Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
04-01-2005, 08:38 AM | #1 | ||
Well here is the BA shifter with trimmed centre console, the gear select display still has to be integrated to the dash, but for now I can see it at a glance. .. comments anyone
04-01-2005, 09:01 AM | #2 | ||
Looks great Jason! Good work!
04-01-2005, 10:50 AM | #3 | ||
Low and Loud
Nice jase, Looks alot better than cardboard finish
1993 Ford Fairlane NC3 Silver - LTD mockup, Worked V8 & Auto, Fully Optioned, Half of my Audio department at work installed in the car 1993 Ford Falcon XR6 Poly Green Stationwagon - 4.0 I6, Auto, 3:45LSD, All the usual XR6 Stuff but in a wagon : |
04-01-2005, 10:53 AM | #4 | ||
great job jase
04-01-2005, 10:54 AM | #5 | ||
whats it trimmed with?
04-01-2005, 10:57 AM | #6 | ||
the underneath frame is 3mm MDF with some carved wood braces to get the curves right (BA Shifter aint flat), a layer of 3mm foam to make it all smooth, then on top of that some grey vinyl (from spotlight), plus glue and screws, cost me around $40-$50 in materials (heaps left over), and about 4 hours of buidling gluing and stuffing around.
04-01-2005, 11:05 AM | #7 | ||
looks good!!
now if you could do something about the steering wheel......BA? |
04-01-2005, 11:27 AM | #8 | ||
Looks tops mate! A lot of work has obviosuly gone in to it.
2003 Narooma Blue BA XR6 5spd Manual. Pacemaker 4490 Extractors 2.5" Exhaust High Flow Cat SS Inductions "Growler" CAI Underdrive Pulley Mal Wood H/D Clutch Custom Tune 18" XHP Sabre's 12" Kicker Sub 169.2 rwkw
04-01-2005, 01:45 PM | #9 | ||
I reckon its unbeleiveable jase!
I have to see it in the fllesh actually working to beleive it! I'm dumbfounded by all this! Its crazy! great job! ;) |
04-01-2005, 01:51 PM | #10 | ||
Former E-Series Member
Fantastic effort Jase, it's a real work of art.
04-01-2005, 01:52 PM | #11 | ||
If all goes according to plan it will be on display at the all ford day :0)
04-01-2005, 05:31 PM | #12 | ||
It looks good.
Any ideas as to how you are gonna integrate the gear display? It looks kinda chunky. |
04-01-2005, 05:55 PM | #13 | ||
Marmindie
Good stuff dellboy999, I know you've been at this for a while, great so see it in.
04-01-2005, 06:02 PM | #14 | |||
04-01-2005, 06:04 PM | #15 | ||
Dellboy, I have to admit it looks great, nicely done!!
04-01-2005, 06:22 PM | #16 | |||
looks great. good job
T3 TE50 #146 Quote:
12-01-2005, 04:37 PM | #17 | ||
The Old Bloke
Hi Dellboy,
When are the electronics like to be available for purchase for this mod? Not really interested in the bracket etc as it will be going in my Capri, (EF AODE and 5lt EFI Windsor.) Are the electronics going to be pre made or just printed circuit board and list of parts required. Prefer PCB and list as not a problem building up something like this. Very interested and GREAT work. Ross |
12-01-2005, 04:45 PM | #18 | ||
Would be be printed and made up, as it using a pic chip or 2 and prefer full tested kit release for reliability etc, but may consider are parts build kit.
Finaly PCB and software edit is now complete, just has to be fitted and tested, then kits will be avaliable and pricing confirmed. Are you after the shifter control and LED display module, or just shifter control.
13-01-2005, 11:18 AM | #19 | ||
The Old Bloke
Hi,
Shifter control and led display. Ross |
13-01-2005, 11:24 AM | #20 | ||
dellboy that looks awesome well done, great effort!!
13-01-2005, 11:34 AM | #21 | ||
thanks for all the comments, it has been by far the most fun mod to put into the car so far :0)
14-01-2005, 03:09 AM | #22 | ||
V8 Ghia & BF2 XR6 + Wagon
Jase, Any chance of more (closer) pics similar to 2 of your avatar ones?
14-01-2005, 08:54 AM | #23 | ||
JADED6 - these any help, if you want others just ask.
14-01-2005, 09:39 AM | #24 | ||
E-Series Owners Club
That looks bloody unreal Jase!
I just had a thought, though, that grey vinyl you used is a bit lighter than the rest of the console, what you can do is cover it in the vinyl that's used on the console lid. (i just did this for a gauge pod i made). The lower series EA seats have that vinyl on the back of them, so you could just go to the wreckers and cut a huge chunk of it out. ;) |
14-01-2005, 09:49 AM | #25 | ||
Well that is an option, but I am planning to lighten the rest of the interior parts as well, and I do like the flow from grey velour, to light grey vinyl, to silver shifter.
14-01-2005, 10:59 AM | #26 | ||
E-Series Owners Club
Ahh ok, that's kewl. ;)
I didn't realise you were planning to lighten up the rest as well. Should look REALLY nice when it's all done |
14-01-2005, 11:01 AM | #27 | ||
I hope it will look really nice, and i really hope i can be done by all ford day, but work and social events are taking up too much time from my car ...... lmao
14-01-2005, 11:20 AM | #28 | ||
E-Series Owners Club
Yer, it's hard to get the car done when you have a life.
I often think it would be much easier if i was to become a hermit. lol |
17-01-2005, 12:17 AM | #29 | |||
roughly what is the cost of the shifter alone? thanks Dean |
17-01-2005, 12:57 AM | #30 | ||
Geelong All Ford Day, 20th Feb, ask for dellboy or jason, and ask away on questions, its electronic FYI