADVANTI 20's
K&N
PORTED MANIFOLDS
TWIN 2 1/2 into 3 inch PIPES
244rwhp
NOW WITH T5 5 SPEED
COBRA CLUTCH AND BILLET LIGHTENED FLYWHEEL

SUZUKI GSX-R 750
BLACK 2007 MODEL
CARBON FIBRE YOSHI PIPE
BLACKAUXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-11-2008, 07:57 AM   #21
sleekism
1999 Ford Fairmont Ghia

Originally Posted by BLACKAUXR8
My fuel economy went out the window when my manual went in... My car spends alot of time with the boot into but... lol My manual all up installed with Billet fly wheel and King Kobra clutch from the states cost about $3500
Where did you get yours done at?

Was the electronics a pain?