Old 07-08-2015, 10:39 AM   #1
Vesper Martini

Default Leaving a car at a Service Station

Has anybody left a car parked at a service station for a couple of days?
I'm not talking a small one where the car would be noticed, I'm talking one of the super stops which have cars in the car park all night

what's the likely hood of getting towed?
Seadoo Challenger 210SE 310HP
Vesper Martini is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 11:00 AM   #2

Default Re: Leaving a car at a Service Station

Depends on the owner/Console operators.

If you spoke to them and said why it was being left there it shouldn't be a problem, but if you just parked it there without telling them they might think it was abandoned.
Old 07-08-2015, 11:39 AM   #3

Wondering how long before the body in the boot will be found?

Old 07-08-2015, 11:42 AM   #4
LG17

It used to happen all the time when service stations actually serviced and repaired them. I wouldn't leave my car anywhere these days for a couple of days.
LG17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 12:09 PM   #5
new2ford

It's private property. The right thing to do would be to ask the property owner's representative (the attendant) whether it's ok - for your own peace of mind as much as anything.
Old 07-08-2015, 12:16 PM   #6
Vesper Martini

Originally Posted by new2ford View Post
It's private property. The right thing to do would be to ask the property owner's representative (the attendant) whether it's ok - for your own peace of mind as much as anything.
Agreed, but the one I'm thinking of would probably be leased land by BP.

so no real private ownership to contact

The attendants wouldn't even notice or give a XXXX
Old 07-08-2015, 12:30 PM   #7
Sioso
irregular member

Don't want to pay for airport parking?
Sioso is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 12:39 PM   #8
Spurious

If it's a 24hr servo then the attendants (maybe 3 or 4 of them) would work in shifts & most likely wouldn't care or even notice if a vehicle was parked up, in an out of the way spot.
Just be wary that it IS an out of the way spot. If the tanker truck shows up & you're parked where he wants to be, then someone might well call police to investigate an "abandoned car", or someone may well just move it with a forklift.

Plus it would pay to do some recon' before parking, to get an idea of what/who parks where & at what times of the day/night.
Spurious is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 12:46 PM   #9

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: As Silver Ghia his contributions to the AU and BA technical areas have been of high quality and valuable to the member base. 

Originally Posted by Sioso View Post
Ah, if its the one I'm thinking of then, it would most likely get towed unless you got permission and probably paid a fee.

Back in the early 1980's my Mazda 626 stopped at the intersection there on the way home from work so we pushed it into there. Came back later to tow it home. I wouldn't have left it overnight even back then.
Silver Ghia is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 01:13 PM   #10
Vesper Martini

Originally Posted by Sioso View Post
No its a BP on Eastlink.

It will save me an hours travel by getting picked up for the weekend, instead of dropping the car back at Home.

The alternative is finding a street in the suburbs, which I think are safer than leaving a car in an industrial area or main road.
Old 07-08-2015, 01:41 PM   #11
ford71V8

Left my car at a servo in the northern suburbs one morning.

By the time I got back to it at morning smoko, all my Centreline caps were missing.
Was not a happy day
ford71V8 is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 01:52 PM   #12

Why would you ask here? Ask the guy that works at the servo!

....if it was my servo, your car would be towed with in 12 hours..or at least the cops called to report a car dumped on my property within 5 or 6.
Stefan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 01:53 PM   #13
1TUFFUTE

Sounds a little scary, unless your pretty familiar with the area!
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 03:17 PM   #14
Vesper Martini

Originally Posted by Stefan View Post

....if it was my servo, your car would be towed with in 12 hours..or at least the cops called to report a car dumped on my property within 5 or 6.
you own BP? ...read posts above
Old 07-08-2015, 03:20 PM   #15
Vesper Martini

Originally Posted by 1TUFFUTE View Post
Sounds a little scary, unless your pretty familiar with the area!
Yeah it would be a calculated risk, My concern would be CCTV picking it up and Security having it removed.
I don't think the BP staff or the Maccas staff would care or even notice
Old 07-08-2015, 03:34 PM   #16

Originally Posted by Stefan View Post

U Pullit do free pick ups and also supply you with beer money
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 03:37 PM   #17

Originally Posted by Bevsta007 View Post
Yeah it would be a calculated risk, My concern would be CCTV picking it up and Security having it removed.
I don't think the BP staff or the Maccas staff would care or even notice
Wear a hoodie and stuff if this is a drug deal going down
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 03:49 PM   #18
MAGPIE

Originally Posted by Bevsta007 View Post
No its a BP on Eastlink.

It will save me an hours travel by getting picked up for the weekend, instead of dropping the car back at Home.

The alternative is finding a street in the suburbs, which I think are safer than leaving a car in an industrial area or main road.
What is more inconvenient...

A. An extra hours travel (but peace of mind).
B. Picking up car & paying a impound fee after it is towed.
C. Getting car repaired after it has been vandalised.

I know what I'd do.
MAGPIE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 03:53 PM   #19
lucas2

There is a massive parking area at that Service station. I would advise the attendants that the car will be repaired in a day or two as it's the weekend.
lucas2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 04:04 PM   #20
Vesper Martini

I recon I could pull it off for one day/night but a couple is pushing it
Old 07-08-2015, 04:45 PM   #21
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

People do it all the time. Tell the attendant you put the wrong petrol in, then they will even help you push it into a parking bay. Job done.
Just don't park in my way when I have a delivery or.... Cars getting scull dragged.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 06:22 PM   #22

I wouldnt tell anyone you are leaving it for a couple of days....not even the staff

they will have heaps of time to strip it right down to bare metal
zilo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 07:00 PM   #23
nuthin' fancy
Lyminge, Shepway, Kent

Stop being so cheap. Catch a cab to BP Eastlink or ask here if, for a slab of good beer, you can park your car in someone's driveway for a couple of days.

There is no way I would trust anyone anywhere with my car in the way you propose. You will spend all your time away worrying about the car.

"Comedy is when you fall into an open sewer and die, tragedy is when I get a paper cut"
nuthin' fancy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 08:47 PM   #24
mr smith

Originally Posted by ford71V8 View Post
Left my car at a servo in the northern suburbs one morning.

By the time I got back to it at morning smoko, all my Centreline caps were missing.
Was not a happy day
Melbourne northern suburbs? They would steal of their grandmother.
mr smith is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 08:53 PM   #25
XG_Falcon

Used to work at BP and we were told to report abandoned cars. Just take it home.
XG_Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 09:26 PM   #26

I think parking your car overnight in a service station carpark is about close to the safest place it will be other than a police station.

The real question you have to ask yourself is does it work out to be less hassle even if it got towed.
Old 07-08-2015, 09:43 PM   #27
eb2fairmont

Be a tight *** and do it. let us know how you go.
eb2fairmont is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-08-2015, 11:01 PM   #28

Just had a thought....is it a piece of junk anyway?

Get a good insurance policy....then just park...anywhere..
zilo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2015, 12:57 AM   #29

The BP is most likely a franchise. Be courteous and ask the manager. If he or she says yes, go for it. Then do something kind in return. If not, then be polite and find another solution.
Old 08-08-2015, 12:47 PM   #30
xtremerus
FG XR6T trayback

Originally Posted by zilo View Post
Just had a thought....is it a piece of junk anyway?

Get a good insurance policy....then just park...anywhere..
Had a mate do that some years ago at Sydney Airport car-park. Left the keys in the ignition as well. Went on 2 weeks holiday.
Damn thing was still there when he got back.
xtremerus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post