Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
Hi All,
Just thought I'd share a quick story. My car (FG MKII XR6T) was parked out the front of a mates place on Sunday arvo/night and we drove in his car to the city (40km’s away) for dinner. Whilst at dinner, he received a call from his neighbour asking who owned the Silver Falcon in front of his house, because it had been hit. Long story short, his house is on a residential street, but has a bend in the road in front of his house (it’s kind of like a speed-trap to slow cars down, alternative to speed bumps I guess). Driver of a Hilux lost it on the bend in the wet, nailed my car and ended up on the opposite median strip. Fortunately the driver & passenger were un-hurt and it was dinner time so everyone else on the street was inside their houses. Photos speak for themselves as to the damage, I'm waiting to hear whether it’s a write off, but I believe it will be. The driver of the other car was a 20 year old Kiwi who holds an NZ Learners Permit only (no Australian licence) and his “licenced passenger” was a 19 year old with an NZ Licence as well. The car was owned by the drivers older brother, who told me straight up that he had no insurance (not even 3rd Party). In all honesty, the guys were good about it, they didn’t try to hide anything, all gave me their ID’s and details, including a passport for the driver since he was having trouble finding his learners permit (but found it in the end), but geez am I glad I have full comprehensive insurance to do the hard work for me! Moral of the story: Make sure you’re insured! I know my insurance company will be chasing this guy for every cent. ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
3 users like this post: |
Brad
****!
#3 | ||
Bugger
Sent via HTC Velocity + [HolicsROM v1.3] [SWEEP2WAKE]
#4 | ||
Ouch! I would suggest it's a total loss, depending how old it is and what it's worth.
#5 | |||
You can't stop the signal
Come on Rusty, that will buff out
![]() Any official word from insurance yet?
5 users like this post: |
#6 | ||
Yikes! Sorry to see that but glad you have full insurance.
Cheers Col
#7 | ||
Only that they are sending the assessor around to the tow company depot who picked it up, because when they rang and asked the tow truck driver to take it to a smash repair shop for an estimate, he told them "i can do that if you like, but its a write off so you'll be paying me to take it there for nothing. Why don't you assess it here and save yourself the tow charge?"
#8 | ||
yep, insurance should be the last thing you skimp on - even more so when money gets tight.
skimp on the take away, booze, coffees etc... before insurance. |
14 users like this post: |
#9 | ||
It should be like America, you have to have insurance etc to drive on the road.
I know it still doesn't stop people but at least it's something else they can get charged for. Your insurance company will be waiting a long time for their money too I reckon when you have irresponsible people like this thumbing their nose at the system, I'll do what I want attitude is alive and well, I'm surprised the car wasn't unlicensed too. The only decent thing they did was stay and give their details, could have done a runner. Sorry about your car mate, but like you say, not your headache, get a pay out and have the fun of looking for another car, taking all those test drives before deciding on a new car.
This user likes this post: |
#10 | ||
Good thing was when I totalled my first Focus we both had full comp insurance, WIN!
#11 | |||
Personally the longer we can avoid getting more like the US the better, people die in the ER because they don't have insurance.
#12 | ||
I wouldnt think that would be a write off?
#13 | ||
That's rooted!
Cheaper to pay you out, sell the wreck and chase the Kiwi's for the money.. |
#14 | ||
Id say someone will be going back to un zud pretty soon
#15 | ||
![]() ![]() Join Date: Jun 2006
Badmax is a panel beater and I agree with him. Remember the whole side panel of the FG is one piece including B pillar and door opening frames, attached to the inner structure. I certainly wouldn't like to own that car if it was repaired.
#16 | ||
If the car was repaired correctly it would be ok, don't underestimate good repairers!
#17 | |||
Sorry to the OP but I hope its a write off non repairable..
#18 | ||
that's a stat write off.
#19 | ||
I doubt that's repairable considering the one piece sides and the damage is down to the intrusion bars. The
#20 | ||
That'll be a write off
Yes insurance is worth it when you have events like this happen Your insurance co will come to an arrangement with the other driver, they don't chase $ like we think they would |
#21 | ||
CLEVO POWERED
#22 | ||
How come the owner had no insurance but let an L plater drive it in the wet?
#23 | ||
Total loss WRITEOFF bad luck
#24 | ||||||
1992 DC LTDHO 360rwkw built by me Tuned by CVE Performance Going of the rails on a crazy train Other cars include Dynamic ED Sprint, Dynamic DL LTD, Sparkling Burgundy DL LTD, Yellow, Red & Blue XB sedan & Black XB Coupe
||||||
#25 | ||
He really nailed it, yes its surprising what can happen in a little suburban St, ..... i young bloke and his girlfriend came whizzing around in to my street some years ago and lost it, the end result was when they collided with the neighbors old fairlane parked across the road 10 metres away, it got speared into my front fence and was written off, the kids car an old ea ended up nicely perched on the the other neighbors front fence from the the one that had his fairlane written off.
The street is only 5 houses long ,how they managed to attain the speed to cause such carnage I'll never know, but insurance paid it all out fortunately. Sorry to see your pride and joy wrecked like that, next time I would be asking the mate if he can make room in driveway for your limo. |
#26 | ||
This is why every state should make it law that when you register the car each year it should have full comprehensive insurance or the very leased 3rd party.
A couple of years ago I had some clown that was high as a kite on a mix of drugs plough straight through the front of my shop, caused about $10000 worth of damage. Car was registered but not insured, my insurance covered it but I'm still out $1000 for my excess. I my opinion if you can't afford to insure you car then walk until you can. |
7 users like this post: |
#27 | ||
Racing improves the breed
Yep, you'd expect that to be a write off. Anyone who isn't fully insured has rocks in their head, that bloke who hit your car is going to be in a world of financial pain for a while now I'm tipping.
#28 | ||
I dislike people with a loathing who do not have the basic 3rd part minimum insurance for their vehicles. It ticks me off no end to see scum get away with it and think it's ok and not get punished for it.
The fact of the matter is, 90% of the time the insurance company will pay out the policy owner, and won't bother with the culprit because it's not worth spending big $$$ going through the court system to chase down the money. Therefore the premiums for those who are more responsible will increase to cover these louts. So in effect it still costing us to support scum like this. Am I wrong? If so, please correct me.
"Everybody was KungFu fighting..." 2022 Mazda CX5 GTSP Turbo 2024 Ford Everest Trend 1967 Ford XR FALCON 500 Cars previously owned: 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Highlander 2021 Subaru Outback Sport 2018 Subaru XV-S 2012 Subaru Forester X 2007 Subaru Liberty GT 2001 AU2 75th Anniversary Futura 2001 Subaru GX wagon 1991 EB XR8 1977 XC Fairmont 1990 EA S Pak 1984 XE S Pak 1982 ZJ Fairlane 1983 XE Fairmont 1989 EA Falcon 1984 Datsun Bluebird Wagon 1975 Honda Civic |
3 users like this post: |
#29 | |||
#30 | ||
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan
Bog it up and flog it off to a p plater.