Old 01-07-2011, 12:19 PM   #1

Default FPV Reveals Concept Car

July 1 2011

Ford Performance Vehicles today revealed its first-ever ‘concept car’ at the Australian International Motor Show in Melbourne.

The sinister all-black GT-based FPV concept features a number of bespoke features and design treatments not seen before.

“Taking our iconic FPV GT, we have put together a package of performance and design enhancements to demonstrate what could be done by FPV in the future,” Ford Performance Vehicles, General Manager, Rod Barrett said.
“The black-on-black treatment looks spectacular and it really changes the look of the car, so I’ll be very interested to hear what FPV enthusiasts think.”

FPV’s one-off concept car is powered by the supercharged Boss 5.0-litre V8 engine.

Finished in menacing Silhouette black paintwork, the FPV concept features a unique matt finish stripe package on the bonnet,rear wing and body sides, a paint treatment that is also carried over to the rear diffuser.

Up front, large brake ducts are incorporated into the modified front fascia, black framing has been used to enhance the rear light graphics treatment, and the vehicle carries a unique black GT badging.

The vehicle sits on 19-inch lightweight one-piece forged alloy rims, finished in black of course, which are 8.0 inches wide at the front and 9.5 inches wide at the rear, and all shod with special Dunlop SP Sportmaxx GT tyres.

Underneath there’s a track-tuned suspension specification and a full stainless steel high-flow twin exhaust system finished with quad black tips.
The performance brake package includes larger six-piston brake calipers up front and four-piston brake calipers at the rear, which are also both finished in black.

Inside, the all-black theme continues with black leather trim throughout and an all-black dash treatment that includes the interior command centre (ICC).
"We’ve equipped the vehicle with the GT’s ‘most ticked’ options, such as leather trim and reversing camera. That way, it’s a reflection of what our buyers are choosing and gives us a ‘real world’ basis to get people thinking,” Rod Barrett said.

“That’s what this concept car is about – we wanted to demonstrate the possibilities, explore the future and gauge public opinion to assist us with the evolution of FPV product.”
The FPV concept joined the supercharged Boss 335kW V8 GT-P and 315kW GS Ute on the stand at the Australian International Motor Show.

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:22 PM   #2
HULK EF

Default Re: FPV Reveals Concept Car

love the mat black stripes..
love the ride height and the way the rear sits..
tlove the tough rims.. yay rims bigger than 8.5 inch rears!

looks way more BLACK than hsv's BLACK series.. lol
HULK EF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:24 PM   #3
krzysiek

Win.

(10 chars)
krzysiek is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:25 PM   #4
GUNXR6T
SRBRO

Unreal, well done FPV.....
Old 01-07-2011, 12:28 PM   #5
xe351

*Likes*

Twin Horns 8-9/74 and lower horn dated 7-8/74, GT hubcaps. GT aircleaner. Please pm me if you can help
xe351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:30 PM   #6
Brute 33

Game Over.....
Brute 33 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:33 PM   #7
xm289
formerly millenium_falcon

G'day everyone, I'm selling my 3 kid plus wife so I can buy one of these!!!!!lol(I'm only joking kids!!!)

What a hot looking car, I reckon a 2 door version of this should be in mad max 4 as a modern pursuit special.

kick her in the guts, max
xm289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:35 PM   #8
comagutsa
Pethy FG XR8 Ute

that it horn right there ...love it
now fitted with Koya Inox R1's, the rears are 20x10 with a 40mm offset and the fronts are 20x8.5 with a 35mm offset

total of 285.5 rwkw and 642nm
when Herrod cams in 290rwkw

GSXR 750K7 with goodies, dyno'd 136rwhp,
10.567sec for the strip
comagutsa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:38 PM   #9
davenl5l

drooooollllll !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
davenl5l is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:39 PM   #10
HULK EF

imagines colour coded Specisl RTA plates ... "GAMEON" FPV needs This car as a Halo/hero car...
HULK EF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:43 PM   #11
UNR8D
FORMER T3 OWNER

if that dosent attract real world buyers there is something wrong with the world.

so if i sell the lexi i only need to find 50 large....*off to the bank* lol.

you can sleep in your car, but you cant drift your house...
UNR8D is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:54 PM   #12
Mr Brooksy
Youth worker

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Numerous helpful how-to's and sound advice! 

It looks great, but Im sorry, unless they actually put it on sale, its no different to a enthusiasts Black GT on Pedders coil overs and aftermarket wheels.

2011 SZ Territory

Old Futura thread:
Brooksy's Ex Build
Mr Brooksy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 12:57 PM   #13
fou_bleu
Get EcoBoosted

FPV, we NEEDS this to put HSV in their place (as well as some more hi-res images to go with it! ;) )!!!!
fou_bleu is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 01:05 PM   #14
Express
Bathed In A Yellow Glow

Yummmmmmmo
Express is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 02:07 PM   #15

I like the stance on that. Looks mean!
Old 01-07-2011, 02:44 PM   #16
Grippy
Racing improves the breed

Originally Posted by Mr Brooksy
It looks great, but Im sorry, unless they actually put it on sale, its no different to a enthusiasts Black GT on Pedders coil overs and aftermarket wheels.
Agreed, put this on sale FPV, give the people what they want and let them buy it! This is exactly what a lot of us have been waiting for, I love it.

1964 Mini Cooper S Historic Group Nb Touring car

Victorian Hill Climb Championship
Grippy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 03:19 PM   #17
lockieoc

You could almost say you could buy the car and not have to do anything to it.
Ticks all my boxes.
lockieoc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 03:24 PM   #18
Ryan

Originally Posted by Mr Brooksy
Agreed. It looks brilliant, but it doesn't seem to be much of a "concept" car. A suped up GT.

This probably sounds biased, but I still think the Efigy Holden made a few years ago is the greatest example of a concept car this country has ever seen.
Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 03:26 PM   #19
zetec
Zoom Zoom

Originally Posted by Ryan
Agreed. It looks brilliant, but it doesn't seem to be much of a "concept" car. A suped up GT.

This probably sounds biased, but I still think the Efigy Holden made a few years ago is the greatest example of a concept car this country has ever seen.
I'm sorry, I think you might have stumbled upon the wrong forum.
Old 01-07-2011, 03:30 PM   #20
Ryan

I'm sorry, I think you might have stumbled upon the wrong forum.

Look how long I've been here for mate...
Old 01-07-2011, 03:30 PM   #21
HSVKILLA
moonlight rider

That is veeeeerrrrry easy on the eye and simply put "stunning" .
HSVKILLA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 03:32 PM   #22
zetec
Zoom Zoom

Look how long I've been here for mate...
Seems my tone was a little lost in translation then.
Old 01-07-2011, 03:33 PM   #23
mcnews
Trev

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Trev has owned several boosted fords and has really contributed a lot of info on them. His posts in the bike section are also very helpful. I think he should be recognised as a technical contributor. 

I put that up early this morning in the Supercharged V8 thread in the performance section, and sized the picture in a variety of resolutions for peoples desktops for those that want a larger version check in there, I did right up to 1900x1200.
Old 01-07-2011, 03:37 PM   #24
superfly
Go the Hogster!

Looks sweeet!
superfly is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 03:39 PM   #25

I agree its not much of a "concept" in its normal motorshow definition.

But the Effigy was just an aftermarket party with nothing translating to the real world. Nor was it really "new", it was more of a hot rod IMO.

That front bar has to be FG2.
Old 01-07-2011, 03:39 PM   #26
Dr Smith

Originally Posted by mcnews
I put that up early this morning in the Supercharged V8 thread in the performance section, and sized the picture in a variety of resolutions for peoples desktops for those that want a larger version check in there, I did right up to 1900x1200.
Much appreciated.
Dr Smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 03:40 PM   #27
Ryan

Seems my tone was a little lost in translation then.
I know it's a Ford forum, but I'm not going to bite my tongue. It's an excellent looking car (I'll even say better looking than anything HSV make), but it doesn't really scream "concept".

In saying that it is FPV's first attempt, so maybe I was being a tad harsh.

I agree its not much of a "concept" in its normal motorshow definition.

But the Effigy was just an aftermarket party with nothing translating to the real world. Nor was it really "new", it was more of a hot rod IMO.

That front bar has to be FG2.
I see your point. Perhaps the Torana would've been a better example since its basic shape formed the VE.

The more I look at this the more I reckon it would look bad *** as a coupe.
Old 01-07-2011, 03:52 PM   #28

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

It is an awesome looking car, no doubt and FPV need to build it.

As for it being a "concept" car, that is a question of definition and in my opinion it is not really. Concept cars generally showcase radically different features, styling or direction that is not yet available in the manufacturers range. As set of lowered springs and wider wheels does not really fill this criteria if you ask me. Some may even suggest this is what the FG 335 should have had from the start to keep the handling and grip up to the task that the engine has set for it.

Anyway, the idea of the vehicle is a big win and I hope it is a sign of things to come for FGII.
Old 01-07-2011, 03:56 PM   #29

Looks great.....I want...

Best thing, no Alice Cooper eyes.

As for concepts, i'd hate to admit but the late model monaro must be one of the best, as it actually made it into production due to demand.
Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-07-2011, 04:40 PM   #30

Looks mean as. I love it.

The obligatory !>