You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: Moffat "Greatest Australian Muscle Car Ever"
The New Supercharged FPV is the King 110 50.93%
F6 is better 45 20.83%
Its a dead heat 13 6.02%
HSV is the King with their W427 48 22.22%
Voters: 216. You may not vote on this poll

Old 13-07-2011, 04:10 PM   #1

Default Greatest FPV Ever ?

In the FPV Brochure Alan Moffatt claims the new Supercharged FPV is "The Greatest Australian Muscle Car Ever"

Is he right ?

Last edited by Rodge; 13-07-2011 at 04:20 PM.
Old 13-07-2011, 04:26 PM   #2

Default Re: Greatest FPV Ever ?

So are you asking what's the best FPV or muscle car? Because I reckon they are two different things.

Bit early on in the piece to be saying what's the best FPV IMO.
Old 13-07-2011, 04:35 PM   #3
DENKO
Bseries hardcore

why would you have HSV up there if the question states greatest FPV?
BF MKII XR8, 13.8 @ 107mph
BA MKII F6 TYPHOON
BA MKII XR6 TURBO

BF MKII F6 TYPHOON R-spec, 13.2 @ 109 mph [LTHLF-6]
PX Ranger WILDTRAK
Old 13-07-2011, 04:52 PM   #4
GTP owner

For now the wd40 wins hands down. More power, bigger brakes, better suspension. It would run rings around the FPV stuff on a race track.
The title of the thread is a bit misleading though
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
Old 13-07-2011, 05:01 PM   #5
Whitey-AMG
AWD Assassin

As the others have said above the thread title is a bit misleading , but if its a choice between the options you have listed it would be the W427 for me....easy.

New RIDE
2018 AMG Mercedes A45
Angry AWD assassin
Old 13-07-2011, 05:15 PM   #6

Personal preference but at $80K - $90K fully optioned the GT-P and GT-E are a darn sight cheaper than the W427.

I mean you could argue that if you dumped the extra you'd splash on a W427 into a GT-P you'd get the same if not better performance etc etc... long thread is going to be long.....
Old 13-07-2011, 05:16 PM   #7
Ryan

W427.
Old 13-07-2011, 05:17 PM   #8
dimka100

Alan Moffatt will say anything Ford is PAYING him to say!!!
Old 13-07-2011, 05:18 PM   #9

Greatest FPV ever... the one sitting in my shed....
Old 13-07-2011, 05:33 PM   #10
MexicanBatman

Whilst the new GT is great, it's not the complete package yet, it has some way to go, the new FPV car at the motor show if produced, even though it's basically boltons everyone does would almost take that crown, but they need a ridiculously priced exclusive model to take the crown, performance mods aren't really needed but some ******** bespoke interior trim and finishing touched and a $150k price tag would take the crown
Old 13-07-2011, 05:43 PM   #11
lorpy
Fpv gt mrk2

cant compare a $100,000 plus w427 against a fpv lol id say gt for sure anyday
Old 13-07-2011, 05:46 PM   #12

i'm v8 blooded through and through , but i voted dead heat , the f6 is cheaper , was out 1st and theres f'all in it .
Old 13-07-2011, 05:55 PM   #13
StrokedXT

Originally Posted by GTP owner
For now the wd40 wins hands down. More power, bigger brakes, better suspension. It would run rings around the FPV stuff on a race track.
The title of the thread is a bit misleading though
The only ones I've seen on the dyno were outperformed by the blown 5.0
Old 13-07-2011, 05:58 PM   #14
GTP owner

Originally Posted by StrokedXT
The only ones I've seen on the dyno were outperformed by the blown 5.0
I don't race dyno numbers. And the coyote power has not been translated into real performance - it is still just equal to the F6. And a modern muscle car needs to corner and stop too, which is why I said the wd40 as it would easily account for the ford offerings.
E3 chubsport - fully fat (and slow), sitting there waiting for me to get sick of it and sell it.
BA XR6T for a daily
NT Pajero for the bush
XB 4 door project- swallows a BF xr6 turbo

My dad is a generous bloke. He gave away his dead car batteries free of charge....
Old 13-07-2011, 06:13 PM   #15
Perko
Loving The Blown Goodness

When you take into account presense and not just dyno figures I would go for the W427. Saw one of those in red a while back and loved it. The new GT's are great but don't have that special presense. My favourite FPV is still the 40th Anniversary, until the black edition gets released.

Agree with the guys that the title is misleading. If we are going for the greatest muscle car ever or FPV then there are a heap more options to choose from.

Previous 2003 BA XR8 Ute Phantom
Ford Forum Build Thread

The Project 1991 EB XR8 Sedan Monza Red
Project Build Thread
Old 13-07-2011, 06:35 PM   #16
kinksta
Luxojet

Going by what the question is, Greatest Australian Muscle Car Ever? And with only 3 choices, it would have to be the W427.

The OP isn't asking what you would buy or bang for buck, so it has to be the W427 is the best Muscle Car for what it can do.
Old 13-07-2011, 06:39 PM   #17

Modern + Muscle... i can seem them a massing. Seems we cant even agree what modern muscle is.
Old 13-07-2011, 06:40 PM   #18

W427, no question.
Old 13-07-2011, 06:44 PM   #19

Got to be the W427, FPV havent put out a package even close to matching it overall.
Old 13-07-2011, 06:44 PM   #20

Modern + Muscle... i can seem them a massing. Seems we cant even agree what modern muscle is.
How true. True muscle car IMO is ALL steel and rattles your teeth out at the lights.
Old 13-07-2011, 07:10 PM   #21
HSVKILLA
moonlight rider

Well with the 24 years that hsv have been around vs 8 years for fpv they have'nt done bad at all turning out a v8 with 335kw and also being supercharged at that.Who knows what is happening behind the scenes at fpv but one thing is for sure they have jumped huge leaps and bounds to get where they are today and i think a big jump is not too far away .
Old 13-07-2011, 07:23 PM   #22

the GT has the aussie rebuilt blown 8 in it, there`s nothing else homegrown on the market that can make that claim except for the henry six banger, and while the six is a definate factory hot rod and has comparable performance, SORRY TURBO BOYS a muscle car has to sound like a V eight and be a V EIGHT!
winner = GT335 !
Old 13-07-2011, 07:40 PM   #23
tex
Broken

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: With the exception of maybe HSE2, nobody writes a review like Texy. 

Out of that lineup Id take the 427.

I'm not sure it's hardware performance has been validated by owners circuit sprinting their 427's, but damn, on paper it is a serious bit of kit.

In woulda, coulda, .. if I could afford one world, I'd race it's *** off! And drive it everyday. The investment cars are a waste, sad existance for such a car. Use it, abuse it, and maintain it appropriately. That's what a 427 was meant to do!

Any 427 owners out there want to come along to one of our track days and get up it? I know there's at least one of them in Tassie.

11.4 @ 128, 1.88 60ft.
Old 13-07-2011, 07:51 PM   #24
kinksta
Luxojet

Why not just buy one? Only 120 odd sold, and 5 for sale...

For Sale
Old 13-07-2011, 08:02 PM   #25
FreddyDUZ747

W427 gets the my vote aswell.
Old 13-07-2011, 08:09 PM   #26
Day-mow
rexnet

W427 for the win!!!
and why. because it has a 427 big block in it.
although it would be pretty "fun" going thru the hills in that.
but if i really wanted to go thru the hills id buy jap.

ford should do something similar tho. bring out a car with a motor CI big enough to shower a small child in

Remember it is the internet,So beware of trolls, If you argue with trolls the kids will laugh at you

Follow me on twitter @ Day_mow
Old 13-07-2011, 08:50 PM   #27

Wink Re: Greatest FPV Ever ?

W427 for the win!!!
and why. because it has a 427 big block in it.
although it would be pretty "fun" going thru the hills in that.
but if i really wanted to go thru the hills id buy jap.

ford should do something similar tho. bring out a car with a motor CI big enough to shower a small child in
The 427 isn't a big block, it shares the same external block dimensions with the LS1/2.
Old 13-07-2011, 09:12 PM   #28
HULK EF

supercharged 5.0 FTW..

Just a tune and it is 11 second wepon...

much cheaper too.. than wd40... lol
Old 13-07-2011, 09:37 PM   #29

When FPV fix the suspension and fit bigger rears the Miami will take the crown.
Old 13-07-2011, 09:45 PM   #30

W427 at this stage. Loads of grunt, loads of grip and loads of stoppers combined with bespoke build and truly limited numbers to ensure its exclusivity.

Game over.