Old 08-05-2011, 10:22 AM   #1
Alby1
you'd be popular too

Default Brake pad advise

G'day,
I have an El with AU III brake callipers on the front (RBS upgrade) I am needing some new pads soon and was wondering what is a good pad that is better than the standard.
The car is just an everyday car no track days as yet,

I just dont want noisy squeally pads,

Any reccomandations?

I've heard some good stuff about EBC green stuff, are they worth it?

Anything i should stay away from and reasons

Thanks

Al

E303 cam, ported gt40p heads, 1.7 rockers, high flow cats, Au220 TB, 70mm Maf, tune (215rwkw) and some bigger brakes

Have now brought my car to the 2000's with electric rear windows, door lights and wood trims
Alby1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-05-2011, 11:00 AM   #2

Default Re: Brake pad advise

My vote is for qfm brake pads. Excellent bite, good wearing and affordable. They can be bought race brakes Sydney who is a site sponsor for about $90 a pair plus postage.

I have qfm hpx model pads which are the model higher from standard and I do hills runs with them. They have been excellent

Old 08-05-2011, 11:05 AM   #3
GK
Walking with God

+1 fpr QFM pads.

I go one step up from stock and get them for about $70 a set. They have a 500 in the name, so I don't think they're the same set as described above.

GK

2015 Kia Sorento Platinum - Snow White Pearl

2001 Ducati Monster 900Sie - Red

Now gone!
1999 AU1 Futura Wagon - Sparkling Burgundy
On LPG

Want a Full Life? John 10:10
GK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-05-2011, 11:59 AM   #4
Day-mow
rexnet

Originally Posted by GK
+1 fpr QFM pads.

I go one step up from stock and get them for about $70 a set. They have a 500 in the name, so I don't think they're the same set as described above.

GK
K500 pads GK. That's what I have aswell. They're super. Hpx would b better

As for EBC green stuff a friend had them on his series 4 RX7 and he hated them. Very dusty were only good when they were hot and squealed like a big getting slaughtered. He now runs project MU pads. And is happy.

QFM k500 or HPX Pads FTW (for the win)

Remember it is the internet,So beware of trolls, If you argue with trolls the kids will laugh at you

Follow me on twitter @ Day_mow
Day-mow is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-05-2011, 01:07 PM   #5
Alby1
you'd be popular too

Can't seem to find the k500 ones on there web site, how would the hpx series compare to ferodo formula pads, RBS mentioned these.

E303 cam, ported gt40p heads, 1.7 rockers, high flow cats, Au220 TB, 70mm Maf, tune (215rwkw) and some bigger brakes

Have now brought my car to the 2000's with electric rear windows, door lights and wood trims
Old 08-05-2011, 03:49 PM   #6

Bendix Ultra premiums or GCT/CGTs are also good, and around the $70 mark.

Old 08-05-2011, 07:10 PM   #7
Day-mow
rexnet

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Ford-Falcon-A...item3cb19c4eaa

there u go

Remember it is the internet,So beware of trolls, If you argue with trolls the kids will laugh at you

Old 08-05-2011, 07:18 PM   #8
Alby1
you'd be popular too

Thanks alot guys, I think i'll go the QFM route at thgis stage, seem to be a quality product with some pretty happy customers.

Thanks

Al

Old 09-05-2011, 11:18 AM   #9

Be sure to speak with the guys at Race Brakes Sydney for a forum deal. Let us know how you go.

Old 09-05-2011, 01:46 PM   #10
AUIIPURSUIT
pursuit ute baby

+1 for qfm. will buy them again soon
Old 09-05-2011, 01:56 PM   #11

Bendix Ultra premium if you are going to be pushing it but unless you are driving hard most of the time standard Bendix pads do a good job

Old 09-05-2011, 02:43 PM   #12

Consider having a chat with the boys at Tuff Car parts too. They are also a forum sponsor

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...1316255&page=2

Old 09-05-2011, 08:46 PM   #13
Alby1
you'd be popular too

Thanks alot for this input, Will do. Don't bendix eat your rotors quickly? Mate with a commodore seems to think so

Old 09-05-2011, 09:36 PM   #14
Alby1
you'd be popular too

Double post

Old 09-05-2011, 11:33 PM   #15
Day-mow
rexnet

Originally Posted by Alby1
Thanks alot for this input, Will do. Don't bendix eat your rotors quickly? Mate with a commodore seems to think so
also herd this

Old 10-05-2011, 12:31 AM   #16

It depends on how much metal is in the pad. Some have more metal than others. The bendix gct's have about 5% metal in their pads and their ultimates have a lot more. Not sure how much metal the qfm pads have. Metal in pads is what eats rotors but u need some metal in a pad for extra braking performance I hear. I'd rather sacrifice rotors life than choose a poor pad.

Old 10-05-2011, 03:58 PM   #17
InfernoSR
Sales Representative

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: For research and posted write up on cooling system care and repair in AU.COM and offering help where possible 

I run TRW units all round, and are amazed by how good they are with slotted rotors...not so good with solid face though...
Old 10-05-2011, 04:21 PM   #18
whitesoarer

K500 pads GK. That's what I have aswell. They're super. Hpx would b better
HPX and K500 are the same product afaik, just different names for different states (why they did this I don't know).

Great pads either way, and low dust too.
whitesoarer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-08-2012, 03:28 PM   #19
Alby1
you'd be popular too

purely just for future searches i have new pads, I went with Ferodo Formula for the front and QFM HPX for the rear.

Very happy with them, they deffinately have more of a bite than stock, how ever the Ferodo are pretty dusty, at this stage it doesn't bother me to much as performance is good

Old 29-08-2012, 08:43 PM   #20
tim_pato

Speak to race breaks sydney, he will recomend something highly effective for a daily and he will look after yr pocket.
tim_pato is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2012, 09:11 PM   #21
philg

I fitted Bendix Ultra Premiums on the front. Very good & no brake dust whatsoever.
philg is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2012, 02:31 PM   #22
Alby1
you'd be popular too

Went with RBS as that is where I got the front brake kit from, will always use them as service is fantastic

Old 01-09-2012, 04:46 PM   #23
dieseltrain79

If bendix pads " ate " rotors , I don't think they would be in business ;)

1991 Toyota Soarer TT - 11.72 @ 116.7mph

2004 Ford Escape XLT V6 - Family Ride .
dieseltrain79 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2012, 11:27 PM   #24
Day-mow
rexnet

Originally Posted by dieseltrain79
If bendix pads " ate " rotors , I don't think they would be in business ;)
disagree.sometimes there's trade off's in life.

Old 02-09-2012, 12:30 AM   #25
dieseltrain79

No no no , there's Always trade-offs . Some like hard pads and some soft , I use RDA rotors , some use dba .

I don't use bendix pads, nor was I condoning , just making a point . If they were that bad they wouldn't be trading still

Old 02-09-2012, 01:07 PM   #26
Day-mow
rexnet

Oh of course yep get what you're saying now.

That being said people still like rotories. Haha

Old 02-09-2012, 08:56 PM   #27
dieseltrain79

Lmao , now we're eye to eye , hehe