You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 24-02-2006, 05:05 PM   #1
9lives

Default 439Km/h Shelby must see....

I spotted this in zoo weekly a new fhm style mag....

The Shelby Super Cars' (SSC) Ultimate Aero

- 6.4L Supercharged and intercooled all alloy V8
(which weighs 191kg) :sm_headba

- 780kW @ 6200rpm

- 1101Nm @ 6200rpm

- 1202Kg

- Six Speed Manual

- 4 wheel disc brakes, 356mm at each corner gripped by 6 pot calipers

0-100km/h = 2.5 seconds

- 439km/h top speed

Also included..... carbon composite body weighing 61 Kg, air powered remote scissor doors, 10 speaker sound system, reversing camera and a hydraulic system that lifts the nose 100mm to clear speed humps!!!

You can find all the specs, videos, pics, sound clips here

www.sscautos.com/multimedia.asp?mm=c

One frigin sweet car to bad its so far outta reach :

Old 24-02-2006, 05:17 PM   #2
biomechanic
Freudian Slippers

Where does it say 439km/h?

// JMM "Street Fighter" Headers
// JMM 2.5" Mandrel Bent Exhaust
// JMM Ignition Leads
// JMM Hi-Performance Valve Springs
// Mandrel bent intake
// K&N Pod Filter
// 17" x 8" GT wheels
// 130+ rwkw
biomechanic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2006, 05:18 PM   #3
stiddy

this thing is nuts! I want it lol
stiddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2006, 05:55 PM   #4
9lives

Originally Posted by biomechanic
Where does it say 439km/h?
Havent seen any figures on the site only in the zoo weekly mag... 1st issue page 14.

Go grab it its a good read for 2 bucks and on page 9 there is a shot of anna kournikova pulling her swimmers down and revelling her brazilian
( : god bless her)
Old 24-02-2006, 06:48 PM   #5
micksta

with a 260 mph speedo .. i don't think it could get much more over that.

its still very impressive
micksta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2006, 06:51 PM   #6

Yeah i saw that in Zoo... looks like the Veyron has been outdone!
Old 24-02-2006, 07:25 PM   #7
HOON69

watched a few clips it goes superbly *drools*

one can only wish i guess :(
HOON69 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2006, 07:43 PM   #8
turboute
turboute

I am guessing it has a ford block? Wonder if it has pushrods?
turboute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2006, 09:23 PM   #9
MrSparkle
An Old Boss™©

Looks like the top speed claim is just that for now...

http://www.forbes.com/2005/12/16/cx_...atslide_8.html

Faster than even the Veyron, the Ultimate Aero by small American manufacturer SSC has a top speed of 260 to 273 mph, according to Langley wind-tunnel calculations. It achieves such ridiculous performance with a 1,046-horsepower V-8 engine (yes, you read that hp figure correctly), which is shoehorned into a car that weighs as much as a Dodge Neon.

Calculating and doing are totally different, just ask the Veyron development team Would be good to see if it could actually get there!
Old 24-02-2006, 09:41 PM   #10
XR8 Uterous

If anyone had the balls to go that fast in that car good on 'em.
XR8 Uterous is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-02-2006, 09:58 PM   #11
nb_351
building the xe...

that would be useless over here in aus... look at 5th and 6th... 0.9 and 0.6... like the commodore 6 speeds... no use for 6th gear at all, just **** factor... 1500 rpm at 60 mph in 6th... pretty useless, good on fuel though, which you would need mind you... look at that 10 second quarter from the box... 14 inch rotors front and rear... tuff dreams are made of... and there is no affiliation with shelby...
nb_351 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2006, 05:41 AM   #12
qwigybo
hunting 300kw's

there is no price listed what are these bad boys worth ?
qwigybo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2006, 06:06 AM   #13
MeestaNob!
XR5T - Sea Grey.

To put it in persepective, what would a Boss 5.4 or Barra V8 weigh?
MeestaNob! is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2006, 08:49 AM   #14

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Brings a wealth of knowledge to the forums and is frequently giving helpful advice. Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with technical information. 

Jun Auto managed 416km/h back in 1991 (a huge feat 15 years ago) with a Nissan 300ZX.
New car makers/modifiers are behind the times.
hee hee hee.

Nothing has really caught it since then
Old 25-02-2006, 05:39 PM   #15
9lives

Originally Posted by qwigybo
there is no price listed what are these bad boys worth ?
im guessing they dont want you to know...... its a, if you have to ask its to much for you senario i reckon
Old 25-02-2006, 07:32 PM   #16
qwigybo
hunting 300kw's

Originally Posted by 9lives
im guessing they dont want you to know...... its a, if you have to ask its to much for you senario i reckon
not necessarily if u were in the market for a new ferrari but heard about this thing you would still want to compare costs etc... but you're probably right they don't list it so only genuine buyers will enquiry with a phone call etc
qwigybo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 25-02-2006, 07:51 PM   #17

It's a pretty ordinary looking car for the sort of $$$ you would be paying, even if it does go unfeasibly quickly.
outback_ute is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post