Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
12-02-2006, 05:28 PM | #1 | ||
Ef Fairmont
Ok, so I wont lie about my age :P I'm 16, 17 in 6 weeks. I have 6 grand under my bent and looking for an E series Ford.
I've gone with Fords because of the 4 liter 6 cyl, compaired to Holden's 3.8 liter V6... Anyway, I was after a 95' or 96' Fairmont, but after looking at some of the 1/4 mile results of stock XR6's, I am now confused about weather to just buy a Fairmont, or look around for a cheaper XR6... I'm a young rev head, but not the dangerous type :P I was mainly wondering "What's the differance in the XR6 vs Fairmont engines"?. Is it to do with the block? Or could I just buy the fairmont, grab a XR6 head off a wrecker, and maybe the ECU, and get similar outputs to the XR6? I'm after a fast car, a new cam, cold air intake and extractors will fall straight in after the buy, and a piggyback ECU whenever the cash is floating around. The car will most likely be auto, as it seems I can't find too many manual fairmont :/ Anyway guys! Help me out! |
12-02-2006, 05:41 PM | #2 | ||
welcome to the forums and the ford family
good to hear u didnt go the way of the red circle u could save a bit more and get a EF2 ghia/EL ghia that r tickford enhanced ther for u get a xr donk and 3.45lsd and ecu plus the luxo ull pick a good one up fro around 7500 max 13000 u got 's a year b 4 ur license so dont bother going and buying a car right now as it will b hard to stop urself taking it for a spin around the block:Plol i know it's hard for me |
12-02-2006, 05:46 PM | #3 | |||
Ef Fairmont
We have restrictions of V8s, turbos and supercharges while on the plates, hense I'm looking for the biggest 6 cyl out there... (But I didn't want to get an old ford with the 4.2 liter, because they're just... too old for me... lol). So I'm just trying to make an N/A Ford that'll make a joke of my mates in thier ricers 6 is all I can muster up at the moment :( Plus it's my first car, while I am going a step further than most of my friends (Who are gettings very cheap run around cars) I can't really start spending major money :( |
12-02-2006, 06:10 PM | #4 | ||
[EBGLT]
N/A till i get of my P's then ill look at putting something serious under the bonnet! Stick to your 6 mate the things they have got for cars these days $5000 you can keep up with a 5 litre!!
12-02-2006, 06:54 PM | #5 | ||
Oops, I slipped....
EF/EL Fairmont/Fairmont Ghia's are auto only from the factory, although a manual can be put in for under $1000 if you do the work yourself, or with a mate.
The XR6 has a different head,cam and ECU, so if you're going to do the mods you proposed it probably isn't worth spending the extra on an XR6 over a Fairmont. Of course, I may be a bit biased..... :P
1995 EF Fairmont 5.0 Heritage Green - BTR with TCI 2500 stall - Ported E7's - Pacemaker Tri-Y's - 3" Mandrel-bent Lukey Exhaust 1984 XE S-Pack 250 Sno White - LPG - Single Rail - 2.5" Exhaust "Just because you don't understand something, does not make it wrong" |
12-02-2006, 07:07 PM | #6 | |||
Ef Fairmont
I'll most probably get an EF for 5000 (A nice clean one, hopefully with it being a single older owner, with 140,000 odd km), and have a grand extra to play with and get the XR6 head and ECU off a wrecker... I dont think I'd ever change out the auto with a manual, basically just because they shift quicker than most people can shift, but I manuals are always more fun. The spec sheet for the 95' - 96' fairmonts say 157kw output... Is that at the rear wheels? Or at the flywheel? Thanks a lot for your help |
12-02-2006, 07:35 PM | #7 | |||
thats at the fly wheel mate, it would have about 110rwkw-115rwkw when manual
12-02-2006, 07:49 PM | #8 | ||
V8 Ute V8 Boat
you could always get an ED xr6, they have hard suspention good motor and youll find that a lot of them are already modified, don't goo for an auto as manual is just sooooo much better, and the EA-ED look tough when done up,
12-02-2006, 09:52 PM | #9 | |||
Auto + shift kit + diff gears = fun though If you plan to keep the six n/a, look for 3.7/3.9/4.11 gears. ;) |
13-02-2006, 12:28 AM | #10 | ||
The manual is actually that bit faster than the auto, you get a bit more torque out of it or sumthin. I dunno the exact reason why theyre faster but ino mine beats any auto of the same mods out there, you just have to get some good training in shifting :P. I also agree with eb91xr6 that the earlier e-series will get you a faster car for the same price, but then if your going for luxury too the ef/el would prbably be the way to go then. But i personally prefer the EA-EDs better. If you dont like the xr6 front go an eb xr6 as they just have the normal falcon front.
13-02-2006, 12:32 AM | #11 | ||
zx TT
most sixes flog my 5 ltr anyway.
Da LTD,3.9 ltr. 21.2 sec quarter mile.109 rwk 300zx Twin Turbo,Stillen intercoolers,boost controller,19 inch speedies,boost guage,dvd,mps,hands free phone,diamond black,leather interior. 12.8 quarter mile.243 rwk |
13-02-2006, 01:55 AM | #12 | ||
FPV GT Owner!!!
Whatever ford 6 you get, if you follow these mods, or make sure you get the main ones with the car, they will all have a similar output.
Pacemaker extractors 2.5 inch exhaust a Wade cam <--cheap mod and great bang for buck on these motors. $150 + trade your cam Diff gears.. 1st gear in the ford 6 auto is simply stupid.. Get at least a 3.45, but 3.7 and 3.9 are the way to go. 3.45 would be great with a stally. You could have all these done for 1500-2000 depending on how you go about it. And there are plenty of falcs/fairmonts going around for 4-6 these days, especially EFs... Do those mods and youll be keeping pretty close to some 5litres.
13-02-2006, 06:40 AM | #13 | |||
Ef Fairmont
I can do all the engine work myself, but I'd have to get someone to do the drivetrain for me, and laybour is through the roof nowdays... Would: A cold air intake Pacemakers 2.5 exaust Wade cam Be making about 180kw at the flywheel? And could those simple things put a slightly worked holden v6 to shame in a straight line? Once I get those things done, would it be time to invest in a piggyback ECU? Or would there be little point until I change the head? Sorry for the 21 questions, but being my first car, I dont really have much experiance to fall back onto when estimating power gains. |
13-02-2006, 06:58 AM | #14 | ||
if ur looking for something with a bit of go.
look for an EB XR6 stock looking .. easy to modify. i'd also add a pod filter or a high performance air filter (K&N/BMC) u'd be looking at a solid 175~ at the engine. although no one really cares about flywheel kW lol |
13-02-2006, 07:23 AM | #15 | |||
Ef Fairmont
I really dont like going back anywhere past 93', just because they're getting too old for me, like. I could buy an old 90' Falcon and spend 5 grand on it, and it would go like a rocket, but it's just too old :( The only reason I'm working at the flywheel is so I can compair to stock specs from Ford. Because until I dyno it, I really have no idea how much my drivetrain will suck up |
13-02-2006, 09:04 AM | #16 | ||||
13-02-2006, 12:01 PM | #17 | ||
FPV GT Owner!!!
You will make 180fwkw easily with those mods. But you will need either a big stally or a diff gear change to get it off the line.. The autos are too damn slow off the line. Thats why the 5 speed conversion is a good thing too. Can be had for a grand.
But yeh, get a wade 1521 if your gonna change the gearing, but if you cant, go something smaller. www.wadecams.com is a good guide for you.
13-02-2006, 12:45 PM | #18 | ||
[ 5L ]
the only way ur gonna beat a holden six in a straight line is if u do manual conversion or have a six with decent work in it, the holdens are to quick in first and its only in top end u start to catch em but by then its to late.
ive owned both auto and manual falcons and i couldnt believe the difference in the manual it feels like a different car, so much better take off.
[ 5L ] 2001 AU series 2 xr8, 220kw, 5speed, leather interior, premium sound, narooma blue, cat back exhaust, k&n filter,willall edit,MSD coil packs, MSD leads, monroe gt gas shocks, superlow kingsprings 187rwkw (mainline) www.ignitionimages.com
13-02-2006, 01:20 PM | #19 | ||
Custom User Title
Find a cheap $100 EA 3 Speed, throw an EL engine in it and for the next $5k get a povo turbo kit :>
13-02-2006, 02:14 PM | #20 | ||||
13-02-2006, 02:36 PM | #21 | |||