You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 09-05-2006, 06:45 AM   #1
AWD Chaser
Formally Kia Chaser

Default Trapped Miners Freed

Full stories here:

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=99319

http://au.news.yahoo.com/060506/2/yuws.html

http://www.cnn.com/2006/WORLD/asiapc...ers/index.html

HSV Clubsport R8 VY (2003)
Black, 6sp Manual, Coulson Seats, Red on black interior, Pacemaker extractors, Twin 2.5" exhaust, Custom Red 20" VE GTS Rims, Custom Red Stitching
AWD Chaser is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 07:25 AM   #2
falcon91

Just woke up 5.45 Adl time. Good news! They look no worse for wear! Them miners must be tough blokes!
falcon91 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 07:30 AM   #3

Great news. Great job to everyone involved in getting the guys out of the mine.
Old 09-05-2006, 08:23 AM   #4

Its truly amazing how well those blokes just walked out of there, very heart warming to see them FINALLY out.
Well done to all that spent all that time helping to get them out.
Old 09-05-2006, 08:32 AM   #5
qwigybo
hunting 300kw's

: : hooray for the miners
qwigybo is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 09:00 AM   #6
fiery

It really is fantastic that they are not only out finally but they actually looked in good spirits and all that...

Fantastic..

What awesome men, one of the things they are so determined to do today is to go to their work colleague, (a mates) funeral to pay their respect and say goodbye...
fiery is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 09:18 AM   #7
red_hotxr6

Well done to all the other miners that worked so hard and so long to pull something like this off.Australian ingenuity. And apparently the pub is open as well.lol
red_hotxr6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 10:02 AM   #8
NAK302

tremendous news and congratulations to all involved. condolences to the Knight family for their loss and kudos to them for delaying the burial so the others could be present.
NAK302 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 10:03 AM   #9
NAK302

Originally Posted by red_hotxr6
Well done to all the other miners that worked so hard and so long to pull something like this off.Australian ingenuity. And apparently the pub is open as well.lol
there are a few pubs open at this time of morning in mining towns for shift changes.
Old 09-05-2006, 10:25 AM   #10
BLKFPV
true blue from "The BOG"

how tough are those guys !!!

well done to the rescuers

".... where having a FORD is all that matters"

not a 10sec car but a 2008 Bathurst 12 hour Race Car

(03) 9720 4448
to email click here
www.thebog.com.au

11/176 Canterbury Road BAYSWATER
BLKFPV is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 10:37 AM   #11
Falcon_Phill
1967 XR Falcon

Im so sick of hearing about it i really dont care anymore. and now theyll get so much $$$ theyll never have to work another day in their lives.
Falcon_Phill is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 10:45 AM   #12
Phil91EB

Originally Posted by Falcon_Phill
Im so sick of hearing about it i really dont care anymore. and now theyll get so much $$$ theyll never have to work another day in their lives.

Maybe you should go and chuck yourself down a hole for 14 days and see if you wouldn’t sell your story. I dread to think what you will be saying about Sophie Delezio in a weeks time.
2006 BF Falcon
Phil91EB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 10:46 AM   #13

Originally Posted by Phil91EB
Maybe you should go and chuck yourself down a hole for 14 days and see if you wouldn’t sell your story. I dread to think what you will be saying about Sophie Delezio in a weeks time.
here here
Old 09-05-2006, 10:47 AM   #14
NAK302

thats good falcon phill. i hope you don't have a car wreck coming home from work this arvo and see you on the headlines. then again...............
Old 09-05-2006, 10:49 AM   #15
Jeld-Wen Falcon

Those guys have gone through hell and IMO they deserve all the money they recieve.

Im very happy for the miners, thier families and of course the rescue team, they all did a fantastic job. But unfortunately they will all come crashing back down the earth with the funeral of Larry Knight this afternoon.
Jeld-Wen Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 11:00 AM   #16

Thank god they're out, now the constant news updates can stop.

All we have to wait for will be the (start then) end will be the mini series!

I'm glad it's over
Old 09-05-2006, 11:32 AM   #17
Falcon_Phill
1967 XR Falcon

Originally Posted by Phil91EB
Its their job to be in the mine, they know the dangers, which is why they get paid so well. Now theyve done what theyve been trained to do and their getting all this for it? They should be lucky to be alive, its exactly like the michelle lesli thing, but i dont expect you to understand where im coming from, so forget about it.
Old 09-05-2006, 11:43 AM   #18

Its their job to be in the mine, they know the dangers, which is why they get paid so well. Now theyve done what theyve been trained to do and their getting all this for it? They should be lucky to be alive, its exactly like the michelle lesli thing, but i dont expect you to understand where im coming from, so forget about it.
Finally someone else who makes sence!
Old 09-05-2006, 11:45 AM   #19
Phil91EB

Your right I don't understand where you are coming from, how is 2 guys trapped in a mine anything like someone being caught with an illegal substance.

So are you telling me that if you where trapped in a mine for 14 days and you where lucky enough to walk out of there and someone comes up to you and says "I want to give you this much money for you to tell me your story." you would say nah sorry mate I have to get back to work.

Fair enough the coverage was on everyday but there is a story on Iraq everyday.
It's about time we had a good news story.
2006 BF Falcon
Phil91EB is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 11:53 AM   #20

Good to see someone with so much compassion for their fellow countrymen, would you be of the same opinion if it was a member of YOUR family. I think not!
Pinkbits is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 11:54 AM   #21
SunDrifter
To shreads you say?!

It fantastic to hear they have finally been safely rescued!

Falcon Phil (and LTDHO) I fail to draw out the similarities here.... :

2 men trapped in a mine by an earthquake.... 1 stupid girl gets caught with drugs in bali.... hrmmm
2 men wait over 300hours to be rescued.... 1 stupid girl pretends to convert to muslim (or some such) to be freed....

Similar!

Honestly, perhaps you need to see this as a good opportunity to S.T.F.U!
I've owned Holdens and Daewoos, and had plenty of problems with Holdens and none with Daewoos. Of course, the Holden is the more desirable car to own and drive, but based on my experience it is not the higher quality of the two.
Originally Posted by SlickHolden
Weight means nothing to a cars handling...
SunDrifter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 11:57 AM   #22
Falcon_Phill
1967 XR Falcon

Who said anything about drugs? She got caught with pills, then gets freed and everyone wants to give her money for the story, its bull. Now ive said forget about it, so how about it.
Old 09-05-2006, 12:22 PM   #23
Nappa
Impressive...

its great that those blokes got out, when i first heard about them on anzac day i didnt like their chances of getting out alive. It must have taken alot of guts sit tight in there and wait for rescue, i think that some people might go a bit mad in there for so long. one interesting point to think about, is will the mining company pay those guys in there for 2weeks straight of being in the mine??? imagine the overtime.
Nappa is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 12:31 PM   #24

Great to hear. They look to be in awesome spirits. Unfortunatley though, I beleive after the initial euphoria, the shock will hit them. Good luck to them for the future.
Old 09-05-2006, 12:45 PM   #25

Good on them, all of them...

Funny how some people start growing green horns out of there head when they hear other people getting some money or compensation...
Btw drugs are drugs weather its in tablet form or powder...
If you are sick of hearing about it you are watching too much T.V or listening to wrong radio station...The guy who invented T.V / radio etc was very smart.. BUT most clever person who invented the SWITCH to turn the friggen thing OFF!!!
How smart would you be to listen to it then if gets to you?????
Old 09-05-2006, 12:48 PM   #26

im with you mate....Aussies have a habit of ranting and raving about somthing untill noone gives a damn...

Big ups to the survivors...terrible thing to happen...but in all honesty they haven't dug for days and nights to get themselves out.....(not saying they wouldn't if they could)

all the rescuers should be getting the TV deals and cash endorsements

these two blokes did what every other miner would have done......made calculated thoughts knowing that someone would know they were missing after not too long and wait for help

its like people getting upset when we send troops to the war.....there in the blinking army
Old 09-05-2006, 12:54 PM   #27

This is a thread about congratulating the miners about a job well done and a set of circumstances where a tremendous rescue effort has been undertaken, lets keep it on topic rather than compare it to something unrelated

Falcon_Phill you are entitled to an opinion but maybe it's a good idea to keep them to yourself when it clearly upsets everyone else
Old 09-05-2006, 12:58 PM   #28
biomechanic
Freudian Slippers

Glad they're free. Well done to the rescuers.
Although I have to wonder what other worthwhile stories went under the radar whilst that pack of hyenas waited outside the mine's gates salivating for that "exclusive" shot.

// JMM "Street Fighter" Headers
// JMM 2.5" Mandrel Bent Exhaust
// JMM Ignition Leads
// JMM Hi-Performance Valve Springs
// Mandrel bent intake
// K&N Pod Filter
// 17" x 8" GT wheels
// 130+ rwkw
biomechanic is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 01:51 PM   #29
seano14

Originally Posted by gozza
Big ups to the survivors...terrible thing to happen...but in all honesty they haven't dug for days and nights to get themselves out.....(not saying they wouldn't if they could)

all the rescuers should be getting the TV deals and cash endorsements

these two blokes did what every other miner would have done......made calculated thoughts knowing that someone would know they were missing after not too long and wait for help
........ so you're saying they did exactly what they should have done? i think that deserves congratulation in its own right.

i dont know how these 2 guys kept a level head. i cant even begin to imagine, 1km underground, in a pitch black 1.5x1.5m space for 5 whole days (120hours) of silence, no contact and no idea of when/if rescue teams were on the way. maybe no one was looking? let's think about that. i reckon i would have been out of my mind even after an hour.

the fact they didnt continue digging themselves out was the smartest thing they ever did, continuing to do that would have fatigued themselves further and possibly trigger a fall in ontop of them.

i think they deserve all the praise we can give them for helping each other through what would have been a hellish situation. the rescuers deserve praise too for their hard work, but wouldnt have ever been needed had the mine followed proper safety ethics.
seano14 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-05-2006, 01:55 PM   #30
OZFORDAU

Talking Truly Amazing.....

A True Miracle! _2:

Simon :
OZFORDAU is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post