You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 01-09-2012, 01:28 PM   #1
packer52

Default XR6T or XR8 UTE (BA)

Hey guys, dont know much about cars, looking for opinions/advice

Im looking at getting either an XR8 or XR6T Ute (AUTO) in about 6-12 months.

My budget is 16k, could go over a little bit if I want to.

With that type of Budget should i be strictly looking at BA's, What are the differences between an MKI and MKII.

What are the differences between the Turbo and the V8. Seems a common answer is the xr6t is faster, but the 8 sounds better.

I have also noticed the XR8's seem to be a bit more expensive than the XR6T's on car sales sites, any reason for this?

Any common problems with these vehicles you know about?

packer52 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2012, 03:20 PM   #2

Default Re: XR6T or XR8 UTE (BA)

Well this is a can of worms.

If you must have auto see if you can find a BF even if it is a bit above your budget. The ZF is far superior to the ION.

In autos there is not a lot between BA & BA2. The suspension is a bit different and a few farkles but other than that they are almost identical. The manuals are quite different.

XR8s are a lot rarer than XR6Ts because the were dearer to buy and operate yet slower and in some states dearer to register.

The biggest issue you will face is that these cars are 10 years old, will have had several owners and quite often will have been modded, especially the T6s.

The V8s sound like V8s and if that floats your boat then go for it but remember the others are quicker.

Keep an eye out for a Pursuit or SP, they are not too bad either.

Bottom line, buy what you want for your reasons, not anyone elses.
Old 01-09-2012, 03:51 PM   #3
Cheese3
The BEST Falcon is the AU

Any reason why auto is a must?

http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=11373176

Thats currently forsale and imo its pretty nice and appealing with the low kms
Cheese3 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2012, 06:01 PM   #4
onfire

I made the same decision 6 months ago.

I went with the XR8 ute.

Why? Because it's a V8. A silly answer really.

At the end of the day, the Boss 260 is exactly that, 260 kw with 500 N·m. It's nothing to laugh at. It's got some balls and anyone who owns one will back that up.

When it comes down to it, sure the Turbo is quicker. But where and when can you legally use that extra kick without becoming a hoon law statistic?

Turn the key in the V8, it sounds like a V8. Drives like a V8 and a massive bonnet on the front reminding you its a V8. It's the experience you get with owning the XR8, something the standard Turbo 6 can't replicate.

onfire is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2012, 06:18 PM   #5

I had the same dilema 9 months ago. XR6T or XR8 ute. In the end I bought an AU. Dilema over
Old 01-09-2012, 06:33 PM   #6

I am a V8 fan, but if it must be auto, you can't really beat the 6T.

And as others have said the BF's ZF 6 speed auto is the way to go, and are around your budget.

Quick search:

http://www.carsales.com.au/private/d...-2006-13122441
Old 01-09-2012, 07:41 PM   #7
T3RMN8
RDLORD / FPV302

xrt hands down mate turbo so easy to mod
T3RMN8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2012, 09:03 PM   #8
frequencyshifta

Originally Posted by onfire
I made the same decision 6 months ago.

I went with the XR8 ute.

Why? Because it's a V8. A silly answer really.

At the end of the day, the Boss 260 is exactly that, 260 kw with 500 N·m. It's nothing to laugh at. It's got some balls and anyone who owns one will back that up.

When it comes down to it, sure the Turbo is quicker. But where and when can you legally use that extra kick without becoming a hoon law statistic?

Turn the key in the V8, it sounds like a V8. Drives like a V8 and a massive bonnet on the front reminding you its a V8. It's the experience you get with owning the XR8, something the standard Turbo 6 can't replicate.
I agree 100%. Bought my BF XR8 ute a month ago after tossing up between the 6T & 8. Loved the 8 - hands down a winner for me and got it for a smashing deal.
frequencyshifta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2012, 09:28 PM   #9

Owned both and the turbo is the pick. Better handling, better power delivery, cheap to upgrade, cheaper on fuel, etc...
Old 02-09-2012, 12:55 AM   #10
HULK EF

Ive owned a BF MK11 xr6 T for 4 years. flashed with minimal mods $1000 spent on engine and does 12.68.
Only gripe is she sounds like an angry vaccume cleaner with a turbo fitted and had to put the foot down to be heard.

Have owned a ba xr8 manual with 240RWKW with herrod cams (lumpy idle) pacemaker extractors and single muffler and damn!... she's not nearly as fast as the Turbo but she turns heads without even trying!

6 Turbo for blasting.
V8 for cruising and engine/exhaust note.
HULK EF is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post