You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 02-01-2009, 09:11 PM   #1
fordOwner

Default W.A. Police to use "hoon" like cars to nabb driving offenders

Just saw on the news that the W.A. Police will buy cars that hoons use and hang out in ares in frequented by hoons as a new undercover operation to catch offenders.
Does any other state do this? would be intersting to see what the cops will buy!!

Click here to see my ute
Old 02-01-2009, 09:13 PM   #2

Probably 1985 Honda Civic's.

Old 02-01-2009, 09:14 PM   #3
geehaa

Do they confiscate cars over there? They might use them
Old 02-01-2009, 09:15 PM   #4
GS608

Originally Posted by fordOwner
Just saw on the news that the W.A. Police will buy cars that hoons use and hang out in ares in frequented by hoons as a new undercover operation to catch offenders.
Does any other state do this? would be intersting to see what the cops will buy!!
yep not ricers though, they buy ss utes and xr8 utes dump them, put some nice wheels on exhaust and chuck on a huge UNIT sticker on the rear window..then try race you at lights
Old 02-01-2009, 09:17 PM   #5
LowEL2XR8
Mr Impulsive

Are they already doing it? Cause I saw a unmarked green SS with lights and sirens going with bling wheels today chasing someone down who just came out of a snakey.
Old 02-01-2009, 09:19 PM   #6
fordOwner

^^ they said they are planning on doing it. - could mean thay have already started tho.
hotted up utes!!!!??? your joking!
yeh they confiscate cars but only for a very short period. (70yr old had his car confiscated the other week which we had a laugh about) They also said in the same news clip that they wanna change the laws so that the third confiscation will be for good or crush your car.

Click here to see my ute
Old 02-01-2009, 09:19 PM   #7
cooltint
FG F6310 Pilot

I saw a 2-3yr old Subaru Liberty GT Turbo (with very dark tint) pull someone over on the highway coming back from Noosa the other day. I certainly wouldn't have picked it as a cop car.

Big AL
*** New ride *** 2009 Nitro FG F6310 what a rocket!!! PB Willowbank 12.70 @ 111.44 mph & 2.02 60ft with nothing but a K&N filter *** Previous ride *** 2005 Rapid BF F6 Typhoon, 6 Speed SSS, 19" FPV Alloys, K&N Filter, Tailored Sheepskins, Teflon Paint Protection and of course Premium Window Tint. 255.33rwkw/342.4rwhp (stock) RDP Dyno Day 10th Mar '07 PB:400m in 13.052 sec @ 108.20mph Willowbank 12th Aug '06 18deg ambient.
Old 02-01-2009, 09:20 PM   #8
DoreSlamR
Fiat POWAAH!

My sources have told me a certain police commissioner got The Fast and the Furious special box set for Christmas.

Old 02-01-2009, 09:20 PM   #9
azaxr8

This has been in running for a while now. Nothing new.
Old 02-01-2009, 09:21 PM   #10

I know some places around Sydney they drive around in modified cars wearing p plates and get you. I also heard something about them wanting to use confiscated cars as unmarked but not sure how true that is.

A warning to some hunter valley people, the police in Singleton drive around in unmarked mini's

Old 02-01-2009, 09:22 PM   #11

Originally Posted by fordOwner
hotted up utes!!!!??? your joking!
I had the pleasure of witnessing an unmarked FG XR6 Turbo ute engage in a high speed pursuit with two ricers. They were racing up the Western Freeway at Toowong at about 160kph, but the Turbo caught them like they weren't even moving.

Last edited by Peuty; 02-01-2009 at 09:31 PM.
Old 02-01-2009, 09:22 PM   #12
Daymoe

Thats a damn good idea now that you think of it.
Originally Posted by sourbastard
ive got the weight gain bit mastered, Colonel Sanders is my personal trainer.

As to weight loss, nah, im a fat bastard and proud of it, im going to die from a massive heart attack, for theres nothing worse then lying around in hospital dying from nothing.
Old 02-01-2009, 09:26 PM   #13

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

They already have unmarked SS utes in Vic, i saw one on the Monash last week pull over a speeder. Im sure they locked him up as he went past me at least 4kph over the limit.
Old 02-01-2009, 09:53 PM   #14
MrRhino

Originally Posted by Falcon Coupe
They already have unmarked SS utes in Vic, i saw one on the Monash last week pull over a speeder. Im sure they locked him up as he went past me at least 4kph over the limit.
Thats not far off the truth mate, prob got his car confiscated too!
Old 02-01-2009, 09:56 PM   #15
Daymoe

Originally Posted by Falcon Coupe
Christmas Day we were on the citylink roads and behind us was this Green SS ute, thought it was just a normal ute until it lit up and sirens went off and he took off fast down the highway.
Originally Posted by sourbastard
ive got the weight gain bit mastered, Colonel Sanders is my personal trainer.

As to weight loss, nah, im a fat bastard and proud of it, im going to die from a massive heart attack, for theres nothing worse then lying around in hospital dying from nothing.
Old 02-01-2009, 10:01 PM   #16
schnoods

I reckon its a good thing.

It can be entrapment though, but still racing should be off the streets. Even the unmarked VE commo's they have here stick out like the dogs proverbials with stock steel rims, 3 different antennas and a square box on the rear window.

I wouldnt be surprised if they were rice rockets, maybe a new Evo, liberty GT, maybe a WRX ?

95 EF XR8, Advance headers, Vortech V2 t trim blower, Ported Cobra Manifold, Capa Switch Chip Eliminator. 307 rwhp 395 ft/lb 13.2 @ 105mph

Now NA- AFR 165 heads, 1.6RR, Ported Cobra 269rwhp 14.2 ... needs stall and 4.11's

1977 CL Chrysler Panel Van, 360, 727 torqueflite auto soon to be restored.
Old 02-01-2009, 10:03 PM   #17
Jorgo85

Haven't seen it personally but I've heard about an unmarked black blown VE SS with 19s or 20s on it here in Rockingham. They don't call in a pursuit until they've caught you so they don't have to adhere to the 180kmh limit. A friend of a friend of a friend (you know how it goes) knows the cop who drives it
Old 02-01-2009, 10:18 PM   #18

Damn, I had visions of cops sitting down at the local macca's carpark trying to decide who's undercover VL is more "hektik"
Old 02-01-2009, 10:54 PM   #19

Originally Posted by Peuty
Probably 1985 Honda Civic's.
Nah mate has to be a V Tec yyyyooooo model
Old 02-01-2009, 11:59 PM   #20
azaxr8

Originally Posted by EFXR65spd
Haven't seen it personally but I've heard about an unmarked black blown VE SS with 19s or 20s on it here in Rockingham. They don't call in a pursuit until they've caught you so they don't have to adhere to the 180kmh limit. A friend of a friend of a friend (you know how it goes) knows the cop who drives it

Really in rockingham? hmm might have to keep my eyes peeled then. I dunno if it would be blown thou surely?
Old 03-01-2009, 12:01 AM   #21
Jorgo85

The source is fairly reliable. Don't want to elaborate too much on where it's come from for the sources sake. Blown was the word I got
Old 03-01-2009, 12:03 AM   #22
XR6_190
BF XR6, oh yeah!!

Not really surprising, and I wouldn't be surprised of other states follow on, most unmarked copcars stand out nearly as much as regular ones anyway, with their lights in the windows, extra antennae on the boot and radar hanging of the side of the rear window.

Originally Posted by schnoods
I reckon its a good thing.

It can be entrapment though,
It wouldn't really matter if it was as we don't have any entrapment laws in Australia
Old 03-01-2009, 12:14 AM   #23
1970galaxie
Fat 460

The WA cops have done it before!
I remember years ago that they had a 6 pack Charger they used to go round in picking drags with!
2003 BA XR8 Ute. Blood Orange. 5.4/5 speed.
2006 Territory Turbo. Silhouette. 4.0/6 speed auto.
Old 03-01-2009, 12:28 AM   #24
OLDFORDNUT

victoria and QLD have been doing it for years,absalutely nothing new
Old 03-01-2009, 12:35 AM   #25
bob 351
MIGHTY MAGPIES 2010

Location: yarram se vic in the shed listening to pinkfloyd and rubbing panels

Maybe The General Puplic Should Be Confiscating The Cop Hoon Cars As Well Becauese In My Eyes It's Entrapment Coexing People Into Doing Something Illegal And Then Catching Thm After The Fact I Would Think It To Be Illegal To Do This
Old 03-01-2009, 12:59 AM   #26

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

They are going to use a Green Mitsubishi Eclipse.

Old 03-01-2009, 01:16 AM   #27

Police have been doing this kind of thing for years haven't they? I was involved in a chase down in Victoria about seven years ago with an unmarked XR8 ute and unmarked VT/VX wagon.
Old 03-01-2009, 01:16 AM   #28
max_torq
From the Futura

ACT: black XR8 ute with rollbars, no doubt out trolling tonight for summernats
Old 03-01-2009, 01:24 AM   #29
fiesta8u

in sydney i got pulled over by a while EL Falcon, rust bucket with red p plates. rang the cop shop before i showed them any id because i couldnt beleive it and yes they validated it.
Old 03-01-2009, 01:39 AM   #30

Originally Posted by max_torq
ACT: black XR8 ute with rollbars, no doubt out trolling tonight for summernats
Cops in Canberra pull over people in personal cars too. I know a cop up there with a acid rush BA GT-P and another with a red BF XR6T on black centred 18s of some sort.