You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 26-06-2005, 10:32 PM   #1
Kaddis
Kaddis Customs

Angry Car Got Defect! anyone got low springs?!?

i was pulled over tonight in knox and got defected for my car being to low. it's got superlows but it's been scraping on everything so im tryin to find some king lows to buy!

also i payed rego on friday and still had the receipt in my car from it but the cop was trying to tell me my car was unregistered and even after i showed him the receipt still continued to write me out a $511 fine for drivin an unregistered car!!
Old 26-06-2005, 10:35 PM   #2

you dont recall the cops name do you? I hate driving around there now.

Do you still have the old rwc cert? is it current still? just use that to clear the defect?
Old 26-06-2005, 10:39 PM   #3
stockstandard

I got my old stock springs if you want some serious ground clearance
stockstandard is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2005, 10:47 PM   #4

hahaha I know what you're thinking Dan. Glad I don't drive around Knox.
Old 26-06-2005, 10:48 PM   #5
Kaddis
Kaddis Customs

yeh it was officer Pettit or somthing like that, doesn't need a RWC to clear the defect i have to take it to vic roads and they have to check it there.

thanks for the offer but im going to just put some lows in caus i still want it to ride low! tho i am going to miss it looking as low as it is now!
Old 26-06-2005, 10:49 PM   #6

Officer "Nazi" strikes again! Hell, my car is basically stock and I avoid Knox just because of him.

Old 26-06-2005, 10:49 PM   #7
sphell

mate there is no FKN way I'd pay that $511 fine!! get his name and go to the station and show the guy behind the desk. That's bullsh1t!!

BTW, just put some stock springs in to pass the roady then put your super lows back in. Done it many times :hihi:
sphell is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2005, 10:54 PM   #8
Kaddis
Kaddis Customs

nah im not paying the fine! i went down to the cop station and they reckon because i payed it on friday afternoon the cop system is delayed until monday and the stupid thing is the cop said why am i driving the car because it's coming up unregistered?

gee i thought if my rego was payed that ment i was aloud to drive my car?!

so if the cops don't fix this up i was told to write a letter and if it comes to that im going to blast the hell out of them!!

i just want lows when i really think about it because once i've been full stuck on a speed bump....thats not cool!!
Old 26-06-2005, 10:55 PM   #9

Originally Posted by Kaddis
yeh it was officer Pettit
There can be only one.

Do what Doug says then avoid knox from now on.
Old 26-06-2005, 10:55 PM   #10

he strikes again, thats shockin.
Old 26-06-2005, 10:56 PM   #11

i was pulled over tonight in knox and got defected for my car being to low. it's got superlows but it's been scraping on everything so im tryin to find some king lows to buy!

also i payed rego on friday and still had the receipt in my car from it but the cop was trying to tell me my car was unregistered and even after i showed him the receipt still continued to write me out a $511 fine for drivin an unregistered car!!
You dont say weather If the rego sticker was on the windscreen. If it was not then it is demed unregistered by law. So the copper was within his rights to fine you.
BJ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2005, 10:58 PM   #12

Has anyone been pulled up by anyone other than Pettit in Knox?
Old 26-06-2005, 11:01 PM   #13
stockstandard

here in SA at least you can drive for a couple of weeks without a sticker as long as you have paid. I pay my rego on the net the day it is due, takes a few weeks to get sent out. I have had cops at breatho's check it out a couple of times and it has never been a problem
Old 26-06-2005, 11:12 PM   #14
InitialD
Low and Loud

Geez Im glad I dont drive around knox!...
(we have our own version around Watsonia named "eagles")
just do what Doug said and put your superlows back in after you visit Vicroads ;)

1993 Ford Falcon XR6 Poly Green Stationwagon - 4.0 I6, Auto, 3:45LSD, All the usual XR6 Stuff but in a wagon :
InitialD is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-06-2005, 11:13 PM   #15
Kaddis
Kaddis Customs

Originally Posted by CH7472
You dont say weather If the rego sticker was on the windscreen. If it was not then it is demed unregistered by law. So the copper was within his rights to fine you.
yeh i hadn't put my new sticker on yet but still they shouldn't be able to get me for that!

what if for example you smashed your windscreen and got a new one put it and couldn't use your old rego sticker and where waiting for a new one and were pulled over in the meantime?
Old 26-06-2005, 11:16 PM   #16
InitialD
Low and Loud

yeh i hadn't put my new sticker on yet but still they shouldn't be able to get me for that!

what if for example you smashed your windscreen and got a new one put it and couldn't use your old rego sticker and where waiting for a new one and were pulled over in the meantime?
That happened to my mum years ago, Windshield was replaced but the rego sticker was stuffed. The cops when they pulled her over, checked her rego and sent her on her way and said to contact vicroads for a new one

1993 Ford Falcon XR6 Poly Green Stationwagon - 4.0 I6, Auto, 3:45LSD, All the usual XR6 Stuff but in a wagon :
Old 26-06-2005, 11:28 PM   #17

Originally Posted by stockstandard
here in SA at least you can drive for a couple of weeks without a sticker as long as you have paid. I pay my rego on the net the day it is due, takes a few weeks to get sent out. I have had cops at breatho's check it out a couple of times and it has never been a problem
In Vic the sticker comes with the payment due notice.
Old 26-06-2005, 11:33 PM   #18
stockstandard

Originally Posted by Psycho Chicken
In Vic the sticker comes with the payment due notice.
huh, how about that...

So how do they know if you have paid it or not, or do they have to check every time they pull you over?
Old 26-06-2005, 11:36 PM   #19

They usually run it through the system rather than go off the sticker.
Old 26-06-2005, 11:39 PM   #20
InitialD
Low and Loud

Originally Posted by Psycho Chicken
They usually run it through the system rather than go off the sticker.
What sticker rob? :hihi: j/k

Old 27-06-2005, 02:12 AM   #21

Here u get the sticker when you hand the cash over.

Old 27-06-2005, 10:08 AM   #22
NZ
~~~

yah here you can put the sticker on (illigal) before you pay itand then at least it theyre just glancing at the date sometimes they won't call it in and therefore they have no idea.

(been therte done that)
(but i got caught 8 months later still unreg)
(twice)

"the man that crashs AFF"
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2005, 10:15 AM   #23
AdzT3-146

bad luck there mate, as casper said officer "Nazi" strikes again, i'm glad he hasn't got me yet and i try to stay away as much as possible. basically if you're on p's and your car isnt stock as a rock and he sees you then you're gonna get a canary.
T3 TE50 #146

Id rather date a goat with syphilous then drive a maloo.
AdzT3-146 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2005, 12:19 PM   #24
ilsautomotive
Former E-Series Member

That is bad luck mate, I don't know how we're supposed to put food on the table with assholes like this around. I just had a letter of explanation regarding a somewhat unreasonable speeding fine rejected, there's another $128.
ilsautomotive is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2005, 12:37 PM   #25
parawolf
beep beep

Heh this is funny. My rego was due in November '04... I didn't put my sticker on until April this year.

My partner was driving around her car without a rego sticker at all for nearly 6 months (even getting pulled over by random breath tester) and had no issues.

Glad we don't live in knox area though...

sounds like someone has a quota to fill.
Old 27-06-2005, 01:35 PM   #26
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Anyway back to the springs,

is there some sort of "reverse spring compressors" or "spring expanders" that do what the name imples. obviously unsafe but if its a minor defect then it owuld be much easier to slap them on and roll down teh street to Vicroads instead of having to swap your springs back and forth everytime some Officer ******** tries to make himself feel better by beating up on P-platers.
T_Terror is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2005, 04:00 PM   #27
FRDXR6

Dont get lows get superlows they are a good medim between ultra's and low's :

Also i heard that pettit liked fords, but at least be glad you dont drive an import otherwise you would ahve received a major and been sent to visit the nice people at EPA ing_sm
FRDXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2005, 04:06 PM   #28

I drive through Knox all the time on my way to and from work. A few times I've driven past Silvias and 180SXs that have been pulled over by a cop car. I'm lucky cops don't even look twice at my Ghia even with the superlows.

It's suave, more subtle, and yet no less stirring. In fact, the boosted Ford is more polished than any big sedan Australia has ever produced. It's just so damn good, it makes the SS feel crude... Ignore the WRX. Forget the E49. Falcon XR6 Turbo is king.
Old 27-06-2005, 04:19 PM   #29
needfordspeed

Jeez he's well known these days huh, my mate got done by him only a little while ago(VL T), unfortunatly he gave pettite(how the fudge do u spell it) an attitude and got done real bad, he even ripped up his carpet looking for wiring for an after market ECU.

And everyone be careful about what you say :P There have been cases where he has quoted people from forums and because they said nasty stuff he's done them for EVERYTHING, a guy even got taken to court and got reamed real bad.
needfordspeed is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 27-06-2005, 05:30 PM   #30
PULLY6

Kenaz, have you just got superlows without shortened shocks in yours? If so, how's the ride quality?