Old 24-07-2013, 05:06 PM   #1

Default """ PETROL """" WTsilent f.

long sory short . filled up XR6 WITH E10 yesterday 566 LITRES ON ODO WHEN I PULLED IN . $102 LESS in my wallet when i drove away . ( e10 )
filled up GT next day 480km on odo $106 less in wallet when driving out .( 98 ulp)
i dont know .
but things are changing . can i afford to keep the gt YES , ABSOLUTELY , it's worth the sacrificial cost to a FORD /FPV enthusiast ( gota spend your money somehow right )
FG XR6 well i own it , its safe , its reliable , its nice but probably not sellable .
when i checked my payrise today( yes i'm a unionist ) and did some calcs and realise that 43% of my pay is taken away in taxes etc before i get it . it's a little tiring . my superannuation contributions are almost 2 x what my minumum mortgage repayments are .
then to buy petrol ( another necessity ) at over 200 per week , then tolls . yada yada yada .
feel free to have a ****** .
as a ford forum , where are we going here . i understand why big cars might be over . but i'm not sure .

Last edited by gtfpv; 24-07-2013 at 05:35 PM.
Old 24-07-2013, 05:19 PM   #2
peteypete
Sunny side up

Default Re: """ PETROL """" WTsilent f.

I feel your pain.
I only drive an XR6, and I find myself filling up twice a week with the amount of driving I do.
I used to comfortably fill up with 98 octane every time averaging $80-$90 per fill, I don't know why I spent extra on 98 but I guess I just had that mental thought that it was better.
Now with normal prices being in the $1.60s, I just can't justify it anymore. What's the point of spending an extra $10 for almost nothing?
I look at it this way, I'd be better off saving the $10 every time I fill up with 98 and putting it towards filling up the motor with a really high quality synthetic oil for my next service.
Genies>hi-flow cat>X-Force 2.5" Catback. Stage 2 crow cams. Powerbond 20% Underdrives. Bent tab. BC racing Coilovers. Whiteline Adjustable Swaybars. SS Inductions Growler + XR8 snorkel + Territory intake pipe. More to come. Thread coming soon.

[P]Plater

Past rides:

1998 NL Ghia Concorde (Now Dads car)

1954 Austin A40
peteypete is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 05:31 PM   #3
comagutsa
Pethy FG XR8 Ute

filled up my ute with 77L of 98 at 1.70 the other day $130, do i care, no and i wont be selling the ute,
but i do feel for you guys who have to fill up every week or 2-3 times a week with your normal pay
now fitted with Koya Inox R1's, the rears are 20x10 with a 40mm offset and the fronts are 20x8.5 with a 35mm offset

total of 285.5 rwkw and 642nm
when Herrod cams in 290rwkw

GSXR 750K7 with goodies, dyno'd 136rwhp,
10.567sec for the strip
comagutsa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 05:37 PM   #4
Fordman1

Coles and Woolworths have a lot to answer for for these recent rises !
Fordman1 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 05:42 PM   #5

so someone in the 43% tax bracket complains about fuel costs.

i feel for anyone not in that pay range :P
Old 24-07-2013, 05:45 PM   #6

meh, it's only a few extra dollars and the Focus isn't a gas guzzler so I'm not fazed one bit. $50 will see me out a week.
Old 24-07-2013, 05:46 PM   #7

first world problems

someone had to say it
Old 24-07-2013, 05:50 PM   #8
b2428

The cost of petrol is the reason why I went diesel. Was costing me around 140-150 a week with my BA, now costs me around the 90 mark even less with the mondeo. Do I regret going diesel. Sometimes I get over the diesel sound and miss the smooth eng vibes of a petrol. But the misses Micra soon to be pulsar fills the void.

Don't get me wrong if I could justify a V8 then I would probably justify the petrol a bit more but unfortunately can't:( esp if i wanna stay in the misses good books haha

2010 Triton GLX-R Dual Cab. So good to be back in a manual.

2008 MA TDCI MONDEO, recently became somebody elses problem haha.

1988 EA Fairmont Monza Red 3.9L CFI - the project beast. On hold for now.

2013 Nissan Pulsar ST-L - The better halfs car
b2428 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 05:51 PM   #9

Could be worse...

XR Martin is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 06:14 PM   #10
RHR

Originally Posted by comagutsa View Post
filled up my ute with 77L of 98 at 1.70 the other day $130, do i care, no and i wont be selling the ute,
but i do feel for you guys who have to fill up every week or 2-3 times a week with your normal pay

77litres hey. Thought yoots only had 75l capacity
BA 5.4L Fairmont goone
LW MKII Focus ST gone

Y62 Series 5 Patrol TI
FG MKII XR6T
FGX XR8
RHR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 06:26 PM   #11
janddbone
B1 - J & D Services

L p g !
1999 Subaru Imprezza Sportwagon
1998 Holden Suburban 2500
1995 Land Rover Discovery TDI
1994 XG XR6 Longreach
1983 Holden Rodeo
1975 Datsun 120Y wagon
1970 MG Midget
1967 Rover 2000TC
Soon: Model T.
janddbone is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 06:27 PM   #12

My falcon has a 25 litre fuel tank. Less pain more often...
Old 24-07-2013, 06:29 PM   #13
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by gtfpv View Post
long sory short . filled up XR6 WITH E10 yesterday 566 LITRES ON ODO WHEN I PULLED IN . $102 LESS in my wallet when i drove away . ( e10 )
filled up GT next day 480km on odo $106 less in wallet when driving out .( 98 ulp)
i dont know .
but things are changing . can i afford to keep the gt YES , ABSOLUTELY , it's worth the sacrificial cost to a FORD /FPV enthusiast ( gota spend your money somehow right )
FG XR6 well i own it , its safe , its reliable , its nice but probably not sellable .
when i checked my payrise today( yes i'm a unionist ) and did some calcs and realise that 43% of my pay is taken away in taxes etc before i get it . it's a little tiring . my superannuation contributions are almost 2 x what my minumum mortgage repayments are .
then to buy petrol ( another necessity ) at over 200 per week , then tolls . yada yada yada .
as a ford forum , where are we going here . i understand why big cars might be over . but i'm not sure .
Mate...that's why they've invented 'liquid Injection LPG systems' you DO NOT need to pay for petrol prices anymore!

You REALLY need to spend some time in the LPG section!

Last edited by GASWAGON; 24-07-2013 at 06:41 PM.
GASWAGON is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 06:30 PM   #14
comagutsa
Pethy FG XR8 Ute

Originally Posted by RHR View Post
77litres hey. Thought yoots only had 75l capacity
nah mate FG utes have 80L tanks
now fitted with Koya Inox R1's, the rears are 20x10 with a 40mm offset and the fronts are 20x8.5 with a 35mm offset

total of 285.5 rwkw and 642nm
when Herrod cams in 290rwkw

GSXR 750K7 with goodies, dyno'd 136rwhp,
10.567sec for the strip
comagutsa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 06:36 PM   #15
Brute 33

LPG LILPG 315 KW PURSUIT Ute ......Laughing at you blokes .....65 litres = $46.15
Brute 33 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 06:37 PM   #16
OffRoadFalcon
"Flooded it mate?"

Sure my Falcon isn't as economical as some cars, but since I do vastly highway driving, I do get a long range out of a 68L tank, usually at least 700kms. Add to the fact on these roads, with the bullbar and the size of the car, I'm safer at night if there's animals about, as well as the practicality of the big wagon!
Also, I love ol' Skip too much to ever consider anything else, and it won't be up for sale ever, every dollar that goes in, is totally worthwhile.

I would love it if prices went down again though, but I can't see that happening.
OffRoadFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 06:37 PM   #17

Originally Posted by gtfpv View Post
i dont know .
Well this brings home why the Europeans went smaller a decade ago , my daily now is a beater bimmer , better than 10 litres/100 around town .. the pickup gets an outing occasionaly but cost has ruined much of the run of driving it often , maybe some proportioning of the recent failures of the big two can be seen in fuel ?
Old 24-07-2013, 06:38 PM   #18
No.6

Government needs to reduce the excise of 38c per litre to maybe 24c or less! could save nearly $10 a week on a 68 litre tank!
No.6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 06:38 PM   #19

Originally Posted by EFFalcon View Post
so someone in the 43% tax bracket complains about fuel costs.

i feel for anyone not in that pay range :P
ahahahah . i'm hearing ya . look at it this way MR "a" EARNS $60,000 PA more than MR "b" .
and takes home $20 000 more in real terms net .
should make you feel a little better now.
Old 24-07-2013, 06:47 PM   #20
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by No.6 View Post
Government needs to reduce the excise of 38c per litre to maybe 24c or less! could save nearly $10 a week on a 68 litre tank!
Nothings going to change it will only get more expensive..... An LI LPG system will save about $30 each fill AND produce MORE power!
Old 24-07-2013, 06:50 PM   #21

Hybrid Camry

/thread
Old 24-07-2013, 06:51 PM   #22
GASWAGON

Originally Posted by JET270 View Post
Hybrid Camry

/thread
More like Holden Volt LOL!
Old 24-07-2013, 06:53 PM   #23

Originally Posted by EF_6 View Post
Mate...that's why they've invented 'liquid Injection LPG systems' you DO NOT need to pay for petrol prices anymore!

You REALLY need to spend some time in the LPG section!
yeah i know . to top it all off i'm qualified to fit lpg systems ( out of game for more than 10 years also ) . but arent allowed to by law cause i dont work in the industry .
2nd of all i had a quote for the xr6 . and it was something like $4000 less rebate of $1000 . and a tank would go in the boot . that i use to cart my rc aeroplanes to the field , which means the only fix is to sell the xr6 for a small suv / hatchback. which would actually cost me to do cause people are buying them rather than big petrol guzzlers . which means i'm pretty stuck with what i have .
Old 24-07-2013, 06:55 PM   #24
GASWAGON

No, the new 'JTG' system has the donut tank design...it fits where the spare wheel goes mate!
Old 24-07-2013, 06:58 PM   #25

Need fuel, no point complaining about it. And ill bet a few here use 98 (Me Inc) so IMO if your gonna complain about fuel maybe its time for a cheaper car.
Old 24-07-2013, 07:02 PM   #26

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Need fuel, no point complaining about it. And ill bet a few here use 98 (Me Inc) so IMO if your gonna complain about fuel maybe its time for a cheaper car.
i know your right mate . but i just paid the xr6 off last week , and we own our GT . I'm over buying cars , i just want to have what i own for now . not increase spending by buying again to save fuel . theres no point in that .
. surely people can see that .
Old 24-07-2013, 07:11 PM   #27

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 

Originally Posted by Brute 33 View Post
LPG LILPG 315 KW PURSUIT Ute ......Laughing at you blokes .....65 litres = $46.15

you're not laughing at me though

ratter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-07-2013, 07:11 PM   #28

I had budgeted a certain amount for modding my fairlane, but now I'm thinking I might use that to put it on gas instead, I think the big girl is averaging somewhere round 20l 100km on the work commute.
A basic mixer ring system will be nice and cheap, and enable a fast payback break even point I think.
I don't need power, but I love the sound of the little wheezer, so gas is ideal.
Old 24-07-2013, 07:12 PM   #29
Parfrey

Originally Posted by DJM83 View Post
Its people with your attitude that let the aussie government get away with things like this and crazy hoon laws etc. Its only going to get worse.
Old 24-07-2013, 07:15 PM   #30
XRTickfordNZ
XR Tickford Fanatic

2.26 for 91 over here.

1998 AU Fairmont Wagon, XR6 front kit....His
2002 AUIII XR6 Sedan, Blueprint, tints, tinted lights, BA XR wheels, leather....Hers
2008 Tandem Axle Trailer, The Falcon Hauler

XRTickfordNZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post