You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

View Poll Results: Keep the EA Ghia or Buy an EB Ghia
EA Ghia - spend $300 and do the head 35 57.38%
EB Ghia - spend $3000 build 1 car and sell the extra bits 26 42.62%
Voters: 61. You may not vote on this poll

Old 07-07-2005, 04:54 PM   #1
EA2BA

Question Keep the EA Ghia or Buy an EB Ghia

Ok the head has to be changed, so that leaves me with a bit of thinking to do.

Keep the EA spend $300 or so and do the head (about all thats wrong with it), other then that its old and a sereies 1 (although highly swaped/changed/upgraded by me)

or

Buy an EB Ghia, about $3000 get newer, leather etc, and then swap most of my bits over and wreck out the left overs.

Have a vote, have a say

Send me a PM if you want to know anything

2010 Ford Ranger PK High Rider (Auto) - 2011 Ford Fiesta (Auto)
EA2BA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2005, 05:22 PM   #2
bprint xr8
more posting less lurking

At least with your EA you know what you have. So unless you find an exceptional EB Ghia for good money I would stick with what you have. It may be easier to buy a wreck to get the leather etc if that is a consideration
Old 07-07-2005, 05:28 PM   #3
EA2BA

The leather is not really part of it, just what you get with the EB Ghia.

Old 07-07-2005, 05:42 PM   #4
neb
hibernating

i wouldn't bother... ea/eb is basically the same. just upgrade the interior in the ea to ed or something like that, and give the car a respray... then it'll be heaps nicer than any eb you would buy
neb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2005, 05:42 PM   #5
NZ
~~~

either get a series 2 eb for cheap or stick with the ea. its not worth it otherwise. seems to be a big cost for not a lot of gain.

"the man that crashs AFF"
NZ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2005, 06:35 PM   #6

Keep the EA. Considering they are so similar, there is a fair bit of a price difference between EA and EB.

Old 07-07-2005, 06:45 PM   #7

i chose get the EB, but as said only get the EB if its a series 2 obviously.
Old 07-07-2005, 06:51 PM   #8
neb
hibernating

if you really do want to upgrade spend a bit more and get an ed or yeah eb series 2
neb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2005, 07:08 PM   #9

Keep the EA. By the sounds of it, its a top car. Looks cool too.
Old 07-07-2005, 07:11 PM   #10

ahh i'm in the same kinda position. There's no way i'm keeping my EA though, everything apart from the transmission and the body is stuffed.

If I were you though i'd stick with the EA, your's is pretty good example and you've put heaps of effort into it. Unless you can Find an EB2 Fairmont or Fairy Ghia for cheap, but they're usually cheap for a reason. A respray would make your EA look mint.

I was looking for a manual EB2 or ED but i've just about given up hope, so now i'm looking at Fairmonts.

Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
Damo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2005, 08:19 PM   #11

I'd say get the EB. Its newer (which is always good).. plus from what I understand, most of the EA's faults were ironed out with EB. And if you get the EBII.. the 148kW 348Nm 4.0 is always a bonus.

Old 07-07-2005, 09:54 PM   #12

I have a EB Ghia for sale!

Old 07-07-2005, 10:33 PM   #13
Biggoggs
Rider on the storm

Well, a new car means new problems, but if you really want a new car, can you save a bit more and get at least a series 2? I Ghia with leather seats sounds rather nice though
I mean, if your EA is like mine, there are few parts under the hood that are actually original, so it's arguably less likely to break (although I say this as it sits in the driveway doing nothing until the distributor is replaced).
Biggoggs is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2005, 10:36 PM   #14
XR8GRL
Powered by Tickford

Originally Posted by neb
i wouldn't bother... ea/eb is basically the same. just upgrade the interior in the ea to ed or something like that, and give the car a respray... then it'll be heaps nicer than any eb you would buy
I agree with what neb said, I don't really think it's worth it imo.

SILHOUETTE AUII XR8
Leather, Premium sound, Momo S/wheel & gear knob, Sunroof, 20" Advanti Desires, Bulge, XR50 Front, Pacemaker extractors,
Ballistic cats, 2.5" cat back system, Rebel bar & skirts, XR scuff plates, Kings SL & SSL springs
XR8GRL is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 07-07-2005, 10:49 PM   #15
FNQracing
RAGE Engineering

If you are going to upgrade, make it worthwhile and get an EF or later. Spend your $300 on the EA and save your cash for something much newer. Don;t waste money on a claytons upgrade to an EB.
Old 07-07-2005, 10:53 PM   #16
-AL-
Knuckle Head

Gday Dellboy, I'd keep the EA , personally i reckon they were grouse cars even with the issues they generally come with. We've just updated to an AU2 and I still prefer the looks of an EA(missus wanted something newer)
-AL- is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-07-2005, 09:24 AM   #17
NIGHTHAWK
starter motor

Originally Posted by Dellboy999
Ok the head has to be changed, so that leaves me with a bit of thinking to do.

Keep the EA spend $300 or so and do the head (about all thats wrong with it), other then that its old and a sereies 1 (although highly swaped/changed/upgraded by me)

or

Buy an EB Ghia, about $3000 get newer, leather etc, and then swap most of my bits over and wreck out the left overs.

Have a vote, have a say
With afew dollars more you might be as lucky as one of the guys on here who just bought an ea SVO for 5500.00.
NIGHTHAWK is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-07-2005, 10:56 AM   #18
EA2BA

Well not being one to follow convention in the I should repair the EA, I am leaning heavily towards the EBII Ghia, and then build 1 from 2 and sell the leftovers.

Old 08-07-2005, 11:26 AM   #19

Do you reeeaaaaallllly want an EBII?
There isn't alot of differnce, espcially in the V8's....
Old 08-07-2005, 11:43 AM   #20
Pilch
X-Series Club Moderator

Lets be honest mate, you want a BA..... so stop fighting it and just buy one!!! :voldar02: : :1syellow1
Pilch is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-07-2005, 12:37 PM   #21
EA2BA

Originally Posted by Pilch
Lets be honest mate, you want a BA..... so stop fighting it and just buy one!!! :voldar02: : :1syellow1
The Wife wants a Ford Fiesta, so the BA will have to wait.

Old 08-07-2005, 12:42 PM   #22
Shonky
my other ride is the bus.

Talking

Originally Posted by Dellboy999
The Wife wants a Ford Fiesta, so the BA will have to wait.

Sell the wife and the EA! Then you can have your BA and no-one to put the stop on any mods!

+ Lots of Land Rovers

Originally Posted by Sourbastard
Edelbrock.... not Peter Brock. Theres a world of difference. For a start my heads have much less gum tree in them.
Shonky is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-07-2005, 01:05 PM   #23

So... the EA only needs the head replacing. $300.

EB = $3k, plus possible problems, plus you'd need to transfer your gear from the EA over into the EB.

I voted for the EA Keep it mate!

-Dave-
Old 08-07-2005, 01:06 PM   #24
EA2BA

Originally Posted by Young 'un
Sell the wife and the EA! Then you can have your BA and no-one to put the stop on any mods!
I would but you cant sell priceless : (and I do mean my wife )

Old 08-07-2005, 01:08 PM   #25
EA2BA

Originally Posted by Ghia5L
So... the EA only needs the head replacing. $300.

EB = $3k, plus possible problems, plus you'd need to transfer your gear from the EA over into the EB.

I voted for the EA Keep it mate!

-Dave-
Thats sounds just to easy _ :evil_laug

Old 08-07-2005, 01:12 PM   #26
TURBO_GHIA
hmmm boost

nither buy a ED fairmont HEHE
TUNED BY JEM
TURBO_GHIA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-07-2005, 04:07 PM   #27
LeadFoot81
_Oo===oO_

I've upgraded from an EA to an ED and while the ED is a much much better car, for all the effort you've put into the 'A' it's better to keep the old girl then upgrade to something newer later, ie EF+ (better still go for the next 'A' the BA)
LeadFoot81 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-07-2005, 05:03 PM   #28
loxxr6
XB in parts...

Why buy into a new car with potentially new probs...

Just spend the dosh on your current car (or get an AU lol).

Daily Driver 2019 Ford Escape...looking for XR6T's.

loxxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-07-2005, 05:05 PM   #29

After all the mods you've done on the EA, bloody keep it, and just fix the head.
Old 08-07-2005, 05:11 PM   #30
EA2BA

Originally Posted by AUII_SE_Ute
After all the mods you've done on the EA, bloody keep it, and just fix the head.
Well the 'mods' will go onto the EB though , may even have to make the EB pearl green ....... LOL