You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 30-04-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
mooseman

Default Working in the automotive industry

Hi there, I'm turning 25 in August and am fed up with a white collar job working behind a desk in admin. I want to get some sort of career behind me and have always had a passion for cars to figured doing some sort of automotive apprenticeship would be best.

My brother is a qualified mechanic, my dad is self-taught but just as good.
Two of my uncles are diesel mechanics and one is a panel-beater.

I really have no idea what area is the best to go into. I've thought of;

Diesel Mechanic
Car Mechanic
Auto Elec

I'm not really keen on panel beating. I've got an IT/Admin background but have a pretty good understanding of mechanics and auto electrics already. I can do all the basic stuff and basic diagnosis.

As I'm 25 in August I can qualify for an adult apprenticeship and won't be getting as little money as I would be.

Anyone have any tips or advice?

I'm looking for something that has the best earning potential and career. I should be able to get a diesel or motor mechanic apprenticeship easy enough but I was hoping to get into a bigger dealership rather then a small place.

Old 30-04-2012, 02:26 PM   #2
Cam
Stroking it...

Default Re: Working in the automotive industry

Is driving trucks at the mine classed as the automotive industry? That has a good earning potential..

The diesel Mechanics at the mines also do pretty well ;)
Now: Busted assed EB Wagon - 5sp and Dual Fuel.
Cam is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2012, 02:30 PM   #3
mooseman

Originally Posted by Cam
Is driving trucks at the mine classed as the automotive industry? That has a good earning potential..

The diesel Mechanics at the mines also do pretty well ;)
I've not got any licence above my car licence.

I've thought about the mines and would love to do it but I've found while everyone says "Oh they are always looking for people" when you dig a little deeper no-one can help you.
Old 30-04-2012, 03:11 PM   #4
Cheese3
The BEST Falcon is the AU

I have been a maintance fitter for the last 7 years, and if i had my time again i would be a diesel mechanic (earthmoving) or boiler maker. I know sparkies can potentially earn more doing easier work but that feild does not intreset me.

I would try and get a Diesel Fitter job at CAT imo
Cheese3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2012, 03:19 PM   #5
KRL-94

fitter and turner, diesel mechanic, even to start just get into engine rebuilding and reconditioning, just start with family and friends, go to tafe and do a CERT.II in automotive and then go for an appreticeship. much easier in some cases having some sort of qualifaction.

Project "White Knight"
93 ED XR6
ROH Alloys
Momo wheel
Cruise
Sunroof
Premo Sound
Manual
HO Goodies
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11447916
KRL-94 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2012, 03:23 PM   #6
mooseman

Originally Posted by KRL-94
fitter and turner, diesel mechanic, even to start just get into engine rebuilding and reconditioning, just start with family and friends, go to tafe and do a CERT.II in automotive and then go for an appreticeship. much easier in some cases having some sort of qualifaction.
To be honest, I know that having the pre-app type qualification would be better on my resume but I already know just about everything that is listed in the pre-app.

I know all the tools, the electrical testing, servicing and can replace most parts. It is more the internal stuff that I don't really know.

I was thinking auto elec because I've got lots of experience in car audio and with my brother being a mechanic I don't really want to be the same as him.
Old 30-04-2012, 04:13 PM   #7
macca13

A good Autosparky is never out of work and it is a good way into mining if that's what you want to do plus you can do Aircons.
macca13 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2012, 04:25 PM   #8
mooseman

Originally Posted by macca13
A good Autosparky is never out of work and it is a good way into mining if that's what you want to do plus you can do Aircons.

Yeah I figured as much but not sure if there are any big companies based in Melbourne that take on Apprentices. I don't really want to do an apprenticeship with a small workshop.
Old 30-04-2012, 04:28 PM   #9

I have always had a passion for cars too, but I hate working on them. My career is in psychology. That answer may not help you any, but just thought I would share. I was inspired to go to health care because so many people spend so much money (and insurance money) on it. I didn't want to go to med school or be a nurse, but I like interacting with people. I'm really not a hands-on guy (especially with people), so I thought psychology would be a perfect fit. Going to pursue my PhD in industrial/organizational psychology so I can work in corporate and therapeutic environments.

My advice, dream big, go all the way! I was a high school slacker, by the way!
Old 30-04-2012, 04:37 PM   #10
mooseman

Originally Posted by chevypower
I have always had a passion for cars too, but I hate working on them. My career is in psychology. That answer may not help you any, but just thought I would share. I was inspired to go to health care because so many people spend so much money (and insurance money) on it. I didn't want to go to med school or be a nurse, but I like interacting with people. I'm really not a hands-on guy (especially with people), so I thought psychology would be a perfect fit. Going to pursue my PhD in industrial/organizational psychology so I can work in corporate and therapeutic environments.

My advice, dream big, go all the way! I was a high school slacker, by the way!
Haha funny you mention that. I've spent the past 4 years or so working in Mental Health Admin. I'm in no position to go back to Uni or anything so becoming a health professional isn't an option. Good job being a psychologist, so many of you guys are better then the actual doctors and don't let those nurses push you around!
Old 30-04-2012, 06:33 PM   #11

Originally Posted by mooseman
Car Mechanic
Auto Elec
These two are excellent choices if you like low pay, hard physical work and crap working conditions, the only potential there is for an auto electrician to make money is in the mines, or if you own your own business, otherwise you'll be on $19 an hour for the rest of your auto career working for someone else in their business, less if you are a dealership mechanic, when I was at Honda, their qualified mechanics where on around $17.50/h, no one over $20 an hour on the shop floor, salary package for the workshop manager which included a car.

Automotive air-conditioning work is now a legal minefield, to actually be able to do the course, to get licensed, you have to work for a workshop that does air-conditioning work in the first place, if not, the governing body won't let you get your trainee license, which you need to have to do the certificate II in air-conditioning at TAFE, once you have got to that stage, you can do your school part of the certificate II after you have the trainee license, then you need to supply copies of job sheets and job numbers of air conditioning work you've done in the workplace when you get audited by Arctick which is the regulatory agency to get the full license.

Its a massive pain in the ***. You can get government subsidy so the course is only like $300 during your cert III as an auto elec apprentice, but because I don't work in a workshop that does air conditining work, I can't do it, when I've finished my apprenticeship, if I decide to chase it and move to another workshop as a qualified auto elec, its going to cost around $1500 because I won't qualify for the government subsidy, as they only subsidise going up in level, not down.

Also the car manufacturers are starting to make things really hard for the little guy to work on their cars, you pretty much need a decent scanner to work on modern cars these days, even basic stuff like indicators are now controlled by the CANBUS system, no more flasher can, no more diagnosing issues with just a test light and multi-meter.

Anyone have any tips or advice?

Keep the IT job, scout out the most popular tech section on the forum here, buy yourself that model as a project car and self teach with the help of everyone here, or you'll end up hating cars.

There is no money in the automotive industry, unless you're a business owner, its not a "good" living. I'm an apprentice in the auto industry, its not something you do for a long career.

Last edited by Franco Cozzo; 30-04-2012 at 06:44 PM.
Old 30-04-2012, 06:38 PM   #12
mooseman

These two are excellent choices if you like low pay, hard physical work and crap working conditions, the only potential there is for an auto electrician to make money is in the mines, or if you own your own business, otherwise you'll be on $19 an hour for the rest of your auto career working for someone else in their business, less if you are a dealership mechanic, when I was at Honda, their qualified mechanics where on around $17.50/h, no one over $20 an hour on the shop floor, salary package for the workshop manager which included car..

Also the car manufacturers are starting to make things really hard for the little guy to work on their cars, you pretty much need a decent scanner to work on modern cars these days, even basic stuff like indicators are now controlled by the CANBUS system, no more flasher can, no more diagnosing issues with just a test light and multi-meter.

Keep the IT job, scout out the most popular tech section on the forum here, buy yourself that model as a project car and self teach with the help of everyone here, or you'll end up hating cars.

There is no money in the automotive industry, unless you're a business owner, its not a "good" living. I'm an apprentice in the auto industry, its not something you do for a long career.
Thanks for the input but I have already figured that I'm never going to make a lot of money in the automotive industry but it is what I want to do and due to listening to peoples advice like yours I have wasted the past 6 years of my life.

It is all relative. My brother is a mechanic at a big dealership and has a house, motorbike, nice car and a project car and also does everything he wants too and his wife doesn't earn great money either.
Old 30-04-2012, 06:59 PM   #13

i did a few years as an apprentice car mechanic as a young bloke, i quit out of the trade due to poor conditions crappy pay, and a poor field of work, after having 30 years to think about it, i`m sorry i did`nt stay in the trade and just pick a better field of work(but i was young and dumb ), by field of work i mean for example not working in dealer under pressure to get work in and out, doing quite often repetitive warranty work, i`d much rather have done a specialist job rebuilding auto`s,diffs,etc,etc,
working in and out of a lot of truck depots over the years, i reckon diesel mechanic is not a bad job, you get dirtier though, working for a big company there`s good dollars to had as well.
Old 30-04-2012, 07:18 PM   #14
graham_h

$20 per hour for a fully qualified mechanic ? really ? Sheesh and here's me looking at getting qualified...won't bother now. That's just stupid that they pay that low for a four year qualification.
graham_h is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2012, 07:21 PM   #15

Originally Posted by graham_h
$20 per hour for a fully qualified mechanic ? really ? Sheesh and here's me looking at getting qualified...won't bother now. That's just stupid that they pay that low for a four year qualification.
Yep, thats right.

When I was at Coburg TAFE (a few of you older guys from Victoria probably went through that hole when it was new in the 70s ), the average in there was $17.50 for a qualified light vehicle mechanic in the average business, that was in 2010.

People see their bill for servicing on their new car at the dealership, labour at $110 an hour and think a mechanic is the best paying job going around, not so unfortunately.
Old 30-04-2012, 07:23 PM   #16
graham_h

Can you "legally" call yourself a mechanic without being qualified...i.e self taught ?
Old 30-04-2012, 07:24 PM   #17

Can you "legally" call yourself a mechanic without being qualified...i.e self taught ?
Well, its not a licensed trade so technically you could be employed as a mechanic even without the certificate, same goes for auto electrical.

These days over the 4 years, you only really do around 24 weeks of school anyways, the course isn't really that long, I've nearly knocked mine over in a year and a half and thats auto electrical.

In Victoria, through Kangan Institute you can go for RPL - recognition of prior learning, where you sit their tests, if you pass you get the certificate, it basically covers all the theory and practical you do in the course.
Old 30-04-2012, 07:25 PM   #18

Yeah I figured as much but not sure if there are any big companies based in Melbourne that take on Apprentices. I don't really want to do an apprenticeship with a small workshop.

Your best bet is to do the apprenticeship IN A SMALL company. They will have more time to teach you properly. Dealerships won't be able to teach you properly.

As for the fielld. I'd be looking at the auto electrician side of things. The work isn't as back breaking. I'm not insinuating you're not a hard worker, but constantly doing back breaking mechanical work can lead to back problems down the track.

So something worth thinking about.

Please read the manual carefully, as the these manufacturers spent millions of dollars making sure it is perfect.....Now why are there so many problems with my car, when I follow the instructions to the letter?....Answer, majority rules round here

Old 30-04-2012, 07:28 PM   #19
Fiesta God
Ford Fiesta

Specialist mechanical knowledge e.g. transmissions, engine rebuilding etc. is always in demand and the money is better (still not great but better)

Running your own business in the industry would be the way to go IMO, my mechanic is only in his mid 30's, runs his own workshop and is such a genuine bloke to deal with and so fair in his pricing that he is booked out for 2-3 weeks ... and he can get his hands dirty as much as he likes, or sit in an office as much as he likes ... plus the tax advantages of running your own business can make it a pretty lucrative gig ...
Old 30-04-2012, 07:29 PM   #20
graham_h

Well, its not a licensed trade so technically you could be employed as a mechanic even without the certificate, same goes for auto electrical.

In Victoria, through Kangan Institute you can go for RPL - recognition of prior learning, where you sit their tests, if you pass you get the certificate, it basically covers all the theory and practical you do in the course.
So, for example, you could rent a cheap industrial unit for around $200p/w and do basic maintenance work within your own skill set.
I'm sure I could do brakes, oil changes etc and not charge rip off rates and earn a dollar or two.
Especially if someone would go halves on the rent
All jokes a side it is a consideration for me right now
Old 30-04-2012, 07:31 PM   #21

If you're an older person, the Kangan Institute course will probably be easy for you, its about 20 years out of date, our course mainly covers VL/VN Commodores, has crap in it like points ignition, a fair bit on early electronic ignition, but nothing on stuff like coil on plug, all the later technology etc.

Injection wise they cover throttle body injection (Also known as CFI) which is ancient, I think that was on one of the EA series Falcons, covers MPEFI fairly well just about nothing on direct injection though.

There is some more recent stuff in there here and there, like ABS, TCS, SCS and a small module on SRS but not really that much.
Old 30-04-2012, 07:32 PM   #22
graham_h

Perfect example right Here

$850p/m

Haha....it's even got a BA wagon outside
Old 30-04-2012, 08:37 PM   #23
Simple6

Tech Writer: Recognition for the technical writers of AFF - Issue reason: Tech article on rear bushes. 

I started off in an Auto Electricians workshop with the intention of going on to an apprenticeship, however while I enjoyed what I learn and it shows it's value everyday, I began to hate touching my own car. It just seemed like such a chore.

After 2 years of working there and never starting an a apprenticeship I moved into sales and now am in admin/management style position and because it's such a different field, I'm always eager to get under and work on my cars!

In saying that though - I would love (and always have - even when working as an Auto Electrician) to run my own workshop. Choose the type of business you want like audio/visual or performance modifications etc etc and be your own boss. It would be awesome.

You seem pretty keen so in your position I'd be going in as an Auto Electrician and then opening a business up with your brother (and/or other relatives).
Old 30-04-2012, 08:48 PM   #24
XARATE

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Quality contribution which has gone somewhat un-noticed so far. 

So, for example, you could rent a cheap industrial unit for around $200p/w and do basic maintenance work within your own skill set.
I'm sure I could do brakes, oil changes etc and not charge rip off rates and earn a dollar or two.
Especially if someone would go halves on the rent
All jokes a side it is a consideration for me right now
Its not that easy. Alot of people dont know that with a licence you cannot work on any car pther than the one you own.
To repair or service a car you need a licence.
Bottom page in bold "certification is compulsory"
http://www.atbnsw.com.au/files/Autom...rLicensing.pdf
Old 30-04-2012, 09:45 PM   #25

Diesel mechs make pretty damn good money. Way more than what a normal mechanic, panel beater or auto sparky would ever make.
Old 30-04-2012, 10:42 PM   #26
sirlc6

I have been in the trade for over 12 years now. Im glad I have done it but now if I had the time again I wouldn't do it or at least be a diesel mechanic. It really is a thankless job and low pay for the amount of knowledge you require. There is ongoing training for new systems that are introduced in cars nowadays. If you are dead set about doing an apprenticeship try get a job with caterpillar they have jobs in the mines or just in their workshop it would be better pay than a light vehicle mechanic. Just my 2 cents
Paul
sirlc6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-04-2012, 10:48 PM   #27

Originally Posted by XARATE
Its not that easy. Alot of people dont know that with a licence you cannot work on any car pther than the one you own.
To repair or service a car you need a licence.
Bottom page in bold "certification is compulsory"
http://www.atbnsw.com.au/files/Autom...rLicensing.pdf
They where hiring people without certificates at the Honda dealership I was at, they put them doing just oil and filters though. Might be for if you want to own and run a workshop.
Old 30-04-2012, 11:30 PM   #28
mooseman

They where hiring people without certificates at the Honda dealership I was at, they put them doing just oil and filters though. Might be for if you want to own and run a workshop.
It genuinely sounds like your workshop was dodgy as sin. Every mechanic I know is on more then the money you have quoted and a workshop hiring unqualified guys to carry out warranty work just doesn't sound right.
Old 30-04-2012, 11:33 PM   #29
jixel 78

Originally Posted by sirlc6
I have been in the trade for over 12 years now. Im glad I have done it but now if I had the time again I wouldn't do it or at least be a diesel mechanic. It really is a thankless job and low pay for the amount of knowledge you require. There is ongoing training for new systems that are introduced in cars nowadays. If you are dead set about doing an apprenticeship try get a job with caterpillar they have jobs in the mines or just in their workshop it would be better pay than a light vehicle mechanic. Just my 2 cents
Paul
Thankless isnt the word..Ive been in 20, 16 of those with Ford and Toyota, Little Blokes, Big `Proper` workshops, Performance Shops (dont go there believe me) the best training I ever got was through Ford, but dont look for any kudos around here all you get is constant whinging... this is an interesting thread considering our pay is nowhere, and the knowledge is dismissed constantly only to have irrational rediculous comments and lies about the cars and manufacturers in question.(read Ford and Holden) Its a great interesting job brought to its knees by petulance and misinformation. It takes a great deal of deep breaths and a walk around the block to cool down after dealing with peoples cars,day in day out when at the end of the day theyre exactly that, other peoples cars no matter how much you bend, twist or set yourself on fire for the hallowed owner. Give it a big miss mate, and you`ll enjoy cars for a lot longer. If I had my time again I`d have been an Electrician. Clean, well paid work. Cars are dirty, complicated and if they arent up to the glossy brochure, an absolute nightmare.

My three cents.

jixel 78 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-05-2012, 08:21 AM   #30

Diesel mechs make pretty damn good money. Way more than what a normal mechanic, panel beater or auto sparky would ever make.
Heavy Diesel fitter CAT experience.. getting up around $70hr some places.. lol..