Old 30-08-2011, 08:39 PM   #1

Exclamation Today Tonight 30/08/2011..Video Speed Cameras

The future of law enforcement is here, in the shape of the most sophisticated speed camera of all time. The unbeatable money-making machine for the Government will be rolled out en mass across the country.

According to Queensland Superintendent Paul Fogate the Tru-cams are fast, efficient and unavoidable.

“By the time you see it being operated by a person, you would have been detected - it's anywhere anytime,” Fogate said.

In three hours, the very least this camera can make, at the lowest infringement rate, is $20,000 - that's $110 a minute.

The Tru-cam can also go where other speed cameras can’t - like inner city streets, where in the past the reflection of buildings has proved an accuracy killer. Now, with high definition video, it makes no mistake of your number plate, or who’s behind the wheel.

Once rolled out they will make the State's consolidated revenue cash registers ring, and gone will be the days of expensive court challenges to dispute fines.

“All of those loopholes? Forget about it. They don't exist anymore,” motoring engineer John Cadogan said.

Despite the criticism that you won’t know you've been pinned until you receive the fine in the mail, Chair of Road Safety Rapheael Grzebieta believes that long term the cameras will change driver behaviour, and reduce the number of police pursuits.

“We certainly know that police chasing drivers is a high risk situation, both to the driver and to the police. We've had numerous coronial inquiries into such deaths, as a result of police chasing speedsters,” he said.

“There's been a war on speeding drivers in every state it’s been going on for years and the technology keeps getting better and this is the best there is,” Cadogan concluded.

Old 30-08-2011, 08:49 PM   #2

Default Re: Today Tonight 30/08/2011..Video Speed Cameras

Here we go, notice how they feel the need to make a point of how much $$$ these things can make?
Road Safety, seems its a thing of the past to Govco.
Old 30-08-2011, 08:59 PM   #3

am I missing something - $110 a minute? each fine is worth at least $180 isn't it. great revenue raiser
Old 30-08-2011, 09:15 PM   #4

In Queensland..under 10kms over the speed limit its $110 plus 1 demerit point.
Old 30-08-2011, 09:49 PM   #5
ray38l

The usual culprits will be around soon to argue over statistics and what not.
The only thing i will say is surely with all this new technology highway patrol officers must have the worst job satisfaction ever. They are becoming camera attendants and nothing else. Even then a cop doesn't even have to operate them as seen by the fact that a bank is in charge of operating cameras in nsw.
ray38l is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2011, 09:55 PM   #6
Rockape

Ahh when will it end???
Rockape is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2011, 10:04 PM   #7

Originally Posted by Rockape
Ahh when will it end???
When cams are destoyed, camera attendants/vehicles attacked, when people take to the streets...

Yeh pretty much never

Old 30-08-2011, 10:12 PM   #8
kinksta
Luxojet

So they won't pull you over? Just let you keep speeding each day till the fines start rolling in? Plenty of time to crash or kill someone? Am I missing something? :$
kinksta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2011, 10:47 PM   #9

We have a money hungry govornment....and they are starving....

Old 30-08-2011, 10:56 PM   #10

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always puts a good amount of thought into his posts and voices his ideas and opinions in a well thought out and constructive manner. I have certainly seen many threads where his input has been constructive to the topic and overall the forum has benfited f 

There was a sales meeting on Thursday over at Springfield, I left the office just after my boss and when I arrived at the function centre, he was in a foul mood, as were three other reps. On the side of the road coming from the Logan Motorway onto the Centenary interchange, there was a small box on the side of the road - fed to four police vehicles. Heading towards it in the ute, I thought it was breatho's. I went to pull over and was waved through, they were full of people was my assumption...wrong, I slowed down to 55 just beforehand sparked by the memory it was a 60 zone...the boss copped a $330 fine, 76 in a 60 zone - the other three were lumped with the same sort of numbers...one will be walking very shortly I think on loss of points alone - so over a grands worth of fines. Apparently they're there all the time - my best advice...make sure you do 60...even though you could quite safely do 80...

SEZ213 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2011, 11:05 PM   #11
Full Spectrum
Only a matter of time.

I wonder is this coming to victoria. last week i spotted a guy sitting on a chair away from the road slightly hidden pointing in the same direction as the speed/red light camera. it caught my attention as the camera's were being worked on. unless he was recording their handy work which is strange.
Old 30-08-2011, 11:08 PM   #12

May as well drive around in 1960's cars these days...
Any Hillman Imps or Mini's out there ???
Old 31-08-2011, 01:47 AM   #13

Originally Posted by TheInterceptor
When cams are destoyed, camera attendants/vehicles attacked, when people take to the streets...

Yeh pretty much never

Well if this was USA, they would be gone within a week.

It's clearly revenue raising, what else is there to say.
Old 31-08-2011, 02:13 AM   #14

Now the front seat passenger really should call "shotgun."
Old 31-08-2011, 02:23 AM   #15

Originally Posted by TheInterceptor
We have a money hungry govornment....and they are starving....
Just like John Goodman with the mashed potatoes...

Old 31-08-2011, 06:32 AM   #16
joolz

Great to see the police/governments investing more money into the apparant "speed kills" garbage. If the 350+ fixed and and god knows how many mobile cameras in Victoria arent already working to lower the toll well hmmm. Maybe the causes are something else like fatigue, drink driving, shonky cars, inexperienced or just idiot drivers...Just aslong as the $$$ keep flowing in for now as soon there will be buggar all with a license to be fined for a few k's over.
joolz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2011, 07:17 AM   #17

Whats the deal with point to point. Coming back from Sydney, theres a P2P camera on the Federal Highway. They put it right before the speed drops from 110 to 95 then to 85 because of the bends in the road before going back to 110. No idea if it calculates at 110 for the whole time for your average speed, or incorporates the variable limits as well? So I when I hit the 110 straight again, I slowed to 90 and stayed at 90 for a couple of k's until I hit the other camera. Got a lot of angry drivers beeping me as I went past. But I'd sooner not contribute to the governments christmas party if I'm not invited.
Old 31-08-2011, 09:41 AM   #18

Despite the criticism that you won’t know you've been pinned until you receive the fine in the mail, Chair of Road Safety Rapheael Grzebieta believes that long term the cameras will change driver behaviour, and reduce the number of police pursuits.
lol wut

I'm sure the driver of a stolen car who is being chased by the beak really gives a stuff about speeding and speed cameras! What a stupid statement! Bunch of *******, more proof these academic types know stuff all about what happens in the real world!

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 31-08-2011, 02:37 PM   #19

Not only U.S .. In Holland they do all crazy things to them...
Speed camera's that is...
Old 31-08-2011, 03:41 PM   #20
MAD
Petro-sexual

I'd go as far as to say pursuits have increased, and driving standards have gotten worse since their introduction, so there is absolutely no evidence to suggest otherwise.

Police presence is the only way.
Old 31-08-2011, 04:20 PM   #21
kaniSS
BIG MEMBER ;)

Originally Posted by ebxr8240
Not only U.S .. In Holland they do all crazy things to them...
Speed camera's that is...
Even the UK for gods sake. Yet we Aussies just just suck it up and bend over.
Old 31-08-2011, 04:32 PM   #22

this thread is promoting crime and should be closed .
Old 31-08-2011, 04:33 PM   #23
tweeked
N/A all the way

They will use any rubbish to justify it. How many cars that are involved in the high speed pursuits (as opposed to the people who pull over) are driven by the person who is the registered owner. The ones who run are nearly without exception driving a stolen vehicle, as if they will care about these cameras.

tweeked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2011, 04:34 PM   #24
tweeked
N/A all the way

Originally Posted by gtfpv
this thread is promoting crime and should be closed .

tweeked is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2011, 04:41 PM   #25

Originally Posted by MAD
I'd go as far as to say pursuits have increased, and driving standards have gotten worse since their introduction, so there is absolutely no evidence to suggest otherwise.

Police presence is the only way.
Police presence won't bring in revenue. This will cost the government money to do this and could actually save more lives as well as help educate people better on the roads. Completely against govco's policy.

Old 31-08-2011, 07:52 PM   #26

Whats the deal with point to point. Coming back from Sydney, theres a P2P camera on the Federal Highway. They put it right before the speed drops from 110 to 95 then to 85 because of the bends in the road before going back to 110. No idea if it calculates at 110 for the whole time for your average speed, or incorporates the variable limits as well? So I when I hit the 110 straight again, I slowed to 90 and stayed at 90 for a couple of k's until I hit the other camera. Got a lot of angry drivers beeping me as I went past. But I'd sooner not contribute to the governments christmas party if I'm not invited.
As far as I know these are only used for heavy vehicle vehicles mate and they can take into account of variable limits by using average speed in that they measure the distance for each limit and average it using a formula. If you are over the average then you get done

http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/roadsafety...-factsheet.pdf
Old 01-09-2011, 09:21 AM   #27

In a weeks time I'll be in the USA again, and headed up to Montana as I'll have an extended layover. On the way, I'll be setting the cruise control on 90 miles (144 km/h) an hour in a 70 zone, driving by a dozen or so state troopers and laughing all the way about how dumb Australian politicians and the Road Transit Gestapo are.
Rest assured, I know that if I undertake anyone, or tailgate anyone I'll be pulled over promptly and fined. At least in America they actually target dangerous driving, and not those who go a couple of miles over the speed limit.
Why oh why did our govco representatives go to places like the UK to do study tours on road safety as opposed to the USA where they could have learnt alot more?