You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 17-08-2006, 01:24 PM   #1
devilracer_01
Sleeping Beast

Default RIP Ansett Australia

The last of the remaining Ansett aircraft were scrapped this week at Melbourne Airport they were three BAe-146's

RIP Ansett Australia and thanks for the memories:(

devilracer_01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 01:28 PM   #2
Dave_au

Still a BAe 146-200F freighter available apparently.
Dave_au is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 01:35 PM   #3

Chairman's Award: Chairman's Award - Issue reason: The exceptional contribution made to AFF events and sponsorship. Valued Contributor: For members whose non technical contributions are worthy of recognition. - Issue reason: Everything you do to help this place run smoothly! Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: The awesome Technical and Service how to's in the FPV /XR6 /G6ET turbo threads..  and his own build threads that inspire people to have a go... enabling people to save money and realise the dream of working on their own cars as well. 

A company built by an Australian named Reg Ansett, I worked for Ansett for 4 years in road freight express.
quick piece of history about Reg and his airline.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reginald_Miles_Ansett

Old 17-08-2006, 02:08 PM   #4
max
LWBforME

Originally Posted by devilracer_01
The last of the remaining Ansett aircraft were scrapped this week at Melbourne Airport they were three BAe-146's

RIP Ansett Australia and thanks for the memories:(
Mmmmm... I could use that fuselage as a feature kids retreat out the back of my shack on the coast.
max is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 02:28 PM   #5

Wow - certainly the last chapter to the end of an era. Unfortunately i doubt the airline will ever be remembered for the good times.
Old 17-08-2006, 02:48 PM   #6
Quicklier
Perfecting the 1-2 change

A shame in so many ways.
I always liked the profile of those from front on!

And yes, Ansett, you gave us some good times!
Old 17-08-2006, 02:53 PM   #7
MoreHPformyXR6

Thanks Ansett for providing the corporate Box at the Adelaide Over for the test cricket. Back in the days u sponsered the Aussie Test Team & Test Series.

R.I.P.

BA XR6 Mk II Shockwave Sedan - Now Sold - gone but not forgotten

mods: 20% under drive, Pacemaker Comps 4495' (ceramic coated) , 3' Metal Cat, XR6T exhaust - twin 3' tips, F6 CAI, K&N panel filter, PWR trans cooler, customed tuned by Heinrich Performance Tuning HPT 183.7rwkw.

Originally Posted by ATMO SIX
You have become the new SLOANY mate, no real quality to your current post(s).
MoreHPformyXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 03:03 PM   #8
spoonage
Long Member

RIP Ansett - great airline.
Old 17-08-2006, 04:39 PM   #9
XA Coupsta

Out with the old in with the new I say.....
XA Coupsta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 04:50 PM   #10
M14A-Mclaren
Foo Fighter

No one wanted to buy it huh?
M14A-Mclaren is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 04:52 PM   #11
Fordy
EMC-Benzenes Detailing

I was on the last flight from Melbourne to Perth, i was coming back from the GP i almost didnt get to go cause they were going to cancel all flights...I was a bit worried because everyone was drinking champagne, just hope the pilot didnt..
Old 17-08-2006, 05:54 PM   #12
Fairlane
V8 Powaah

Very depressing. Its sad to see the old HS 146 broken up, im surprised they couldnt get REX or one of the New Zealand lines to pick them up.

RIP Ansett- An airline from the days before Airlines with Magda Suzbanski ads or Cheezy Airline promotions and craptacular service.

Though i must admit Ansetts treatment of its staff was at time less than respectable.

XF S pack Sedan- AU 302 Windsor, T5, 2.77 LSD, Many Mods
Fairlane is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 06:02 PM   #13
Dave_au

Originally Posted by M14A-Mclaren
No one wanted to buy it huh?
I believe the airframe was nearly out of hours before a major overhaul was due.
Old 17-08-2006, 06:07 PM   #14
S3SR

where can we buy stuff it its for sale.... id love some seats for a home theatre setup

2002 Ford Falcon AU S3 SR
2006 BF MKI Falcon XR6
2008 Mazda BT50 SDX
2004 BA XR8 ute
2006 AUDI A4 B7
2013 FG II XR6 Ute
2006 Ford Territory TX
2003 Ford Falcon XR8
2009 Territory Turbo Ghia

Current: 2012 Audi A4 B8 2.0T Quattro
S3SR is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 06:14 PM   #15
Christiaan
Tuned @ Pitlane Frankston

why couldn't they have been used for trainning purposes? Or bought by another company?
Christiaan is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 06:32 PM   #16
Dave_au

Originally Posted by shuresm58
why couldn't they have been used for trainning purposes? Or bought by another company?
Uneconomical and uneconomical.
Old 17-08-2006, 06:54 PM   #17
FLYXR6
Silvester

RIP ANSETT... i flew her many times and was always a fan of the service. A shame to see her go the way she did.

I like them sleek and unnoticable, That is untill the pedal is pushed.

www.myspace.com/flyxr6 Myspace URL
www.myspace.com/slvstr01 My cars Myspace URL
FLYXR6 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 07:18 PM   #18

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: As Silver Ghia his contributions to the AU and BA technical areas have been of high quality and valuable to the member base. 

All because of shareholders of a large company thats got away with it as they own the media. Of course people arent aware of the real cause of its downfall for that reason.
Reg Ansett will be still rolling in his grave.
Silver Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 07:32 PM   #19
TATT2
100% aussie hillbilly

I for one was glad to see them go, boring airline and ugly hosties..good riddance
TATT2 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 08:52 PM   #20

Yes there going did the airline competition a lot of good didn't it........what do you get on qantas now ...card board box with stale bread roll and water.

What happened to the real meals.

And there is only one company to blame and thats the one that stripped ansett of everything and sent it to the wall.

Old 17-08-2006, 09:32 PM   #21
XA Coupsta

I think it did an awesome thing for competition MO?

Do we all suffer from short memories. How much were we paying for air travel back in the cosy duopoly days????

What are we paying now??

Its a shame how it all happened (good old Gary Two of Me) sure - but it happened - it happenS to all sorts of companies - and will no doubt continue to happen to various types of businesses over time.

I just get the impression that no-one can get over it, or let it go??
XA Coupsta is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 09:38 PM   #22
Falcon Freak

I always preferred to fly Ansett rather than Qantas. Now we have Qantas, Virgin Blue & Jetstar and I don't like any of them. Why? Because although the airfares are now much cheaper, the romance of flying has gone forever on the domestic routes. These days they are nothing more then flying buses. I like the way it used to be.

FF
Falcon Freak is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 17-08-2006, 09:44 PM   #23

Originally Posted by XA Coupsta
I think it did an awesome thing for competition MO?

Do we all suffer from short memories. How much were we paying for air travel back in the cosy duopoly days????

What are we paying now??

Its a shame how it all happened (good old Gary Two of Me) sure - but it happened - it happenS to all sorts of companies - and will no doubt continue to happen to various types of businesses over time.

I just get the impression that no-one can get over it, or let it go??

Qantas pricing is still up there...its the subs who have cut the price..and Qantas still give you a stale bread roll and water...for paying full tote odds.

I let it go a long time ago...worked in the industry for over 30years.

Just hated seeing a great australian company stripped.

Old 17-08-2006, 10:04 PM   #24
aumexican

Originally Posted by MO
Qantas pricing is still up there...its the subs who have cut the price..and Qantas still give you a stale bread roll and water...for paying full tote odds.

I let it go a long time ago...worked in the industry for over 30years.

Just hated seeing a great australian company stripped.
Try seeing one of those bread rolls on your crew meal every day I swear if Neil Perry puts his name to those meals I would never go to his resturants :
aumexican is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2006, 01:45 AM   #25

Ahh the good old British Aerospace 146. One of the first planes I sat in and played in the cockpit was an Ansett BAE 146. They've always been my favourite style of plane. Like a mini 747 I thought when I was a kid with their 4 jet set up.
Old 18-08-2006, 05:14 AM   #26
Abacus
Life's a Gas

Originally Posted by shuresm58
I might be wrong, but I think these aircraft had serious design faults that caused fumes to come through the air conditioning and caused all kinds of health problems for flight staff. It cost them buckets in compensation from memory.

And has been said, uneconomical.
Abacus is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2006, 10:16 AM   #27
PepeLePew
Workshop & Performance

I reckon the romance of air travel disappeared around Sep 11 one year, hasnt been the same since.

Travelling used to be a joy, something to anticipate, now you just wonder when the strip searches and anal probes will start.....bastards are getting slyer every day. Anyway, digression.

I used to like the feeling on Ansett flights, less formal than Qantas. And lollies for the kids! Virgin at least have some spunk these days and arent just busy playing the super professional....
Old 18-08-2006, 01:15 PM   #28
devilracer_01
Sleeping Beast

Originally Posted by Abacus
I might be wrong, but I think these aircraft had serious design faults that caused fumes to come through the air conditioning and caused all kinds of health problems for flight staff. It cost them buckets in compensation from memory.

And has been said, uneconomical.
Spot on they werent a well designed plane, hence why Qantas also got rid of their fleet of BAe-146's also, believe most of them ended up with a date with the 'gas axe' also.

I only ever flew on one BAe-146 with Ansett that was from HBA to MEL in 1995 thought they were a good aricraft personally.
devilracer_01 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2006, 06:24 PM   #29

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: As Silver Ghia his contributions to the AU and BA technical areas have been of high quality and valuable to the member base. 

The airconditioning problem in the BAe146 was mainly that it wasnt designed for Australias hot climate and were worked hard to cool the cabin. Especially with the BAe146-300 where the fuselage was longer, therefore more volume, this exacerbated the problem. There were mods done, but were never really successful.

Thats why they worked better between Melbourne and Tassie, than up North.

They were actually quite a good aircraft, the landings were always smooth as, because of the landing gear configuration.

The main reason for them becoming unsaleable was corrosion inside the wing skin which was costly to repair. This was due to manufacturing faults (well past the warranty expiry).
Silver Ghia is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 18-08-2006, 10:16 PM   #30

ANSETT was killed by political conspiracy. It would never be proved. But how do you go from profit to bankruptcy in less than 12 months ? There is more to the Ansett story than we are told. Howard>Air NZ are all involved.
RIP ANSETT..Thanks for the many enjoyable flights from Rocky to Perth.
csv8 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post