Old 15-07-2011, 10:50 PM   #1
RAPID_BA

Default what makes you a ford man? (or woman)

What makes you a ford man (or woman)

RAPID_BA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 10:55 PM   #2

Default Re: what makes you a ford man? (or woman)

My huge, long, satisfying

truck.

Fords have always been in the family. Solid, reliable, comfy, quality cars. And affordable haha...

Blood ran blue since i popped out

Old 15-07-2011, 10:57 PM   #3
kempy311
BEN

born with fords
My Thread. The new whip: 2014 FGX XR8 Auto in victory gold. Mods : BMC air filter, 1500cc injectors, Walbro 485, 58mm kpm snout, kpm intercooler, 35% front and 20% rear tint, pedders supercar coilovers, whiteline sway bars, Phillips HIDs, lenso d1r wheels.
331rwkw.
12.7 sec stock as a rock with a passenger.
Now with 620rwhp ready to run the 10

built zf, built tailshaft, corn juice all to come.

The old rig: 2008 FG XR8 Auto in dash green with a tonne of mods to make 311rwkw.
kempy311 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 10:58 PM   #4
Lotte
YE-US! Wait. I don't know

Grew up with a Compact 63 Fairlane in the shed. Need I say more?
The Weekender: '06 BF Pursuit, Toxic, lumpy af

Lotte is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 11:11 PM   #5
LightingBA

Everyone else in my family loves holdens. So I had to be different.
LightingBA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 11:15 PM   #6

My last name is Ford....
Old 15-07-2011, 11:16 PM   #7
Simple6

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Tech article on rear bushes. 

My youngest memory is of the family car being a green VK(?) Commodore which always had the hubcaps falling off - not a good start.

Then dad bringing home when I was about 4 or 5 an EA red stationwagon! CPI, column auto, bench seat, 4WD height. - still not a great start!

But i was hooked on the e-series box car shape (not the wagon). And it goes from there. Add to that my girlfriends last name is Ford - we joke its the only reason I asked her out, and if we get married Ill take her name.
Old 15-07-2011, 11:17 PM   #8
LOW_NL
boo

my dad has always owned fords since i can remember and in my area it is very over populated with holdens, how else can i stand out lol
LOW_NL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 11:23 PM   #9
RHR

Old man into fords.
First car 67 falcon ute
RHR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 11:26 PM   #10

I used to follow holden until I got my first car 1996 EL XR6.. since then I just really liked the ford products, the community etc.
Old 15-07-2011, 11:28 PM   #11

the fact that the I6 can go for 1,100,000klms
that blows my mind
Old 15-07-2011, 11:31 PM   #12
Vincenzo

I actually prefer Valiant Chargers but as they don't make 'em then
Ford wins over Holden hands down
Vincenzo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 11:33 PM   #13
Ford17

I was driven home by Dad & Mum from the hospital, just after I was born, in a then current-model XY V8 Fairmont.
Ford17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 11:34 PM   #14
Cúl-Báire

Even though my father was a ford employee for a long time, and always owned Fords I had always considered myself a Holden man with my first car being a VP Berlina, and having owned a number of modified SS's since then.

It wasn't until I was recently shopping for a new(er) car that I took an N/A BA XR6 for a drive; I was impressed more than enough grunt to have fun in, and found it incredably easy to drive (especially in the windy stuff, where the SS Commodore had you working your **** off to put it where you want on the road).

I am sold!
Cúl-Báire is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 11:35 PM   #15

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always puts a good amount of thought into his posts and voices his ideas and opinions in a well thought out and constructive manner. I have certainly seen many threads where his input has been constructive to the topic and overall the forum has benfited f 

I was staunch Holden (primarily commodores) until the release of the VT, I hated it with a passion. I spent about ten years being 'non-brand specific'...until I went searching for a new car.

A mate at the time (now my 'better half') gave a glowing review of Ford's lineup, and after having driven the Cruze and detesting the experience, I took a Fiesta for a spin, I had nothing to lose...since then, well, I have a lot more appreciation for the callibre of vehicles in Ford's lineup...I love the XR6T and loved the colour range that Ford presented. I am saddened that their colours are seemingly...well, 'safe' colours now...

SEZ213 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 11:37 PM   #16

When I was growing up in the 90s We had a crappy XE which died and an EA which always overheated, Mum got a 99 Festiva (which we still have).

Then Dad got a Mazda 323 in 2003.

2009 comes around and the WS Fiesta was the best in its class, so I bought one.

2011 comes around and I bought a TDCI Focus because I got snubbed off at Hyundai and Holden where-as Ford welcomed me with open arms, lol. I was interested in the i30 CRDI, Peugeot 306 XSE (I think legalities would have stopped me from driving this, not totally sure didnt look into it too much) and the CDX Cruze

Next car, I'm willing to give another brand a go as long as its better than Ford's product/Dealership doesn't snub me off.

If I had of researched more into the Mazda 3 I probably would have bought that instead of my TDCI Focus, I only saw the other day that they have factory HID lights either standard or an option.
Old 15-07-2011, 11:41 PM   #17
Zero_PSI

I just like fords better?
Zero_PSI is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-07-2011, 11:54 PM   #18
netvista

just got my first ford, G6ET, LOVING it..
netvista is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2011, 12:03 AM   #19
EF
Formerly gt.4.me

always loved fords , they always looked better than holdens in my eyes. i would never own anything else but a ford blue blooded all the way
EF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2011, 12:19 AM   #20

I was brought up in a staunch Holden family but as I grew up and started to learn about cars it didn't take me long to work out most of their cars are poor quality and under-engineered. Then moved on to being into Japanese cars (still am), particularly Subaru and Mitsubishi.

Bought a Ford (Falcon) because they seem great value for money on the used car market, high levels of safety, smooth ride and the I6 is just legendary. Having a bit of a love/hate relationship with my car at the moment but overall it's been good to this point.
Old 16-07-2011, 12:20 AM   #21
Olbucko

Thumbs up Re: what makes you a ford man? (or woman)

I learnt to drive in a near new XK waggon, I have an XM in the shed, my son has a ZL Fairlane, and I have a Territory. And they were all made in Australia.
Olbucko is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2011, 12:26 AM   #22
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 

Parent's had a mint XF Fairmont Ghia when I was born, and ever since have had E-series, and one AU... Have loved Ford's ever since...
Old 16-07-2011, 01:01 AM   #23
4vdean

The GT made me a ford man
First car a Xb gs 302 then straight into a xw gt, have owned varios fords almost exclusively all my life (current cars in sig.) and my young kids they WILL be driving fords too, I'm priming them now
Old 16-07-2011, 01:04 AM   #24
Resurrection
I was correct - AGAIN

Because I always support the underdog.
Resurrection is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2011, 01:16 AM   #25
aquahead2001

My Grandpa had a Ford Angela (105E with the reverse window), my Dad and all my Uncles drove Fords and not much else, some even worked for Ford, I come from Geelong, I've owned only 8 Fords (still own 3 of them) and 3 Holdens (still own 1) and I've had a licence for 29 years. I always liked the idea that the badge on the front was actually the name of the man who ownded the company. (Ha, just remembered that the same applies to the company I now work for!)
Old 16-07-2011, 01:21 AM   #26

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

My dads 1st car was a used FJ Holden it blew up after 1 week, then it was all Ford starting with a XM Falcon, in 1970 he purchased a new XW Station Wagon with 3 on the tree and it went on to many years of Fords, today he drives a 2009 Focus Sedan.
I could never forget watching Dick Johnson in the tru blu XD Falcon was huge influence in following the Blue Oval..

Old 16-07-2011, 01:30 AM   #27
rochey

always had them, when im not driving one all i want is another ford.
rochey is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2011, 01:39 AM   #28
GreenR

Marcos Ambrose
GreenR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-07-2011, 01:42 AM   #29

Though we had a VB or VC Commodore when I was born, the XF Wagon that was purchased after the Commodore was written off (when a drunken sod (0.165) in a Fairlane went up their backside on the evening of the 1987 Grand Final) took me to many places - as far as the Gold Coast back in 1990 which is probably still the most exciting holiday I ever had...

I'm also a Geelong supporter, and I just reckon the Ford logo looks good on the guernsey. They also aren't bad cars.

I have a BFII XT. Not going to put any money into it other than washes, maintenance and petrol because I wanna step up to a V8. It's a poor use of money to do work on an XT considering I'll hardly get anything back when I do sell...
The next car I'll keep for a damn long time...and I am quite sure it will be a Ford...

Old 16-07-2011, 01:43 AM   #30
Whoosha
AU DIE HARD

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all the things you do behind the scenes. Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Writing tech articles 

66 was the year, a uncle took me to Sandown races for the first time. Sitting in the stand as a 9 year old, on the front straight I can still remember the note howling over the top of a field of what now are group N (appendix J cars) of a Gold XR GT starting from rear a field passing every thing in site , the rest is history

........Age and treachery will ALWAYS overcome youth and skill.......

CORTINA 250 2V POWER soon to be AUXR8 Windsor pwrd

.............WINDSOR WARLORD WHO CARRIES THE CLEVO MAFIA AND BROKEN BOSSES...

Originally Posted by Riksta
Quote of the weekend: "The quarter mile wasn't as long as I expected it to be".
Whoosha is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post