You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > MotorSport > Drag Racing

Drag Racing Discuss Drag Racing here be it dirt or tarmac. Sponsored by Sydney Dragway.

Old 15-05-2006, 11:45 AM   #1

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 
Default Unopened commodore 11.20 to race at Ford Forums day

I have heard a whisper that the commodore which ran 11.20 at calder on friday night will be racing at the ford forums day at heathcote.

The car is a rocket 11.20 from an unopened motor, the car has been lightened to 1340 kg, but still, it is fast, ask anyone who saw it race on friday night.

It will be entered by the boys from APS service centre in Frankston and they possibly will be entering a XR8 ute. It could be worth watching if they get the same results as they have had with their LS1.

ratter is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2006, 11:54 AM   #2
Bluepower
KenneBell Australia

12.69 is the record for the uncracked 260. Good luck to the lads, im sure the car will make an impressive first outing.

Bluepower Racing Developments

Proud Australian Distributors of Kenne Bell superchargers
The Quickest, The Fastest, The Baddest Boss Blower of all.

www.bluepower.com.au

Bluepower is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2006, 12:27 PM   #3
347_XR8
Slide Baby Slide

What commodore was it? Thre were a few tuff ones at Calder. just want to know so i can stay away from it :

Mr Super Skid-Man
347_XR8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2006, 02:23 PM   #4
FPV329
Workin' for the BOSS

I'd just like to know how they get the power down?

I'm going all wheel drive next time!
Old 15-05-2006, 02:58 PM   #5

Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Shares his in-depth tuning knowledge with the forum, very helpful. Contributor: For members who make a contribution worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: For his indepth tutorial on adding borders to photographs 

It's red with a black bonnet, although it was running slicks at calder, there was a vid of it with a bit of wheel spin and it ran 11.25

Old 15-05-2006, 04:06 PM   #6

1340KG's and ran an 11.2? what would you run with only 1340kg then??!!
Weigh him, make him carry the same weight as you have and go heads up!! :the_finge

Old 15-05-2006, 05:04 PM   #7
Noddy
Mercury Silver T3

1340KG's and ran an 11.2? what would you run with only 1340kg then??!!
Weigh him, make him carry the same weight as you have and go heads up!! :the_finge

Agreed, 1340kg _ ........have they removed all the doors. lol I have to say i don't understand why we are stripping cars to pieces to go racing.

2017 Magnetic Mustang

What to hear a tuff T3?
Click here
http://s7.photobucket.com/albums/y30...ent=Movie2.mp4
Noddy is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2006, 05:26 PM   #8

Hmmm

They better be active members of the forums with at least a post count of 200 or times with be doctored!
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2006, 06:22 PM   #9

Originally Posted by Noddy
Agreed, 1340kg _ ........have they removed all the doors. lol I have to say i don't understand why we are stripping cars to pieces to go racing.
The fact that they can get a car down to 1340kgs means there is either a lot of stuff missing or the cars are pretty flimsy to begin with!

Old 15-05-2006, 07:04 PM   #10
nugget378
Weezland

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to impart knowledge in the technical areas. 

A chicken coup Vs a block of flats.........interesting. :yeees:
nugget378 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2006, 07:14 PM   #11

The fact that they can get a car down to 1340kgs means there is either a lot of stuff missing or the cars are pretty flimsy to begin with!
Its probably half a car. Probably claiming unopened too even though the rocker covers would have been opened and new valve springs installed.
Old 15-05-2006, 07:43 PM   #12
CAMS290
trying to get a leg over

Its probably half a car. Probably claiming unopened too even though the rocker covers would have been opened and new valve springs installed.
Yeah im over all that crap now, i am putting my oil pump gears in next week and will keep racing it as it is, i cant afford to stuff my motor.

Opened/un opened its like a can of worms, no one gives a stuff anyway, as long as it goes fast....i am going to put a 150hp shot of nos in it and see what she does, it will be in a new class then, the class will be called the "OPGNOS" short for oil pump gears nitrous oxide class.
Then when i put a PD blower on it i am starting a new class called the "PDOPG" class.
Just imagine all the classes we could have ???? :nutsycuck :nutsycuck
Old 15-05-2006, 07:46 PM   #13
XRQTOR

Originally Posted by CAMS290
Yeah im over all that crap now, i am putting my oil pump gears in next week and will keep racing it as it is, i cant afford to stuff my motor.

Opened/un opened its like a can of worms, no one gives a stuff anyway, as long as it goes fast....i am going to put a 150hp shot of nos in it and see what she does, it will be in a new class then, the class will be called the "OPGNOS" short for oil pump gears nitrous oxide class.
Then when i put a PD blower on it i am starting a new class called the "PDOPG" class.
Just imagine all the classes we could have ???? :nutsycuck :nutsycuck
A 15o shot is a bit game isn't it.
XRQTOR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2006, 10:43 PM   #14

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

Mighty Effort for a LS1, looks like a race ute.
From the LS1 forums.
APS custom maffless tune
94mm throttle body
OTRCAI
LS2 manifold and fuel rail
Underdrive pulley
Aluminium flywheel
Valve springs
95/5's fully adjustable coil overs (front)
Adjustable rear suspension (koni)
4.11 mini spool
Di Filippo 4 into 1 extractors 1 7/8
APS custom race pipe
Dry ice box
Pump fuel with octane booster (BP Ultimate)
Parts Removed-These are the parts removed when we were running 11.7's

Lightened bonnet
Passenger seat out
Spare tyre out
Hard lid off
Tailgate off
Fuel tank cover
Side panels in tub area
Exhaust system

After seeing how stripped some of the BOSS cars are we then removed the following items

Tailgate hinges
Bumper bar support bracket
A/C Condenser
A/C Compressor
Door seals
Door trims
Side mirrors
Wiper motor etc
Radio
Centre console
Lightened fuel tank
Removed steel wheels and replaced with lightened alloy wheels
We even removed the glovebox
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (94.0 KB, 68 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (67.7 KB, 73 views)

Old 15-05-2006, 10:46 PM   #15

Good on the guy for taking the time an effort.

But its not my cup of tea, I will take the several bags of donuts out of the car and then I am ready to race
Laminge is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2006, 10:51 PM   #16

I don't even remove the spare wheel, parking change or all the crap that is in the console. Not that I'll have to bother with the spare wheel in the Hemi because it hasn't got one!

russellw is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 15-05-2006, 11:29 PM   #17
XA-Coupe

It's still a great effort.. but there's barely no commodore left !
XA-Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2006, 01:14 AM   #18
I6corp
Was V6corp

Originally Posted by XA-Coupe
It's still a great effort.. but there's barely no commodore left !

lol i reckon thats the best commodore of all ;)
Planned Engine Mods: ; Extractors; Tickford CAI; Twin Mufflers; Shift Kit; Hi-Stall; Cam; ECU Flash
Bling Mods: Tinted Windows; JVC CD/DVD HU
Planned Bling Mods: TS50 Front; High Series bonnet; Rebel Skirts and Rear Bar; SL Springs; Clear Side Indicators; Rear Spolier; Mags
I6corp is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2006, 11:10 AM   #19

Geez, it really is gutted out! Hardly can claimed "unopened" though with new inlet manifold, fuel rail, throttle body and valve springs, but its damn quick!

Old 16-05-2006, 11:59 AM   #20

So let me get this right. they are saying they have the fastest unopened street legal commie out there are they. Well after reading his little list of improvements it don't look all that legal to me. But hey good on him.
BJ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2006, 12:54 PM   #21
JG3282
Awake after dark

Its amazing the ridiculous claims some people make these days...

Here's one that can't be topped even if you tried - I have the quickest stock as a rock six cylinder n/a XE Fairmont Ghia in the world. It ran 10.58 and I have the timeslip stashed away in a safe to prove it, oh and 20 of my mates were sitting on the hill that day and saw it so it must be true. Amazingly I ran a better ET and MPH than the 660 hp V8 powered XD in the other lane but was about 150 car lengths behind him!

His Car: XE Fairmont Ghia - For Sale Here

Her Car: ED Fairmont - Lowered, Pioneer stereo, Sony XPlod speakers, Big Exhaust & more
JG3282 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2006, 12:56 PM   #22
JG3282
Awake after dark

Hardly can claimed "unopened" with new valve springs
LS1 engines are these awesome things that can have their valve springs changed without removing the rocker covers :

His Car: XE Fairmont Ghia - For Sale Here

Her Car: ED Fairmont - Lowered, Pioneer stereo, Sony XPlod speakers, Big Exhaust & more
JG3282 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2006, 02:22 PM   #23

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

Been told there also allowed a rocker and manifold change, yes its still unopened.
if your allowed a rocker change would this not change Cam duration?

Old 16-05-2006, 02:26 PM   #24

There goes the ripple effect. One would think so.
BJ is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2006, 02:42 PM   #25
ALPGW
JTG Just Think Green

Thanks guys for your encouraging comments. Its good to hear the opinions from a different forum. Even though this is a Holden and we are in a Ford Forum, its is great to see how far we can go with an unopened engine. As for street legal, I think the fact that we are running slicks rules out that we are driving it on the street. Our goal was to smash the record and after seeing its efforts on Friday night, we will be taking further steps to push it into the 10's.
The BOSS rules allow valve springs to be replaced, manifold and throttle body to be replaced, single throttle body only, and these are the rules that we followed. If anyone has further interest, click on the link below

http://www.ls1.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=55310

We look forward to meeting many of you at the Ford Forums Drag Meet this weekend, and we also look forward to entering the Ford scene and contributing to developments that other workshops and forum sponsors have acheived. We are in serious discussion with forum administrators and are waiting for sponsorship availibility

Cheers Mick
ALPGW is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 16-05-2006, 02:45 PM   #26

According to thr LS1 BOSS class rules this car is legal with all these mods, except it was 60 kg under weight.

I don't think anyone was claiming this car was street legal in this condition

Old 16-05-2006, 02:46 PM   #27

Originally Posted by ratter
According to thr LS1 BOSS class rules this car is legal with all these mods, except it was 60 kg under weight.

I don't think anyone was claiming this car was street legal in this condition
beaten to the reply _

Old 16-05-2006, 04:03 PM   #28

Originally Posted by SpoolMan
Been told there also allowed a rocker and manifold change, yes its still unopened.
if your allowed a rocker change would this not change Cam duration?
It will actually only affect total lift, not duration. The opening and closing event is determined by the ramp on the lobe.
If you go from 1.6 rocker ratio to 1.7 ratio on a cam with 0.35" lift at the lobe you get 0.35 x 1.6 = 560" lift and 0.35 x 1.7 = 0.595" lift or to put it simply the 0.1" increase in rocker ratio netted a 0.035" increase in total lift!! or effectively from 560 to 595 tho lift.
In the old money that's equivilant to going from an F238 to an F245 cleveland cam lift wise, a fair bit.

Old 16-05-2006, 04:11 PM   #29

Originally Posted by ratter
Not trying to nit pick but the holden ss ute is listed @ 1618kg? @ 1340 its 278kg's lighter than std?

Old 16-05-2006, 04:17 PM   #30
ten[A]cio[U]s

Originally Posted by Laminge
Good on the guy for taking the time an effort.

But its not my cup of tea, I will take the several bags of donuts out of the car and then I am ready to race
Hehehehe.

Very impressive mate. Should be good to watch

Future fun: 1968 Ford Galaxie 500

ten[A]cio[U]s is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post