Old 01-10-2015, 09:21 AM   #1
Mowdit

Default Is your car a Moron magnet >>

Ever had a vehicle that seems to attract the odd MORON on the road ??

I drive a chilli orange Wildtrak Ranger, with a canopy

Its not small !!! Yet ive had 4 people try to pull out on me in the last fortnight

A bloke at work drives a nicely detailed Chilli Orange Wildtrak has been collected 4 times this year (once side swiped while legally parked).

Our white LV XR5 is great, but the previous LV in Colorado Red with white stripes seemed to be invisible (you had to be on the ball constantly)

So do you have a particular vehicle that seems to attract "those who can't function" as well as the rest of us ???
Old 01-10-2015, 09:44 AM   #2
blackf6
R51 Pathy, 91 Jayco Swan

Default Re: Is your car a Moron magnet >>

Yep, any prime mover/ trailer that I drive.
blackf6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 10:14 AM   #3
brens

Yep. Had some wasted mutant rap on my window as I was reversing out of the Albion Hotel car park the other night to tell me I had a wicked VT. Wanted to shake my hand. Pleased that I had the anti bacterial wipes in the glove box.....

2015 Ford Falcon FGX XR8 in Emperor
brens is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 10:24 AM   #4

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: vztrt is one of the most consistent and respected contributors to AFF, I have found his contributions are most useful to discussion as well as answering members queries. 

Every Falcon/Territory vehicle I've had....it seems to be mainly Toyota and Subaru badged vehicles. Maybe there's a TSB to fix the attraction issue.
Old 01-10-2015, 10:51 AM   #5
Harrison

As I've said before my plain Jane V8 Fairmont wagon seems to bring out every Larry, Moe and Curly in an old Commodore.

I'd hate to see how something like a Candy Apple Red XY GT would affect these clowns.
Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 11:03 AM   #6
Maka
Au Falcon = Mr Reliable

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Embodiment of the AFF spirit in his efforts with ACP. 

Where i'm situated i've had mainly P plate BA i6 owners making nuisances of themselves when i'm out on the road in my AU xr6vct trying to race. I have no appetite to race on public roads at all, my car is a daily cruiser. Ive also had many local's in mostly Oz built cars wave to me too & give my xr the thumbs up, which is nice!

cheer's, Maka

Proud owner of a optioned keeper S1 Tickford Falcon AU XR6 VCT - "it's actually a better-balanced car than the XR8, goes almost as hard and uses about two-thirds of the fuel" (Drive.com 2007)
Maka is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 11:18 AM   #7

LOL 10 years ago when I was getting around in a bunkie Sigma, people used to crap their pants and stay out of my way, for some irrational fear that because I was driving a banger, I would be more likely to hit them.

1970 XW Falcon GT replica | 1970 XW Falcon | 1971 XY Fairmont | 1973 ZG Fairlane | 1986 XF Falcon panel van | 1987 XFII Falcon S-Pack | 1988 XF Falcon GLS ute | 1993 EBII Fairmont V8 | 1996 XG Falcon ute | 2000 AU Falcon wagon | 2004 BA Falcon XT | 2012 SZ Territory Titanium AWD

Old 01-10-2015, 11:24 AM   #8
raised by monkeys

people love their Navara/Bravo/Rangers where I am, think they own the road. One **** pulled out of a driveway and headed towards me down the middle of the road. I ended up a kurb to prevent a collision. Rashed a half moon around fresh GT wheel on the passenger front. I was turtle heading and round the corner from home so didn't chase him.

SY FPV F6X Territory #214
Previous
FG MkII G6E Turbo built by Heinrichs Performance and Tuning
BFII FPV TORNADO #0021 351rwkw - Heinrich Performance and Tuning

"Milk is for babies. When you grow up you have to drink beer" - Arnold Schwarzenegger
raised by monkeys is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 11:29 AM   #9
Express
Bathed In A Yellow Glow

I get the occasional wave when I’m in the XY and I’m also a driver who gives waves when I see an older classic on the road regardless of the make.

I don’t regard people as morons because they acknowledge other cars but last weekend I had a fellow run out on the road in front of me and hold up traffic while he used his phone to take photos.

He was definitely over the top.

He wasn’t prepared to move until he’d finished what he was doing and the cars behind were blowing their horns with understandable impatience.
Express is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 11:38 AM   #10
bazza91
Backyard Mechanic

Originally Posted by Mowdit View Post
I drive a chilli orange Wildtrak Ranger, with a canopy
Seems like Hi-Vis doesnt work all that well then.

The amount of people pulling out in front of my bright red ba ute is never ending.
Honestly my car stands out like dogs b***s. Its bright vixen red with a white canopy. Its pretty damn hard to miss.
bazza91 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 12:26 PM   #11
Harrison

A car that attracted kangaroos would be a bummer.
Harrison is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 12:36 PM   #12
turbodewd
FG Falcon fan

The only issue I get is people complimenting the Breeze colored (metallic aqua) FG Turbo. What can I say? Its one of the best colors u can get on a car.
turbodewd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 01:05 PM   #13
LG17

A friend has a 1965 Datsun Bluebird station wagon - stock as a rock and original. He is always getting stopped by morons to ask the most stupid of questions.
My mk 1 GT Cortina is a different kettle of fish - I'm usually approached by old blokes whose dad had one or in some cases they had one. The vast majority of them are fairly knowledgeable or simply say,"Great car!" and leave it at that.
LG17 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 01:06 PM   #14
Carrion

Originally Posted by DeJaVu GT View Post
Yep, any prime mover/ trailer that I drive.
Its the same driving a bus, people just cant see them
Carrion is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 01:59 PM   #15
Kingsley

I find they're equal opportunity. Normally morons don't discriminate between a classic car, a heavy vehicle, motorcycle, or a late model performance car. Yet if I take the wife's late model poverty pack Mitsubishi out, they're rarely a problem.
Kingsley is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 03:14 PM   #16
ebv8

a mates orange BA GT brings out the moron, its been keyed twice and the first time he overheard the kids talking about it so joined in the conversation then decked them all.
then there was a vb bottle into the back of it while it was parked and last week and soft serve cone was thrown at it, its an orange beacon to ******* commodore drivers

and for some reason my LX8 adventra attracts people who want to race it
its a 2 tonne beast but i still have a go, i might be the moron that attracts them (as i am driving a commodore) but hey...
got beat by a volvo s60 last tuesday but only just...and only just to the speed limit

however no-one wants to race me in the GT
BA GT Mk1 #0009 - Narooma Blue
SY Ghia AWD
Black VZ LX8 Adventra
Holden HX 50th Anniversary
AU Saloon Car racecar
1980 GS1000ST - Wes Cooley Rep
ebv8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 04:52 PM   #17
calais

I drive a 96 Camry.

My wife calls it 'Uncle Buck hat of cars' and refuses to be seen in or anywhere near it.

Enough said.
calais is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 06:21 PM   #18
dmat2391
the average bloke

for us it's the combination of the fg xr6t and my blond, well racked, mrs that brings out the morons. It's her daily and my weekend fun run.
every p plated goose in a falcadoore needs to race her at every set of lights even when our kids are in the back .
though i do enjoy the story when she does occasionally bite.

In my case had a bloke in a ferrari want to have a race. just looked at him and let him know "are you serious" (because lets face it) I,have a fast "family"car, not a supercar . The sheepish look on his face was well worth it
dmat2391 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 06:24 PM   #19
XG_Falcon

I often have P platers try to race the XG. Probably because it's loud and fitted with fat 12 slotters. I usually have a couple hundred kilos of tools in the back which makes it look lowered too

It is not fast.
XG_Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 06:29 PM   #20
Marquis
HUGE MEMBER

The Zh always seems to attract tail gaiters. Drives me nuts.

My cruiser. 1979 Zh Marquis. "T" code 351.
My garage queen :(. 1980 TF Cortina Ghia Wagon. 4.1.
My dog. 2011 Sierra
My Daily. 2012 ZH (lol) OUTLANDER xls. 4WD CVT. Sapphire blue

Wanted
Borg Warner Lsd or centre. 25 spline
Marquis is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 06:51 PM   #21

I always though BMW drivers were the worst, now that I own one I kinda see why they drive the way they do... I'm sure some dero's see the badge and just aim for it.
Old 01-10-2015, 07:12 PM   #22
Bluehoon
Hoon On The Rise

depending on what you see on facebook, FGX XR8's are certainly attracting them.

FGX-XR8 Manual, BFII E-Gas, '11 GSXR 1000 - Love 'em!
FPV Tickford Club of NSW - www.fpvclub.com
Bluehoon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 07:19 PM   #23
Sprintey

The Sprint turns middle aged SUV driving dads into absolute reprobates - tailgating, overtaking where not safe, going on to force cars in front of me aside on the single lane highways. SUVs of all socio-economic levels, but especially the top end Euros. ???

A real shame as one thing I like about it is its understated nature, seems to escape most of the Commodore drivers and car parking lot attention. If it had stripes like an XT-XB GT the attention would probably do my head in
Old 01-10-2015, 07:45 PM   #24
Falcon SXR8

Got chased twice in my old au xr8 for no reason, both female and one was in her 60s. Sold the car to a mate and he got chased a week later too by some guy. We have a good laugh about that car.
AU Fairmont
BA MK2 XR6 Turbo
Now
XDUB
Falcon SXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 07:50 PM   #25
damo6
turbo pilot

Originally Posted by calais View Post
I drive a 96 Camry.

My wife calls it 'Uncle Buck hat of cars' and refuses to be seen in or anywhere near it.

Enough said.
So do I mate,I get bagged by my workmates about going to the bowls club or picking up old ladies the bastards! But both you and I know you can't kill them and I take comfort with what's sitting in my shed at home,fg mk2 xrt. I occasionally let them know that and it seems to shut them up!
Old 01-10-2015, 07:50 PM   #26
Express
Bathed In A Yellow Glow

Originally Posted by Falcon SXR8 View Post
Got chased twice in my old au xr8 for no reason, both female and one was in her 60s. Sold the car to a mate and he got chased a week later too by some guy. We have a good laugh about that car.
Sounds like it could be registered as a sex aid.
Express is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-10-2015, 10:43 PM   #27

I found when I was a red p plater I always had people driving like idiots around me. Pulling out in front of, cutting off ect.
The 300c seamed to attract people who want to race. Especially p platers.
Old 02-10-2015, 12:04 AM   #28
tlub

had a moron from NRW pull out in front of me at northstar in the Pilbara last week. The fact I was in a triple roadtrain doing 100km /hr was a bit scary
tlub is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-10-2015, 04:47 AM   #29
FairmontGS
WT GT

Yes, on my bicycle - I get every f$cking moron that drives a H#lden ute or Hilux monstering me.
FairmontGS is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-10-2015, 09:23 AM   #30
PHawk

^ glad no self respecting Ranger owner does that to you Mate :o)
FG GT-P 315 6A
FG F6 310 6A
HSV Maloo LS3 6M
GT 335 6A
300 SRT8 Hemi 6.4
PX Ranger XLT
Commodore SS-V Redline LS3
2017 Triumph Speed Triple R
Triumph Street Triple RX
PHawk is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post