You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 29-08-2007, 11:05 PM   #1
protd
TUFF FORDS

Default The Units we're building

OK here's some pics of the units that we are building, for anyone thats interested i will post pics every Fri of the weeks progress.. any way these are of the first block of 6 units and will be 4 story's high there will also be another block of 6 also 4 story's high :

protd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 29-08-2007, 11:08 PM   #2
protd
TUFF FORDS

Old 29-08-2007, 11:11 PM   #3

It's always good to see progress of a project from start to finish, I always take pics of my landscape jobs throughout also to show others and to put on the website.

Is the reo that high to support the blockwork or is it for the cyclone rating protection?
Old 29-08-2007, 11:18 PM   #4
protd
TUFF FORDS

it's for the block work, the first 1500 is a retaining wall also, i'll have pics of blocks etc tomorrow arvo
Old 29-08-2007, 11:22 PM   #5

I'd imagine in C2 wind conditions it'd need that sort of reinforcement...
Old 29-08-2007, 11:25 PM   #6
protd
TUFF FORDS

almost half of the reo you see (the shorter M12 bars) will bend over and tie the floor slab to the retaining wall from there the blocks will go up to the second suspended slab and so on..
Old 29-08-2007, 11:40 PM   #7
protd
TUFF FORDS

Old 30-08-2007, 12:31 AM   #8
cupic
Nikon

NIce project
is it all sold off the plan

cheers
cupic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2007, 07:35 AM   #9
protd
TUFF FORDS

there not being built to sell, they are built to live in one and rent the rest..
Old 30-08-2007, 11:15 AM   #10
XCSEDAN
i'm baaaack....

sounds like a good plan protd,
enough to retire on?
XCSEDAN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2007, 04:48 PM   #11

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF over an extended period of time. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Your tireless efforts behind the scenes in keeping AFF the place it is. 

With the market value in Cairns growing @ 17% per year and the median house price being 350k this project will kick some goals.
Good to see it off the ground Lee.
Falcon Coupe is online now   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2007, 05:31 PM   #12
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

Looking good mate.
Dont look like you'll have much time for the car in the near future.

Best of luck with the job..
nugget378 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2007, 06:11 PM   #13

Looks good, but if possible can you post the images correctly (right orientation) so it's easier on the eye to take in
Old 30-08-2007, 07:49 PM   #14
protd
TUFF FORDS

Originally Posted by Yellow_Festiva
Looks good, but if possible can you post the images correctly (right orientation) so it's easier on the eye to take in

I'm no computer nerd sorry if i take the pic with them on a angle thats the way I'm going to post them

yeah Nick I'm happy it's finally started hey, there is going to be some really stressful days ahead over the next 12 months..

not allot of time for the car tony, but I'll do my best to squeeze in a few days here and there, just have to try and make sure the old whip cracker has her eye's of me so i can sneak a few in :
Old 30-08-2007, 08:00 PM   #15
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

Originally Posted by protd
not allot of time for the car tony, but I'll do my best to squeeze in a few days here and there, just have to try and make sure the old whip cracker has her eye's of me so i can sneak a few in :
I hear you Lee,gotta try and keep them bosses happy lol..
But these toys cost money,and without the hard yakka none of us would have them..
nugget378 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2007, 08:06 PM   #16
fat64

What street are the units on Lee? Looks familiar.

Oh, and one of those starters was 1/8" out of line. Pretty shoddy mate.
fat64 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-08-2007, 08:10 PM   #17
protd
TUFF FORDS

brown street worree mike first turn left of toogood,

thats the one the apprentice tied in place, i'll give him 30 lashes tomorrow thanks for pointing that out..
Old 30-08-2007, 08:24 PM   #18

whats the construction methodology?

FRP fooings, reinforced masonary walls(or precast concrete?), prestressed floors? The reo in the walls looks quite minimal looks way to small to be for an insitu concrete wall N16 @400?

Always enjoy looking at projects from day one.

Old 30-08-2007, 08:29 PM   #19
protd
TUFF FORDS

the walls are block all the way to the top no tilt walls etc the floors are all suspended slab, the reo is not to small for the construction design..

just wait you will see weekly pics of it going together and see that all is in order, if anything this place has been over engineered, it would not get built this way for a paying customer as the would not want to pay the bill at the end of the job..
Old 30-08-2007, 08:40 PM   #20

Originally Posted by protd
the walls are block all the way to the top no tilt walls etc the floors are all suspended slab, the reo is not to small for the construction design..
Yeah thats what i ment, the reo looks perfect for block walls (not for concrete walls).

Is precast floor panels (hollowcore/deltacore) feasable for this style of construction?

Keep the pics flowing looks fantastic.

Old 30-08-2007, 08:45 PM   #21
protd
TUFF FORDS

not sure mate, have not looked into it

i'll update pics every wend if people are interested, i take pics for my own personal files so i dont mind sharing them..
Old 30-08-2007, 08:56 PM   #22
The Lone Ranger
My young fella "Paddy"

Now this is what I do miss about not building anymore. I will be subscribing to this thread for sure. Great work mate.

Darren
The Lone Ranger is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 31-08-2007, 12:34 AM   #23
Duke
The Duke

Love this, thanks for sharing.

We aim to develop soon too.
Old 31-08-2007, 09:41 PM   #24
protd
TUFF FORDS

not allot to see really this week just a few blocks laid and some sand dumped getting ready to start setting up for the first slab, this week will be screeding sand to 125mm from the top of the blocks and laying plastic and tying the steel, should have first slab poured late in the week hopefully

Last edited by protd; 31-08-2007 at 09:50 PM.
Old 31-08-2007, 09:58 PM   #25

Jeez you aren't stuffing around...

We need builders like you down here. That's good progress.
Old 31-08-2007, 10:05 PM   #26
protd
TUFF FORDS

have not really busted our ***** yet, but once we get the scaffolding up then it's all go, at the moment it's just me and the apprentice on the job, but soon there will be a few others getting put on, we hope to have all 12 complete in around 8-9 months..
Old 31-08-2007, 10:48 PM   #27
kremmen

Was gonna say, council are still trying to rear end me still 3 months afetr submission...

CANT WAIT to see footings on my project!!!

Good work.

P.S. Howd you get 4 stories approved, looks pretty flat around you from the photos?
Old 01-09-2007, 12:39 AM   #28

Progressing well mate

I'm doing a similar job at the moment, but without the building, just the footings and besser block walls. Last week I had to dig down a trench 2m deep to get to stable ground at the fill end of a site cut, and fill with concrete, for a section of wall that will be 400mm high....

The good thing is you'll save a packet doing a lot of the works yourself. One area where builders stitch up customers hardcore is in the site works ie. excavation, footings, slabs etc.
Old 01-09-2007, 12:43 AM   #29
ratman
krunch krunch hsv 4 lunch

Good stuff Lee, will be following this one.
ratman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 01-09-2007, 01:04 AM   #30
Ghiadude
FORMERLY TX3DUDE

good luck dude looks good so far
Ghiadude is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post