Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
21-01-2006, 10:56 AM | #1 | ||
Would anyone know if a 1" Phenolic Spacer be too high for my Sprint and cause the manifold to hit the bonnet? Has anyone tried or have one fitted? Thankyou in advance!
21-01-2006, 11:10 AM | #2 | ||
It should be bloody close to fitting mate. I know a car here with a 1" spacer on en EB with an explorer...but saying that, on my XHXR8 I can run an explorer with a 1/2" spacer no worries, but with the Cobra upper (like your sprint one) it wont fit so is on there without spacer...
A half inch one will definatly fit.. |
21-01-2006, 11:15 AM | #3 | ||
Thanks for that,it's for sale on ebay thats all.
"The older i get,the better i was!" |
21-01-2006, 11:23 AM | #4 | ||
1" may be too high on EA-D's. EF/L high series bonnets take them easy
21-01-2006, 11:39 AM | #5 | ||
Sprint_ED has a half inch and it fits, but im pretty sure he got an inch one and had to send it back as it didnt fit...
go the half inch to be safe |
21-01-2006, 01:06 PM | #6 | ||
Probably a stupid question,but could it be cut in half to 1/2 inch (approx) to make 2 of?
21-01-2006, 01:07 PM | #7 | ||
you'd have to get it DEAD perfect or else you'd have leaks from where the manifold butts against it....
otherwise, yeah... you could id reckon (if you do i'll buy the left over one) |
21-01-2006, 01:55 PM | #8 | ||
aren't they tapered on the inside so cutting them in-half would give you two internally different pieces?
21-01-2006, 01:57 PM | #9 | ||
dont think so.
it wouldnt make any sense to have them tapered, (not for the explorer manifolds anyway) as the openings on the upper and lower are the same..... if they were tapered, you'd have to port the upper or lower to have them match |
21-01-2006, 02:09 PM | #10 | ||
I saw a 1" one for my mate's stroker and it had like specially shaped bits inside if you know what I mean....kinda hard to explain it without a pic....so I just won't bother lol.. :
21-01-2006, 02:11 PM | #11 | ||
ah i think i know what ya mean, like a "twist" to give a cyclone (hiclone) effect?
i havent seen any like that for the fords before.... have ya got a pic? |
21-01-2006, 02:17 PM | #12 | ||
yeah somethin like that....nah sorry don't have a pic...this was for a 355 stroker btw...so maybe they're different.
21-01-2006, 02:22 PM | #13 | |||
Yes, GM snot |
21-01-2006, 02:23 PM | #14 | |||