Old 18-06-2012, 08:21 PM   #1

Default Question about buying 2nd hand car in NT

Ok am looking at the NT website about buying a 2nd hand car and nowhere does it mention anything about getting a roadworthy or inspection???

http://transport.nt.gov.au/mvr/regis...icle-ownership

Yet if your transferring rego from an interstate car you need to have the car looked at if its older then 3yrs old.

So do you need a safety cert or roadworthy cert in the NT when buying/selling a car???

Old 18-06-2012, 08:31 PM   #2
I reckon

Default Re: Question about buying 2nd hand car in NT

Ok am looking at the NT website about buying a 2nd hand car and nowhere does it mention anything about getting a roadworthy or inspection???

http://transport.nt.gov.au/mvr/regis...icle-ownership

Yet if your transferring rego from an interstate car you need to have the car looked at if its older then 3yrs old.

So do you need a safety cert or roadworthy cert in the NT when buying/selling a car???
if your going to buy it , its pointless them getting a RWC cause you have to get a blue slip anyway because you are changing states.

one mechanic might be differant to the next in finding something wrong with it.
I reckon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-06-2012, 10:31 PM   #3

Ah am not transferring....

The webiste says you need one when transferring, but doesnt say anything about buying 2nd hand. I want to know if you need one when you buy a 2nd hand car in NT.

Old 19-06-2012, 12:08 AM   #4
Gavin Thomas
* 1973 ZF Fairlane 500 *

No RWC needed on sale & transfer of owner in NT. All vehicles just need yearly RWC inspection once over 3 years old. I hold a current NT vehicle inspectors licence for motor vehicles up to HR, ( Heavy Rigid truck ).

What sort of vehicle are you looking at & where is it located ? Private or dealer etc.

Gavin Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-06-2012, 02:13 AM   #5
Vincenzo

Just to add to the above post;

New cars go 36 months before their first inspection

then

every 24 months till they are ten years old

then

every 12 months for the rest of their life

or has the system changed Gavin

Hope this helps

"WRC is for boys, Group B was for men" - Juha Kankkunen 4 times World Rally Champion

Romanes Eunt Domus - 'people called Romanes they go the house' - You mean Romani Ite Domum

Vincenzo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-06-2012, 06:51 AM   #6

ok cool thanks..... I'll pass the info on!

Gavin friend of mine just moved there, she is just after a small 4 cyclinder, had seen a few online, but none mentioned roadworthys etc, one said it wasnt due for inspection till next year.

Old 19-06-2012, 08:13 PM   #7
Gavin Thomas
* 1973 ZF Fairlane 500 *

Originally Posted by Vincenzo
Just to add to the above post;

New cars go 36 months before their first inspection

then

every 24 months till they are ten years old

then

every 12 months for the rest of their life

or has the system changed Gavin

Hope this helps

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I think that the system has been the same for the last 15 years since i've been an authorized inspector....
To be honest i don't really get into that side of the regulations too much. I just get the job if carrying out the actual inspection's after the customer has booked their vehicle in for the rego check.

I was just being "lazy" with my original post stating 3 years, as i didn't want to spend too much time with my super slow "2 finger Mechanic typing", lol. Thought i'd get away with keeping it simple by just saying 3 years - but you got me mate, lol.

Anyway your above described interval for inspections is fairly close, but from what i'm lead to believe new cars have the first inspection at 3 years, then again at 5 years, then 7 years - then yearly after that. I have NOT confirmed this 100%, but from memory i think that's how it works. Happy to be corrected if wrong.

Anyway, regardless of the reg's on the inspection intervals, the main point regarding the question in this thread is that no RWC is required from the sale, or when transfering to a new owner. The RWC will only ever be due at the dates as indicated by the MVR.

As would be strongly recommended for the purchase of any second hand vehicle, a pre purchase inspection from a reputable workshop is the best option in this case. We have done quite few P/P inspections over the last 12 months at my current place of employment. Have detected a few nasties, including one vehicle with accident repairs - the other was an ex rental vehicle, also with pannel repairs. Both were poor quality repairs & paint.

Also quite often many vehicles have poor service history as well.

Cheers guys.

Last edited by Gavin Thomas; 19-06-2012 at 08:21 PM.
Gavin Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post