You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 13-08-2015, 07:17 PM   #1

Default The "Golden Age" of Ford Australia?

When do you think this was?

Some would argue it was when the XD Falcon stormed past the undersized Commode, and Ford itself took overall sales leadership in Australia.
Personally I think the axing of The Cleveland took the shine off that.

The reign of the Barra was pretty good also. Twin cam VCT sixes, OHC V8's across the range, FPV's, the ZF, Territorys, You could still get Fairlanes and Wagons, the Focus was the world's best medium car, and the lower end was held up well by the European Fiesta.

But for me (and perhaps this is aged based) it will always be the mid-70's.
The X-ABC Falcons were demonstrably superior to the Kingswood, a choice of upto 6 engines, Utes & PV's with proper doors, Hardtops in a variety of configurations including the Landau. Fairlanes that looked like more than a stretched Falcon and LTDs that looked completely different again.
Cortinas were made in Australia, including the somewhat lethal 6 cylinder variants, including wagons, as were Escorts, in 2 door, 4 door, and PV. F100's & Broncos assembled locally with Australian engines.
(NOT in any way suggesting that those cars were anywhere near as good as modern equivalents, but for their time it was good to be a Ford fan.)
Old 13-08-2015, 07:33 PM   #2
tranquilized

Default Re: The "Golden Age" of Ford Australia?

Good question!

From a sales perspective it would have to be the 80's - XE and XF were selling like crazy, as were the Laser and Telstar. But from a product perspective there wasn't much to love about the 80's. Laser and Telstar were badge engineered Mazda's, the conspicuous lack of a V8 in the Falcon like you mentioned, and the VK/VL was just a better car than the XF I reckon, just too small for the time.

Having said all that, Ford were the top selling brand for a lot of the 80's so it's gotta be considered their "Golden Age"
tranquilized is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2015, 07:39 PM   #3
XB GS 351 Coupe

Like mentioned earlier, it might be a generational thing, but XA/XB era were the Golden Age IMO.

Love XB's, best Falcon ever IMO, I don't care if they are worth a mint or worth scrap, I will always own some XB Falcons till the day I die.

I have owned my Coupe since 1986, and will never sell it, will never sell my XB ute, or Fairmont either, so there is three I will die with.

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

Project 1 : '75 XB GS 351 Ute, Toploader, 9" with 3.5's

Project 2 : '74 XB GS Big Block Coupe, Toploader, 9" with 4.11's

In Storage : '74 XB GS 351 Fairmont Sedan

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

XB GS 351 Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2015, 09:12 PM   #4
joolz

I would say just before Mr Button reduced the import tariffs. So yes the 80's. Yet the 90's were also pretty good. But from there it was down hill for most of Australian Automotive manufacturing.
joolz is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2015, 09:37 PM   #5

Performance and image it would have to be the 70's.
Old 13-08-2015, 09:41 PM   #6

The 80's. Ford could do no wrong, they probably had the highest selling car in just about every segment. Falcon was no 1, so was Fairlane, Laser, Telstar etc.

Came within a whisker of burying Holden too around 84, if GM didn't give them a massive cash injection to save Holden they would have been dead and buried.
Old 13-08-2015, 09:46 PM   #7
XB GS 351 Coupe

Originally Posted by Wretched View Post
Performance and image it would have to be the 70's.
Definitely agree with this.^^^^^^^^^

If this is not the 'Golden Age' of Australian Motoring History I don't know what is....

The Week End Bruiser : FPV BF GT 40th Anniversary, 6 Speed Manual, 6/4 Brembo and lots of Herrod goodies

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

8 users like this post:
Old 13-08-2015, 09:48 PM   #8
superyob

I would pinpoint Ford's Aussie high point as the 70s. XB Falcon best ever Aussie car for its time and the humiliation of Holden at Bathurst 1977...
superyob is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2015, 09:55 PM   #9

Originally Posted by XB GS 351 Coupe View Post
Definitely agree with this.^^^^^^^^^

If this is not the 'Golden Age' of Australian Motoring History I don't know what is....

One of my favourite cars HQ Monaros rock!!
pottery beige is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2015, 09:56 PM   #10
Beastie
The Terrain Tamer

Community Builder: In recognition of those who have helped build the AFF community. - Issue reason: Catering services for a bunch of layabouts and for being an all-round good guy whose sense of community goes above and beyond. 

I don't remember much about the 70's, but that's because I was born in 68...

Growing up, my dad always had Fords. The first Ford I remember was his XW, then XB (351), XD (250), XF (250) and so on.

The one day that I will never forget is after he sold his XW, we went to the local Ford dealership to look at new cars and he was so close on picking the XB Coupe, but ended up with the Sedan (2 kids under 10)

I just loved the XB Coupe and will always have a soft spot for it - hopefully Ione day I will have the $$$'s to do one up.

So for me it's the 70's

PS - I'll also never forget the 1, 2 finish at Bathurst.
Old 13-08-2015, 10:23 PM   #11
CoupeKing

Walking down to the shops to get min chips and you see/hear an XR GT tear past.
CoupeKing is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 13-08-2015, 11:20 PM   #12

Originally Posted by Bossxr8 View Post
The 80's. Ford could do no wrong, they probably had the highest selling car in just about every segment. Falcon was no 1, so was Fairlane, Laser, Telstar etc.

Came within a whisker of burying Holden too around 84, if GM didn't give them a massive cash injection to save Holden they would have been dead and buried.
It was a certainly a good time for Ford. The Falcons were awesome, and yeah Locally built Laser was the no 1 small car. I was never really sold on the Telstar/ TX5. Not enough differentiation from the 626, and a liftback when Aussies ta that time wanted wagons.
BUT just as Holden had made a massive mistake with their VB Commode, Ford dropped the ball with the V8. That decision allowed Holden to continue selling their Kingswood based utes & Statesman, and surrendered the performance market to Holden for almost a decade. But for that mistake, Ford could have buried Holden so deep they never would have dug their way out.
Old 13-08-2015, 11:29 PM   #13
Sprintey

2 eras: Bill Bourke, and Geoff Polites.

70's performance, coupes, racing, Aussie built components like the V8s and decent marketing ("Build your own GS")

Geoff grabbing the reins and doing the Barra Turbo and Territory programs. Actually advertising ("Can't get enough of this")

Both were MD's who well and truly got behind the Aussie product.

Honourable mention: Tickford tunes on XR6/GT's in the 1990s. Dedicated engines that became hand-built, dedicated suspension tunes, and wings. With AU more Australian design and content than any other car ever.
Old 13-08-2015, 11:29 PM   #14

Originally Posted by superyob View Post
I would pinpoint Ford's Aussie high point as the 70s. XB Falcon best ever Aussie car for its time and the humiliation of Holden at Bathurst 1977...
Yeah, its hard to go past that Iconic 1-2 finish, as the pinnacle of that era.
Old 14-08-2015, 07:10 AM   #15

Not sure about where other people lived, but I was a teenager in the mid-80's and while Ford might have been selling everything they built then, their cars had a boring image. V8 Commodores were "the in thing" .. Brock Commodores even more so ..

.. however if you had more brains than cash you could pickup a 351-powered XA-XC cheap and blow most of them into the weeds. Only the turbo-VLs were a real challenge.

The mid-eighties were a woeful time for new cars, but fun for destroying cashed-up-bogan's dreams using old Clevo power
Old 14-08-2015, 07:21 AM   #16
Freiherr

Don't forhet the 265 Hemis, I had one in the 80s and it was a blast to drive. I think the 70s were the golden years for cars, pinball, women, music, fashion and anything else you care to think of.
Freiherr is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
8 users like this post:
Old 14-08-2015, 08:37 AM   #17
superyob

Originally Posted by Freiherr View Post
Don't forhet the 265 Hemis, I had one in the 80s and it was a blast to drive. I think the 70s were the golden years for cars, pinball, women, music, fashion and anything else you care to think of.
Times 1000!!!
Old 14-08-2015, 10:47 AM   #18
Syndrome
Ford screwed the Falcon

1966-1976

XP to XB

My cars

Current ride
2016 FG X XR6 - 6 speed manual

Previous rides
2009 FG XR6 - 6 speed auto
2006 BF MkII XT ESP - 6 speed auto
2003 BA XT V8 - 5 speed manual
1999 AU Forte - 5 speed manual
1997 EL Fairmont - 4 speed auto
1990 EAII Fairmont Ghia - 4 speed auto
Syndrome is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2015, 11:33 AM   #19
1TUFFUTE

Simply because I missed all of the wonders of the XB Falcons through the 70s and 80s firsthand.......I'm swayed to thinking the recent ERA of the Turbo Falcon in the Xr6Turbo,G6ET and so on...along with smaller master strokes like the ZF auto.

Just can't beat the undeniable fact that from being the best lineup of bang for your buck performance car for so long, (in the world sometimes)and with the amazingly cheap aftermarket mod potential!

XR6Turbo Era
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2015, 11:41 AM   #20
superyob

Originally Posted by 1TUFFUTE View Post
Simply because I missed all of the wonders of the XB Falcons through the 70s and 80s firsthand.......I'm swayed to thinking the recent ERA of the Turbo Falcon in the Xr6Turbo,G6ET and so on...along with smaller master strokes like the ZF auto.

Just can't beat the undeniable fact that from being the best lineup of bang for your buck performance car for so long, (in the world sometimes)and with the amazingly cheap aftermarket mod potential!

XR6Turbo Era
How good would this have been if they had officially raced against the best that Holden could bring to the track in a touring car championship? I may have expanded my taste for 60s and 70s iron...
Old 14-08-2015, 11:46 AM   #21
1TUFFUTE

Originally Posted by superyob View Post
How good would this have been if they had officially raced against the best that Holden could bring to the track in a touring car championship? I may have expanded my taste for 60s and 70s iron...
They probably would have....if the powers that be hadn't of banned turbos years before. We'd probably allready have turbo 6s n 4s running around in the Supercars series right now.(instead of 2018) Twin turbo 7ltr HRTs
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2015, 12:45 PM   #22
malazn mafia
Boss 335

Mid 90s with the ED->EF makeover. Definitely pulled Falcon out of the 80s , superseded all its Japanese and local contemporaries by a mile, and topped the sales charts. And 2002-2004, the amazing turnaround year under the reins of Geoff Polites. Only Ford Australia could take an AU falcon and transform it into the BA, while also developing the Territory, in such a short time and small budget, in our high cost industry. Overall, of all the local carmakers, Ford's story is the most compelling and inspiring. The other local carmakers were just assemblers of foreign models or disguised Opels. Ford played the underdog many times and were often rejected as foreign even when they had the most local content and engineering.
malazn mafia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2015, 02:35 PM   #23
Kieron

Originally Posted by Crazy Dazz View Post
It was a certainly a good time for Ford. The Falcons were awesome, and yeah Locally built Laser was the no 1 small car. I was never really sold on the Telstar/ TX5. Not enough differentiation from the 626, and a liftback when Aussies ta that time wanted wagons.
BUT just as Holden had made a massive mistake with their VB Commode, Ford dropped the ball with the V8. That decision allowed Holden to continue selling their Kingswood based utes & Statesman, and surrendered the performance market to Holden for almost a decade. But for that mistake, Ford could have buried Holden so deep they never would have dug their way out.
IIRC, Holden dropped the WB ute and Stato around the same time as the XE (which was the last of the V8's until EB) and partly prompted by the introduction of unleaded petrol in 86?

Agreed though, the 1980's may have been Ford Australias golden year from their point of view but it was essentially resting on it's laurels with a fairly bland lineup, building up all those Ford fans through the 60's and 70's with aspirational model Falcons gave Ford those sales but with the lacklustre 80's image, new Ford fans weren't being created and ford started to pay the price in the 90's onwards to a degree.
Kieron is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2015, 05:01 PM   #24
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

Originally Posted by pottery beige View Post
One of my favourite cars HQ Monaros rock!!
Speck savers mate.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2015, 05:40 PM   #25
vbvbvb088
vbvbvb088

Originally Posted by Kieron View Post
IIRC, Holden dropped the WB ute and Stato around the same time as the XE (which was the last of the V8's until EB) and partly prompted by the introduction of unleaded petrol in 86?

Agreed though, the 1980's may have been Ford Australias golden year from their point of view but it was essentially resting on it's laurels with a fairly bland lineup, building up all those Ford fans through the 60's and 70's with aspirational model Falcons gave Ford those sales but with the lacklustre 80's image, new Ford fans weren't being created and ford started to pay the price in the 90's onwards to a degree.
I think WB dropped due to tired tooling, available engine but then again there was a ULP VL V8 but not to liked and plant rationalisation. (Dr terry will know). Reason why VL Calais had pop-up front was to differentiate ate as the absolute top of GM-H line as no statesman\LWB variant.
vbvbvb088 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2015, 05:47 PM   #26

Older era, 70's.

Modern era, 90's.

Having said that, anything from 1970 to 2002 was fantastic. Past that, ehhhh....look forwards to when these modern falcons become cheap enough to be bush hacks...

Old 14-08-2015, 06:18 PM   #27
XG_Falcon

60's and 70's.
XG_Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2015, 06:32 PM   #28
P6LTD351
Blue Blood

1982 - 1995. No contest.

Sure previous years had arguably better cars, but the 80s and early 90 - mid 90s saw Ford Australia as number 1 for the majority of that period. Something they could only dream of previously. No V8? No worries!
1986 XF Fairmont Ghia 4.1L EFI Regency Red, trip computer, venetians - 163Ks
1979 P6 LTD 351, Goldust - 185Ks
1989 Mazda MX5, Red 1.6L, 5sp manual - 102Ks
P6LTD351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 14-08-2015, 06:35 PM   #29
XB GS 351 Coupe

If we are talking an "old' and a 'modern' Golden Age, I would say early 70's, ie XY/XA/XB, sorry but IMO The XC does not fit the Golden Age performance vehicle IMO.

Then the modern era would be the FPV GT era, it put Ford back on the map of the V8 buying public IMO.

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave

Old 14-08-2015, 06:38 PM   #30
XB GS 351 Coupe

Originally Posted by P6LTD351 View Post
1982 - 1995. No contest.
I would consider this era the worst time for performance orientated Ford buyers, and it would certainly not be a golden era, rather an era of shame, it was for me living through those years surrounded by proud Holden V8 buyers, while I was holding on to my 70's muscle car wondering where Ford was at Bathurst.

XB Falcon Owners Group

Mike's Man Cave