You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 09-10-2011, 03:03 PM   #1
Bunyip04
Think Heavy..

Talking New 5lt in FG XR8's?

As the title suggest's, this is quite an interesting read,
The V8 Utes series has introduced (finally) the FG XR8,
with this awesome bit of kit, could it be a sign of things to come??

http://www.v8utes.com.au/index.php?page_id=1403

There's no replacement for displacement!!!

Handling: Bilstein Shocks with King springs all round, Whiteline 27mm front swaybar & 22mm rear adj, upgraded PBR rotors, calipers and braided lines all round with Bendix Ultimate pads.
Go Fast Bits: Herrod C.A.I with K&N 4" pod flter, Herrod Helix spacer, Herrod oil breathers, Tridon 72c thermostat, Herrod 2.5" stainless cat back zorst.
Old 09-10-2011, 03:12 PM   #2
SM1DY
LIKE A BOSS 351

Default Re: New 5lt in FG XR8's?

That article is really lacking pictures isn't it. Anyway....

Old 09-10-2011, 03:18 PM   #3
lockieoc

we hope so.
It was a shame that it didn't finish the race yesterday not sure if they had it working for today. Diffidently looked the part it sounded nice too.
Managed to snap a few photos for those who are interested. Sorry if there not the best quality only had the trusty phone handy.

Old 09-10-2011, 03:19 PM   #4
Bunyip04
Think Heavy..

Originally Posted by SM1DY
That article is really lacking pictures isn't it. Anyway....

Yeah...
It's the only ones i could find..

Cheers Mick

Handling: Bilstein Shocks with King springs all round, Whiteline 27mm front swaybar & 22mm rear adj, upgraded PBR rotors, calipers and braided lines all round with Bendix Ultimate pads.
Go Fast Bits: Herrod C.A.I with K&N 4" pod flter, Herrod Helix spacer, Herrod oil breathers, Tridon 72c thermostat, Herrod 2.5" stainless cat back zorst.
Old 09-10-2011, 03:20 PM   #5
Bunyip04
Think Heavy..

Originally Posted by lockieoc
we hope so.
It was a shame that it didn't finish the race yesterday not sure if they had it working for today. Diffidently looked the part it sounded nice too.
Managed to snap a few photos for those who are interested. Sorry if there not the best quality only had the trusty phone handy.

THANKYOU!!! Makes my thread look more interesting now haha.
I didn't get a chance to see it in action, definetley something to be excited about tho!!

Old 09-10-2011, 03:22 PM   #6
morak001
460 - cubes torque

Although this comment “This is the first normally aspirated Coyote engine to run in a Falcon product anywhere in the world,..." if true (unlikely), would suggest any n/a 5L would be a long way off.
Old 09-10-2011, 03:23 PM   #7
lockieoc

No worries,
It was its first outing so i wasn't expecting to much. Hopefully next season they have it dialed in. The falcons are always said to have better turn in than the Commodores, the lighter motor and revised FG front end should help it even more.
Old 09-10-2011, 03:30 PM   #8

Ah I thought the LS's have had better turn in..5.4 BOSS's sit up high and are heavy.

But in saying that I saw the Brutes this morning and the BOSS's where holding their own just fine.

What are the specs on the Brute 5.4's?
Old 09-10-2011, 03:35 PM   #9
lockieoc

Not sure, i do know that it is very much a level playing field, i have a feeling that they all sit around the 300kw mark.
The feed back that i have heard from drivers particularity Ryal Harris is that he prefers the Falcon as it has better turn in under brakes which suits his driving style better then his old VE.
Old 09-10-2011, 03:49 PM   #10
SM1DY
LIKE A BOSS 351

Originally Posted by Bunyip04
Yeah...
It's the only ones i could find..

Cheers Mick
Not your fault mate

If there is one thing that excites me most, it's just how low the 5.0 sits in the engine bay. Just looking at the firewall you can see that it was likely the home 5.4 beforehand looking at the brown marks and just how high it rides.

Old 09-10-2011, 04:44 PM   #11
Bunyip04
Think Heavy..

Originally Posted by SM1DY
Not your fault mate

If there is one thing that excites me most, it's just how low the 5.0 sits in the engine bay. Just looking at the firewall you can see that it was likely the home 5.4 beforehand looking at the brown marks and just how high it rides.

Hooly dooly! I always hear how ppl say that the BOSS sits higher, that's an excellent comparison. All the holden boys at work reckon mine Looks bigger than their 6lt, i say cos it is
They don't need to know low better.... Hahaha

Old 09-10-2011, 05:01 PM   #12
HVAC PRO

it mite be just a pipe dream but i could certainly see myself driving a new xr8 if it had one of these in it just imagine when herrod play with it and we have bigger inlet manifold, dual throttle bodies, lumpy cams like the just did for the boss..i would certainly trade my XR6T for one.
Old 09-10-2011, 05:03 PM   #13
tweeked
N/A all the way

Ah I thought the LS's have had better turn in..5.4 BOSS's sit up high and are heavy.

But in saying that I saw the Brutes this morning and the BOSS's where holding their own just fine.

What are the specs on the Brute 5.4's?
I asked Craig Hasted (he is the control motor builder) this when he was doing my porting and screwing my long motor together a few years back. Stock as Boss 260 with a cold air intake. So they would be a smidge over 260 at the fly.

Old 09-10-2011, 05:03 PM   #14
MR.BA.GT.332
Now in the quad cam zone

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For all his work in the project section. Awesome effort. 

the new 5.0lt looks like its begging for an OTR (over the radiator) cold air setup like ones ive seen on the LS1's..... looks trick tho, shame it didnt finish yesterday, dunno how it went today i forgot to look, i know we won tho

"BARNEY" 2003 BA GT #332, Phantom, Boss 290, FR20 Simmons. XYZ Brakes - 355mm Rotors - 8piston Front Calipers & 4piston Rear More Mods soon!!
Old 09-10-2011, 05:08 PM   #15

A nice point, the NA 5.0, a future XR8 or G8E could use standard bonnet.......
Old 09-10-2011, 06:44 PM   #16

Originally Posted by Bunyip04
As the title suggest's, this is quite an interesting read,
The V8 Utes series has introduced (finally) the FG XR8,
with this awesome bit of kit, could it be a sign of things to come??

http://www.v8utes.com.au/index.php?page_id=1403
Nowhere does it say XR8.

They call it the FG V8 ute.

If saying that because it is a Falcon (as opposed to a FPV) and V8 then it must be a XR8 what does that make all the 220 & 230kw 5.4L 3 valve XLS/RTV BA-BF utes?

I suspect there is just a lot of wishful thinking here.
Old 09-10-2011, 06:53 PM   #17
lockieoc

Geees Flappist.
No need to be such a buzz kill.
Its as close as we can get to a glimmer of hope for a future XR8.
The car was originally an XR8.
But realistically this is as far as the pipe dream will go. By the time Ford ever got their act together times would have changed.
Old 09-10-2011, 07:09 PM   #18
SM1DY
LIKE A BOSS 351

Nowhere does it say XR8.

They call it the FG V8 ute.

If saying that because it is a Falcon (as opposed to a FPV) and V8 then it must be a XR8 what does that make all the 220 & 230kw 5.4L 3 valve XLS/RTV BA-BF utes?

I suspect there is just a lot of wishful thinking here.
Well the engine is in an XR8, so there's that!
Old 26-10-2011, 02:29 PM   #19
SM1DY
LIKE A BOSS 351

Action shots

Don't know if it's the same car, but
Old 26-10-2011, 02:44 PM   #20

Yeah judging by the sticker placements it is the same car - wtf happened to the rear end - check the guard in the top and bottom shots
Old 26-10-2011, 02:45 PM   #21
LANKY 1
Are the Supercars on yet?

Did it get hit in the backside? cos that last pic looks massivly bent, I know the rear is flared out cos i have 1 too, but that looks weird as

V8 dreamteam
1st: 2012, 2021
2nd: 2015, 2016, 2020, 2022, 2023
3rd: 2014, 2018, 2019
Old 26-10-2011, 02:55 PM   #22

Originally Posted by Fev
Yeah judging by the sticker placements it is the same car
It's the only FG in the field.

Thanks for the shots SM1DY.
Old 26-10-2011, 03:21 PM   #23

Yeah i should have put 2+2 together but I rarely watch these races so flew over my head lol

I'd love to know the power figures though - probably about 300kW. Torque figures would be more interesting thoguh
Old 26-10-2011, 04:50 PM   #24
GT 160

There is a bit of a quick write up in this months Wheels on the US Mustang GT with the new 5lt.

From the article:

"Here's some free advice Ford Australia. Send someone to America to buy a Mustang GT. Bring it back here, save the engine and throw the rest away, then put the bloody thing into a Falcon. We want it. Now."

Apparently it's good for 307kw @ 6500 and 530nm@ 4250, maybe a bit blunted here due to lax US noise restrictions.

All in all it's a cracker of an engine.
Old 26-10-2011, 05:19 PM   #25
b055m4n

Thumbs up Re: New 5lt in FG XR8's?

I'm with fitzwa on this all the way,That donk should be in the XR8 without doubt.
Old 26-10-2011, 06:37 PM   #26

Originally Posted by fitzwa
There is a bit of a quick write up in this months Wheels on the US Mustang GT with the new 5lt.

From the article:

"Here's some free advice Ford Australia. Send someone to America to buy a Mustang GT. Bring it back here, save the engine and throw the rest away, then put the bloody thing into a Falcon. We want it. Now."

Apparently it's good for 307kw @ 6500 and 530nm@ 4250, maybe a bit blunted here due to lax US noise restrictions.

All in all it's a cracker of an engine.
Or shoot the moon with the ultimate NA 5.0 V8 Ford engine from the Mustang Boss 302 variant
with 330 Kw (440 hp) @7400 and 513 nm (380 lb ft) @ 4,500
Old 26-10-2011, 06:42 PM   #27
Giant Cranium
PURSUIT 250

Originally Posted by LANKY 1
Did it get hit in the backside? cos that last pic looks massivly bent, I know the rear is flared out cos i have 1 too, but that looks weird as
na just a standard fg tub.
Old 26-10-2011, 07:00 PM   #28

ford oz customers have never had it so good , yet the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.........:(
Old 26-10-2011, 09:17 PM   #29
JPFS1

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Thoughtful contributions to our community. 

And there will be the N/A Coyote option from the Cobra Jet (yet to be released?)!

Plenty of scope in the N/A version.
Old 26-10-2011, 11:12 PM   #30

Originally Posted by JPFS1
And there will be the N/A Coyote option from the Cobra Jet (yet to be released?)

Plenty of scope in the N/A version.

Fingers crossed JPFS1, do you think they will use a NA 5.0 somewhere in the Falcon line up?