15-07-2012, 10:34 PM | #1 | ||
Hey guys
Just wanting to buy a set of snap-on tools knives from the US as a novelty. My question is though, can I buy a set of knives from the US and get the into Australia without any customs problems? http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/271005407...84.m1423.l2649 Cheers in advance, John
19" F6 'Twist' Wheels, XR Leather Trim, 7" Color Screen, Reverse Sensors, Grey Bumper Ascents, XForce S/S Catback, XR Leather Armrest, K&N Panel Filter, XR6 Airbox Badge, Engine Shiny Bits, Headlight Globes To come: My Ride Thread Wakeboard and Gear for Sale - $550 ONO Follow the link - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?p=4458482#post4458482 |
16-07-2012, 09:36 AM | #2 | ||
I don't think you should have a problem... I bought a Chef's knife and Utility knife from Japan and had them forward it to a honemeister in the States who then sent them to me....
(As silly as it seems neither I nor anyone I have taken the knife to can get an edge like it had )
16-07-2012, 01:57 PM | #3 | ||
Yea, I didn't think there would be a problem, but wanted to check before I bought them to make sure. I didn't wanna have any problems with customs.
Maybe you should send it back to them if you want another sharp edge on it? Like I said, they will be more a novelty more than anything for a while because I still live at home and practically don't cook, so they'll just be a looks thing until I move out into my own place I reckon any guy/girl out there that loves cars and their workshop tools, these are a must
19" F6 'Twist' Wheels, XR Leather Trim, 7" Color Screen, Reverse Sensors, Grey Bumper Ascents, XForce S/S Catback, XR Leather Armrest, K&N Panel Filter, XR6 Airbox Badge, Engine Shiny Bits, Headlight Globes To come: My Ride Thread Wakeboard and Gear for Sale - $550 ONO Follow the link - http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?p=4458482#post4458482 |
16-07-2012, 02:12 PM | #4 | ||
ask that the packaging describe the contents as automotive tools
(it may anyway) |
16-07-2012, 03:32 PM | #5 | ||
Classic not Plastic
Seeing that they are a Snap On brand, have you tried any of the Snap On guys here in Australia that prowl around in those big white vans. They may be able to get them without the hassle of having to battle customs.
16-07-2012, 03:49 PM | #6 | ||
The only problem will be, if the knife is prohibited to be imported into Australia. There is heaps of knives that are illegal to have in Aus. Most of these knives are flip knives and such.
If they are kitchen knives. I am pretty sure that you would be safe, you may be able to check out the customs site. There is an email address you can email. http://www.customs.gov.au/site/page4369.asp#e1066 Knives and daggers (restricted import) Description: Daggers, automatic knives, single handed opening knives, butterfly knives, trench knives, ballistic knives, concealed knives/blades, throwing knives/blades/axes, star knives, push knives, sheath knives, non-metallic knives. Permits issued by: Daggers and throwing knives/blades/axes require written Police Certification (B709B Form) from the relevant Police Firearms Registry, prior to the arrival of the goods in Australia. All other knives require written permission to import from the Minister for Home Affairs, prior to the arrival of the goods in Australia. More information: Customs information centre Telephone: 1300 363 263 E-mail: information@customs.gov.au Please see the importing firearms and weapons webpage for detailed information Address: Requests to import these goods should be addressed to: Firearms and Weapons Section Cargo Policy Branch Australian Customs and Border Protection Service 5 Constitution Avenue CANBERRA ACT 2601 |
16-07-2012, 04:27 PM | #7 | ||
what about grape drank?
16-07-2012, 06:43 PM | #8 | ||
I have emailed customes in the past prior to sending home 'interesting' stuff while travelling and they were prompt to reply.
Be very precise in your descriptions with them as well. I sent pictures.
16-07-2012, 09:50 PM | #9 | ||
Alright, I will email customs and see what they say about it then
stevejg33, you make the comment about the guys in the snap on vans. How would I go about seeing if these guys can get a hold of these, as I'm not in an industry with contact to one of these vans. Or does anyone possibly have one of these vans visiting their work?
17-07-2012, 10:51 AM | #10 | ||
17-07-2012, 06:00 PM | #11 | |||
17-07-2012, 08:53 PM | #12 | ||
Well I sent snap-on an email this afternoon about this, so I'll see what reply I get about it
17-07-2012, 09:06 PM | #13 | ||
You have to be very careful about buying knives even within Aus - I bought a nice Benchmade Nimravus, and if I didn't have the receipt in the bag with it when I got pulled over, it could have been trouble!
19-07-2012, 04:54 AM | #14 | ||
Whipper Snappa
Customs declared that assisted opening knives (note that these are not flick knives) are illegal to import around a year ago. You should be fine however, as I purchased a lockback knife from California and it came through the mail just fine.
"Camping Tool". The funny thing was is that I saw an assisted opening knife at the local Bunnings for $10. So much for customs.
19-07-2012, 08:36 AM | #15 | |||
I have bought dozens of snap on tools thru their website without any hassle with customs (sent to WA), as long as they aren't worth more than $1000 in one go. Maybe go thru their on line catalogue and buy a couple of other tools to put in the same package, labelled as tools... http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/catal...e=snapon-store |
28-07-2012, 09:40 AM | #16 | ||
I have had dozens of knives from the USA and japan sent over, no problems yet, even when they search the package at customs (they leave a note saying they searched the parcel) they still let it through
28-07-2012, 02:18 PM | #17 | ||
some others here who are knife collectors/fans I see
29-07-2012, 12:42 AM | #18 | ||
I also want a set of the snap on knives but my missus thinks their ugly.
31-07-2012, 09:30 PM | #19 | ||
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent
Get Nick D'Arcy and Kenrick Monk to bring some back from the Olympics.
06-08-2012, 09:46 PM | #20 | ||
All packages are x-rayed and anything suspicious will be examined. Just be honest on the declaration.
06-08-2012, 09:58 PM | #21 | ||
Just call customs and ask them,i called them not too long ago with a question about buying other stuff(air jordans) and they were cool answering questions,just dont make jokes coz they dont have a sense of humour