You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 22-03-2006, 11:34 PM   #1
GTS_300_Coupe
Mandy Moore FTW!

Default Honda Civic vs Pontiac Trans AM ***RACE FOR PINK SLIPS VIDEO***

While we're on discussion about hotrodders vs ricers, I checked the forums and couldnt find this so I dont think its a repost but here goes.

CLICK ME -----> Import vs Domestic drag race for pink slips

This segment is from a show called PINKS similar to top gear, they set up drivers with their hotted up rides to challenge each other on the drag strip for pink slips.
Very cool stuff.

GTS_300_Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 12:37 AM   #2
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

Lol how obvious was that race from the start.

A well setup RWD V8 will always bury a civic or any other FWD even with 600hp or wateva he has.

Funny how the civic guy ИИИИИed all the time and kept demanding 20car length head start. I wonder if they chose him cause he was fat and looked like a loser?
T_Terror is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 12:38 AM   #3
alesia

hey i ended up watching 2 episodes .....definatly different but i liked it
once you watch it search for pinks in the top and it will bring up a few more episodes
alesia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 02:01 AM   #4
superpursuit83
KITTY Crew Member

That was great, had butterflys watching

BAII Super Pursuit 0083

Awsome power by XTREME FORD TUNING 500rwkw New ALLOY Block

Awesome exhaust by THE EXHAUST CENTRE MIDLAND

Awesome Kenne Bell Supercharger setup by AGRO! and Bluepower Racing Developments

Now with full DOT approval and Permitted for road use
superpursuit83 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 09:51 AM   #5
aquahead2001

Originally Posted by superpursuit83
That was great, had butterflys watching
Yeah, so did I. Brave little puppies to put there car up like that, I'll give it to them...
aquahead2001 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 11:27 AM   #6
Thunder
I.B.S is a pain in d'***

It was never going to be easy to make a "fair" race. Poor civic owner.
Old 23-03-2006, 12:08 PM   #7
RavenLS1

thats a great video.
Old 23-03-2006, 12:17 PM   #8
NAK302

i got bored 1 1/2 minutes in with all the typical yank bull$hit.

i guess the winner won LOL
NAK302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 12:37 PM   #9

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Always level headed and i notice him being the voice of reason when a thread may be getting heated 

No substitute for displacement, just ask the rideless civic guy!
Old 23-03-2006, 12:45 PM   #10

That really gets up my spine! How can you call a race a "race" when someone has a freakin' head start?? And come on, who spends money on performance in a FWD? You'd have to be a mong.

Old 23-03-2006, 12:55 PM   #11

well he granny shifts for starters
and had a team of sore loser
what about the bit where they think they had been sabotaged....and the speculation of hidden nos
Old 23-03-2006, 01:19 PM   #12
max^power
Formerly au^ute

this looks like a great show
max^power is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 01:30 PM   #13
Perun
SSith Lord

Originally Posted by XRated
How can you call a race a "race" when someone has a freakin' head start??
Well that's right. A race is two cars starting at the line and going down the 1/4. I could beat a 7-8sec car that way with my stock XR6T! I'll just start 2/3 way down the track!

Pffft!
Perun is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 01:51 PM   #14
MoreHPformyXR6

I wonder if anyone in Australia would be willing to race for rego papers?

BA XR6 Mk II Shockwave Sedan - Now Sold - gone but not forgotten

mods: 20% under drive, Pacemaker Comps 4495' (ceramic coated) , 3' Metal Cat, XR6T exhaust - twin 3' tips, F6 CAI, K&N panel filter, PWR trans cooler, customed tuned by Heinrich Performance Tuning HPT 183.7rwkw.

Originally Posted by ATMO SIX
You have become the new SLOANY mate, no real quality to your current post(s).
MoreHPformyXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 02:30 PM   #15
honer
Back to N/A land

Hahahaha, you guys think he lost his car ? I call bullИИИИ on this. Another fake reality TV show.

Who races for slips on the raceway ? Nobody
Who races drag prepped cars for slips ? Nobody
Who negoiates lenghs when racing for slips ? Nobody
Who races for slips at all? Nobody !

Too much Fast and the Furious, I think you'll find most "Street racers" run for Cash. Nobody is that arrogant to race for their car.
honer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 03:32 PM   #16
BlueRaven
Dual O2 sensors

Originally Posted by MoreHPformyXR6
I wonder if anyone in Australia would be willing to race for rego papers?
Yeah, but would you really want an old kingswood that has a working BBQ in the back?
Old 23-03-2006, 03:37 PM   #17
blutura
ZX-6R & Falcon pilot

THE most pointless show EVER!

what is the point? The ricer gets a head start because the big bad Trans Am is too fast for him?

You can only have two.
blutura is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 03:54 PM   #18
aimzes
...fairly odd

if you dont think that your own car could beat anything on the street then why would you sign up for the race? its pretty obvious that you would be up against a MF of a car its not gonna be a stock neon.

you cant sign the paper then all of a sudden say oh i think his car will kill mine i want him to do blah blah blah. it doesnt work that way.

how much of head start does he want???! that old bloke goes "stop granny shifting" and the civic guys says "well thats how i drive" well you lost two races and one with a big head start... aimzes thinks its time to change your driving style mate.
Old 23-03-2006, 04:09 PM   #19
AnthonyQLD
Boss power

Originally Posted by aimzes
that old bloke goes "stop granny shifting" and the civic guys says "well thats how i drive" well you lost two races and one with a big head start... aimzes thinks its time to change your driving style mate.
Old 23-03-2006, 04:31 PM   #20
brenx

Too much contraversy for me. I know whats wrong with the 4cyl. It's missing 4 cylinders and slicks. Who races @ a strip without slicks in a 600hp car? Answer only an idiot who plans to loose.

Tuned by Hallam Performance
brenx is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 04:42 PM   #21
ClevlndStemer

honda forum view on it:
http://www.honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1564467&page=4
ClevlndStemer is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 06:34 PM   #22
Doogstar
B-Series Moderator

Thanks for the link, there's a great episode with two Mustangs that is worth watching. http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...433274&q=pinks

Great concept, although I think they must get appearance money because they don't seem that upset about losing their cars. I would be bawling like a baby.

380rwkw - 11.68 @ 120.94mph 60ft=1.97
Custom Tune, Exhaust. injectors.1.2K Plazmaman 1.2K Plenum kit

Now with bigger turbo and 426rwkw.
Doogstar is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 07:04 PM   #23

Originally Posted by ClevlndStemer
hahah great find :1syellow1

After I had finished laughing at their avatars, and sigs....i got to reading about halfway through the thread that the civic guys pit crew states that he and v8 owner actually met up beforehand and made a private deal that whoever won would sell the car back to the loser for $300.
1966 Ford Mustang coupe. 347 stroker, PA reverse manual C4, TCE high stall converter, B&M Pro Ratchet, Edelbrock alum heads, Edelbrock intake manifold, MSD ignition, Holley Street HP 750 CFM carb, gilmer drive, wrapped Hooker Super Comp Headers, dual 3" straight through exhaust, Bilstein shocks, custom springs, full poly suspension, American Racing rims, Open Tracker roller spring saddles and shelby drop.

merlin is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 07:47 PM   #24
pandaman
Back in Blue!

Originally Posted by XRated
That really gets up my spine! How can you call a race a "race" when someone has a freakin' head start?? And come on, who spends money on performance in a FWD? You'd have to be a mong.
Damn straight, "run what ya brung" none of this evening it out for TV crap.

Back in Blue baby!
pandaman is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 08:47 PM   #25
AUIIIXR8
Formerly AU2XLSV8

The Mustang races in season 2 episode 2 video. One of them is a 331 with E7 heads. I'd love to know how that came so close to the other car.

Past
EL 6 S/C - sold
AUII XLS V8 Stroker - sold
99' Laser (runabout) - sold
BA Fairmont - sold
AU III XR8 220 - sold (so should have kept this one)
AU III XLS Tickford 6 - sold

Formerly AU2XLSV8
AUIIIXR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 23-03-2006, 09:39 PM   #26
1TUFFUTE

mate those vids were awesome...especially the mustang vids...awesome!!!!
1TUFFUTE is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 24-03-2006, 10:45 AM   #27
Gunns

Originally Posted by AU2XLSV8
The Mustang races in season 2 episode 2 video. One of them is a 331 with E7 heads. I'd love to know how that came so close to the other car.
450hp of NOS!!!!!
Gunns is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post