Old 05-07-2011, 08:54 AM   #1
outside
off in outer space

Default shift workers

does anyone work a 6-day, 12-hour roster with 4 crews?
why i ask is the production crew here work just that and are not happy with the current roster.
do you or anyone you know work one? and how does the shift patterns run?

cheers

len

Old 05-07-2011, 09:52 AM   #2
Mk II

Default Re: shift workers

G'day mate,

We don't do a 6 day roster with 4 crews.... We do an 8 day roster, 4 on 4 off. Don't know if you need 24 hr coverage but we do 6-6, 2 days 2 nights. It isn't the best but soon we will be going to 4 days 4 off 4 nights 4 off which will be much better, we will essentially get an extra day off before night shift.

Josh
Mk II is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-07-2011, 10:32 AM   #3
outside
off in outer space

yer thats what i do in my job, 4 on 4 off
the mill crew do a 6 day 12 hour, all but the same as 4 on 4 off but with the added of not working sundays
Old 05-07-2011, 01:06 PM   #4
GT 160

I work a 12hr 4 panel.

3 on, 2 off, 2 on, 4 off alternating day/night.
GT 160 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-07-2011, 01:36 PM   #5

we have recently put a request for a 4 on 6 off roster , with 5 crews 36.5hr wk.. but i think the company, and our union , dont want it , so we have buckleys. this roster is out there being worked too . i think it is the best 12 hour roster . 4 on 6 off.
Old 05-07-2011, 02:49 PM   #6
outside
off in outer space

was just told that the mill crew might be going to a 5 day week soon, so that will be 3 by 8 hour shifts
bloody ozzie dollar being so high is making imports so much cheaper then producing here
Old 05-07-2011, 04:25 PM   #7
Thornie
Off smelting

We do 4 on, 4 off, 12hour shifts with 4 crews doing 2 days 2 nights. love it week goes fast and 4 day long weekend.
Thornie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-07-2011, 07:27 PM   #8
PHANTMXR6
It's not an FG MKI.......

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Willing to help out with useful advice in the technical areas of the forum. 
Smile Re: shift workers

The site I work on has multiple rosters.

2 weeks on 2 weeks off is the preferred, which is 1 week of days and 1 week of nights.
Then there is the 1 week on 1 week off dayshift only.
5/2 4/3 which is a rolling Monday to Friday with the weekend and the following Monday off then work Tuesday to Friday and repeat the process.

Then we have some contractors on 2 weeks on and 1 week off.

Want to know how to do an A Service for an FG XR6T?

Look in this http://fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11339404

Thinking of oil sampling your engine?

Have a look at this trend http://fordforums.com.au/showthread....ght=oil+sample
PHANTMXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-07-2011, 09:41 PM   #9
Zero_PSI

I used to work a 6-6 roster. You have to keep it rotating, i was on night shift for 3 months. My health and mentality started to slip.

Its doable though. Making 1500 a week id do it again.
Zero_PSI is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-07-2011, 09:44 PM   #10
Fireblade
Wizard Member

Originally Posted by outside
was just told that the mill crew might be going to a 5 day week soon, so that will be 3 by 8 hour shifts
bloody ozzie dollar being so high is making imports so much cheaper then producing here
What sort of mill you talking Outside?
Old 06-07-2011, 08:46 AM   #11
outside
off in outer space

Originally Posted by F6 FOON
What sort of mill you talking Outside?
onesteel newcaslte
Old 06-07-2011, 08:54 AM   #12
smally289
growing up is optional

We have 4 crews doing 8/6 days and then 7/7 nights, all 6:30 to 6:30. Works well and you get a good overlap at the start and finish of the dayshift panel for handover purposes.
smally289 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 09:12 AM   #13
jaikai

2 days 2 nights, 12hr shifts. 5 crews means 6 day breaks til 1 crew takes annual leave, then 4 day breaks til the crew is back.

Our annual leave staggers forward every year by a set margin, giving each crew back to back leave every 5 years.

Eg: my crew was on leave last year during sep-early oct... this year is mid nov- end dec, next years leave is start jan- mid feb...if you follow me. Basically every 5 years- near all summer off
Old 06-07-2011, 09:14 AM   #14
Fireblade
Wizard Member

Originally Posted by outside
onesteel newcaslte
Are you making coil steel?

Our Tube Mills here run a 9 day fortnight roster, 5 days of dayshift and then 4 days of afternoon shift.

I'm hearing you on the aussie dollar and imports, our production is halved in the last few months.
Old 06-07-2011, 09:01 PM   #15
DJR MAN
DJR Fan

Are you blokes getting paid overtime after your std hrs each day and do you receive pay on the days off?
DJR MAN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 09:09 PM   #16
Bundy
All Ford Club Life Member

7 on 7 off, 80hrs per tour. Get a weekly pay helps me pay normal tax.

12 hr shift is all at a flat rate.

Its a good rotation, 7 days in a row is great its not long (compared to being out at sea), guys that don't run it need to harden up. 7 days off is better plenty of time to get stuff done and have a few days to kick back.

Worked AU XR8 Ute - Toy

Std FG XR6T Ute - Daily

Supercharged BA 6 Ute - Wife's daily

351W F150 93 XLT 4x4 Supercab
Bundy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 09:19 PM   #17
sikmic concepts
orgasm donor

hey bundy,
im 23, qualified mechanic and will be moving to Hervey bay at the end of the year... do u think the company you work for would be interested in me? id love to work away! i need a challenging job hahaha
sikmic concepts is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 09:59 PM   #18

We do 28 days straight, 12 hours on 12 hours off.....

Then 28 days off....

Old 06-07-2011, 11:24 PM   #19
Thornie
Off smelting

Originally Posted by DJR-351
We do 28 days straight, 12 hours on 12 hours off.....

Then 28 days off....

you not working the tugs in the gladstone harbour are you, ive got a mate working on there atm and they do the same shift
Thornie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-07-2011, 11:43 PM   #20
killerjoolz
KillerXR8

my hubby does 3 days 2 nights 4 off,12 hr shifts 4 crews

2009 TWEEKD FG XR8 IN SILHOUETTE
all mods done by Walter Markham from Oztek Performance
killerjoolz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2011, 12:17 AM   #21
vanman_75

2d 2n 2off 2d 2n 6 off strip mining our coal....great roster , done 4-4 its ok and lookin at a 5-5 with more coin, work to live I reckon
vanman_75 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2011, 12:44 AM   #22
ClassicC

12 hr shift 36 hr week...2x 12 hr days 2x 12hr nights then 6 days off. Then a choice if you want to work extra days on the 6 off....that pretty good to me and bugger workin on the days off I say ;)
Old 07-07-2011, 06:22 AM   #23

Originally Posted by RaTTuS
you not working the tugs in the gladstone harbour are you, ive got a mate working on there atm and they do the same shift
No, i'm on Rig Tenders in the Offshore Oil and Gas industry.....

Old 07-07-2011, 10:45 AM   #24
outside
off in outer space

Originally Posted by F6 FOON
Are you making coil steel?

Our Tube Mills here run a 9 day fortnight roster, 5 days of dayshift and then 4 days of afternoon shift.

I'm hearing you on the aussie dollar and imports, our production is halved in the last few months.
no mate rod mill coiled round bar
Old 10-07-2011, 02:56 PM   #25
wayne91

i work 13 hr/shift ,aproxx 14 shifts a mth ,rotating day and night for each tour
wayne91 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2011, 06:50 PM   #26
Big Bird 17

7 and 7 = 76 hrs,love it and all dayshift.
Old 10-07-2011, 07:07 PM   #27
John G

I work 12 hrs per day, 6 days a week. Must walk away after 72 hours ( by Law) What day is it today???????????????
John G is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2011, 07:29 PM   #28

Originally Posted by John G
I work 12 hrs per day, 6 days a week. Must walk away after 72 hours ( by Law) What day is it today???????????????
And what law might that be....? and who does it apply to....?

Old 10-07-2011, 08:53 PM   #29
LyleXR8

7/3/7/4 for me, there is talk of 7 and 7 roster for same money, workers are keen, the company not so much
LyleXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 10-07-2011, 09:22 PM   #30
JamesR

i normally work 6x10hr 1off.
dont like doing 12's, and i dont like doing 12's at night even more.

my photo blog;
http://www.jamesruff.net
JamesR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post