You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 08-08-2006, 10:38 PM   #1
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

Default Coupe Conversion

I was just woundering what is actually involved in doing so...

As in what technical side of things, law, rego, insurance....

Is going to cost more than a home loan deposit...

Just what everone thinks.

NC_GHIA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 10:59 PM   #2

I think you'll find it'll be a nightmare.

For starters the E-series shape does not lend itself to being fit for coupe-age...

Legalities? There weren't any two door E-series from the factory (XG/XHs don't count :P) so you'll need an engineer to pass it. Then again, converting ANY sedan to a two-door would require engineering (bar barry's XM :P).

Last edited by mcflux; 08-08-2006 at 11:02 PM. Reason: nah, can't have a useless post now!
Old 08-08-2006, 11:00 PM   #3
T_Terror
The Guy You Love To Hate

what exactly are you interested in converting into a coupe?

Not an XA-XC i hope?
T_Terror is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 11:06 PM   #4
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

EA heance the name 6cylEA!

I want one like what they did and it was a givaway car in streetmachine!
Old 08-08-2006, 11:07 PM   #5
ROOSTA
DFDFDF

GO THE SONY SCORCHER!!!

That was a pretty mean two door EA..

I have some mag's here with it in it if you want pics i can scan up.. i think it came to a handsome $ amount.. and engineering required..

Nik
ROOSTA is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 11:12 PM   #6
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

Yes plaese I lost all my mags with it init.In a house fire which wasn't even my house:(
Old 08-08-2006, 11:18 PM   #7
ROOSTA
DFDFDF

Wat do you want pics of? just external? before, during and after?.. i have 50+ odd pages..

Nik
Old 08-08-2006, 11:22 PM   #8
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

Inside of the car (finished product) and just a couple of pics of it when It was finished at some different angles just so I can get an idea of what it would look like...
Old 08-08-2006, 11:26 PM   #9
ROOSTA
DFDFDF

Ok.. cool i will do a mix of them tomorrow.. have to dust off the scanner.. lol.. i will let ya know when i post them..

Nik
Old 08-08-2006, 11:29 PM   #10
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

Cheers thanks heaps mate...

Ramdom quetion were's Albury
Old 08-08-2006, 11:30 PM   #11
snypereb
[EBGLT]

its a mamouth job if you have nothing to do during the day and a fair bit of cash then go for it other wise i would not worry about it!

Become an E-Series Owners Club Member Today!
http://eseries.com.au/index.php/membership/
snypereb is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 08-08-2006, 11:32 PM   #12
ON_DUBS
[ON DUBS]

i googled for pics on the sony coupe and found a BA coupe project

http://www.trueblueford.com/DreamtechBAcoupe.html
Old 08-08-2006, 11:37 PM   #13
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

Didn't the hiller bro's do the AU coupe???

Can we e'mail ford for an Idea to compete with the new 7.0L monaro

A GT COBRA COUPE powered by a boss 440 and a 4wheel drivtrain
Old 08-08-2006, 11:38 PM   #14
ROOSTA
DFDFDF

Hey mate..

Albury is on border of vic and nsw..

Nik
Old 08-08-2006, 11:43 PM   #15
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

I new I have seen ALBURY somewere now I remember on them big F___ off green signs on the high way...
Old 09-08-2006, 12:09 AM   #16

custom metal fabrication
custom glass
custom interior trim
custom exterior plastics

a lot of work that'd cost a lot of $$
Old 09-08-2006, 09:03 AM   #17
rag top

Sony Scorcher has been up for sale on a couple of occasions... might be worth while waiting for it to come up for sale again. Save you heaps of $$$
rag top is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 09-08-2006, 11:29 AM   #18
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

Dunno probally want about $30,000 for the F U CK ER
Old 09-08-2006, 11:44 AM   #19

Buy a Fox bodied Mustang (78-93) it has similar style to a Falcon, V8 (or turbo 4), looks like a proper coupe, unique and cheaper.

Old 09-08-2006, 11:46 AM   #20
NC_GHIA
FirstOnRaceDay

Yeah but 1 its now e-series and 2 I want a 1 off car well in this case 2 off but something that I am probally never going to see beside me at the lights...
Old 09-08-2006, 05:27 PM   #21
FRDXR6

Originally Posted by 6cylEA
Dunno probally want about $30,000 for the F U CK ER
You probably wouldnt be able to build a decent EA Coupe 30k once you add up all the engineering and custom fabrication thats needs to be done. I mean if your going to the trouble of making a coupe you would want do it properly with nice paint, interior etc.
FRDXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post