You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 22-01-2012, 05:03 PM   #1

Default Building an BBQ area

Hi Guys

I am in the process of building a Brick BBQ/outdoor kitchen area and I'm looking for idea's. What I am planning to do is to build something with a 6 burner bbq, some bench space, under bench storage and possibly installing a pizza oven.

So I am wondering whether anyone has embarked on a project like this and have some photo's to share, I'd been very interested in seeing them. Also, if you have any advice on what I should consider as part of construction, I'm keen to hear about it.

I think I have managed to track down some bricks that we had our house built using, so the plan is to buy some of those bricks so it matches the existing home.

The area I have to work with is approximatley 3 metres by about 11 metres. Garden shed is going up at the end so this removes about 3.5 metres of the area that can be used.

Here is a picture of the area. The lite coloured concrete is the area in question.

I am leaving a small area between the retaining wall and where the bbq will start so I have some room to move around it.

Old 22-01-2012, 08:51 PM   #2
rag top

Default Re: Building an BBQ area

Get gas connected to the area. Then no more gas bottles to worry about. My last house had it and was fantastic.
rag top is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-01-2012, 09:27 PM   #3
mad13b

Did something similar a couple of years ago. Best decision i made a year after finishing it was to put up a shade sail to keep everything dry and the sun outta ya hair on a hot day. Worth a thought.
mad13b is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-01-2012, 10:34 PM   #4

Run elect cable out there too...
At Least some conduit..
Old 23-01-2012, 08:53 AM   #5
wrongwaynorris

Go rent Emoh Ruo . I bow down at Martin Sachs feet in the BBQ stakes .
wrongwaynorris is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-01-2012, 09:55 AM   #6
jcxr
Tribal Elder

Check out the fourm " Forno Bravo", best wood fired oven info you will find, and then contact me to supply all your materials to build an oven. I supply everything required when wood fired ovens are being built.
jcxr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-01-2012, 12:00 PM   #7
DoreSlamR
Fiat POWAAH!

We built a bbq and pizza oven for a client about a year ago.

There's a couple of pics here:

LINK

Went with a random limestone clad on brick on the bbq and plinth for the pizza oven and yes the hot plate is 6mm thick!

bbq has power and water to it and there is also a place to mount a spit roast on it

If you have facebook, there's some photos of the construction too.

LINK

Last edited by DoreSlamR; 23-01-2012 at 12:07 PM.
DoreSlamR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-01-2012, 05:44 PM   #8
StarDeala

hey mate, am thinking of doing something like this at my place, just need some time..

http://www.instructables.com/id/buil...ard-barbecue!/
StarDeala is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-01-2012, 06:47 PM   #9
Giant Cranium
PURSUIT 250

get water there too. so many times i waish i had a sink to wast blood and grease off my hands
Giant Cranium is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2012, 12:59 AM   #10

I know it's a Holden, but no reason you couldn't do it wth something like an XY...

Or, you know...just go crazy...
http://www.bitrebels.com/design/carb...ed-into-a-bbq/

Last edited by 2011G6E; 24-01-2012 at 01:12 AM.
Old 24-01-2012, 01:42 AM   #11
mytoolsupplies

When you plan out your BBQ, place it so who ever cooks is included with everyone else .I have been and seen so many bbqs wfere the cook has their back to everyone and is totally isolated unless they leave the BBQ to join in and then you get burnt offerings or a Bon fire
mytoolsupplies is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2012, 02:05 AM   #12
dylby1

2011G6E that's what I wanna do haha

The top one not the full car lol

1993 Honda VFR750F

Last edited by dylby1; 24-01-2012 at 02:13 AM.
dylby1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2012, 01:06 PM   #13

Originally Posted by dylby1
2011G6E that's what I wanna do haha

The top one not the full car lol
That's what's getting done at the house we'll be buying down in Rocky...dead easy to do, just a matter of picking any car really...doesn't have to be something exotic, just something "interesting".
Old 24-01-2012, 05:40 PM   #14
Rambunctious

Originally Posted by Giant Cranium
get water there too. so many times i waish i had a sink to wast blood and grease off my hands
Getting water to a sink is easy, but don't forget you have to drain the blood and grease away from the sink to the sewer.

Hmmm, forgot about that.
Rambunctious is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-01-2012, 03:03 AM   #15
DoreSlamR
Fiat POWAAH!

Originally Posted by Rambunctious
Getting water to a sink is easy, but don't forget you have to drain the blood and grease away from the sink to the sewer.

Hmmm, forgot about that.
Small soakwell will fix that problem
Old 25-01-2012, 07:35 PM   #16
gaz084
F1D procharged ute

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: With the amount of detail Gareth has put into his BF heat exchanger by-pass modification ... and also his work on his supercharged BA EGAS build thread has been a help to many on this forum when it comes to DIY inginuity. 

Build a timber pergola over the top of it,and use the opal greca suntuff roof sheets....works awsome for bbq areas.

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11283622
gaz084 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 03:43 PM   #17
NickyN

How about outdoor cabinets and shelves so there's a place to put things you'll use and they're not out in the open? And you won't need to go into the house each time you need something.

An outdoor frig for the beverage of your choice? And a place to mount that flatscreen TV for games and races!
NickyN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 04:39 PM   #18

Originally Posted by NickyN
How about outdoor cabinets and shelves so there's a place to put things you'll use and they're not out in the open? And you won't need to go into the house each time you need something.

An outdoor frig for the beverage of your choice? And a place to mount that flatscreen TV for games and races!
+ 1 my brother in law has a set up like that grannet bench tops stainless every thing else open fire, fridge, LCD TV with foxtel duplicator across the deck from that is the spa and down from that is the pool, yea I'm jellious, jellious as hell . Its pretty cool to sit in the spa and watch the footy / drags,
PPV fights

Old 12-02-2012, 06:50 PM   #19
NickyN

Add a fire pit for warmth on those nights while in the spa. Perfect. *sigh*

And the perfect place to roast a marshmallow and sandwich it between Hershey's milk chocolate squares and graham crackers aka S'MORES! Mmm....
Old 12-02-2012, 09:32 PM   #20
Uncle Niceguy

mmm when i was a younger person my dads idea of a BBQ was a fire pit about a metre deep (put all your wood here) and in the middle of the pit have a massive steel pole supporting your different cooking surfaces. the great thing about the setup was A: you never needed gas B: never need to empty the container of ail collected and C: your not excluded and everyone is generally sitting around and you can also do you "crock pot" winter stew in the ambers down the bottom.
Uncle Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 10:13 PM   #21
Dusty1
Giddy up!

What about a smoker? Means you can cook for a long time and impart flavour.
Oct 07 built Mondeo TDCi hatch, Stardust Silver, bluetooth, leather, tow pack, sunroof.
Dusty1 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 12-02-2012, 10:27 PM   #22

Hows your relationship with the neighbours? If it is over (a metre??) from the ground and larger than a certain area you may need council approval.
Old 13-02-2012, 11:36 AM   #23
NickyN

And a removable rotisserie set up for the bbq? Talk about yummy!
Old 13-02-2012, 07:12 PM   #24

Thanks everyone for the replies. Some really good ideas and links. Going to start reading through these.
Old 18-02-2012, 07:04 AM   #25
NickyN

And keep us posted on what you decide on and then project pics!
Old 21-03-2013, 12:33 PM   #26
golly
Previously xygswagon

Bump this
golly is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2013, 07:41 PM   #27
ELEPHT_70

Anything happened??
ELEPHT_70 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-03-2013, 09:04 PM   #28

I totally forgot about this thread. Apologies

No update. I had a brick layer over to give me a quote, and to draw up some plans, but after all of this, I decided to scrap the idea. Not unusual for me considering I had started to landscape my back yard 3 times before calling in the bobcat to rip it all up and start all over. But I have finally finished.

I decide to focus on getting the back yard completed before thinking about the BBQ area. My plans have changed and I'm looking to do something else which that area now. For the time being, it's now full of retaining wall blocks and pavers. I need to start some work out front, so I'm using it as a storage area.

Now the plan is to replace the timber pergola first, and extend the carport. I'm thinking of going with an outdoor kitchen area under the pergola, and the carport extension will be an entertaining area.

I'm yet to move on these plans, because at Christmas I bought the XR6T, so I need to build back up the bank account t before getting the pergola and carport completed. I had planned to sell my ute to help fund the work, but I need the ute when I start work out the front.

Anyway, I don't expect any progress for a while.
Old 30-03-2013, 10:11 PM   #29
ELEPHT_70

Cool man thx for the update. I'm a bricklayer but in Melbourne so that sucks lol!
I've seen some awesome "portable" outdoor kitchens on coaster wheels that are fully integrated - water, gas etc, so you can set them where you like and not worry about ripping into existing concrete slabs...
I can relate ---- can get expensive improving your home!
ELEPHT_70 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post