Old 26-05-2012, 07:41 PM   #1
His & Hers XR's

Default Road trip to W.A what to do to the car.

Hi..I am most likely(few more details to work out) moving at the end of next month to mandurah in W.A from maryborough in Q.L.D we are renting out our house and selling a lot of our gear(including our 4dr) ,storing some stuff over here and taking what we need with us, our daughter will fly over and we will drive the ute over(2001 xr6) via Clare in S.A to visit my sister,what id like to know is with out sounding clueless, is what are some of the things recommended to do to the ute to make sure it hopefully wont brake down etc,is a general service and a good going over by the mechanic good enough?or are there specific things to check?...Also there was a thread on here about someone in W.A who drove a XH? XR8 ute over to queensland and back but i cant remember the thread name if anyone remembers it could you post the link please?.........Thanks Heaps..

His & Hers XR's is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 07:45 PM   #2
XRGhia
meh.

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Contributions in the technical arena. 
Default Re: Road trip to W.A what to do to the car.

I know "XF84" has driven his XH XR8 right around Aus, starting in WA...

I'd say just keep stuff like spare fuel and a few days water/food (just in case), as well as give the engine a full service should see you make it there...
Old 26-05-2012, 07:53 PM   #3
I reckon

no reason to do anything really. just put petrol in it!
I reckon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 07:57 PM   #4

Originally Posted by piggsy
no reason to do anything really. just put petrol in it!
Exactly.
Its not 1963 technology that your driving.
Check your spare, make sure youve got a jack and a wheel brace and take a jerry can if you so desire.
Other than that - drive there.
Old 26-05-2012, 08:05 PM   #5
His & Hers XR's

Hi..Cool, i.ve never actually done a trip that long before, and wasnt sure if there was anything to pay special attention to,...thanks..
Old 26-05-2012, 08:09 PM   #6
GhiaEB
2004 TX Territory

If I was doing it, i would take spare radiator hoses, belts, at least 2 spare wheels and carry around 20ltrs of water.

Then enjoy the drive.

Now a AWD TX Territory Daily
P6 Silver Monarch Weekender

And on 2 Wheels,
ZZR 250

Can do mixer shaft replacement on BA-BF Falcon and SX-SY, fix your heater Today. PM For more details

For sale: Heaps of Territory bits and bobs including front brembo doglegs, NOS I-design territory body kit painted offshore, also FPV 290 engine bits. FS thread here http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11397826 Pm for more details.
GhiaEB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 08:10 PM   #7

Auto or manual? I'd fit a trans cooler if you havent done so already. More to negate the dreaded trans fluid/coolant milkshake than anything.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 26-05-2012, 08:17 PM   #8
Kieron

It may not be 63 tech, but it's a 10 year old car, i'd be ensuring the cooling systems up to scratch, hoses/radiator etc and carry a spare fan belt ad tools to replace it.

Could be worth getting RAC with that premium that covers country towing/accommodation etc. A mate's engine dropped it's bottom end all over a country road, RAC rescued him and his family/car with a dual cab tray top truck, money well spent.
Kieron is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 08:23 PM   #9

On the other hand too, just had a family member drive to the top of QLD and back (from the bottom of Vic) in a 95 Statesman with 290000km on the clock.
Hasnt missed a beat yet.
Old 26-05-2012, 08:26 PM   #10
Cashie

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Multiple helpful contributions throughout the tech area. 

Originally Posted by GhiaEB
If I was doing it, i would take spare radiator hoses, belts, at least 2 spare wheels and carry around 20ltrs of water.

Then enjoy the drive.
I'd do the above, but wouldn't worry about the extra spare.
Just give it a service and fill it with fuel, music and lollies.

Past Rides:
2017 Kia Stinger GT
2008 FG XR6 Sedan
2008 FG G6E Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2008 BF XR6 Turbo Sedan
2004 BA XR8 Sedan
2003 BA XR8 Ute
2003 BA XR6 Sedan
Cashie is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 08:35 PM   #11
snailbate
snailbate

I have been across the Nulabor 2 times and i am packing up to do it again athrough i will be traveling slow the longest stretch with out fuel i think is around 350 ks so you should not run out of fuel

also dont take mutch fruit and vegs as you go through a quarinten at Ceduna SA AND THEY WILL TAKE IT ALL

Terry
snailbate is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 08:36 PM   #12
Ringo
I see you....

I second that the cooling system is the one that is most likely to get you stranded.

Ensure it has no leaks and that the hoses are in good nick.

Also make sure your tyre pressures are all ok including the spare. 32psi at a minimum if not a little more (check the tyre placard for specific info)

I did a trip from Melb to Brisbane by myself a few years back and had a ball. I found that 10 cds were not enough and needed some newies. Now when I play those songs it just take me back to belting across the border into NSW.

If you have a UHF they can be fun too. Trukies talk a lot of crap but some of them are entertaining (see 18 wheels and more section of this website)
Ringo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 08:37 PM   #13
billy302

I've done this trip many times. just make sure the car is in good order and check the tyres.
People don't travel light and since the vehicle will be loaded, heat build up in the tyres will find out if the tyres are ok or not.
Most incidents on the road I've seen involve tyres. Make sure your lights are ok and enjoy the trip.
billy302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 08:42 PM   #14
Rockape

Moving to Mandurah. Cool see you when you get here.

Kawasaki ZZR1100
Rockape is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 08:48 PM   #15
05_ENFORCER

The only real essential things you need is music, a 40 channel UHF CB and water, water, water.

Unless you have neglected your ute, it should not be a problem.

Old 26-05-2012, 08:55 PM   #16
Scooter

Plenty of drinking water, and possibly get your radiator serviced. I had an EB years ago, it was fine around town, went to go on a trip down south, and only then on the long open roads, did the car overheat? Got to my destination, drove all over the place down there and it was fine. Coming back home overheated all the way. Radiator as usual was 30% from memory blocked.
Scooter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 09:06 PM   #17

This is a good site..just be prepared for the prices across the Nullabor..
http://www.nullarbornet.com.au/
Old 26-05-2012, 09:21 PM   #18
Windsor342ci
The Experience...

Personally, Id be extremely reluctant to go with a full tank and a pocket full of smiles.

Id do a major service. Plus an extra radiator hose, belt, fuses, etc. UHF would be gold aswel! Not some uniden hand held crap either but something decent.
All of the above was based on you not towing either. If you are then it goes even further.
Have fun and remember to stop and revive bud.
Windsor342ci is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 09:22 PM   #19

Get a free brake and suspension check from Pedders or whomever (Pialba Brake do them) and do whatever they recommend.

Make sure your tyres are not getting sad as it is almost 5000km and if you run out of rubber at the corner of No and Where you may find it a bit expensive and time consuming.

Take a jerrycan of petrol and another of water just in case, make sure you have at least $500 in cash and other than that be careful driving at night once you are west of the range.

Have fun...
Old 26-05-2012, 09:38 PM   #20
LyleXR8

I've driven it heaps of times, only ever check the tyres for pressure and tread as its a 6,000km return trip, service if it's within 3,000km of being due, if your worried about belts and hoses do them before you leave, no point carting spares around and not needing them or if you do need them on the side of the road you'll also need a shed load of water to refill your radiator, there is road houses and towns all the way over and the amount of traffic on that road is crazy, you don't need hundreds of litres of water and 5 days of food, the amount of trucks and caravans on that road will blow your mind, if you pull over and put your bonnet up you will have plenty of people pull over and help you out
LyleXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-05-2012, 10:55 PM   #21
His & Hers XR's

Hi all.... Thanks heaps for all the info its been a help, one other thing what are the like on the way?as the ute has 19 inch roh mantas rims on it...would it be ok to keep them on or down size them?..Thanks again
Old 26-05-2012, 11:10 PM   #22
05_ENFORCER

Originally Posted by His & Hers XR's
Hi all.... Thanks heaps for all the info its been a help, one other thing what are the like on the way?as the ute has 19 inch roh mantas rims on it...would it be ok to keep them on or down size them?..Thanks again
I'm guessing you mean road conditions?

All good, wheels will be fine

Take a leap of faith, it'll be fine

Old 26-05-2012, 11:21 PM   #23

Originally Posted by CRYHSV
Not some uniden hand held crap either but something decent.
Explain plz

I thought Uniden was a decent brand

Then again I know nothing about them but perhaps you could enlighten us unwashed as to what would be a good one?

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 26-05-2012, 11:26 PM   #24
05_ENFORCER

Explain plz

Then again I know nothing about them but perhaps you could enlighten us unwashed as to what would be a good one?

LOL,

I think CRYHSV was referring to the "hand held" part.

Uniden is a world leader in comms

Old 26-05-2012, 11:56 PM   #25

I drove 5000km in the last two weeks on a whim. Basic checks before I left. Looked over the hoses and belts. Checked the fluids and tyres. Then off I went. I also made sure I had enough tools to get me out of trouble.
Old 27-05-2012, 12:00 AM   #26

Explain plz

Nothing wrong with Uniden at all. I run Uniden and Oricom gear in my 4x4 and it does the job just fine...
Old 27-05-2012, 01:43 PM   #27
TMC
SY TS AWD LPG TEZZA

It's sealed all the way. Just treat it like a normal road that's extra long. Unless you're coming via Tennant Creek, Alice Springs, Laverton Kalgoorlie towing a 2500kg Nissan Patrol on a tandem car trailer, you'll be fine.

Friends of mine just did Perth, Adelaide, Melbourne(picked up a tandem trailer), then Adelaide, Alice Springs, Tennant Creek(pick up a Nissan Patrol), then Back to Alice, across to Laverton on the Great Central, then down to Kalgoorlie and Perth. They left Monday morning and got back late lastnight. Trailer fell apart on the Great Central, so they took the shafts off the Patrol, tied it to the back of the Land Rover, and hitched the now one axle trailer to the back of the Patrol.

BTW a mobile phone and Facebook are a great way to let friends know your general whereabouts when you're in range.
4th car 90 XF ute (work car)
5th car 06 SY TS AWD Territory Orbital LPi
6th car 95 XG ute
7th car 2014 SZ Territory TX Petrol
Fords all my life.
TMC is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-05-2012, 08:25 PM   #28
Winter XR8

I just bought a new house in Mandurah. We will be doing the drive from Darwin to Mandurah in mid August. Cant wait to get there and move in. Not that we have any friends or family there. We will be going around the coast way from the top in my BA MK2 XR8.
Winter XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-05-2012, 08:53 PM   #29

make sure you your high-beam is up to scratch and give the car a service. Cars like the Falcon love the long trips. Obviously look out for the animals on the road, but with the amount of feed around nowadays a lot of the animals have little need to cross roads looking for water and feed like during drought times.
Old 27-05-2012, 09:56 PM   #30

Originally Posted by Winter XR8
I just bought a new house in Mandurah. We will be doing the drive from Darwin to Mandurah in mid August. Cant wait to get there and move in. Not that we have any friends or family there. We will be going around the coast way from the top in my BA MK2 XR8.
Be aware of roaming cattle and herds of feral goats (and of course roos) when coming down the north west, there's dozens of fresh kills on the roadsides every morning