Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us. Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated. |
The Bar For non Automotive Related Chat |
05-08-2006, 07:23 PM | #1 | ||
Been having a few dramas of late, trying to come to a decision for a honeymoon destination for myself and the missus next year.
So far, Thailand is out in front, pretty cheap, warm and sunny. Thought of going to the north then going down to Koh Samui and Phuket. We were told by some that fiji is nice but not as much to do and is pretty pricey. We also thought of one of the islands off QLD, good weather but more expensive than Thailand Then we thought of New Zealand, I thought I'de like to do a drive holiday type deal, travel around. Only drama with this is my mind considers a honeymoon to be of warm weather, and considering it will be in June, It'll be bloody freezing What are people experiences with either these locations, or maybe some others keeping in mind that the budget wont want to be blown out Cheers Rod |
05-08-2006, 07:29 PM | #2 | ||
I did Fiji for my honeymoon, my best man did Koh Samui. Fiji wasn't really that expensive, make sure you stay at the best resort as that is where you'll want to hang around. There's just not a whole lot to do in Fiji if you're not into lazing around.
Koh Samui was apparently pretty good and everything was dirt cheap (all the good stuff like massages by the beach etc $200 in Fiji, $3 in Thailand). I won't be going back to Fiji, the resort was magnificent however the rest of the place is just a dump IMO. |
05-08-2006, 08:56 PM | #3 | ||
fat289
Some ppl's experience with Phuket is they were "BLOW UP"
Why the hell you would want to go to such a backward a$$ place is beyond me
05-08-2006, 09:00 PM | #4 | ||
trying to get a leg over
Whitsunday's Rodderz....pretty good weather all year round, and your not likely to get blown up either !
05-08-2006, 09:11 PM | #5 | |||
05-08-2006, 10:58 PM | #6 | ||
Koh Phi Phi is awesome.
Cheap accomodation in Phuket, but do day trips outa there... bit of a sh ithole during the day, beaches are ok, but do the day trips and you'll be laughing. Cheap food, cheap drinks, cheap day trips. Leave australia till you're 50+ when you buy a caravan lol. I've been half a dozen times, Krabi is also pretty good, less tourists/wunkers etc, and great beaches/day trips aswell.... also cheap. |
06-08-2006, 12:33 AM | #7 | |||
There is a lot of scenic things to see in Thailand, Phuket would only be used as a base to see other areas. Sure things arent as clean as what they are here but that's part of what it's like there and thats why it's cheaper. |
06-08-2006, 01:05 AM | #8 | ||
rodderz, do some homework on the cost of restaurants etc in the Whitsunday's before you firm up your choice. Expect to pay an average of $40 a main meal & $10 a beer. Worth considering when most of what you'll do is eat and drink (if you drink that is!).
06-08-2006, 01:07 AM | #9 | ||
Yup, resorts in Australia charge like a wounded bull, one of the good things about overseas getting everything cheap. But, honeymoons only comes once (twice if lucky lol)
06-08-2006, 02:06 AM | #10 | ||
Go Tassie get in a nice little cabin in the woods, and do for Australia and collect $4000 from litte Johnny.. : : :
06-08-2006, 02:34 AM | #11 | |||
06-08-2006, 10:47 AM | #12 | ||
I've been to Koh Samui twice and love it, I have been to Hamilton Island and it sucked. It depends on what you want out of your travels, if you want to learn something about the world and experience a different culture.. go to Thailand. If you want a nice comfortable short journey where nothing is really different.. stay with Aus.
06-08-2006, 10:57 AM | #13 | ||
Fiji islands are gorgeous, but mainland is nothing, a nice resort here and there but thats it. The islands are gorgeous though.
I would stay in Australia myself, there are some lovely places up north QLD and top end of Darwin. May be cheaper in Thailand but these days I dont think I would risk it. Mexico also looks awesome!!!!!!!!!!!
06-08-2006, 08:52 PM | #14 | |||
Would love to go to Europe of US but I think to do that properly you need a fair while to see everything properly |
06-08-2006, 08:57 PM | #15 | ||
Had my honey moon at the Novatel in Phuket, as a honeymooner you get an upgraded room with a top view, simply stunning, i also considered New Zealand and Vietnam, Thailand was awesome, highly recommended.
Last edited by Falcon Coupe; 06-08-2006 at 09:41 PM. |
06-08-2006, 09:04 PM | #16 | ||
So you are going to tie the knot up here in sunny QLD, why don't you do the territory by road. Lots to see, no speed limit, heaps of fun, no speed limit, cheap accom, no speed limit, friendly people, no speed limit and ........ahh.... did I mention you can go as fast as you want (within reason)
06-08-2006, 09:05 PM | #17 | ||
my honeymoons in december....... and i'm going to........... MILDURA!!!
hahahhaaa gotta go see the relo's that can't come to hong kong for the wedding. do thailand mate, bali's overated, fiji's boring. Mick |
07-08-2006, 07:17 AM | #18 | |||
The beaches are out of this world, the Fiji people are one continual smile, the climate (even in June) is fantastic, and all is pretty reasonably priced. For a honeymoon, I'd strongly recommend, either Castaway or Treasure Island, Plantation is a bit more family orientated. Also, a good saving can be made by incorporating full meal package in the booking. Only real extras are then your drinks and any motorised or scuba activities.
Current vehicles.. Yamaha Rhino UTV, SWB 4L TJ Jeep, and boring Lhd RAV4 Bionic BF F6... UPDATE: Replaced by Shiro White 370z 7A Roadster. SOLD Workhack: FG Silhouette XR50 Turbo ute (11.63@127.44mph) SOLD 2 wheels.. 2015 103ci HD Wideglide.. SOLD SOLD THE LOT, Voted with our feet and relocated to COSTA RICA for some Pura Vida! (Ex Blood Orange #023 FPV Pursuit owner : ) |
07-08-2006, 07:32 AM | #19 | ||
" Let there be Rock "
How about New Zealand ? cheap as chups bro !
Or come up to sunny Townsville, , as long as it not between Oct and Feb, , or a Victorian will most likely DIE from the heat... AC/DC |
07-08-2006, 10:40 AM | #20 | ||
i work in the travel industry and even though thialand is cheap at the moment it is very hard to find accomdation that isnt booked out. other good places are fiji you get value for money there or even go to the whitsunday islands there pretty nice.. but it depends if u want to relax or u want things to do
07-08-2006, 11:17 AM | #21 | ||
Though cold that time of the year.. The South Island in New Zealand is nice...Take warm cloths if you have something organised each day you'll be fine... Queenstown is tops for skiing...
Real cars are not driven by front wheels,real cars lift them!!... BABYS ARE BOTTLE FED, REAL MEN GET BLOWN. Don't be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark...Professionals built the Titanic! Dart 330ci block turbo black pearl EBXR8 482 rwkw.. Daily driver GTE FG.. Projects http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=107711 http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthr...8+turbo&page=4 |
07-08-2006, 11:18 AM | #22 | ||
I've been to Fiji (outer islands) and loved it. Mind you I wanted just a very relaxed do nothing type holiday.
Whitsundays is beautiful - similar to a Fiji experience though. I'd go Thailand or something. Offers a good mix of relaxing/resort style holiday, plus some cultural experience for your new wife (that Whitsundays doesnt offer) plus if you feel like it for a few days you can do the travel and sightseeing thing through the region. |
07-08-2006, 12:41 PM | #23 | ||
[QUOTE=Miss_XR6]i work in the travel industry and even though thialand is cheap at the moment it is very hard to find accomdation that isnt booked out.
meh.... http://www.lastminute.com.hk/cgi-bin...tion=LoadIndex if you do your sums, $120 for a room per night at the 5 star hilton breakfast inclusive in phuket next week for 9 nights. thailand is normally booked out over xmas... you'll always find something anyother time. I normally rock up in phuket and check the tour desks for best deals, no middle men, free ride there, etc, my mrs haggles them to death... i just need a bed and a bar... we're not fussed on facilities. if you do book direct through hotel, best to show a photo of the room you're expecting, most hotels are "partially" renovated, and you'll only see renovated rooms online, then get thrown in a cruddy one after they swipe your card. find the cheapest deal for the hotel you want to stay in, check availability and then deal direct with the hotel showing what you found online, they'll normally match it or discount it. happy travels. |
18-08-2006, 12:35 PM | #24 | ||
Allan Smithee
I booked & paid for nine nights in Thailand (Phuket, specifically Patong Beach) yesterday, we leave Tuesday night. Only $1,300 each, could have been as cheap as $1,000 each but we went for better accomodation. We were going to drive to WA and tour around for a fortnight, but why would you when you can go OS so cheaply?
Also went to Vietnam last November for $1,300 for 10 nights, staying in a four star resort for seven of the nights. 'Nam was awesome. Holidays to Asia are SO cheap at the moment. [EDIT:] I should have added the joint we're staying at has a swim up bar... Hello pruned skin!
1974 XB Falcon 500 Station Wagon - 250, 3 speed auto and running like a 2015 model 1999 AU Wagon Petrol/LPG - Cheap run around, but still a great car! 2014 PX XLT Ranger 4x4 Auto getting set up as an off road touring rig |
18-08-2006, 02:28 PM | #25 | ||
what hotel in patong are u staying at
18-08-2006, 02:54 PM | #26 | ||
Our secretary is headed to Thailand for her honeymoon, and she's getting two weeks for two people for some ridiculously cheap price. Most meals, accommodation and flights.
She just had to get used to the jokes about Bangkok on her honeymoon...
18-08-2006, 03:09 PM | #27 | |||
Allan Smithee
Don't have the booking receipt here to check it, but it is on the main road that runs along the beach and it was 'Sun' something.
1974 XB Falcon 500 Station Wagon - 250, 3 speed auto and running like a 2015 model 1999 AU Wagon Petrol/LPG - Cheap run around, but still a great car! 2014 PX XLT Ranger 4x4 Auto getting set up as an off road touring rig |
18-08-2006, 04:28 PM | #28 | ||
yeh sunset beach resort most likely very good and popular property
Located overlooking the sea at the quieter end of Patong. it only opened in 2002n it also has a free shuttle into patong town on a daily basis website is on http://www.phuket.com/sunsetbeach/ |
18-08-2006, 04:55 PM | #29 | |||
Allan Smithee
Did I mention there's a swim up bar?
18-08-2006, 04:57 PM | #30 | ||
yep i sell it at my work they always have good rates