You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 15-02-2012, 01:27 AM   #1
KRL-94

Default P-plate restrictions

ok, so i've heard some really whacked out restrictions for P-platers, and then there are the one i already know, and the ones i'm unsure about.the one that has really got me thinking, is the 200KW one. now is this taken at the wheels? i heard of mates being pulled up and having their car put on a dyno and its come at 200kw. is 200kw acheiveable from an n/a engine? if i was driving a car with 200kw AT THE WHEELS, can the police or any type of law enforcement book me for having a high powered vehicle? fi they change the settings and have it read more than the 1 go, and it does break the 200kw mark, can they still book me? and to leave this with you all, is it actually 200kws? or 199kws? from my understanding, breaking the 200kw mark is 201kws, not 200kws.
cheers kole

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11447916
Old 15-02-2012, 02:36 AM   #2
|Nate

Default Re: P-plate restrictions

I haven't heard of a restriction (Unless something in a different state) that restricts cars by anything over 200kw.
There was a 125 kw/tonne restriction ages ago in Victoria, but that has been changed for nothing over 6 cylinders or forced induction.

In relation to more sporty cars, there are certain 6 cylinder N/A cars that are restricted because they are deemed as "too sporty" for a P-plater (EG. Nissan 350-370z) (Maybe the new S2 SV6 in QLD?) Although most of this is changing, as somehow I am allowed to drive a SL350 on my P's which gets to 100 in 6 seconds, or a Passat r36 which gets to 100 in 5.6s

Otherwise just check your state government transport website and grab info off there mate.

Edit: 200kw is achievable from an N/A 6 with extensive engine mods, which are in turn illegal for a P plater to have, which is the restriction you will break.

Just get a nice stock looking clean Falcon for your P's and drive hassle less, then save your moneys till you're off them and get a nice FPV or other yummy performance car.
Old 15-02-2012, 08:04 AM   #3

click me here is a list of all banned cars for you to look through (these are the vic ones ) not sure where you are

you can search in the the list for particular vehicles as well as change the search to all or only approved vehicles

Have fun

Jason

Last edited by Jason[98.EL]; 15-02-2012 at 08:10 AM.
Old 15-02-2012, 08:15 AM   #4

http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/Licensing/...-vehicles.aspx

These are QLDs rules for P platers

Old 15-02-2012, 08:16 AM   #5
Rapid05xr6
Formerly wheelyking4x4x4

i looked it up just recently and they have changed to 210kw, and you can now also get an exemption for a turbo/supercharger if it is under 125kw/tonne
Old 15-02-2012, 09:13 AM   #6
KRL-94

sorry bout that fellas, im in qld. so where is the power taken at? obviously on a dyno, its at the wheels, but is that then calculated to what it is at the f'wheel? say if i do get a BA falcon, off memory they have 182kw from standard? so a set injectors, exctractors, full performance exhaust, pair of cams, and air filter with a decent tune should see me hitting the 200kw mark? if the restriction is 200kw at the fly, then whydid my mate get booked in his XR6 FG? from what i know, they dont push out 200KW at the wheels. he only did his air filter and exhaust. i dont see how that would of put him over. asfor the high powered vehicle exemption, i've heard of them, and when i get my mechanics apprenticeship, i'll apply for one. because in QLD, you need a genuine reason for them to give it to you.

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
Old 15-02-2012, 09:17 AM   #7

I think it is about p platers not having modified cars. In Victoria a P plater is technically not allowed to mod the car at all.
Old 15-02-2012, 09:26 AM   #8
KRL-94

Post Re: P-plate restrictions

ok, so now after reading this, my main question is, is it restricted to 210KW at the wheels or at the fly wheel?

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
Old 15-02-2012, 09:30 AM   #9
KRL-94

Originally Posted by xisled
I think it is about p platers not having modified cars. In Victoria a P plater is technically not allowed to mod the car at all.
but how many people actually get caught?

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
Old 15-02-2012, 09:40 AM   #10

In victoria things like zhaust and lowring, are only picked on the odd occasion.
If it is excessive then it is a different story, but I do see at least 1 car a day, if not more that has been defected, mostly P platers. So I would say here in Vic they are strict.
Old 15-02-2012, 09:45 AM   #11
last fairlane

Cool Re: P-plate restrictions

Anyone read the write up in the paper about the tennis player tomic on P plates
well he was booked for driving a high performance BMW and
as far as I understand it he was driving a car that was part of his employment
Im sure he would have had the exemption certificate
I think Tennis Australia would have thought of everything
and if it belonged to BMW they would have known the rules also
we werent told what model BMW it was
was it an M3 or just a family hack
like most of the papers
Dont let the truth get in the way of a good story
Old 15-02-2012, 09:46 AM   #12

Originally Posted by KRL-94
but how many people actually get caught?
That's what Schappelle Corby said.....
Old 15-02-2012, 09:46 AM   #13

I do have an example.

My sisters boyfriend, has a mock up VS Clubsport.
He has had it for about 2 weeks.
Apart from the kit and rims the car is stock.
Since having the car he has been pulled over 6 times, because the cops think it is modified.
Old 15-02-2012, 09:49 AM   #14

Originally Posted by last fairlane
Anyone read the write up in the paper about the tennis player tomic on P plates
well he was booked for driving a high performance BMW and
as far as I understand it he was driving a car that was part of his employment
Im sure he would have had the exemption certificate
I think Tennis Australia would have thought of everything
and if it belonged to BMW they would have known the rules also
we werent told what model BMW it was
was it an M3 or just a family hack
like most of the papers
Dont let the truth get in the way of a good story

Read this thread.

It is a bright orange M3 V8.

He had an exemption to drive it to and from the tennis court.
He was driving the car around on Australia day with his mates in the car.

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...hlight=bernard
Old 15-02-2012, 09:57 AM   #15
KRL-94

interesting that he still got booked with an exemption!

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
Old 15-02-2012, 09:58 AM   #16

Read this thread.

It is a bright orange M3 V8.

He had an exemption to drive it to and from the tennis court.
He was driving the car around on Australia day with his mates in the car.

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...hlight=bernard
This is an example of the police cracking down on the P plates laws.
Old 15-02-2012, 10:00 AM   #17
KRL-94

This is an example of the police cracking down on the P plates laws.
but really, they couldnt of booked him because he had an exemption.

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
Old 15-02-2012, 10:03 AM   #18

The reason they booked him was because he was driving the car outside the conditions of the exemption, he was cruising around not driving to and from the tennis court.
Old 15-02-2012, 10:06 AM   #19
KRL-94

oh, righto. so is it still possible to get one to use everyday, regardless weather or not its work related?

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
Old 15-02-2012, 10:17 AM   #20

No idea for QLD. Look at the RTA website or give them a call, would be my guess.
Old 15-02-2012, 10:21 AM   #21
KRL-94

cheers, i'll do that ater today.

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
Old 15-02-2012, 10:34 AM   #22

Originally Posted by KRL-94
oh, righto. so is it still possible to get one to use everyday, regardless weather or not its work related?
Possible but extremely unlikely.

"I want a V8" is not a valid reason for an exemption. If it is that important to you move to Perth otherwise just do your time like everyone else.
Old 15-02-2012, 11:41 AM   #23

Its at the flywheel.
If the manufacturer says its a 215kw engine - thats what it is based on.
Not real world figures, but what the manufacturer says it is.
Instead of trying to get around the laws, which are there to protect stupid people from themselves, how about focusing your efforts on better driver education instead.
Probably the best mod a P plater can do.
Old 15-02-2012, 01:04 PM   #24
Jack960

Its 115KW / tonne here in VIC (last time i checked). However, its measured at the flywheel in all states ive been told. The XR6 is probably the most powerfull car for a p plater cause it comes in at about 112kw / tonne.

I run 175rwkw and im on my p's, as long as you dont drive like an idiot the police have no reason to pull you over.
Old 15-02-2012, 01:23 PM   #25
Torment47
Mr Hoon

as far as im aware NO v8's, supercharged or turbo's are alloud for p platers.
Old 15-02-2012, 01:38 PM   #26

Originally Posted by Torment47
There is a list of allowed turbo/SC/V8s as well as a list of banned N/A 4s and 6s.

Example of allowed turbos: Suzuki Cappichino and Smart etc.
Example of Banned NA: Nissan 350z & 370z, just about anything with Porsche, BMW M or AMG in the name plate.
Old 15-02-2012, 01:41 PM   #27
stevanford

Originally Posted by Torment47
They also say no performance modifications.
Old 15-02-2012, 01:43 PM   #28
KRL-94

im doing a defensive driving course in 2 - 3 weeks. not that i've been pulled up, its just the rest of the family has done it, so i thought i might do it too.

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
Old 15-02-2012, 06:52 PM   #29
Ibo
Force Fed Ford

Simple overview for QLD p plate laws

No forced induction (turbos, cupercharges)
No petrol V8 (diesel non turbo v8 is fine)
power cannot exceed 200kw at the flywheel by manufacturers specs. as an example, the series 2 VE sv6 has 210kw and is not p plate legal, however the 195kw FG xr6 is fine.

There are a few exemptions for turbocharged cars which are legal for p platers (smart cars ect, hopefully the new EB4 will fall under this category)

I drive a 290rwkw xr6t on my Ps and I've been pulled over heaps of times with no dramas. Don't give them a reason to rape you, and they probably won't.
Old 15-02-2012, 07:18 PM   #30
|Nate

There is a list of allowed turbo/SC/V8s as well as a list of banned N/A 4s and 6s.

Example of allowed turbos: Suzuki Cappichino and Smart etc.
Example of Banned NA: Nissan 350z & 370z, just about anything with Porsche, BMW M or AMG in the name plate.
Although interestingly enough, a few 2010-12 Porches are actually P-plate legal, so are some other high performance lux cars

Example 1

Example 2

Example 3

The one that takes the cake

Of course not every P-plater can afford one of those, but it just goes to show how messy the restriction policy is.

So I return once more to my original statement, unless you live in W.A , just buy a nice daily until you're off your P's, then go nuts!