Old 02-11-2009, 01:38 PM   #1

Default What Car for my young bloke ?

Looking at a first car for my young bloke. He was thinking of something like a manual Toyota Corolla for economy. I was thinking of something like a BF XR 6 , 6 speed, maybe on Gas. At least that way he would have something in front of him. I have read quite a few posts on the Fords on Gas. Open to suggestions................

Old 02-11-2009, 01:42 PM   #2
Jack91

Whats the budget? And whats it to be used for?
Jack91 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 01:58 PM   #3

get an AU2-3 Fairmont.

some nice clean examples around for great money, and still go well on gas.

good cheap motoring.
Old 02-11-2009, 02:05 PM   #4
Mr Brooksy
Youth worker

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Numerous helpful how-to's and sound advice! 

My Dad made me buy an XE so that I could learn how to pull it apart and put it together without the use of a supercomputer! Its safety features included a steering wheel, and pedals... as well as a padock basher and 40acres to learn.

So that would be my suggestion. Buy something he can tinker with. Saves thousands in the long run!

2011 SZ Territory

Old Futura thread:
Brooksy's Ex Build
Mr Brooksy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 02:09 PM   #5

Speaking from experience, my EL on gas is cheaper to run than a 1.8L Toyota Corolla.
I'd recommend the large car on LPG if it comes down to being economical (cheap) to run.
Old 02-11-2009, 02:14 PM   #6

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

BF XR6 would be okay, but may be less reliable converting to gas (yes i hate gas equiped cars).

Depends on budget as above and where he will be travelling in it.
Old 02-11-2009, 02:15 PM   #7

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: DASH/bfiipursuit has been alot of help over the years I have frequented this forum, lots of thoughtful and informed posts, very much a valued contributor. 

Originally Posted by sgt_doofey
Speaking from experience, my EL on gas is cheaper to run than a 1.8L Toyota Corolla.
I'd recommend the large car on LPG if it comes down to being economical (cheap) to run.
How reliables an EL on gas going to be tho?

Seriously id go a corolla before id go an EL on gas, for the sheer reliability factor!
Old 02-11-2009, 02:16 PM   #8
Fordman

I'm 18 and bought my own BA FALCON XT, cheap, reliable and can have gas although i dont at the moment.
Fordman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 02:19 PM   #9
Skotty

My EF was on gas, not a single problem...

And hell yeah, Its cheap than my sisters 1.8L corolla... I done 2,000kms on $100 of gas win win... 1000kms and the corolla was around $100 - $120 somewhere my sister says...
Skotty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 02:21 PM   #10
Dave_Obsession
Resident AFF detailer

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Helpful and detailed posts on car care. 

I know if I'd had a BF XR6 as my first car, I would have been far too reckless with it and would probably have ended up putting it into a wall somewhere.......young blokes should get their experience up on cars that just aren't that powerful.....so they can learn to drive properly, not fly along and endanger others.....make no mistake, 120 hours (as a learner) is only just the beginning - they can't say that they are 'experienced' behind the wheel...

My EA falcon was just the job for a first car......powerful enough to get from A to B, but not powerful enough to go hooning around trying to impress my mates and the girls....and putting other road users at risk.....

You see all these P platers driving around in souped up VS / VT commodores, or EL falcons, or brand new BMW's etc, and whilst I still get angry when they do stupid things.....on some level I feel sorry for them, because they don't know any better.....quite often it takes a good crash for them to wake up.....I know that's what happened to me!!! And I'm not that old (24)...

I see L platers driving Monaro's and XR8's etc and I just shake my head......

I actually reckon your young fella's idea of a Corolla is actually pretty sensible!!! Even if he has it for only 12 months, to help him find his feet out there, it's pretty smart!
Old 02-11-2009, 02:29 PM   #11
Skotty

My first car was a KS Verada Xi, when I was 18... and it was probably a good move because it was underpowered something shocking, and FWD, but I learn how to drive and knew that it was a safe car and I couldn't get into a great deal of trouble in it.
Skotty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 04:25 PM   #12

Originally Posted by bfiipursuit
How reliables an EL on gas going to be tho?

Seriously id go a corolla before id go an EL on gas, for the sheer reliability factor!
10 years and 200,000kms later, just the head, but that's a personality trait for the EL's and has nothing to do with the gas system. All I've ever done is wear and tear items, no major mechanical works have been needed.
Old 02-11-2009, 07:36 PM   #13

Well we have a friend who has a dealers licence and some of the prices he can get fairly low kilometer vehicles for is pretty staggering. Probly spend around 10k. Young bloke been driving since he was 10, in quite a lot of different vehicles. What sort of range would he get in say a BF manual ? How many litre tank ? Appreciate the comments and suggestions........
Old 02-11-2009, 08:05 PM   #14
Wolfinsheepsclothing
preying on lions

Mate if my old man brought me a late model falcon for my first car i would have thought all my christmases had came at once : seriously though i think it is to powerful,how about a smaller ford or if you have to the toyota :togo:
Wolfinsheepsclothing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 08:15 PM   #15

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Valued contributor especially in the FG threads. Offers help and information to all. Posts are always in a positive manner. 

Atleast you won't find him hooning in a Corolla. BF XR might be a different story...
Dave R is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 08:21 PM   #16

I was looking around for ages for a BA XR6 in manual and couldn't find anyone who actually had them, went to about 15 dealerships and the only manual Falcon i found was an F6 which I couldn't afford, or be legally allowed to drive, all of them on carsales were $17,500+ from the ones I could see, so I went after my next car on the list, a 2000 model R34 Nissan Skyline, it was $11,400, had been smoked in but other than that, it was in alright condition and I had booked a test drive, but some bastard bought it on me 2 days before, so quickly looking for another car I spotted two cars I was interested in, Mazda 6 Sports Luxury which I was dead set on and an E36 BMW 328i Coupe, they where manual and fully optioned, on my way to the dealership we come across Max Kirwin Mazda in Preston so we took a while to look at the cars, found nothing interesting there so we moved on, I got to the dealer and the Mazda had sold on me 20 minutes earlier, quite ****ed off I went to the BMW and opened the door, but it dropped in my hand and alarm bells started ringing, the AUDI there also had water in the oil, the only other manual car they had was a SS Commodore.

So very ****ed off, my parents talk me into buying a new car, so I go into a Ford dealership and lay down $18,000 of my own hard earned on a car I don't like.

Long story short, I'm out $18,000 and stuck with a car I REALLY don't like. If you're buying the car, get what ever its your cash, your descision but if its HIS money like in my situation, talk it over and look for something HE wants.

Also you won't get raped as hard with a used car as you will with something new like me on depreciation.

Thats my story of my first car.
Old 02-11-2009, 08:22 PM   #17
GB1186
So many cars and no cash

Go a el xr6 looks good goes good and is a good first car and probely cheaper on gas then the. The bf would be to much of a car for a new driver but i might be wrong he could be a good driver ??
78 XC GXL FAIRMONT
78 XC FAIRMONT
GB1186 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 08:27 PM   #18
barra265t

RA28 Celica.. simple, RWD, and the only Toyota with style and charisma (think mini-mustang)
barra265t is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 08:37 PM   #19
R0BD0G

Originally Posted by XCPWSF
I was looking around for ages for a BA XR6 in manual and couldn't find anyone who actually had them, went to about 15 dealerships and the only manual Falcon i found was an F6 which I couldn't afford, or be legally allowed to drive, all of them on carsales were $17,500+ from the ones I could see, so I went after my next car on the list, a 2000 model R34 Nissan Skyline, it was $11,400, had been smoked in but other than that, it was in alright condition and I had booked a test drive, but some bastard bought it on me 2 days before, so quickly looking for another car I spotted two cars I was interested in, Mazda 6 Sports Luxury which I was dead set on and an E36 BMW 328i Coupe, they where manual and fully optioned, on my way to the dealership we come across Max Kirwin Mazda in Preston so we took a while to look at the cars, found nothing interesting there so we moved on, I got to the dealer and the Mazda had sold on me 20 minutes earlier, quite ****ed off I went to the BMW and opened the door, but it dropped in my hand and alarm bells started ringing, the AUDI there also had water in the oil, the only other manual car they had was a SS Commodore.

So very ****ed off, my parents talk me into buying a new car, so I go into a Ford dealership and lay down $18,000 of my own hard earned on a car I don't like.

Long story short, I'm out $18,000 and stuck with a car I REALLY don't like. If you're buying the car, get what ever its your cash, your descision but if its HIS money like in my situation, talk it over and look for something HE wants.

Also you won't get raped as hard with a used car as you will with something new like me on depreciation.

when all else fails buy a datsun...

http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....4&page=1&pp=25
R0BD0G is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 09:06 PM   #20
LOWBA6

Manual EL xr6 would be pretty sweet for a first car. Can get really clean examples for around 7k+ and they look nice! My old man went halves with me on an EF Fairmont for my first car. It was a money pit and still is but it was a lot of fun. I Ended up converting it to manual which was a lot of fun. Dont be shy of ones with a few kms as they could have had the head gasket done already which will save a lot of money!
LOWBA6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 09:16 PM   #21
bcr2734
Off tap Truckie

Originally Posted by buggerlugs
Looking at a first car for my young bloke. He was thinking of something like a manual Toyota Corolla for economy. I was thinking of something like a BF XR 6 , 6 speed, maybe on Gas. At least that way he would have something in front of him. I have read quite a few posts on the Fords on Gas. Open to suggestions................
Series 3 landrover, can only do 80kph and bullet proof and cheap for repairs and he will learn how to work on old cars and look after them. I love them
1970 Mk1 Escort GT
1980 Mack Superliner 120t: Project Puppy Dog!
AU2 XLS Cab Chassis, 5ltr, T3 Kit, Speedy Envy's 19x8.5
bcr2734 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 09:20 PM   #22
FrogInASock
Getahaircutandgetarealjob

Bloke across the road from me bought his son the PERFECT first car. Small, cheap to run, reliable, good condition with low milage, and only two seats so he can't have a car full of hormones egging him on.

A Subaru Brumby ute.

Damn shame the neighbour loved the ute, so bought his young, hormone filled, hoon of a son a VS Commodore. Said clown has lost his piece of paper now, due mainly to the previously noted car full of hormones...
Old 02-11-2009, 09:33 PM   #23
bcr2734
Off tap Truckie

Originally Posted by FrogInASock
Bloke across the road from me bought his son the PERFECT first car. Small, cheap to run, reliable, good condition with low milage, and only two seats so he can't have a car full of hormones egging him on.

A Subaru Brumby ute.

Damn shame the neighbour loved the ute, so bought his young, hormone filled, hoon of a son a VS Commodore. Said clown has lost his piece of paper now, due mainly to the previously noted car full of hormones...
That is why i brought a ute when i was young
1970 Mk1 Escort GT
1980 Mack Superliner 120t: Project Puppy Dog!
AU2 XLS Cab Chassis, 5ltr, T3 Kit, Speedy Envy's 19x8.5
bcr2734 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 09:45 PM   #24

falcon with dedicated gas, similar cost but way safer for a young driver.
Old 02-11-2009, 09:46 PM   #25
TOM-CAT
F-14 TomCat

volvo 740 GL. will do him wanders. my first car for my first year of driving. Doesnt go anywhere particularly fast, can get 700km to 60l if you drive ok, still rear wheel drive.

Check your bible; it say’s - if thou is to fit forced induction via supercharging to a performance car, then it is right and good that this supercharger be heard.
TOM-CAT is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 09:55 PM   #26

Originally Posted by XCPWSF

I agree. If the boy wants a carolla, then it's a sensible choice. It will be cheaper to maintain.

I owned my dream car, my dad made me trade it for a magna. I still regret selling it, and I've searching for it evar since. 20 years ago I sold her. Would kill to find her again and buy it back
Old 02-11-2009, 10:00 PM   #27
big_mik

I reakon you should get him a manual el/ef falcon on gas, cheaper to insure than an xr6 and most parts are pretty cheap these days. Oh, and as stated previously, apart from the head gasket, they're pretty much bullet proof!
big_mik is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 10:17 PM   #28
dannyxm
was danny888

Id recomend an e series. They are cheap and you can get a nice Fairmont, XR6 as they are non turbo - P plate friendly.

A EB - EL XR6 manual is quite a fun and cheap bit of gear.

How about a Jap ute like a Hilux or a Falcon ute even?

Perhaps an AU one tonner with a nice tray, tints etc etc.

As said previously, this eliminates the option of his mates bugging him to drive them everywhere and perhaps egg him on when they pull up at the lights with some clown wanting to race.
Old 02-11-2009, 10:17 PM   #29
Ibrox90

In all seriousness a Magna 93-2002 these cars are solid, simple, indestructable and not rear wheel drive.

HIS
THUNDER
2004 BA XR8
Blueprint

Mods:
Quad Exhaust, Hi-Flow Air filter, BFtiming chain tensioners, Billet Oil pump gears
stage 2 shift kit, riding on G6ET 18's

HERS
FLASH
BA MKII XR6 Turbo
Phantom Purple
Typhoon front end

Parking your ford after a long day of being Awesome
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Parkin...37774932974038
Ibrox90 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-11-2009, 10:17 PM   #30
ZDI-970
Formerly D3v[]

i think you should get him an classic old car and get him to do a little bit of work on it (ie Painting etc) so that he will see all the hard owrk in it and wouldnt risk crashing it.... thats what im doing... and with the old car their easier to fix...
ZDI-970 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post