Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
TAKING a bite out of a salad roll while driving could kill you.
The simple yet foolish actions of distracted drivers are the catalyst behind dozens of crashes on Sunshine Coast roads. For one motorist who reached for their dropped lunch, the move was a killer. The Sunshine Coast's top traffic cop is pleading with drivers to keep their eyes on the road and avoid becoming a road toll statistic. Traffic Branch officer in charge Shane Panoho said it was time motorists put their driving ahead of everything else when behind the wheel. Eating a meal, changing a song on an iPod or CD, turning up the radio volume, following a GPS, texting or turning the head to talk to a passenger can all be fatal. "There is a responsibility attached to driving," Snr Sgt Panoho said. "You are effectively driving up to three tonnes of steel, metal, glass and rubber on a road at speeds of up to 110kmh. "People are just becoming too complacent. "You are driving a potentially deadly weapon that can maim or kill someone. "Most people just think they are just driving, it is something they do every day, but if the vehicle is driven poorly it can result in death or injury to another person and I wouldn't want that on my conscious for the rest of my life.'' The Sunshine Coast road toll has crept to 16 deaths from 13 crashes this year. Loss of control accounted for 28% of crashes. Snr Sgt Panoho said it would never be possible to stop drivers eating while driving, but common sense should prevail. "We don't need to restrict every aspect of life," he said. "But common sense has to come into the picture at some stage. "If you are having a snack, fine, but if you are having a three-course meal while driving, you can expect to expect to get an infringement notice for not having proper control of a vehicle." Snr Sgt Panoho said it was frustrating to see the increasing number of drivers using mobile phones. "The fine for talking on a phone while driving is $330. "Plain clothed police officers are actively undertaking targeted patrols of the coffee and entertainment precincts at Mooloolaba and Noosa where we know there is a higher incidence of inattention and errant behaviour." http://www.themorningbulletin.com.au...l-you/1914594/
CSGhia Last edited by csv8; 20-06-2013 at 01:34 PM. Reason: add link |
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
basically he is saying anything that can draw your attention away from the road can lead to accidents. For example Looking at your speedo constantly so you don't get a speeding ticket.
#3 | ||
Call me 'Al'
Location: On a flattened-out cardboard box out the back behind the wheelie bins.
![]() If you have been driving for more than 12 months and can't tell roughly how fast you're going without staring at your speedo maybe it is time to give up? Especially if you can't glance at your speedo once every now and then and feel or hear if your car is picking up speed slightly. I can understand brief unfamiliarity with a different car, but in my experience that doesn't last more than about 15 minutes. Last edited by Alan D Segal; 20-06-2013 at 03:20 PM. Reason: glance |
4 users like this post: |
#4 | |||
#5 | ||
So you know your speed to 2-3kmh accuracy without glancing often at your speedo? Because thats the sort of tolerance drivers are being expected to drive to in some states.
3 users like this post: |
#6 | |||
![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
5 users like this post: |
#7 | ||
A little thing called divided attention, some people can do it while others can't....
There's also the point of choosing appropriate times to do things and when not to, like when you're stopped in traffic..... Last edited by jpd80; 20-06-2013 at 05:11 PM. |
This user likes this post: |
#8 | ||
I've been saying it for years - inattention is what causes accidents! They love to pin the blame on speeding. Why? Make it public enemy number 1. Then they can tax the hell out of it. Tax/fine, call it what you will. Every year the fines go up for something that everyone does almost everyday, inadvertently.
Many people on this forum have driven at speeds WELL above posted legal limits. Did you have a prang? You were probably more alert than when you putter around at 60k's around town. As for not wanting to restrict every part of our lives, well come on officer. That's a load of rubbish. Government and the police that wear the light blue shirts are here to fine and restrict, then fine again! |
#9 | |||
YE-US! Wait. I don't know
I was doing a competency drive to get my work driving licence, and I was informed I should be checking my mirrors every 4-8 seconds. I get it in the city, but on the highway? Nah mate.
#10 | ||
Sunny side up
Yep. Our speedos seem to be one of the BIGGEST distractions whilst driving, in my experience.
Whats the difference of me quickly glancing at my speedo to make sure I'm not going over than noticing my phone going off in my cup holder, or taking a bite out of a burger etc. I've noticed even when I have cruise on, I find myself checking the speedo every 30-40 seconds to make sure it's not rolling out 3 or so K's. What's safer? sitting on a highway between 95-110 km's with your full attention on the road, making you constantly aware of your surroundings and other drivers? Or sticking to one particular speed and keeping 50% of your attention making sure you don't go over because for every 1kmh you do, 4 kittens die, a mother cries and centrelink approves another 25 year old meth addict to go on the dole. Driving out where I live, in the windy roads going towards Drouin, you HAVE to have 100% attention. The unexpectedly sharp bends and lack of signage can be deadly, not to mention the wildlife. Going through windy roads at 80+kmh then seeing a big fat wombat in the middle of the road is definitely not a situation you'd want to be checking your speedo in.
-= BF MK2.5 XR6 =- Genies>hi-flow cat>X-Force 2.5" Catback. Stage 2 crow cams. Powerbond 20% Underdrives. Bent tab. BC racing Coilovers. Whiteline Adjustable Swaybars. SS Inductions Growler + XR8 snorkel + Territory intake pipe. ![]() [P]Plater Past rides: 1998 NL Ghia Concorde (Now Dads car) 1954 Austin A40 |
#11 | ||
bitch lasagne
This is getting beyond ridiculous.
#12 | |||
The fact that the road toll is up is good for business. |
#13 | ||
How in hell does Shane Panoho drive safely whilst manipulated all of the gadgets in his Highway Patrol car?
#14 | |||
GTP-RPD
Because he is a expertly trained professional that can drive and operate machinery beyond the capabilities of the average human being whilst dunkin his donut in his cup of coffee. |
#15 | ||
![]() Why does it appear that it's always the same people incapable of being able to do more than one thing, ie drive and check your speedo. Really anyone that posts that they can not maintain a proper speed while driving safely with full attention on the road, I think you should seriously consider giving it away and catching public transport, as obviously, by your own admission you are incapable of driving a motor vehicle. ![]() I drive a minimum of 5000km per month, and do not have any problems keeping my attention on the road, glancing at all three mirrors at least 2-3 times per minute and checking the speedo occasionally, and for some strange reason I notice when the car accellerates or decelerates, seems to be quite easy to maintain a constant speed for me, and I guess it's obvious as in the last 6 years I have travelled about 400,000km on NSW, QLD and even VIC roads without a single infringement. Not that hard really , just keep your vehicle maintained, and stick to the rules. Never strained my eyes looking for cameras either, as they make no difference to my life, driven past thousands of them, and none have ever flashed, so all these faulty cameras and radar equipment supposedly out there, have never found one yet. Last time I got booked was a long while ago, and guess what I was speeding at the time, and the cop was spot on with my speed, so his radar must have been one of the few good ones.
The Daily Driver : '98 EL Falcon, 5 Speed , 3.45 lsd The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan XB Falcon Owners Group Mike's Man Cave |
#16 | |||
When someone tells me they can maintain a speed within 2-3kmh without deviation, they either drive a ******* that makes so much noise its obvious when your speed changes, or they're lying. I see you drive a Hummer.... |
#17 | ||
Long live the GT !
I kinda feel sorry for the police who have to enforce these ridiculous laws...
The Australian population is exploding and that means many many more cars on our roads every day. More traffic equals less time for other things like working the radio, chatting with passengers and of course micro managing your speedo. ![]() Obviously, the Govt doesn't have the time or money to upgrade our roads to support our growing population so this is the next best thing, trying to control every aspect of our lives and making a few bucks in the process... sounds like a win win for the QLD Govt if you ask me.
2018 Ford Mustang GT - Oxford White | Auto | Herrod Tune | K&N Filter | StreetFighter Oil Separators | H&R Springs | Whiteline Vertical Links | Ceramic Protection | Tint "Whatya think of me car, XR Falcon, 351 Blown Cleveland running Motec injection and runnin' on methanol... goes pretty hard too, got heaps of torque for chucking burnouts, IT'S UNREAL !!" - Poida
#18 | ||
will remember this next time I'm steering with my knees pulling billys and shifting gears with my elbows..
then grabbing salad roll.. |
#19 | ||
bitch lasagne
#20 | ||
![]() Join Date: Dec 2007
Taking a bite out of a salad roll....pffft....
Driving back from the beach and taking a bite out of a hot meat pie and spilling the contents between bare thighs, thats distracting....
#21 | |||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2005
I do see your point though.
#22 | ||
Call me 'Al'
Location: On a flattened-out cardboard box out the back behind the wheelie bins.
I think they want you to sit the needle just under the limit.
I know that won't be popular with a lot of us, but I'm just trying to be practical about it. |
#23 | ||
#24 | ||
#25 | ||
Landcruiser 200
We can make jokes of these things, but unfortunately they happen. There was a fatality here about 12 months ago. A local fuel truck triver came around a blind corner on the open road and here was a small car being driven by a young mother on the wrong side of the road halfway around the corner. Apparently she had dropped something on the floor of her car and was trying to pick it up. The truck driver tried to get off the road, but too late. He said a sight that will haunt him for the rest of his life, is when she looked up and saw the truck. He was close enough to see her face and her eyes were as wide as dinner plates before they collided.
All I can say in todays technology (phones, stereos etc), they do cause a lot of inattention and distractions and we take a lot for granted. Take care on the roads. |
#26 | ||
#27 | ||
What a load of rot... Are you seriously suggesting that diverting your eyes from the road to a speedo, normally located directly in front of you, is in the same league of distractions as those previously mentioned?
#28 | |||
Its not just drivers though, pedestrians and cyclists are equally as guilty. The problem is we have far too many distractions in life and any one of them could bring us undone. Only last week, whilst taking my nephew for a driving lesson, a young woman stepped straight off the footpath and into our path, she had earphones in and was looking at a phone or ipod. If it were not for my experience and hazard perception instincts, you know, when you see something up ahead and it automatically heightens your senses as a possible hazard, she would have been a speed bump as he was left with little reaction time as it unfolded. I remember many years ago a truck driver cleaned someone up whilst checking out a woman walking past, from memory he got off, but it is something you would live with forever. My brother killed a pedestrian in the early 80's whilst on his P's, the guy just stepped out. He left town as soon as the case was finalised, he still wont talk about it. |
#29 | ||