01-04-2009, 11:47 AM | #1 | ||
Just been reported in the news here in Perth, this young guy was just caught 3rd time hooning. He pleaded guilty to reckless and no drivers license, got a suspended prison term (that'll teach him) and a fine. :
Trouble was Police tried to permanently confiscate his car ( A Ford ute, the shame of it) but his parents defended it saying although the car was registered in their sons name it was really their car as they bought it and he hadn't paid them back (yeah right). So the Magistrate agreed it shouldn't be confiscated but did impound it for 6 months, holding fee just over 4 grand and the utes valued at 5 grand. Plus the fine, solicitors fees etc, me as a parent would have let them take the damn thing and hopefully teach him a lesson. So was just wondering if there have been any permanent seizures over east? Sorry should have mentioned, as far as I know this was their first test case for a pemanent seizure.
01-04-2009, 11:59 AM | #2 | ||
Mr Impulsive
3 hoon offences and he has only been driving for 2 years since he got his license. This tool won't learn.
Ban him from driving and make him catch public transport his whole life.
Owned Fords 85 Telstar (man), 96 EF GLi (auto), 95 EF XR6 (man), 97 EL Fairmont Ghia (auto), 98 EL XR8 (man), 06 BF wagon (auto), 06 BF XR6 (ZF auto), 08 FG G6E (ZF auto), '10 SY MKII TS Territory (4spd) |
01-04-2009, 12:10 PM | #3 | ||
Tickford
The sad thing is I doubt he'll stop driving until he is physically inable to do so.
01-04-2009, 03:25 PM | #4 | |||
Well hello Mr Fancypants
01-04-2009, 03:28 PM | #5 | ||
AND WE HAVE A WINNER...... ...... .....
01-04-2009, 03:47 PM | #6 | |||
IWCMOGTVM Club Supporter.
Toys: 2017.5 LZ Focus RS, Magnetic Grey my new pocket rocket 2008 BF2 RTV Ute 1993 EB2 S-XR8 Sedan, Platinum, manual (now sold) 1975 XB Fairmont GS Sedan, Tropic Gold...or Starlight Blue...not sure yet...(SOLD) |
01-04-2009, 06:44 PM | #7 | ||
Only way to make him learn would to be crush the bloody thing!!
01-04-2009, 07:52 PM | #8 | ||
There's one case in S.A that I'm aware of that a car has been seized and sold. Serves him right.
As for crushing cars. I'm against that one. Just think of all us people trying to do some re-building and are having trouble tracking down parts. Crushing these cars will only make it harder for us. |
01-04-2009, 08:08 PM | #9 | ||
Mr Impulsive
It was said the car was in his name but he hadn't paid his parents for it. What they should of done was said that it was legally his car and take it away forever and then he would have to pay is parents back for a car he doesn't have.
But as it is he has to pay a bucket load in fees for a car hardly worth what he is paying extra for. So far its probably going to cost him in excess of $12k for a $4k ute. HAHAHAHAHAH Ripped off!!!!!
Owned Fords 85 Telstar (man), 96 EF GLi (auto), 95 EF XR6 (man), 97 EL Fairmont Ghia (auto), 98 EL XR8 (man), 06 BF wagon (auto), 06 BF XR6 (ZF auto), 08 FG G6E (ZF auto), '10 SY MKII TS Territory (4spd) |
01-04-2009, 08:21 PM | #10 | ||
Define 'hooning'? Because im sure not a single person here has ever done a skid, or sunk the boot on a public road. Yeah he's a tool, but only an unlucky tool.
01-04-2009, 09:03 PM | #11 | ||
Got Ghia?
sure the guy is an idiot but Rob Johnson is a tool (I said so on talk back radio today) He wants to remove the courts power of discretion in hoon cases and say they MUST take the car.
Said Rob's an idiot and I hope a 3rd time offender steals his car is caught and the car is crushed and see how he likes his stupidly thought out hoon laws then. |
01-04-2009, 09:07 PM | #12 | ||
Yes, please define 'hooning'? Why are you all (maybe just the forum's Hyundai fraternity) so keen to defend the outcome of this case when you've all no doubt had hooning moments? What's more it's deplorable that anybody should advocate confiscation and crushing of the vehicle.
Blame a system that doesn't advocate property driver education. We are taught how to get a license, but not how to drive or to understand the responsibility that comes with car ownership. I also find it interesting how we presume the police have taken the right course of action. My impression of Austrlaian traffic police is that they're egotistical, don't exercise their powers fairly and are all too keen to issue traffic infringements for the slightest indiscretion. Nuff said. Where has all the rebellion gone? |
01-04-2009, 09:40 PM | #13 | ||
Life is a Ride!
[QUOTE=500SEC]Yes, please define 'hooning'? Why are you all (maybe just the forum's Hyundai fraternity) so keen to defend the outcome of this case when you've all no doubt had hooning moments? QUOTE]
So True, I have been guilty, but have learned over the years and try to drive responsible now. I don't think it is smart to be a total **** on public roads. However I am a realist and these hoon lawn make almost anything besides driving like ms daisy a hoon act. and yes everyone on this forum is an angel, an angel who just happens to have a burning desire to drive a highly overpowered car realy slowly.
Lowered, 19" Typhoon R-Specs, Tint, Mats, JL C2600.2 Splits, JL C2600, JL XD400/4 and JBL 12" Sub, 256RWKW...for now! : 2011 Honda CB400 - Pearl White; Megacycle slip-on, Some Carbon Fibre & More... 2010 Yamaha Virago 250 - Burgandy |
01-04-2009, 11:25 PM | #14 | |||
Mr Impulsive
ON THE TRACK AND AT THE DRAGS. I'm not stupid enough to risk others lives on the road or excessive wear on my car and wallet. You may now applaude my awesomeness and the high horse I rode in on. I got 3 kids so thats why I don't do it.
02-04-2009, 08:32 AM | #15 | |||
Windsor Man!
I was a d!khed when I was 17. I try not to be now. I do agree that driving without a license is bloody stupid and he should get in trouble for it.
01-04-2009, 09:35 PM | #16 | ||
500SEC - nothing like forum members having a responsible view is there. Surely we should all have a 18 year olds view on hooning on public roads ;-)
From what I can see here on AFF there are a lot of enthusiasts that have invested a lot of energy and $$ into some pretty awesome Fords. Time and place for everything and I reckon most of our members are probably switched on enough to judge time and place. A hooning offence in Qld is smoke and noise - ie a burnout. There are also the unreg/unlicenced offences under the same legislation. There have been numerous permanent forfietures since the legislation came into trial in parts of SEQ although the majority of them are for unreg/unlic/disq repeat offences. |
01-04-2009, 10:59 PM | #17 | ||
....3 burnouts and they crush your car ,i would of needed 396 cars to get me into adulthood .not smart but not the answer either
01-04-2009, 11:01 PM | #18 | ||
IH8TOG
I wonder how many GT's would be left today if this ridiculous law was around in the 70's.
I also wonder what would happen if there is an outstanding loan owing on the car and, technically, is still owned by the bank. In my day it was considered unAustralian to not drop a burnout when requested to do so by mates. Oh, and BTW i am nearly 40 and still do not know of anyone in my circle of friends that has died of a vehicle related accident.(Touch wood) Although, i do know of a few who have had their lives cut short by alcoholism and drug addiction. I have kids now and i hope when my kids are older they amuse/ occupy themselves with constructive activities. But they are kids after all and i accept they will probably do some stupid things. I just hope to god that they find burnouts more interesting than drugs. |
02-04-2009, 08:11 AM | #19 | ||
rocknrolla
the guy was driving (albiet poorly) without a license - he wasnt just chirping the wheels into 2nd gear.
to say that he's simply unlucky is scary if that means everybody drives around unlicensed...
1970 ZC Fairlane 500 351w 1964 XM Falcon Deluxe 200ci Last edited by Barry_v; 02-04-2009 at 08:17 AM. |
02-04-2009, 08:31 AM | #20 | ||
Windsor Man!
I agree that we need to stop people hooning on the rd but we need to give them an alternative. For example, I live between 2 drag strips. They are both 4 hours away. What do you expect the local boys to do when they want to have a bit of fun? The fine for doing a skid is less than the cost of a weekend away for a legal run down a drag strip. We need to support local motorsport options. I really think that money received from hooning fines should go towards better driver ed and providing places where we can legally have fun.
02-04-2009, 09:05 AM | #21 | |||
Reaching for 200...
No wait, we just give it back to the police to use on stupid things like hummers. :togo:
Tuddy's XR6 04' BA XR6 - Blueprint - 6 Speed with Rip Shift - HD Clutch 2.5"/BFGT Exhaust System with Quad Tips - 4490's Extractors 19" ROH Flares - 20% Underdrives - Interior Colour Coded - Sunroof - BOSS Bonnet Stage 2 Crow Cam's - Crow Cam's Valve Springs - BPR Airbox M86 LSD Diff with 4.1s - Upgraded Brakes with Slotted DBA 4000's Leather Interior - Rear Power Windows Projects Underway: Sound System |
02-04-2009, 09:07 AM | #22 | ||
S.A hooning is classed as "excessive" wheel spin. Hard to define excessive. Also if you're caught speeding 45 above the limit, again hooning.
Getting caught and loosing the car. Yes we are all guilty of spinning the wheels but. getting caught once should be enough to wake yourself up. Twice, you're a fool. 3rd time, you're a knobjockey. He deserves all he cops and yes he should have lost the car, if it was registered to him. |
02-04-2009, 10:48 AM | #23 | |||
Bseries
Having said that, I've never been caught....
02-04-2009, 06:12 PM | #24 | |||
You obviously had a good hiding spot mate. Just kidding |
02-04-2009, 11:08 AM | #25 | ||
Crush the car, kid still pays parents for car.
He made the decision to drive in a way that results in the car being crushed... |
02-04-2009, 11:26 AM | #26 | ||
Sell the kid, crush the parents, impound the magistrate. Case closed!
02-04-2009, 12:11 PM | #27 | |||
Mr Impulsive
Love it!!!
02-04-2009, 12:06 PM | #28 | ||
a wise policam once told me "its only illegal if you get caught"
There are places to "Hoon" and Places not to "hoon". If you cant figure this out after the first offence (second if your unlucky) then you dont deserve your car. Thecnically this guy got busted for being a dumb ****. in 99% of cases if you dont bother other people - you wont get bothered. |
02-04-2009, 12:30 PM | #29 | |||
A quick squirt on a lonely back road with no residential or other traffic with good weather and clear visibility, suitable conditions - fine, I personally don't see a problem. But a smoke show at 11:00pm on a Tuesday night in a residential street - squeezer, impound the car for a week. Always hard to comment on examples like this when we don't know the person, don't know the circumstances, etc. But it doesn't look good for him... |
02-04-2009, 01:29 PM | #30 | ||
Got Ghia?
I agree in hoon laws under the right conditions.. eg Driving unlicensed, 45km/h over the speed limit, dropping a nut in an intersection - but not simply a second of traction loss on take off or gear change, or even excessive acceleration.
The below is taken directly from the WA Road Traffic Act and define the reasons for car impounding. (a) the vehicle is being used to race another vehicle; (b) the vehicle is being used in an attempt to establish or break a speed record; (c) the speed, or the acceleration, braking or steering capability, of the vehicle is being tested or contested in any way; (d) the skill of the vehicle’s driver is being tested or contested in any way; (e) the vehicle is driven in a manner that causes smoke to come from one or more of the vehicle’s tyres or a substance on the driving surface; or (f) the vehicle is driven in a manner that causes one or more of the vehicle’s driving wheels to lose traction with the driving surface As you can see - any loss of traction, no matter what conditions can be considered hooning. By simply testing your cars acceleration or braking capacity can be considered hooning, even if you don't break the speed limit. It also stipulate if the drivers skill is being tested, how can an officer determine this? if they have not crashed, I would judge they haven't exceeded their skill level - does it also mean if a race car driver is caught he could argue with his defined professional skills he clearly was within his limits in a road car? It is these conditions I disagree with. |