You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 18-09-2005, 12:51 AM   #1
xffairmontturbo

Default has any1 used a toyota 1G supercharger on a efi 4.1

just wondering if any1 has any info on a toyota 1G supercharger on a efi 4.1 as i am looking at putting one on my xf

xffairmontturbo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 12:53 AM   #2

i beleive they're too small.
Old 18-09-2005, 01:52 AM   #3
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

yep, is too small for the application. bear in mind they were originally used on a 2.0 litre engine.

4.1s have enough low down torque as is.

id recomend a turbo.

There is NO other cheap option for PD superchargers for 4.1 or 4.0 falcons. If youre set on having a constant boost curve then be prepared for close to 100% custom work.
T_Terror is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 11:22 AM   #4
xffairmontturbo

just as i thought i have already got a turbo fairmont i was looking to go a supercharger for a mild streeter
Old 18-09-2005, 11:36 AM   #5
jonbays
TL40 Wagon?

it would be mild though. it could not pump enough volume to maintain any boost above atmospheric on a 4.1L engine reviing much past 3500rpm.

You would have some useful boost from 2000-3000rpm which in a mild auto would be useful but not exciting and maybe not worth the effort in time and or money even though they are cheap as.
jonbays is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 12:07 PM   #6
Karnage
Finger Painter

the castlemain rod shop sell them in kits for v6 commondoors? can't imagine the 4.1 would flow that much more.

http://www.rodshop.com.au/superchargers.htm

Last edited by Karnage; 18-09-2005 at 12:50 PM.
Karnage is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 12:23 PM   #7

Wasnt the 1g supercharger used a while back to twin super an xf ute????

From memory it was a blue xf ute on the front cover of street machine??!??
Old 18-09-2005, 01:47 PM   #8

Originally Posted by jonbays
it would be mild though. it could not pump enough volume to maintain any boost above atmospheric on a 4.1L engine reviing much past 3500rpm.

You would have some useful boost from 2000-3000rpm which in a mild auto would be useful but not exciting and maybe not worth the effort in time and or money even though they are cheap as.
An XF would struggle to rev past 4500 anyway. I had an XE and usually changed gears at 4000 RPM max, it just got too noisy and didn't seem to be any point going any harder.
pauljh74 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 07:54 PM   #9

would one of these perform better on a 3.3?
Old 18-09-2005, 07:56 PM   #10

hahahaha, 3.3, perform. You're funny :P
Old 18-09-2005, 07:58 PM   #11
Qwikcorty
V8 Turbo Hoon

it might make the 3.3 go as hard as the 4.1
Qwikcorty is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 08:06 PM   #12
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Originally Posted by xffairmontturbo
just as i thought i have already got a turbo fairmont i was looking to go a supercharger for a mild streeter

ANy pics of teh turbo?
T_Terror is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 08:32 PM   #13
The MaDDeSTMaN
No longer driving a Ford.

Originally Posted by pauljh74
An XF would struggle to rev past 4500 anyway. I had an XE and usually changed gears at 4000 RPM max, it just got too noisy and didn't seem to be any point going any harder.
Yup, no point revving beyond 4000 RPM on a stock 4.1, the power drops off dramatically after 3750 RPM or so. As much as I love the idea of a supercharger on a 4.1, unless you're prepared to spend major $$$ on custom parts, it's going to cost much more then makes sense spending on such a job.
The MaDDeSTMaN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 09:22 PM   #14
xffairmontturbo

i have always wanted to do something to the xf that no one has really tried before thats when the blower idea popped into my head.
Old 18-09-2005, 09:23 PM   #15
xffairmontturbo

in reply to t terror no i dont have any pics of the fairmont at mo ill get some of it when the donks back in
Old 18-09-2005, 09:39 PM   #16
AUSGTI
Das Auto Bitches!

Originally Posted by TZENU
Wasnt the 1g supercharger used a while back to twin super an xf ute????

From memory it was a blue xf ute on the front cover of street machine??!??

Yep Yep,

The guy that owns Twin Headlight shops, owns that...
File Type: jpg XF7large.jpg (75.1 KB, 121 views)
Old 18-09-2005, 09:47 PM   #17
The MaDDeSTMaN
No longer driving a Ford.

Originally Posted by In2Xr8
Yep Yep,

The guy that owns Twin Headlight shops, owns that...
Awesome! Anybody got any figures for that engines output? I'd be guessing enough torque to pull out a whole forest!

Thats brilliant, I'd love to see it running...
The MaDDeSTMaN is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-09-2005, 09:58 PM   #18
nick81xd

dnt do it ive seen the castlemaine rod shop kits (same charger) on a VP bucket and there was bugger all difference
just a lot of noise and no go
nick81xd is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 19-09-2005, 01:51 PM   #19

Originally Posted by Psycho Chicken
hahahaha, 3.3, perform. You're funny :P
Grrr ya bugger! Mince my words and make me look silly... although that's not too hard :

Originally Posted by Quikcorty
it might make the 3.3 go as hard as the 4.1
Ouch! I was thinking that maybe one of those superchargers would put out a similar power figure (for 3.3 vs 4.1) but significantly less torque. Not that I'd ever buy a 3.3 for performance!

I do have a soft spot for them though... The whole "1st car" thing. Yep, 3.3s give me a raging soft-on!

-Dave-
Old 19-09-2005, 06:06 PM   #20
chippa6
Novice Professional

My mate put one of these onto his standard VN 3.8 160k motor. he did a bit of the fab work himself (brackets etc.) withour the charger it could not spin from standstill with the auto. after the charger he would stomp on it at the lights and the single spinner would leave a black line down the road - it wasn't tuned at that stage and he sold it before he could go any further. - It was a very bodgy job but was a good indication of what could be done for cheap.

Chippa