Old 23-08-2012, 08:52 PM   #1

Default Sydney Airport to Penrith

Got to go to sydney and pick up my new ute, just wondering what the best way to get from the airport out to Emu Plains is?

Old 23-08-2012, 08:53 PM   #2
lockieoc

Default Re: Sydney Airport to Penrith

what time of the day?
lockieoc is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2012, 08:54 PM   #3
Uncle Niceguy

best chance would be to catch the train from sydney airport to central and the hop onto the country link to emu plains.
Uncle Niceguy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2012, 08:54 PM   #4

Originally Posted by lockieoc
what time of the day?
Most likely around lunchtime or so, plan to fly up in the morning. Have not checked flight times yet.
Old 23-08-2012, 09:01 PM   #5

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

What day???
Time of day makes a hell of a difference.

I'd say train is the best option as well.
Old 23-08-2012, 09:03 PM   #6

get a local plane to bankstown, or penrith if possable.
Old 23-08-2012, 09:04 PM   #7
GTP534

Originally Posted by Mr.NiceGuy
best chance would be to catch the train from sydney airport to central and the hop onto the country link to emu plains.
You can check out the available trains on the Cityrail Timetable page, just put in from Central to Penrith and after which time; it will give you a range of train departures to choose from and gives the platform too.

Are you picking up the ute from Sinclair Ford? If so, I reckon they can pick you up from Penrith station to take you to the dealership.
GTP534 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2012, 09:06 PM   #8

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

I don't think there is an airport in Penrith ... there's one in Camden though.

Public transport from either is going to be hard as well.

Easier to get to Domestic as the train line goes via Domestic and International on the Wolli Creek line back to Central and then take the Western line to Penrith ... not sure though if the metro train actually heads out to Emu Plains though ... would need to check.

Taxi is going to cost ... probably more than your plane fare up.
Old 23-08-2012, 09:08 PM   #9

Originally Posted by GTP534
Are you picking up the ute from Sinclair Ford? If so, I reckon they can pick you up from Penrith station to take you to the dealership.
No, private sale.
Old 23-08-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
GTP534

No worries. There's no airport at Penrith.

The inter-urban trains don't stop at Emu Plains but you can get one to Penrith then change as Emu Plains is the next station. Or you can put from Central to Emu Plains as the search on the Cityrail timetable and see what comes up. is it a weekday or weekend?
GTP534 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2012, 09:18 PM   #11

Originally Posted by Mechan1k
I don't think there is an airport in Penrith ... there's one in Camden though.

Public transport from either is going to be hard as well.

Easier to get to Domestic as the train line goes via Domestic and International on the Wolli Creek line back to Central and then take the Western line to Penrith ... not sure though if the metro train actually heads out to Emu Plains though ... would need to check.

Taxi is going to cost ... probably more than your plane fare up.
dont jet star go to richmond?
Old 23-08-2012, 09:21 PM   #12

The RAAF base ... can't say I have seen a domestic flight come into the restricted grounds of the RAAF base at all when I was living out there. There's a ton of Herc and Galaxys out there ... and the RAAF's old 727(I think it is) that blows that much black smoke it's not funny ... LOL

They can land there in an emergency I guess ... same with Camden if i understand correctly (it's tight though at Camden)
Old 23-08-2012, 09:23 PM   #13

Originally Posted by GTP534
No worries. There's no airport at Penrith.

The inter-urban trains don't stop at Emu Plains but you can get one to Penrith then change as Emu Plains is the next station. Or you can put from Central to Emu Plains as the search on the Cityrail timetable and see what comes up. is it a weekday or weekend?
Thanks, it will be a week day. Unsure which one at the moment.
Old 23-08-2012, 09:23 PM   #14

http://www.hawkesburygazette.com.au/...l/1687876.aspx

old 2009 paper.
Old 23-08-2012, 09:51 PM   #15

It never eventuated from my understanding ... that picture was a one-off promo shot.
Old 23-08-2012, 10:34 PM   #16
calais

Wow,

A lot of mis-information in this thread already.

If you fly into Sydney, hop on the Airportlink Train to Central Station. On a weekday trains run up the Blue Mountains from Central Station on the hour, every hour and they stop at Emu Plains, being the first stop on the Blue Mountains service. They are also the more comfortable airconditioned trains too. It should be a trip of no more than 90 mins to make. I do this 6 or 7 times a year, and it truly is the easiest way. Should be an $18 fare or thereabouts during peak hour.

Just to quell the speculation, there is no airport in Penrith, the closest is Richmond, which is closed to general non-military aviation without pre-arranged approval. (I know this because I work there, dealing with every aircraft which arrives or departs on that Airfield).

There are also only C-130 Hercules aircraft permanently based there. The USAF have a presence, routinely C-17 Globemastesr and the very rare C-5 Galaxy.

The RAAF 707 fleet has long since been retired, and the three remaining airworthy aircraft sold to Omega Tanker and flown out of Richmond early this year.
calais is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2012, 10:53 PM   #17

Nice post Calais.

I moved out of the Hawkesbury a couple of years ago ... so I wasn't sure if the 707's were still there or not.

EDIT: thought I saw a Galaxy there .... but going on images ... was a C17 Globemaster on further inspection. Still make our C-130s look small though.

Last edited by Mechan1k; 23-08-2012 at 11:00 PM.
Old 23-08-2012, 11:16 PM   #18
You Yangs
Dunnydore Destroyer

Train from airport to Central (be prepared to pay $$$$ for that) then go to the country platforms and catch a Blue Mtns train they all stop at Emu Plains except for one or two in the arvo peak. Trip will take just under an hour
You Yangs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-08-2012, 11:17 PM   #19
bobthebilda

Originally Posted by b2tf
Got to go to sydney and pick up my new ute, just wondering what the best way to get from the airport out to Emu Plains is?
I did Sydney airport to penrith in a taxi a few weeks ago, only came to $180. 2000 k's in the plane cost roughly the same.
bobthebilda is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-08-2012, 11:48 AM   #20
kaniSS
BIG MEMBER ;)

-Download the TRIPVIEW app on your phone. And punch in where you want to go.
-When you land go to the Train Station at domestic pay the exorbitant fee for the train ticket. Domestic to Penriff 1 way.
-Go to Central Station.
-Get off and check your app to see which platform takes you to Penriff
-Catch the train at that platform
-Arrive in Penriff, hide your wallet, keys, phone and other valuables you have.
-Don't make eye contact with anyone, infact go to to the local pub buy a VB, then go to the local Big W and buy some Uggboots, put them on and walk around with the VB in your hand.. (just to be safe.... )
-Catch a cab to your location at Emu Plains..

Too Easy..
Old 25-08-2012, 01:21 AM   #21
IDT
Marko

Train to Central then across to platforms 17 and 18 (if memory serves these are the western lines). Train to either Emu Plains and Penrith doesn't matter they are pretty close to each other. If getting a cab get off at Penrith more likely to get one quicker.
Job Done....
Old 25-08-2012, 01:29 AM   #22

When you get to Penriff maybe the bloke selling you the ute will come pick you up. I went to Melbourne once to buy some jetskis and the feller picked me up and when we had done the deal he drove them 40 mins to a transport depot and dropped me off to the station again. Nice bloke.

heres the NSW transport trip planner, http://www.131500.com.au/plan-your-trip/trip-planner
Old 25-08-2012, 03:25 AM   #23
nuthin' fancy
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent

Ask him to meet you at the airport so you can drive him back to his place for a test drive.
nuthin' fancy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2012, 06:15 AM   #24

LOL at Jetstar landing at Richmond and there being an airport at Penrith
2005 BA MK2 FPV GT - 6 SPEED MANUAL , SILHOUETTE, SWISSVAX, SUNROOF, BILSTEIN AND LOVELLS, FACTORY GENUINE 19'S, X-FORCE STAINLESS QUAD CATBACK, ADVANCE HEADERS, 200 CPSI CATS, BLUEPOWER CAI, HERROD BREATHER KIT, 4:11 DIFF RATIO, MAL WOOD OPT 3+ CLUTCH, BILLET SHIFTER, MELLINGS 10227, NOW WITH REVERSE CAMERA/SENSORS, ALPINE SPEAKERS & SUB - CUSTOM TUNED TO 275 RWKW

Last edited by GT0132; 25-08-2012 at 06:26 AM.
GT0132 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-08-2012, 08:21 AM   #25

city rail from the airport change at central for cityrail service to penrith ( cheaper than countrylink and no booking required)

Old 25-08-2012, 09:00 AM   #26

Does this change on weekends? Looks like it might be next Saturday now.