You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 04-06-2005, 04:34 PM   #1
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

Default i got a turbo ea now!

just been out for a drive in it today to buy bits to connect the rest of the exhaust up ( atm its straight out a 3" dump :sm_headba ) and it sounds awesome! : i have a new found love for my car now!
oh but no boost as of yet

Last edited by Qwikcorty; 04-06-2005 at 04:55 PM.
Qwikcorty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-06-2005, 07:41 PM   #2

that manifold looks mad, considering what it is. Good stuff Matt, i bet it sounds crazy. Why isn't it boosting ?
Damo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-06-2005, 07:54 PM   #3
DanXR6T
Eat more peanuts....

From the pics no boost is because its not plumbed up yet..

Formerly owned:
'99 AU Falcon Ute
'88 EA Falcon GL
DanXR6T is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-06-2005, 08:36 PM   #4
NZ
~~~

is that my old head?

"the man that crashs AFF"
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 04-06-2005, 09:01 PM   #5
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

yeah sure is karl, i might have non-intercooled boost in a few days!
Old 04-06-2005, 11:16 PM   #6

Out of interest, how are u going to keep up with fuel delivery?

*PS, congrats!
Old 05-06-2005, 02:26 AM   #7

LPG = no fueling issues

Old 05-06-2005, 10:46 AM   #8

non intercooled?
arnt you doing water cooling anyway?

Certainly going well matt
Old 05-06-2005, 12:47 PM   #9
ilsautomotive
Former E-Series Member

Well done Matt, great to have another ***-kicking project in the making.

What did you do with the AU manifold? It might come in handy for me.
ilsautomotive is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-06-2005, 01:38 PM   #10
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

that is your au manifold jack
Old 05-06-2005, 02:50 PM   #11
ilsautomotive
Former E-Series Member

ilsautomotive is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 05-06-2005, 04:59 PM   #12
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

i made up the rest of the exhaust today to join it to my 2.5 system, and it is alot quieter than when it had extractors! no drone anymore too. i cant wait to connect up my cooler, it sounds great from in the car, a classic turbo whistle !
Old 05-06-2005, 05:10 PM   #13
DanXR6T
Eat more peanuts....

so you're driving around with the turbo free spooling?

Formerly owned:
'99 AU Falcon Ute
'88 EA Falcon GL
Old 06-06-2005, 10:49 AM   #14

Originally Posted by Walkinshaw
LPG = no fueling issues
Ohhhhh! Didn't check his sig :P

LPG + turbo... yum!
Old 06-06-2005, 11:17 AM   #15
PULLY6

Originally Posted by Axeman82
so you're driving around with the turbo free spooling?
That's a problem?
Old 06-06-2005, 12:19 PM   #16

It can very easly over spool and damage the wheels/bearings.

Would be best to place a restriction over the compressor wheel, and wire the waste gate open

Old 06-06-2005, 12:45 PM   #17

Thats how doug damaged his turbos.

I would get a restriciton in there somewhere to help slow it down a bit.
Old 06-06-2005, 12:48 PM   #18

Originally Posted by dansedgli
I would get a restriciton in there somewhere to help slow it down a bit.
I'm picturing a flap of cardboard so it sounds like a Harley

brbrbrbrbrbrBRBRBRBRBR!!!

Well, at the turbo's RPMs I guess it'd sound like a *very high revving* harley :P

-Dave-
Old 06-06-2005, 01:36 PM   #19
DanXR6T
Eat more peanuts....

I didn't want to jump up and sound like a dick if you aren't free spooling it but everyone else has already outlined the possible issues...

Formerly owned:
'99 AU Falcon Ute
'88 EA Falcon GL
Old 06-06-2005, 05:01 PM   #20
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

ive got a few sock ends over the outlet, and one on the inlet. so its got some restriction, probly why it feels slow to spool up actually.
and i cant wire the wastegate open, its a external 40mm job
Old 06-06-2005, 06:42 PM   #21
sphell

wouldn't rely on the socks mate, I had socks on the outlets and the wastegates wide open and it didn't stop the turbine wheels from exploding on mine. I wouldn't drive it till its plumbed up.
sphell is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 06-06-2005, 08:28 PM   #22
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

ok so non intercooled boost it is till my intercooler is finished. Exploding sounds bad
Old 06-06-2005, 08:48 PM   #23

You're plumbing that in yourself? I chose the wrong trade :(

Originally Posted by Walkinshaw
LPG = no fueling issues
Try telling my engine that.
Old 06-06-2005, 08:51 PM   #24
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

yeah, easy job, im making my water/air cooler too, just have to find someone with a tig welder i can borrow/use to weld up the sides. Ive made everything actually hehe
Old 06-06-2005, 11:32 PM   #25
ned
Once shy... twice bitten

Very well done mate, it's one thing to be proud of when you turbo your car, let alone do all the work yourself including making the intercooler!
Old 07-06-2005, 04:05 PM   #26
Bass Crazy

Well done mate!!!

Thats a clean looking manifold.
Is that a Nissan T03 I can see?
Bass Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-06-2005, 08:17 PM   #27
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

its a schwitzer t04b. i started plumbing up the intercooler tonight. i want to buy another ser 4 cooler to stack ontop of this one, i think 1 might be a bit small.
Old 07-06-2005, 10:29 PM   #28
Sundeep

Nice work Matt.

I had 3 socks on mine when I took it to the shop to get the piping done. I was keeping the revs low as well just to be safe, but when I got right near there I heard a pop, checked it out and the sock had flown to the other side of the bay lol. I think 2 or 3 should be adequate to keep the turbo from "over-spooling".

Sundeep
Sundeep is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-06-2005, 12:34 AM   #29

Rollin: i think the LPG balance line has to be moved so the LPG converters get boost pressure to help force the LPG through.
and moving the throttle body itself.
thats all i know of, might be worth posting in the LPG forum
Old 08-06-2005, 06:21 PM   #30
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

good news i dont have to worry about socks and bits of cardboard to slow the turbo down! :eclipsee_