You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 29-07-2013, 11:48 AM   #1
Sorted

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: For all the contributions you make to the AFF community. 
Default 180klms in 100klms Zone & 133klms in a 80klms Zone = NOT A HOON??

To follow on from this post on Grunt Files

I would like to point out an article that grabbed my attention regarding the media response to a recent spate of cars crashing through shop fronts recently in Melbourne to outline what I think appears to show the common discrimination by many media outlets toward what I describe as the differently perceived categories of motorists.

It would be safe to say that lives are put at much greater in these situations compared to some of the situations that "hoon laws" can be implemented under, however with these window smash incidents the media use words such as "alleged" (unlike the guilty til proven innocent hoon law approach), the headline to this particular article is "Woman crashes car through the front window of supermarket in North Fitzroy"; the culprit is actually referred to as a human being and there is no use of the derogatory term "hoon" whatsoever. No mention of any charges, no scare tactics used to incite fear into vulnerable ignorant readers like the "dangerous hoons taking over suburban streets, turning neighbourhoods into drag strips" type garbage headlines and intros that get thrown around.

The operator of the vehicle was 75 years old, I wonder if a young P plater did the exact same thing just how drastically different the article would read? and then factor in if that young P plater happened to be driving an even slightly (let's say legally, not that it would matter as has been proven by the general attitudes of many police and media outlets alike) modified car.

I think it's safe to say that all of a sudden shallow allegations, slander, public shaming and uninformed opinions that aren't backed by statistical evidence would all of a sudden be rife from the medias side. And from the police side there's a safe bet there'd be a long list of charges being attempted to be pressed to say the very least.

There won't be any knee jerk reaction scare campaigns by the media or unjust laws that go against democratic rights getting brought in against crashing through windows though. Perhaps one of the reasons for this being that the age demographic that seems to statistically do it most are also likely be the main supporters of ACA and Today Tonight. Unlike the younger drivers who are more likely to be unaware of their rights and can't afford lawyers.

Some may defend the medias approach in saying that this is different because it was an accident, yet accidental traction loss even in wet conditions can mean a car confiscation.

The bottom line is that depending on who you are you will be treated differently and it's the modified car owners and car enthusiasts that are in the firing line, let's make this stop!
This 3AW report seems to be missing the HOON Tag? - let's wait and see how other media report on this or even report at all

Luxury cars impounded after Surf Coast speeding

http://www.3aw.com.au/blogs/breaking...729-2qt9n.html

Two men have had their vehicles impounded after they were caught speeding on the Surf Coast.

A Torquay man, 68, was behind the wheel of a Ferrari California Roadster when it was allegedly clocked at 133 km/h in a 80km/h zone on Horseshoe Bend at Torquay on Saturday.

Police say they were amazed no was injured by the speeding vehicle, because the road is popular with cyclists and pedestrians.

And yesterday a 1988 Corvette was yesterday clocked at 180 km/h in a 100 km/h zone between Torquay and Angelsea.

The driver was a 44-year-old Lara man.

Both cars were impounded for 30 days and the men are expected to be charged on summons with speeding offences.

Tuned by DYNOMOTIVE

200BUX - AFF Drag Nats 2019 EF Wagon
Originally Posted by rednose View Post
Common knowledge that the more weight you take out of the car the less power you need to run the time.
Sorted is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-07-2013, 01:48 PM   #2

Default Re: 180klms in 100klms Zone & 133klms in a 80klms Zone = NOT A HOON??

The labelling is a form of character assassination, government uses this method all the time to change rules and get the general public on side, the same character assassination we see being applied to those murderous truck drivers, and other groups as well,
politicians are very clever at using these tools of population control, and Australians seem to fall for it hook line and sinker every time.
Old 29-07-2013, 02:00 PM   #3
Alan D Segal
Call me 'Al'

Location: On a flattened-out cardboard box out the back behind the wheelie bins.
Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Good contributor. 

Originally Posted by Sorted View Post
And yesterday a 1988 Corvette was yesterday clocked at 180 km/h in a 100 km/h zone between Torquay and Angelsea.

The driver was a 44-year-old Lara man.
I hope they checked the boot for coke. Especially if he was wearing a pastel suit with the sleeves rolled up and had a perm
Alan D Segal is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-07-2013, 02:48 PM   #4

Yes...old person crashes car, say into a shop front, and it's "driver error", "accidentally hit the accelerator", had a "momentary lapse in concentration".

Young person...especially a P plater...does the exact same damn thing, and they're a horrifying potential death dealing dangerous confiscate their vehicle hoon...

Remember the well know radio personality who got off a fine for speeding at some ludicrous velocity because his big Benz was "engineered to do those speeds"...?
Old 29-07-2013, 05:24 PM   #5
red_hotxr6

Originally Posted by 2011G6E View Post
Yes...old person crashes car, say into a shop front, and it's "driver error", "accidentally hit the accelerator", had a "momentary lapse in concentration".

Young person...especially a P plater...does the exact same damn thing, and they're a horrifying potential death dealing dangerous confiscate their vehicle hoon...

Remember the well know radio personality who got off a fine for speeding at some ludicrous velocity because his big Benz was "engineered to do those speeds"...?
Maybe its the Oil he uses..lol
red_hotxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-07-2013, 05:49 PM   #6

Originally Posted by red_hotxr6 View Post
No, it wasn't Lawsie...I think it was John Singleton. And I think I was mistaken with the "radio personality"..."famous git" is more accurate...
http://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/pro.../LC19970923013

He was doing 165kph in his Rolls, and had no conviction recorded and no fine or loss of points...

But then again, it's always been a question of how much money you have as to how severe the punishment. The late Kerry Packer was once found to have an unlicensed and unregistered pistol in his office desk, and received no penalty at all. If that was you or me, we'd either be in jail or have a massive fine against us.
Old 29-07-2013, 06:18 PM   #7
KIWI-1

Originally Posted by red_hotxr6 View Post
or the perm
Old 29-07-2013, 10:19 PM   #8

LOL...that's the road I live in...

They all head up to Fairhaven to Freestone's cafe on the weekends.

It's like the local cannonball run, most have lotsa money and aren't fazed by fines.

The local 10 million dollar Torquay cop shop is unmanned for 9 months of the year....budget cuts by the state govt..

No wonder it's popular.
zilo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-07-2013, 10:25 PM   #9

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Long time member, loves Fords, sensible contributor and does some good and interesting posts. 

Not a Commodore = no hoon.

Old 29-07-2013, 10:32 PM   #10

Originally Posted by 2011G6E View Post
No, it wasn't Lawsie...I think it was John Singleton. And I think I was mistaken with the "radio personality"..."famous git" is more accurate...
http://www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/pro.../LC19970923013

He was doing 165kph in his Rolls, and had no conviction recorded and no fine or loss of points...

But then again, it's always been a question of how much money you have as to how severe the punishment. The late Kerry Packer was once found to have an unlicensed and unregistered pistol in his office desk, and received no penalty at all. If that was you or me, we'd either be in jail or have a massive fine against us.
Formet Premier and renowned schoolyard thug Jeff Kennett bullied a police officer to withdraw a 30km over the limit on the Monash Fwy not long before he lost the state election.
zilo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 12:17 AM   #11
malazn mafia
Boss 335

One of my clients is a multi-millionaire. Helicopter, new Ferrari, a Ducati. He promises to take me on the next Ferrari club cruise. 160kph in a convoy of no less than 50 ferraris. When and if the HWP come along, they don't even blink twice, as who are they going to pull over ? I can't wait to go on the next cruise.
malazn mafia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 08:05 AM   #12
SPArKy_Dave
Too many Fords........ :)

Originally Posted by mik View Post
and Australians seem to fall for it hook line and sinker every time.
I'm an Aussie, and I ain't falling for it!

97 EL V8 wagon - cool cruiser, or street bruiser? CLICKY
93 XG panel van - at your door in 60 secs, or the first hr is FREE........ yep, that's the goal.
95 XG ute - awaiting a head gasket...... grrrrr.

74 XB GS pano..... factory optioned with all the good stuff..... not much there now. ........long term resto.
XB Coupe and Van TV Ad
you know........ there's a little bit of Bathurst in every Ford Falcon.... think about it
SPArKy_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 08:28 AM   #13
GQ_Smooth
Long live the inline 6

Originally Posted by malazn mafia View Post
One of my clients is a multi-millionaire. Helicopter, new Ferrari, a Ducati. He promises to take me on the next Ferrari club cruise. 160kph in a convoy of no less than 50 ferraris. When and if the HWP come along, they don't even blink twice, as who are they going to pull over ? I can't wait to go on the next cruise.
50 Ferrari's doing 160km/h in front of highway patrol, yeah I'll buy that.

I've got a story of Johnny Diesel and Jennifer Kyte I can share with you, true story, and friends, sisters, work friends wife was a nurse in the emergency room.

Hers
BFII Ghia
GQ_Smooth is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 09:18 AM   #14
Peter B - CV8

Originally Posted by GQ_Smooth View Post
50 Ferrari's doing 160km/h in front of highway patrol, yeah I'll buy that.

I've got a story of Johnny Diesel and Jennifer Kyte I can share with you, true story, and friends, sisters, work friends wife was a nurse in the emergency room.
Please don't - I've never been able to drink Coke out of the bottle since this happened.
Peter B - CV8 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-07-2013, 06:55 PM   #15
EDManual

I'm over in France just drove to Paris from near Geneva and back yesterday. 130 zone. Quite a lot of people doing around 160-170 and a few around 200. There's a few speed cameras but they slow down for them. Are they hoons? Not here. Public hasn't fallen for that idea here!
Also out of interest fines and points are all halved on highwaysshowing that doing 160 in a 130 zone isn't too bad compared to 30 over in a 50 zone.
EDManual is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post