You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 22-01-2006, 02:35 PM   #1
EBIIBurner

Default i hate my car (misfire)

hey ppl i have a 1993 eb falcon thats giving me the shi** i went down to the local caltex put fuel in it $20 worth of vortex i would have put more in but the fuel pumps where going very slow, started her up perfect went to another servo to put fuel in some crap rundown looking bp servo put bp ultimate in it and she was misfireing as soon as i started it i gave it a rev it stopped, got to where i needed to go started it up again misfire reved it stoped, i put a bottle of wynns injector cleaner in it and took it home it was shocking just be driving then all of sudden misfire and power loss i drove with two feet i got it home and its just missing all the time now i fell sorry for my dad hes driving it to the mechanics tomorrow leads where done 4 months ago as well as plugs i think its water in the fuel not happy jan

EBIIBurner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-01-2006, 02:46 PM   #2
gthofan
Gunna girlie-man

it could just be a dirty fuel filter, and just a co-incidence that when you put the crap fuel in, the car started to misfire. hopefully its just a simple fuel filter, and not a pump!!

<INSERT WITTY SIGNATURE HERE>

Daily- 05' BA futura... work done.
Cruiser- 85' VK berlina... more work done
gthofan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-01-2006, 02:50 PM   #3

more than likley it was the caltex not the bp.....
it takes a little while for the fuel to get through, and you said you went from the caltex which the pump was slow and eh to the bp..

just starting it at the bp wouldnt have been enough time for the fuel to get from the tank to the rail....
Old 22-01-2006, 03:29 PM   #4
EBIIBurner

Originally Posted by MADNC_8
more than likley it was the caltex not the bp.....
it takes a little while for the fuel to get through, and you said you went from the caltex which the pump was slow and eh to the bp..

just starting it at the bp wouldnt have been enough time for the fuel to get from the tank to the rail....
i thouhgt so cause caltex just had new fuel bauzers put in which is why i think they where slow but its a big coincedince that it happened at bp i changed my fuel filter 6 months ago if you look on a earlier forum i had the same prob just not as bad it was more surging than missing i let the tank run down low it sucked some crap from the bottem of the tank
Old 22-01-2006, 03:31 PM   #5

but you said it was hard to start at the BP.......the fuel wouldnt have been through to the rail yet.... if it was the BP you woulda got down the road a little and it woulda died.....
Old 22-01-2006, 06:27 PM   #6
EBIIBurner

but you said it was hard to start at the BP.......the fuel wouldnt have been through to the rail yet.... if it was the BP you woulda got down the road a little and it woulda died.....

i didnt explain clear enough the car didnt die yet my father thinks it might be a spark plug now when he starts it up a puff of black smoke comes out it never does that like the its running rich or something but it could possibly be spark related just a coincidence but as i said on the drive home it started to happen more frequently it was like in and out
Old 22-01-2006, 07:32 PM   #7
theboss290
FPV GT

It could be the distributor cap????
theboss290 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-01-2006, 10:11 PM   #8
Brent79

um, what caltex or BP was it so i wont go there next time? :P

Brent
Tickford Head and Wade 1004 cam
HP4 Chiptorque chip and XH intake

1992 DC LTD
5LTR DUEL FUEL
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 22-01-2006, 11:47 PM   #9
EBIIBurner

Originally Posted by theboss290
It could be the distributor cap????
or maybe even the coil i saw another thread hear about a 3.9cfi that had the saame symptoms oh well i guess ill find out tomorrow whats wrong with it ill let yas know cheers for the replies BTW it was a BP in fortitude valley and CALTEX at arana hills BRISBANE
Old 23-01-2006, 02:35 PM   #10
AshMan
Girrrrr!!!

I know this is off topic but dude, is the fullstop key on your keyboard broken?

It makes the message hard to read.

Sorry for the rant.

Heritage green, isn't that a fence paint?
AshMan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-01-2006, 06:28 PM   #11
EBIIBurner

Originally Posted by AshMan
I know this is off topic but dude, is the fullstop key on your keyboard broken?

It makes the message hard to read.

Sorry for the rant.
everyone used to say that when i was in the aussie magna forums i couldnt be bothered using punctuation anyway the spark plugs got changed STOP no difference STOP car is going in on wednesday to a professional STOP could it possibly be the O2 sensor how would i test that QUESTION
Old 23-01-2006, 06:30 PM   #12

no need to be a smartsrse about it mate...... its very much annoying trying to read someones questions without punctuation...

maybe no-one will try to help you next time....
Old 23-01-2006, 09:55 PM   #13
EBIIBurner

no need to be a smartsrse about it mate...... its very much annoying trying to read someones questions without punctuation...

maybe no-one will try to help you next time....
whos being a smart ИИИИ settle down
Old 23-01-2006, 09:56 PM   #14

how was what i said being smart??......just stating the truth mate.....
Old 24-01-2006, 02:29 AM   #15
Brent79

Highly doubt it would be the o2. Id say its a ignition problem. TFI or hall effect sensor. Buggered O2 would only cause surging or just poor performance. misfire sounds like ignition. Poor fuel delivery usually causes engine shudder.

Brent
Tickford Head and Wade 1004 cam
HP4 Chiptorque chip and XH intake

1992 DC LTD
5LTR DUEL FUEL
Brent79 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-01-2006, 09:56 PM   #16
EBIIBurner

Originally Posted by Brent79
Highly doubt it would be the o2. Id say its a ignition problem. TFI or hall effect sensor. Buggered O2 would only cause surging or just poor performance. misfire sounds like ignition. Poor fuel delivery usually causes engine shudder.

Brent
its stopped doing it now but i reckon it will start again it must be electrical but its going in to the mechanic for a diagnosis tomorrow
Old 25-01-2006, 11:28 PM   #17
EBIIBurner

ok i had to get the fuel injectors cleaned and fuel filter changed cost was $325 car runs better than ever now i think the flat spot is gone as well, the mechanic checked the tank and said that the fuel that was left in it looked clean so he didnt bother draining it. the old fuel filter is still leaking brown ИИИИ it dont look like fuel thats for sure pity i didnt get a reciept